DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. Newly added claims 16 is pending in the application.
The amendment filed 07/27/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
“the third positioning signals do not contain the first positioning information” in claim 16.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 9 of 13) about the objections to claims 1-2, 10, 13-14, the objections have been overcome by the amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 9 of 13) about the rejections of claims 2-5, 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 10-12 of 13) about amended Claims 1, 10, and 14 is moot based on the new ground rejections.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 12 of 13) about amended Claim 13, Examiner disagrees because the amended claim 13 is indefinite because as indicated in claim 13 lines 2-4 “a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS), a second positioning system, which includes a plurality of locator devices”, It is indefinite because as indicated in lines 2-4 “a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS), a second positioning system, which includes a plurality of locator devices”, it is not clear how "receiving, from the plurality of locator devices via a first wireless network, first positioning information of a mobile device in the first positioning system" can be operated. “the second positioning system” relates to “a plurality of locator devices”. It is not clear whether or not the “a plurality of locator devices” relates to the “a first positioning system”.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: “second positioning information” in lines 16-17. It appears that “the” is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "receiving, from the plurality of locator devices via a first wireless network, first positioning information of a mobile device in the first positioning system; receiving, directly from the mobile device via a second wireless network that is different from the first wireless network, second positioning information of the mobile device in the second positioning system" in lines 9-10. It is indefinite because as indicated in lines 2-4 “a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS), a second positioning system, which includes a plurality of locator devices”, it is not clear how "receiving, from the plurality of locator devices via a first wireless network, first positioning information of a mobile device in the first positioning system" can be operated. “the second positioning system” relates to “a plurality of locator devices”. It is not clear whether or not the “a plurality of locator devices” relates to the “a first positioning system”. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as "receiving, via a first wireless network, first positioning information of a mobile device in the first positioning system by the mobile device; receiving, directly from the mobile device via a second wireless network that is different from the first wireless network, second positioning information of the mobile device in the second positioning system". Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitations: 1) “second positioning information” in lines 16-17. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “second positioning information” in lines 16-17 relates to the “second positioning information” mentioned in line 13. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the second positioning information”. 2) “the second positioning signals” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “second positioning signals” is not mentioned. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[the]] second positioning signals”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moeglein et al. (WO 2005/004527, hereafter Moeglein).
Regarding claim 13, Moeglein (‘527) discloses that A hybrid positioning engine {Fig.5 item 511 (location server); Title; [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system); [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }, configured for positioning estimation in a hybrid positioning system {title} comprising a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) { Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 521 (satellite); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4-5 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507 may use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521),) }, a second positioning system, which includes a plurality of locator devices { Fig.5 items 503 (cellular phone base station), 505 (wireless network access point B), 509 (wireless network access point A) to 507 (mobile station); Fig.8 item 803 (utilizes, by the mobile station, the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507), 5-8 (wireless signals from the access points (e.g. cellular phone base station 503), the wireless signals from access points· of other wireless networks, such as those from access point B (505)) ; [0058] lines 7-8 (operation 803, the mobile station utilizes the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station) }, and the hybrid positioning engine { Fig.5 item 511, 513; [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }, the hybrid positioning engine comprising:
one or more processors {Fig.2 items 201 (server), 203 (processor)}; and
machine-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations {Fig.2 item 207 (ROM), 205 (Volatile RAM), 206 (nonvolatile RAM); [0072] lines 1-2 (A machine readable medium can be used to store software and data which when executed by a data processing system causes the system to perform various methods); [0073] lines 4-5 (a machine readable medium includes recordable/nonrecordable media (e.g., read only memory (ROM); random access memory (RAM))} including:
receiving, from the plurality of locator devices via a first wireless network, first positioning information of a mobile device in the first positioning system { Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 503 (cellular phone base station), 501 (network), 511 (location server), 521 (satellite); [0042] lines 2-8 (Mobile station 407 communicates the information extracted from the observed SPS signals (e.g., SPS pseudorange measurements, a record of an SPS message for comparison to determine a time of signal reception) and the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks); [0045] lines 4-6 (After determining the identities of base stations (e.g. the wireless access points 403 and 405) of both wireless networks A and B, the mobile station 407 transmits the base station identifications to location server 411); [0052] lines 11 (mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals), 13-15 (The mobile station may calculate its position using the measurements and transmit to the location server the calculated position); };
receiving, directly from the mobile device via a second wireless network that is different from the first wireless network, second positioning information of the mobile device in the second positioning system {Fig.4 communication between items 407 and 411 via items 401 and 403; [0042] lines 2-8 (Mobile station 407 communicates the information extracted from the observed SPS signals (e.g., SPS pseudorange measurements, a record of an SPS message for comparison to determine a time of signal reception) and the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks); [0045] lines 4-6 (After determining the identities of base stations (e.g. the wireless access points 403 and 405) of both wireless networks A and B, the mobile station 407 transmits the base station identifications to location server 411); [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.); Examiner’s note: wireless network for “second positioning system”. [0062] lines 17-19 for “generating, by the plurality of locator devices, second positioning information of the mobile device in the second positioning system” }; and
determining an estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information {[0042] lines 15-20 (The location server 411 may determine the location of the mobile station, retrieve from servers 413 and 415 the locations of wireless access points 403 and 405 and use those locations and the range measurements, which indicate a distance between the mobile station 407 and the points 403 and 405, and the SPS pseudorange measurements and SPS ephemeris information to calculate a position of the mobile station 407.); [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moeglein (‘527) in view of Peng et al . (US 2022/0357464, hereafter Peng).
