DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwano (US20170352923A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iwano teaches an electrode laminate (Figure 2b) that uses curable resin deposited on two sides faces of the electrode stack to hold the stack together and act as a fixing member (Figure 11c, paragraph [0052]). As shown in annotated Figure A, the resin has a thin film region that is deposited so that the thin region is on the fixing member’s terminal end, and the terminal end of the battery , and a thick film region that is on the opposite side of the terminal end and of thin film region (Figure 11c, Examples 2-4).
Annotated Figure A
Regarding claim 2, Iwano teaches all the elements of the electrode laminate stated in claim 1 and the thinnest point of the fixing member is at the terminal end, as it comes to a sharp point due to the tapered shape of the jig used, as shown in annotated Figure A, and the thickness of the fixing member at the terminal end is no more than 50% the thickness of the thick region, since the terminal end of takes on a sharp point (Figure 11c).
Regarding claim 5, Iwano teaches all the elements of the electrode laminate stated in claim 1 and teaches a battery using the electrode laminate and a battery case that encompasses the battery, made of the fixing members on the side faces and the outermost collector layers of the battery, which act as terminals for the internal electrode stack (paragraph [0027], Figure 9C, elements 8, 7, 1a, and 1b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano (US20170352923A1).
Regarding claim 3, Iwano teaches all the elements of the electrode laminate stated in claim 1 and teaches the electrode laminate is made up of repeating stacks of a positive electrode mixture layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode mixture layer, which are stated to have a max thickness in the height direction of 1 mm and a minimum thickness of 0.1 μm (paragraphs [0061], [0063], and [0066]), and are encased in collecting layers having a thickness range in the height direction of 15 μm to 200 μm (paragraph [0058]). Using these height measurements ranges for the layers in annotated Figure A would offer a range of examples that would allow the thin film region of the fixing member to be 0.3 μm to 3 mm, which overlaps with the claimed minimum height of the thin film region of the fixing member to be at least 1mm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Iwano teaches all the elements of the electrode laminate stated in claim 1 and describes the max protrusion length of a layer of the laminated stack the one below it is no smaller than 0.5 mm and no larger than 5 mm (Figure 3B paragraph [0070]). To properly form the cohesive fixing member, the resin must properly cover the entire electrode laminate in a continuous layer, as shown in Figure 11c. As such, when the protrusion length the fixing member in Iwano is within the range described above, in order to properly form the cohesive fixing member, the fixing member must extend past the protrusion length of the protruding electrode. This would create a region above the protruding layer that is thicker than the protrusion length, as shown in the annotated Figure B. Thus, the thickness of the fixing member in the thick film region would be longer than the protrusion length, creating a range for the thickness of the thick film region of the fixing member that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05 (I)) .
Annotated Figure B
Conclusion
/M.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 3 September 2026