DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-12, drawn to a catalytic phase transition sorbent, classified in B01J 23/92.
II. Claim 13-20, drawn to a method for hydrogen or hydrogen enriched synthesis gas generation from carbonaceous feedstocks, classified in C11J 3/721.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process, such as dinitrogen oxidation. The process steps entail (a) injecting dinitrogen and oxygen into the first reactor of the system of claim 7 and flowing steam into the first reactor; (b) collecting nitrogen oxides and nitric acid from the reactor; (c) shuttling spent PTS to the regenerator; (d) regenerating the spent PTS with an oxygen-containing gas to create fresh PTS; and (e) shuttling the fresh PTS to the reactor for reuse, i.e. not injecting a carbonaceous feedstock.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with the attorney of record Regan Buckley on 8/18/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention I, claims 1-12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawi et al. Perovskite LaxM1−xNi0.8Fe0.2O3 catalyst for steam reforming of toluene: Crucial role of alkaline earth metal at low steam condition (Kawi).
Regarding claims 1 – 4, Kawi discloses a perovskite catalyst for the steam reforming of toluene, as a model compound of tars produced from biomass gasification (Kawi, Abstract, Introduction, Page 1), wherein the steam reforming products are a H2/CO in an 2.38-3.85 ratio (Kawi, Section 3.6, Pages 7 and 8, Table 4) (i.e. for producing hydrogen-enriched syngas from a carbonaceous feedstock). Kawi further discloses La0.8Sr0.2Ni0.8Fe0.2O3 which reads upon a formula ABO3, wherein A comprises lanthanum and partially substituted with one or more alkaline earth metals, wherein B comprises one or more transition metals (Kawi, Abstract, section 2.1). Kawi further teaches that perovskite catalysts are broadly defined by the chemical formula ABO3, wherein A-site is lanthanide or alkaline earth metal (La, Ba, Ca, Sr) and B-site is transitional metal (Ni, Co, Fe, Cu) (Kawi, Abstract, Introduction, Page 2, last paragraph).
While there is no explicit disclosure that the perovskite catalyst disclosed by Kawi is a catalytic phase transition sorbent (PTS) as presently claimed, applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the preamble does not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. a catalytic phase transition sorbent (PTS), recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure which is identical to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riaz et al. Electrospun manganese-based perovskites as efficient oxygen exchange redox materials for improved solar thermochemical CO2 splitting.
Regarding claims 1 – 5, Riaz discloses developing durable redox materials with fast and stable redox kinetics under high-temperature operating conditions to meet key challenges for an efficient industrial-scale production of synthesis gas from CO2 and H2O (Riaz, Abstract) (i.e. for producing hydrogen-enriched syngas from a carbonaceous feedstock). Riaz further discloses lanthanum strontium perovskites (LSM): LaxSr1−xMnO3, (x = 0, 0.25, 0.50, and 1), which reads on ABO3, wherein A is either lanthanum, strontium, or a combination, and B comprises Manganese (Riaz, Abstract, Experimental Section, Table 1). Wherein, x = 0, or SrMnO3 (SMO), wherein A is 100% strontium and B is 100% manganese (Riaz, Abstract, Experimental Section, Table 1) (i.e. claim 5, wherein A comprises greater than 60% atomic percent Sr and B comprises greater than 60 atomic percent Mn). Riaz further teaches that perovskites typically possess an ABO3 or ABO4 type structure with numerous dopant possibilities at the A-sites (e.g., Ba2+, Sr2+, Ca2+, Ce3+, La3+, Y3+) and at the B-sites (e.g., Zr2+, Mn2+, Fe2+, Al3+, Co2+, Cr2+) (Riaz, Introduction, Page 2, Left Column).
While there is no explicit disclosure that the perovskites disclosed by Riaz is a catalytic phase transition sorbent (PTS) as presently claimed, applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the preamble does not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. a catalytic phase transition sorbent (PTS), recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure which is identical to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawi as applied to claim 1 above, and would be obvious over Kawi.
Regarding claim 6, Kawi teaches that the catalysts were crushed and sieved to obtain particle sizes that are smaller than 125 µm (Kawi, Page 2, Section 2.1, First paragraph) (i.e. the PTS comprises an average particle diameter from about 60 to 600 µm).
As set forth in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2D 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US2014/0072917 A1) (Fan), and further in view of Riaz.
Regarding claim 7, Fan explicitly teaches an oxidizer 200 operating with depleted air stream 510 (i.e. (a) a first reactor operating under a first oxygen partial pressure) (Fan, [0075], Figure 2-5).
Wherein, the oxidizer 200 is fed primary metal oxide particles, the carbonaceous fuel, and steam 210 which results in the generation of H2, CO and CO2, in collected through outlet 220, and reduced metal oxide particles (Fan, [0060]–[0070], Figure 2-5) (i.e. synthesis gas generation from carbonaceous feedstocks, and (c) the first reactor comprises a gasifier configured to receive a carbonaceous feedstock and steam).
Wherein, the reactor is a fluidized bed reactor (Fan, [0080], Figure 2-5) (i.e. (d) the gasifier comprises a fluidized bed).
Wherein, combustion reactor 300 receives air through oxidizing gas inlet 310 (i.e. (b) a second reactor operating under a second oxygen partial pressure) receives reduced metal oxide particles through inlet 400, and re-oxidizes it (Fan, [0048], [0068]– [0075]) (i.e. (e) the second reactor comprises a regenerator configured to receive air or another oxygen-containing gas and spent PTS from the first reactor).