Regarding claim 1, Moeglein (‘527) discloses that A method for positioning estimation in a hybrid positioning system {title; [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system); [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations)} comprising a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) { Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 521 (satellite); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4-5 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507 may use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521),) }, a second positioning system, which includes a plurality of locator devices { Fig.5 items 503 (cellular phone base station), 505 (wireless network access point B), 509 (wireless network access point A) to 507 (mobile station); Fig.8 item 803 (utilizes, by the mobile station, the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507), 5-8 (wireless signals from the access points (e.g. cellular phone base station 503), the wireless signals from access points· of other wireless networks, such as those from access point B (505)) ; [0058] lines 7-8 (operation 803, the mobile station utilizes the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station) }, and a hybrid positioning engine { Fig.5 item 511, 513; [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a mobile device, first positioning information based on first positioning signals received from the first positioning system, wherein the first positioning information comprises GNSS position data of the mobile device { Fig.5 items 521(satellite), 507 (mobile station); Fig.9 item 821 (receives, at a mobile station, SPS. signals transmitted from one or more SPS satellites); [0012] line 6 from bottom (SPS (Satellite Positioning System); [0041] lines 5-6 (a receiver for receiving SPS signals from SPS satellites (e.g., GPS satellites, not shown in Figure 4).); [0049] lines 4-5 (use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521)); [0059] lines 1-4 (Figure 9 shows a method· of hybrid position determination using two wireless networks, Operation 821 receives, at a mobile station, SPS. signals transmitted from one or more SPS satellites) };
transmitting, by the mobile device, second positioning signals to the plurality of locator devices via a first wireless network, wherein the second positioning signals contain the first positioning information { Fig.4 communication between items 407 and 411 via items 401 and 403; Fig.12 item 907 (communicate between …); [0052] lines 11 (mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals), 13-15 (The mobile station may calculate its position using the measurements and transmit to the location server the calculated position); [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.); Examiner’s note: Fig.4 and [0062] lines 17-19 shows mobile station transmit to access point first and then to server.};
generating, by the plurality of locator devices, second positioning information based on the second positioning signals, wherein the second positioning information comprises positioning data of the mobile device in the second positioning system, and retrieving the first positioning information from the second positioning signals { Fig.4 communication between items 407 and 411 via items 401 and 403; [0042] lines 2-8 (Mobile station 407 communicates the information extracted from the observed SPS signals (e.g., SPS pseudorange measurements, a record of an SPS message for comparison to determine a time of signal reception) and the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks); [0045] lines 4-6 (After determining the identities of base stations (e.g. the wireless access points 403 and 405) of both wireless networks A and B, the mobile station 407 transmits the base station identifications to location server 411); [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.); Examiner’s note: wireless network for “second positioning system”. [0062] lines 17-19 for “generating, by the plurality of locator devices, second positioning information based on the second positioning signals” },
;
providing, by the plurality of locator devices, the first positioning information and the second positioning information to the hybrid positioning engine {Fig.4 communication between items 407 and 411 via items 401 and 403, 405; [0042] lines 2-8 (Mobile station 407 communicates the information extracted from the observed SPS signals (e.g., SPS pseudorange measurements, a record of an SPS message for comparison to determine a time of signal reception) and the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks); [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.); }; and
determining, by the hybrid positioning engine, an estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information { [0042] lines 15-20 (The location server 411 may determine the location of the mobile station, retrieve from servers 413 and 415 the locations of wireless access points 403 and 405 and use those locations and the range measurements, which indicate a distance between the mobile station 407 and the points 403 and 405, and the SPS pseudorange measurements and SPS ephemeris information to calculate a position of the mobile station 407.); [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }.
