DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 14-17 prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Yeh (US 20080078630 A1) discloses a wheel brake mechanism (3) for a baby stroller, wherein the wheel brake mechanism (3) has a pedal (34), shaft (31), and protruding portions (32) that rotate as a whole, and wherein the protruding portions (32) abut sliders (33).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-13 double patenting rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Yeh (US 20080078630 A1) discloses a wheel brake mechanism (3) for a baby stroller, wherein the wheel brake mechanism (3) has a pedal (34), shaft (31), and protruding portions (32) that rotate as a whole, and wherein the protruding portions (32) abut sliders (33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 108820029 A) in view of Yeh (US 20080078630 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a baby carriage brake mechanism (brake mechanism, figs.1-10) comprising: a frame (frame of the baby-car, figs.1-10), a brake drive assembly (rotating piece 223, connecting pipe 31, and brake pedal 32, and wire 33, figs.4-10), two linkage assemblies (push rods 222, figs.4-10) and two brake locks (brake block 112, figs.4-10), wherein: the brake drive assembly is on the frame (figs.4-10), the two linkage assemblies are on corresponding left and right sides of the frame (222, figs.4-10), both ends of the brake drive assembly are respectively in abutting connection with the two linkage assemblies (223 abuts 222, figs.4-10), the two brake locks are fixedly connected to the two linkage assemblies (112 is fixed to rods 222, figs.4-10), respectively, and in response to driving the brake drive assembly to rotate (pedal 32 and 223 rotates), the brake drive assembly is configured to push the two linkage assemblies to slide up and down (figs.4-10), so as to drive the two brake locks to move. Li fails to disclose in response to driving an entirety of the brake drive assembly as a whole to rotate, the brake drive assembly is configured to push the two linkage assemblies.
However, Yeh discloses in response to driving an entirety of the brake drive assembly (brake mechanism 3, fig.1, paragraph [0022]) as a whole to rotate (brake drive mechanism 3 with pedal 34, transmission shaft 31, protruding portions 32 rotate together as seen in figures 2-5), the brake drive assembly is configured to push the two linkage assemblies (protruding portions 32 push sliders 33, figs.1-5).
Li and Yeh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of brake mechanisms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the solid rotating brake mechanism of Yeh with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of less moving parts for a more simplistic design for easier manufacturing and assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Li in combination with Yeh discloses wherein: the brake drive assembly comprises a brake pedal (Li, brake pedal 33, figs.4-10; Yeh, pedal 34) and a drive member (Li, 223, figs.4-10; Yeh, shaft 31), the brake pedal is fixedly connected to the drive member, the drive member is pivotally coupled to the frame (Li, 223 rotates, figs.4-10; Yeh shaft 31 rotates, figs.1-5), both ends of the drive member are respectively in abutting connection with the two linkage assemblies (Li, figs.4-10; Yeh protruding portion 32 abuts slider 33, figs.1-5), and in response to driving the brake pedal to rotate together with the drive member, the drive member is configured to push the two linkage assemblies to slide up and down (Li, 223 pushes the push rods 222 up and down, figs.4-10; Yeh, figs.1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Li in combination with Yeh discloses wherein: the drive member comprises a driving body (Li, wires 33 in pipe 31, figs.4-10; Yeh ends of shaft 31, fig.1) and two driving parts (Li, rotating piece 223, figs.4-10; Yeh, protruding part 32), the two driving parts are respectively protruding at both ends of the driving body, the two driving parts are respectively in abutting connection with the two linkage assemblies (Li, 223 abuts 222, figs.4-10; Yeh, protruding parts 32 abut sliders 33, figs.1-5), and in response to driving the drive member to rotate (Li, pedal 32 and pieces 223 rotate, figs.4-10; Yeh, brake mechanism 3, figs.1-5), the two driving parts are configured to push the two linkage assemblies to slide up and down (Li, figs.4-10; Yeh, figs.1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Li in combination with Yeh discloses the drive member has a dodging slot (Li, slot between rotating 223 piece to dodge the shaft 13, figs.4-10; Yeh, slot near end of the shaft 31 as seen in figures 1) along its rotation direction, which is used for dodging a protrusion in the frame.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 108820029 A) in view of Yeh (US 20080078630 A1), and in further view of Plested (US 20180043917 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Li in combination with Yeh discloses the baby carriage brake mechanism of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein: the brake pedal has at least two positioning slots, the frame has a bump, and in response to driving the brake pedal to rotate, the bump is configured to be engaged with one of the at least two positioning slots.
However, Plested disclose at least two positioning slots (grooves 96 and 98, figs.1-3), the frame has a bump (slots 130 with bumps 90 and 92, figs.1-3), and in response to driving the brake pedal to rotate, the bump is configured to be engaged with one of the at least two positioning slots (bumps 90 and 92 engage with grooves 96 and 98 when 42 is twisted, figs.1-3).