Wherein, the regenerated metal oxide particles are sent through the solid conveying system 350, to purifiers 500 and 600 then the solid-storage vessel 700, and returned to the reactors through 750 to complete a circulation loop (Fan, [0051], [0071]– [0073]) (i.e. (f) the regenerator regenerates the spent PTS and delivers it to the gasifier for reuse).
Fan Further teaches an example of a primary metal oxide particle is Fe2O3 or FeO (Fan, [0044]). Additionally, Fan further teaches that within the oxidizer 200 the reduced metal particles perform water and carbon dioxide splitting to form H2 and CO (Fan, [0055]–[0059]).
However, Fan does not teach, wherein the gasifier comprises a fluidized bed comprising the PTS of claim 1.
With respect to the difference, Riaz teaches lanthanum strontium perovskites (LSM) of claim 1, see above, wherein LaxSr1−xMnO3, (x = 0, 0.25, 0.50, and 1), which reads on ABO3, wherein A is either lanthanum, strontium, or a combination, and B comprises Manganese (Riaz, Abstract, Experimental Section, Table 1) to meet key challenges for an efficient industrial-scale production of synthesis gas from CO2 and H2O (Riaz, Abstract).
As Riaz explicitly teaches, perovskites provide advantages over metal oxides such as Fe2O3/FeO and CeO2 by lowering the temperature of the endothermic reduction, resulting in higher fuel yield and less constrained reactor designs (Riaz, Introduction, Page 2, Left column).
Riaz further teaches that one of pathways that metal oxides generate syngas is the splitting of water to form hydrogen gas and splitting of carbon dioxide to form carbon monoxide, and that the maximum amount of fuel generated is highly dependent on the oxygen storage capacity of the metal oxides (Riaz, Introduction, Page 1 and 2, Equation 2a and 2b). Riaz further teaches, A-site doping of perovskite metal oxides with lanthanum improves the redox performance compared to other lanthanides, due to an efficient vacancy generation mechanism. (Riaz, Introduction, Page 1 and 2, Equation 2a and 2b). Riaz further teaches that a mix of La3+ and Sr2+ doping of the A site is highly preferably because it provides high structural stability and reoxidation capabilities for the thermochemical splitting of CO2, resulting in 6-9 times more fuel generation than CeO2 alone (Riaz, Introduction, Page 2, Right column).
Fan and Riaz are analogous art as Riaz is drawn to syngas production from CO2 and H2O, which are the major chemical components in biomass combustion, utilizing the redox cycling and thermochemical transformations of metal oxides.
In light of the motivation of the motivation of using perovskite metal oxides as the redox material to convert CO2 and H2O into syngas, as taught by Riaz, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to substitute the metal oxides, such as Fe2O3/FeO, as taught by Fan, for the oxygen exchange redox lanthanum strontium perovskites taught by Riaz to have less constrained reactor designs, increase structural stability and reoxidation capabilities of the metal oxides, increase fuel generation, and to obtain the predictable result of syngas production through the CO2 and H2O splitting produced from biomass combustion using oxygen exchange redox lanthanum strontium perovskites, with a system designed for regeneration of the metal oxides and recycling, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, Rationale B.)
Regarding claim 8, Fan further teaches that the depleted air stream 510 that is fed into oxidizer 200 is after the combustion reactor that uses some of the oxygen for combustion (Fan, [0075], Figure 5). The oxygen partial pressure of the oxidizer 200 (i.e. the first oxygen partial pressure) must necessarily be lower than that of the oxygen partial pressure of the combustion reactor (i.e. the second oxygen partial pressure), because some of the oxygen is consumed in combustion and regeneration of the metal oxides.
Claim(s) 9 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan in view of Riaz as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of evidence by Warnecke; Gasification of biomass: comparison of fixed bed and fluidized bed gasifier (Warnecke).
Regarding claim 9, Fan and Riaz do not teach wherein the system operates isothermally or substantially isothermally.
With respect to the difference, Warnecke teaches the gasification of biomass and comparing the designs of fixed and fluidized bed designs in combustion and pyrolysis of biomass (Warnecke, Title, Abstract, Introduction).
As Warnecke explicitly teaches that the main advantage of fluidized beds is the high carbon conversion efficiency (Warnecke, Section 3, Page 4). Warnecke further teaches that fluidized beds have good heat and material transfer between the gas and solid phases with the best temperature distribution (Warnecke, Section 3, Pages 3-4, and 6, Table 4). Therefore, the fluidized beds used by Fan (Fan, [0080]), operate isothermally or substantially isothermally, as taught by Warnecke. (i.e. wherein the system operates isothermally or substantially isothermally)
Warnecke, Fan and Riaz are analogous art as Warnecke is drawn to the gasification of biomass and the techniques thereof. In light of the motivation of using a reactor with the best temperature distribution, as taught by Warnecke, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to use a fluidized bed, as taught by Fan, and know it operates isothermally or substantially isothermally, as taught by Warnecke, in order to have high carbon conversion efficiency due to the best temperature distribution, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10 – 12, Fan further teaches that the oxidation reactor 200 operates at a temperature in the range of about 400 to about 1200 °C (Fan, [0058]), and the combustion reactor operates less than 1200 °C (Fan, [0079]). (i.e. wherein operation is conducted at from about 750 °C to about 980 °C; wherein isothermal operation is conducted at about 850 °C; wherein the regenerator operates within ± 300 °C of the gasifier.)
As set forth in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2D 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/R.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/KELING ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732