However, Moeglein (‘527) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “wherein generating, by the plurality of locator devices, the second positioning information based on the second positioning signals comprises measuring, by the plurality of locator devices, relative positions of the plurality of locator devices to the mobile device”. In the same field of endeavor, Peng (‘464) discloses that
wherein generating, by the plurality of locator devices, the second positioning information based on the second positioning signals comprises measuring, by the plurality of locator devices, relative positions of the plurality of locator devices to the mobile device {Fig.1 items 105 (mobile device), 120(base stations), 130(APs); [0024] lines 6-11 (a mobile device may receive position information from one or more position source devices. The position information, indicate, relative position of the mobile device relative to the one or more position source devices .); [0037] lines 2-8 (estimated location of mobile device 105 may be based on measurements of RF signals sent from and / or received by the mobile device 105. the relative distance and/or angle of the mobile device 105 from one or more components in the positioning system 100 ( e.g. GNSS satellites 110 , APs 130 , base stations 120 ))};
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. a mobile device may receive position information from one or more position source devices. The position information, indicate, relative position of the mobile device relative to the one or more position source devices) to a known method (e.g. A method for wireless network hybrid positioning) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. estimated location of mobile device based on measurements of RF signals sent from and / or received by the mobile device) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide a mobile device with ability to identify precise positioning information by using GNSS signals and position information based on one or more position sources , as recognized by Peng (‘464) {[0002] lines 1-2 (mobile devices , identifying precise positioning information), 4 (Precise Point Positioning ( PPP); [0003] lines 1-3 (mobile device for determining a PPP position, according to this disclosure comprises a GNSS receiver , a memory , and one or more processing units); [0004] lines 1-6 (determining a Precise Point Positioning ( PPP ) position , according to this disclosure , comprises obtaining , by a mobile device , one or more Global Navigation Satellite System ( GNSS ) signals , obtaining , by the mobile device , position information based on one or more position sources ,)}).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) discloses that the method further comprising:
transmitting, by each of the plurality of locator devices, respective responses to the mobile device upon receiving the respective second positioning signals { see Moeglein (‘527) Fig.4 items 407 communicate with items 405 and 403; [0057] lines 5-8 (The mobile station transmits the data to a server when a communication link, is available.); Examiner’s note: link is available for “response”}; and
based on the mobile device failing to receive any of the responses { see Moeglein (‘527) [0056] lines 13-14 (an access point has not been observed for a certain period of time,)}:
or
based on the mobile device receiving at least one of the responses { see Moeglein (‘527) Fig.4 items 407 communicate with items 405 and 403; [0057] lines 5-8 (The mobile station transmits the data to a server when a communication link, is available.)}:
continuing transmission, by the mobile device, of the second positioning signals to the plurality of locator devices via the first wireless network;
continuing generation, by the plurality of locator devices, of the second positioning information based on the second positioning signals, and retrieving the first positioning information from the second positioning signals; and
continuing provision, by the plurality of locator devices, of the first positioning information and the second positioning information to the hybrid positioning engine.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claims 1-2, the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) discloses that in the method,
the first wireless network is a Bluetooth network, a ultra wideband network, or a WiFi network {see Moeglein (‘527) Fig.4 items 407(mobile station), 403 (wireless network); Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 503 (cellular phone base station); [0033] lines 4-6 (wireless phone services (e.g., cellular phone services for data, voice or both) and wireless digital communication services (e.g., wireless local area networks such as Wi-Fi networks, bluetooth, ultra-wideband) }; and/or
the second wireless network is a WiFi network or a cellular network { see Moeglein (‘527) Fig.4 item 405 (wireless network B); [0041] lines 10-15 (each of wireless networks A and B includes a number of access points (e.g., cellular base stations such as wireless access points 403 and 405). Wireless networks A and B may use the same type of air interface, operated by different service providers or they may operate with the same communication protocols but at different frequencies.) }.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1-2, Moeglein (‘527) discloses that in the method,
the second positioning system is based on Bluetooth technology, and the responses are generated { Fig.4 items 403 (wireless network A) and 405 (wireless network B); [0041] lines 2-4 from bottom (wireless networks A and B may also use different types of air interfaces (e.g., TDMA, GSM, CDMA, W-CDMA, UMTS, TD-SCDMA, IDEN, HDR, bluetooth, UWB,); [0042] lines 17-20 (retrieve from servers 413 and 415 the locations of wireless access points 403 and 405 and use those locations and the range measurements, which indicate a distance between the mobile station 407 and the points 403 and 405.)} .