Li and Plested are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of baby carriages. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the slots and bumps on rotating device and frame of Plested with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of guiding the rotating member via the slots and bumps.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 108820029 A) in view of Yeh (US 20080078630 A1), and in further view of Plested (US 20180043918 A1)
Regarding claim 14, Li in combination with Yeh discloses the baby carriage brake mechanism of claim 1 and a baby carriage (baby car, figs.1-10), but fails to disclose the baby carriage comprising: a seat part; and wherein the seat part is on the frame.
However, Plested disclose the baby carriage (10, fig.1) comprising: a seat part (40, fig.1); and wherein the seat part is on the frame (12, fig.1).
Li and Plested are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of baby carriages. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the carriage and baby seat of Plested with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results having a child seat attached to the frame for a child to be transported safely and comfortably.
Regarding claim 15, Li in combination with Yeh and Plested, Li discloses wherein: the frame comprises a frame body (body of the baby car, figs.1-10) and rotating parts (universal wheels 10 with rotating shaft 13, figs.1-10), and the rotating parts are pivotally connected to the frame body on corresponding left and right sides (figs.1-10).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 108820029 A) in view of Yeh (US 20080078630 A1), Plested (US 20180043918 A1), and in further view of Yabuuchi (US 20180229751 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Li in combination with Yeh and Plested discloses the baby carriage brake mechanism of claim 15, but fail to disclose further comprising a push and drift operating part and a rotation orientation assembly, wherein: the push and drift operating part is on the frame body, one end of the rotation orientation assembly is coupled to the push and drift operating part, and another end of the rotation orientation assembly is engaged between the frame body and a corresponding rotating part of the rotating parts, and in response to operating the push and drift operating part, the rotation orientation assembly is disengaged with the corresponding rotating part.
However, Yabuuchi teaches a push and drift operating part (lever 7, figs.1-2B), the push and drift operating part is disposed on the frame body (Lever 7 is disposed on the handle portion 6 of the frame body, fig.1), one end of the rotation orientation assemblies is coupled to the push and drift operating part (lever 7 couples to wires 85 through operation member 70 and operation area 60, wires 85 would couple to the rotation orientation assembly of Li, fig.10), and by operation of the push and drift operating part, the rotation orientation assembly is disengaged with the rotating part (operating lever 7 would engage and disengage the rotation orientation assembly by pulling on the wires 85, and Li teaches when the rotation assembly is operated it can engage and disengaged the rotating part to prevent swiveling of the wheel 12, page 5, paragraph 9 of the translated copy).
Li and Yabuuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of stroller braking mechanisms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with the teachings of Yabuuchi and have a push and drift operating part control the rotation orientation assembly engagement with the rotating parts. Having a push and drift operating part on the handle of a stroller is known in the art to provide a quick and easy way to control different brake or folding mechanisms on a stroller without the user having to remove their hands from the handle, thereby providing the user with more control of the stroller while operating.
Regarding claim 17, Li in combination with Yeh, Plested, and Yabuuchi teaches wherein: the rotation orientation assembly comprises a second traction member (Yabuuchi, wires 85 are the traction member, figs.1-2B and 10) and an orienting member (Li, brake block 112, figs.6-7), one end of the second traction member is connected to and capable of being pulled by the push and drift operating part (Yabuuchi, wires 85 are capable of being pulled by the lever 7 by the rotation of rotating member 61, paragraph [0044]), and the other end of the second traction member is coupled to the orienting member (Yabuuchi, wires 85 extend down to the wheels as seen in figure 10, the wires 85 would connect to the push rod 221 of Li which is connected to the brake block 112, figs.6-7 of Li), and the orienting member is engaged between the frame body and the rotating part (Li, brake block 112 is engage between the frame body and the rotating part to prevent rotation of the wheels 12).
Double Patenting
Claims 6-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11643128 in view of Makin (US 20220242472 A1) or Li (CN 111391910 A) or Zhang (CN 110171460 A) or Li (CN 108820029 A) or Yeh (US 20080078630 A1). Makin, Li, Zhang, and Li all disclose the brake drive assembly rotating. Yeh (US 20080078630 A1) discloses a wheel brake mechanism (3) for a baby stroller, wherein the wheel brake mechanism (3) has a pedal (34), shaft (31), and protruding portions (32) that rotate as a whole, and wherein the protruding portions (32) abut sliders (33).
Claims 6-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 12-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12024218 in view of Makin (US 20220242472 A1) or Li (CN 111391910 A) or Zhang (CN 110171460 A) or Li (CN 108820029 A) or Yeh (US 20080078630 A1). Makin, Li, Zhang, and Li all disclose the brake drive assembly rotating. Yeh (US 20080078630 A1) discloses a wheel brake mechanism (3) for a baby stroller, wherein the wheel brake mechanism (3) has a pedal (34), shaft (31), and protruding portions (32) that rotate as a whole, and wherein the protruding portions (32) abut sliders (33).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613