However, Moeglein (‘527) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “the responses are generated according to periodic advertising with responses (PAwR) in the Bluetooth technology”. In the same field of endeavor, Peng (‘464) discloses that
the responses are generated according to periodic advertising with responses (PAwR) in the Bluetooth technology {[0070] lines 1-4 (the one or more position source devices include a device ( e.g. , an IoT device , a Bluetooth® beacon device , and the like ) that broadcasts beacons ,); [0103] lines 3-4 (a position source device may transmit messages to the mobile device), 6-7 (a position source device may periodically broadcast messages); [0106] lines 1-3 (the message is transmitted to the mobile device in response to the position source device detecting the mobile device) }.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. a mobile device may receive position information from one or more position source devices via periodically broadcast messages with Bluetooth device. The position information, indicate, relative position of the mobile device relative to the one or more position source devices) to a known method (e.g. A method for wireless network hybrid positioning) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. estimated location of mobile device based on measurements of RF signals sent from and / or received by the mobile device) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide a mobile device with ability to identify precise positioning information by using GNSS signals and position information based on one or more position sources , as recognized by Peng (‘464) {[0002] lines 1-2 (mobile devices , identifying precise positioning information), 4 (Precise Point Positioning ( PPP); [0003] lines 1-3 (mobile device for determining a PPP position, according to this disclosure comprises a GNSS receiver , a memory , and one or more processing units); [0004] lines 1-6 (determining a Precise Point Positioning ( PPP ) position , according to this disclosure , comprises obtaining , by a mobile device , one or more Global Navigation Satellite System ( GNSS ) signals , obtaining , by the mobile device , position information based on one or more position sources ,)}).
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1-2, the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) discloses that in the method,
the first positioning information further comprises first time information in the first positioning system { see Moeglein (‘527) [0042] lines 3-5 (the observed SPS signals (e.g., SPS pseudorange measurements, a record of an SPS message for comparison to determine a time of signal reception)) },
the method further comprising:
generating, by the mobile device, second time information for the second positioning system, based on the first time information { see Moeglein (‘527) [0041] lines 5-9 (the mobile station, Timing measurements (e.g., pseudorange, round trip time, times of arrival of signals, time differences of arrival of signals) based on the wireless signals from one or both of wireless networks A and B (and SPS signals) may be used to determine the position of the mobile station) };
including, by the mobile device, the second time information in at least one of the second positioning signals or the third positioning signals { see Moeglein (‘527) [0042] lines 2-8 (Mobile station 407 communicates the information extracted from the observed SPS signals (e.g., SPS pseudorange measurements, a record of an SPS message for comparison to determine a time of signal reception) and the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks); [0045] lines 4-6 (After determining the identities of base stations (e.g. the wireless access points 403 and 405) of both wireless networks A and B, the mobile station 407 transmits the base station identifications to location server 411); [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.)}; and
performing, by the hybrid positioning engine, a synchronization of the first positioning information and the second positioning information based on the first time information and the second time information { see Moeglein (‘527) [0042] lines 15-20 (The location server 411 may determine the location of the mobile station, retrieve from servers 413 and 415 the locations of wireless access points 403 and 405 and use those locations and the range measurements, which indicate a distance between the mobile station 407 and the points 403 and 405, and the SPS pseudorange measurements and SPS ephemeris information to calculate a position of the mobile station 407.); [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) discloses that in the method, the second positioning information comprises at least one of:
distance estimation based on at least one of received signal strength, channel sounding, or round trip time; or
relative angle estimation based on signal arriving angles.
{ see Moeglein (‘527) Fig.6 (R1, R2, R3); [0007] lines 9-10 (A third measurement (even an angle of arrival or cell sector identification) resolves the ambiguity); [0042] lines 5-8 (the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks), 17-19 (retrieve from servers 413 and 415 the locations of wireless access points 403 and 405 and use those locations and the range measurements, which indicate a distance between ' the mobile station 407 and the points 403 and 405), 23-24 (the location server 411 may use only terrestrial range measurements ( or other types of measurements such as signal strength measurements))) }.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) discloses that in the method, determining the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information comprises
a fusion processing of the first positioning information and the second positioning information using at least one of a signal processing algorithm or a machine learning algorithm { see Moeglein (‘527) [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations); [0064] lines 15-17 (The server may, for example, combine the SPS pseudoranges with the measurements on signals from the wireless access points to determine the position of the mobile station.); Examiner’s note: combine for “a fusion processing” and “a signal processing algorithm” }.
Regarding claim 14, as modified above, Moeglein (‘527) discloses that A first locator device of a plurality of locator devices, the first locator device being { Fig.4 items 403 (wireless network A), 405 (wireless network B); Fig.5 item 503 (cellular phone base station); [0035] lines 1-2 from bottom (signals from access points of different wireless networks, while communicating with a remote server using one or more of the wireless networks); [0042] lines 5-8 (the information extracted from the observed wireless signals (e.g., the identification of an access point, round trip or one-way time measurements between mobile station 407 and at least one of the wireless access points, received signal levels) to the location server through one of the wireless networks) }, configured for positioning estimation in a hybrid positioning system {title} that comprises a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) { Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 521 (satellite); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4-5 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507 may use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521),) }, a second positioning system, which includes the plurality of locator devices{ Fig.5 items 503 (cellular phone base station), 505 (wireless network access point B), 509 (wireless network access point A) to 507 (mobile station); Fig.8 item 803 (utilizes, by the mobile station, the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507), 5-8 (wireless signals from the access points (e.g. cellular phone base station 503), the wireless signals from access points· of other wireless networks, such as those from access point B (505)) ; [0058] lines 7-8 (operation 803, the mobile station utilizes the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station) }, and a hybrid positioning engine { Fig.5 item 511, 513; [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }, the first locator device comprising:
one or more processors {Fig.2 items 201 (server), 203 (processor) }; and
machine-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations {Fig.2 item 207 (ROM), 205 (Volatile RAM), 206 (nonvolatile RAM); [0072] lines 1-2 (A machine readable medium can be used to store software and data which when executed by a data processing system causes the system to perform various methods); [0073] lines 4-5 (a machine readable medium includes recordable/nonrecordable media (e.g., read only memory (ROM); random access memory (RAM))} including:
receiving positioning signals from a mobile device, wherein the positioning signals comprise first positioning information of the mobile device in the first positioning system { Fig.4 communication between item 407 and items 405 and 403; Fig.12 item 907 (communicate between …); [0052] lines 11 (mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals), 13-15 (The mobile station may calculate its position using the measurements and transmit to the location server the calculated position); [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.)};
generating second positioning information based on the positioning signals, wherein the second positioning information comprises positioning data of the mobile device in the second positioning system, and retrieving the first positioning information from the positioning signals,
wherein generating, by the plurality of locator devices, second positioning information based on the second positioning signals comprises measuring, by the plurality of locator devices, relative positions of the plurality of locator devices to the mobile device; and
providing the first positioning information and the second positioning information to the hybrid positioning engine.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claims 1-2, the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) discloses that in the method,
the third positioning signals do not contain the first positioning information {see Moeglein (‘527) Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 503 (cellular phone base station), 505 (wireless access point B); [0049] lines 2- (An access point of one wireless network (e.g., cellular base station 503) is used for the communication between mobile station 507 and location server 511. A method for determining the position of mobile station 507 may use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521), wireless signals from the access points (e.g. cellular phone base station 503) of the wireless network used for data communication,); Examiner’s note: “wireless signals” for “the third positioning signals do not contain the first positioning information”}.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alizadeh-Shabdiz et al. (US 2012/0112958, hereafter Alizadeh-Shabdiz).
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) do not explicitly disclose “the first positioning information further comprises quality indication in the first positioning system, the method further comprising: determining, by the hybrid positioning engine, a first reliability of the first positioning information based on the quality indication; and if the first positioning information is determined to be reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information; or if the first positioning information is determined to be not reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the second positioning information”. In the same field of endeavor, Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958) discloses that in the method,
the first positioning information further comprises quality indication in the first positioning system { Fig.5; [0017] lines 1-3 (Fig.5, quality of the location estimate for a satellite position system.); [0028] lines 2-3 (combine the above metrics and use the result as an indicator of the quality of an SPS estimated location) },
the method further comprising:
determining, by the hybrid positioning engine, a first reliability of the first positioning information based on the quality indication { [0027] lines 8-9 (hybrid position system can take advantage of this difference in TTF and assign a quality factor to SPS location); [0028] lines 2-3 (combine the above metrics and use the result as an indicator of the quality of an SPS estimated location)}; and
if the first positioning information is determined to be reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information { [0033] lines 1-3 from bottom (the hybrid positioning system selects the best possible location when both SPS and WiFi positioning are available.) }; or
if the first positioning information is determined to be not reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the second positioning information { [0009] lines 13-14 (WiFi Positioning System (“WPS) and); [0031] lines 2-6 from bottom (the hybrid positioning system, based on realistic values for Velocity and bearing and previous SPS location, can reject a new reported SPS location, if the new location is much further than anticipated location.); [0050] lines 6-10 from bottom (If the WPS accuracy is above a given threshold while the accuracy of the SPS location estimate has fallen below a certain thresh old, the hybrid positioning system reports the location provided by the WPS.) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) with the teachings of Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958) {consider the quality of an SPS estimated location in hybrid position system } to consider the quality of an SPS estimated location in hybrid position system. Doing so would provide a new method to assess the quality of a reported location from specific source of location to be used for hybrid positioning so as to increase the reliability and accuracy of location estimation in a hybrid positioning system, as recognized by Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958) {title; [0003] lines 2-4 (new method to assess the quality of a reported location from specific source of location to be used for hybrid positioning.)}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) do not explicitly disclose “including in the second positioning information, by the plurality of locator devices, confidence values of the positioning data of the mobile device in the second positioning system; determining, by the hybrid positioning engine, a second reliability of the second positioning information based on the confidence values; and if the second positioning information is determined to be reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information; or if the second positioning information is determined to be not reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information”. In the same field of endeavor, Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958) discloses that the method, further comprising:
including in the second positioning information, by the plurality of locator devices, confidence values of the positioning data of the mobile device in the second positioning system { [0009] lines 13-14 (WiFi Positioning System (“WPS) and); [0050] lines 6-10 from bottom (If the WPS accuracy is above a given threshold while the accuracy of the SPS location estimate has fallen below a certain thresh old, the hybrid positioning system reports the location provided by the WPS.)};
determining, by the hybrid positioning engine, a second reliability of the second positioning information based on the confidence values { [0050] lines 1-3 (the hybrid positioning system assesses the quality of the location estimates from each source of location.)}; and
if the second positioning information is determined to be reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information and the second positioning information { [0033] lines 1-3 from bottom (the hybrid positioning system selects the best possible location when both SPS and WiFi positioning are available.)}; or
if the second positioning information is determined to be not reliable, determining by the hybrid positioning engine the estimated position of the mobile device based on the first positioning information { [0037] lines 6-7 (the hybrid positioning system should report the SPS location as its final location); [0050] lines 1-4 from bottom (if only one source of location is able to provide an estimated location, then the hybrid positioning system reports the location from the only available system.)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Moeglein (‘527) and Peng (‘464) with the teachings of Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958) { access the quality of the location estimates from each source of location in hybrid position system } to access the quality of the location estimates from each source of location in hybrid position system. Doing so would provide a new method to assess the quality of a reported location from specific source of location to be used for hybrid positioning so as to increase the reliability and accuracy of location estimation in a hybrid positioning system, as recognized by Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958) {title; [0003] lines 2-4 (new method to assess the quality of a reported location from specific source of location to be used for hybrid positioning.)}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 10-12 are allowable over the prior art of record due to the amendment of 07/27/2026 and the remarks with the amendment of 07/27/2026, which are taken as being persuasive.
The closest prior art of record is represented by Moeglein (‘527), Peng (‘464), Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958), Kholaif et al. (US 2011/0111726, hereafter Kholaif), Oda et al. (US 2010/0007552, hereafter Oda), Ramakrishnan et al. (US 8,738,035, hereafter Ramakrishnan).
Regarding claim 10, Moeglein (‘527) discloses that A mobile device {Fig.3 item 310 (mobile unit); Fig.4 item 407 (mobile station); Fig.5 item 507 (mobile station); [0074] line 4 (The combined mobile unit 310)}, configured for positioning estimation in a hybrid positioning system {title} comprising a first positioning system, which is based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) { Fig.5 items 507 (mobile station), 521 (satellite); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4-5 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507 may use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521),) }, a second positioning system, which includes a plurality of locator devices { Fig.5 items 503 (cellular phone base station), 505 (wireless network access point B), 509 (wireless network access point A) to 507 (mobile station); Fig.8 item 803 (utilizes, by the mobile station, the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station); [0049] line 1 (Figure 5 shows another example of a hybrid positioning system), 4 (A method for determining the position of mobile station 507), 5-8 (wireless signals from the access points (e.g. cellular phone base station 503), the wireless signals from access points· of other wireless networks, such as those from access point B (505)) ; [0058] lines 7-8 (operation 803, the mobile station utilizes the wireless signals from each of the access points of the different wireless networks in determining the position of the mobile station) }, and a hybrid positioning engine { Fig.5 item 511, 513; [0053] lines 9-11 (the collection and enhancement operations are performed in almanac server 513, which communicates with location server 511 in performing hybrid position determination for mobile stations) }, the mobile device comprising:
one or more processors {Fig.3 item 333 (processor)}; and
obtaining first positioning information based on first positioning signals received from the first positioning system, wherein the first positioning information comprises GNSS position data of the mobile device { Fig.5 items 521(satellite), 507 (mobile station); Fig.9 item 821 (receives, at a mobile station, SPS. signals transmitted from one or more SPS satellites); [0012] line 6 from bottom (SPS (Satellite Positioning System); [0041] lines 5-6 (a receiver for receiving SPS signals from SPS satellites (e.g., GPS satellites, not shown in Figure 4).); [0049] lines 4-5 (use SPS signals (e.g., from satellite 521)); [0059] lines 1-4 (Figure 9 shows a method· of hybrid position determination using two wireless networks, Operation 821 receives, at a mobile station, SPS. signals transmitted from one or more SPS satellites) }; and
transmitting, over a first wireless network, second positioning signals to the plurality of locator devices, wherein the second positioning signals contain the first positioning information { Fig.4 communication between items 407 and 411 via items 401 and 403 (wireless network A); [0052] lines 11 (mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals), 13-15 (The mobile station may calculate its position using the measurements and transmit to the location server the calculated position); Fig.12 item 907; [0062] lines 17-19 (In operation 907, the mobile station and the server communicate to determine the position of the mobile station, and this communication may be through the second wireless access point.); Examiner’s note: Fig.4 and [0062] lines 17-19 shows mobile station transmit to access point first and then to server.};
Peng (‘464) discloses that
the mobile device comprising: machine-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations {Fig.7 items 105 (mobile device), 710 (processing unit), 720 (DSP), 760 (memory); }
Kholaif (‘726) discloses that
waiting for responses to the second positioning signals from the plurality of locator devices {Fig.4; Fig.7 items 704 (response message received?), 710 (response timeout exceeded?), No feedback to input pf item 704};
determining that no responses to the second positioning signals from the plurality of locator devices have been received {Fig.4; Fig.7 items 704 (response message received?), 710 (response timeout exceeded?), Yes};
However, Moeglein (‘527), Peng (‘464), Alizadeh-Shabdiz (‘958), Kholaif (‘726), Oda (‘552), Ramakrishnan (‘035), either alone or in combination, do not disclose (see words with underline)
transmitting, based on determining that no responses to the second positioning signals have been received, the first positioning information to the hybrid positioning engine over a second wireless network that is different from the first wireless network; and
ceasing transmission of the second positioning signals based on determining that no responses to the second positioning signals have been received.
In that each of dependent claims 11-12 depends ultimately from allowable, independent claim 10, each of dependent claims 11-12 is allowable for, at least, the reasons for which independent claim 10 is allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648