DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor of claims 12 and 13 and the power-assisted bicycle of claim 14 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description:
300 as seen in FIG. 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the claim limitation of “connected to a respective one of rest wiring terminals of the stator other than the wiring terminals connected through the bridge connecting member.” This wording is unclear. It appears that the claim was meant to say “connected to a respective one of the rest of wiring terminals of the stator other than the wiring terminals connected through the bridge connecting member.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. 2018-133934 to Suzuki (provided by Applicant on 3/5/2025) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0028286 to Houzumi et al. (hereinafter Houzumi ‘286; cited by Applicant on 3/5/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a stator assembly comprising:
a stator (FIG. 2, 2) comprising a plurality of individual stator cores (FIG. 3, 13; Paragraph [0028]) and a plurality of individual stator windings (FIG. 3, 16), wherein each of the plurality of individual stator windings is wound around a respective one of the plurality of individual stator cores (Paragraph [0030]), wherein each of the plurality of individual stator windings has two wiring terminals (FIG. 2, 16a); and
a busbar subassembly (FIG. 2, 5) at one of the stator along an axial direction, wherein the busbar subassembly comprises a plurality of stacked bus bars (FIG. 4, 20), wherein each of the plurality of stacked bus bars has a plurality of connecting portions (FIG. 4; 23, 24, 25).
Suzuki does not teach the stator further comprising a bridge connecting member connected to one of the wiring terminals of each of at least two individual stator windings among the plurality of individual stator windings, and each of the plurality of connecting portions in each of the plurality of stacked bus bars being connected to a respective one of the rest of wiring terminals of the stator other than the wiring terminals connected through the bridge connecting member.
However, Houzumi ‘286 teaches a busbar assembly with a bridge connecting member (FIG. 1, 116) connected to one of the wiring terminals (FIG. 1, 117) of each of at least two individual stator windings among the plurality of individual stator windings (Paragraph [0024]), and each of the plurality of connecting portions in each of the plurality of stacked bus bars (FIG. 2, 48) being connected to a respective one of the rest of wiring terminals of the stator other than the wiring terminals connected through the bridge connecting member (Paragraph [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stator assembly of Suzuki with the bridge connecting member of Houzumi ‘286 to provide an easier connection between adjacent stator windings in comparison to adding more connections to the busbar assembly itself.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 1, wherein Houzumi ‘286 further teaches the bridge connecting member being connected to one of the wiring terminals of each of two individual stator windings along the plurality of individual stator windings in adjacent slots that are related to a same phase (FIG. 1, 116; Paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 2, wherein Houzumi ‘286 further teaches the bridge connecting member being provided with a bridge portion (FIG. 1, 116; ends), with two bridge portions each welded to a respective one of both ends of the bridge portion (FIG. 1, 116; ends).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 3, wherein Houzumi ‘286 further teaches the bridge portion and the two welding portions being integrally formed (FIG. 1, 116; part is singular).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 1, wherein Suzuki further teaches a cross-section of wire of each of the individual stator windings being waist-circular (FIG. 2, 16a).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 1, wherein Suzuki further teaches the busbar subassembly comprising an annular support bracket (FIG. 4, 19), and the plurality of stacked bus bars comprising a first bus bar (FIG. 4, 21W1), a second bus bar (FIG. 4, 22U1), and a third bus bar (FIG. 4, 22V2).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 7, wherein Suzuki further teaches:
the first bus bar comprising a first body portion (see annotated FIG. 4) embedded into the annular support bracket, and the first body portion extending along a circumferential direction of the annular support bracket and defining a first opening (FIG. 4, vacant portion of L3 left of 21W1);
the second bus bar comprising a second body portion (see annotated FIG. 4) embedded into the annular support bracket, and the second body portion extending along the circumferential direction of the annular support bracket and defining a second opening (FIG. 4, vacant portion of L2 below and to the right of 22U1); and
the third bus bar comprising a third body portion (see annotated FIG. 4) and a fourth body portion (see annotated FIG. 4) that are embedded into the annular support bracket and electrically connected to each other, wherein a gap (FIG. 6, 26) is provided in the axial direction of the annular support bracket and at a position where the fourth body portion and the third boy portion meets;
wherein the first body portion and the second body portion are spaced apart along the axial direction of the annular support bracket (see annotated FIG. 4), the first opening and the second opening are staggered along the circumferential direction of the annular support bracket (FIG. 4; L2, L3), the third body portion arranged within the first opening, and the fourth body portion is arranged within the second opening (see annotated FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 8.
Suzuki in view of Houzumi does not teach a height of the gap along the axial direction of the annular support bracket being denoted as h, which satisfies: h ≥ 0.3mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stator assembly of Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 by modifying the height of the gap to satisfy the claimed parameters as a matter of design choice, in this case to provide sufficient space to fit the other bus bar underneath it (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 8, wherein Suzuki further teaches the third bus bar being further provided with a bending portion (FIG. 6, 26a), and the bending portion is respectively connected to the third body portion and the fourth body portion at both ends of the bending portion (see annotated FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 8, wherein Suzuki further teaches the first bus bar, the second bus bar, and the third bus bar of the busbar assembly being plastic-coated and fixed by means of an injection molding process, and an insulating layer is formed between adjacent ones of the bus bars (Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches a motor (Suzuki FIG. 1, 1) comprising the stator assembly according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the motor according to claim 12, wherein Suzuki further teaches a number of poles of the motor being denoted as 2p, a number of slots is denoted as Z, and Z and 2p satisfy: |Z-2p| = 2 (Paragraph [0076]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0175570 to Houzumi et al. (hereinafter Houzumi ‘570).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the stator assembly according to claim 1.
Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 does not teach the busbar subassembly being further provided with a snap-in terminal, and the busbar subassembly being engaged with the stator by means of the snap-in terminal.
However, Houzumi ‘570 teaches a busbar subassembly (FIG. 2, 110) provided with a snap-in terminal (FIG. 2, 112), and the busbar subassembly being engaged with a stator (FIG. 2, 120) by means of the snap-in terminal (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stator assembly of Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 with the snap-in terminal of Houzumi ‘570 to provide a more easily removable busbar attachment method to the stator during assembly or repair of the stator assembly.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 and in further view of WIPO Publication No. 2019/065119 to Watahiki et al. (hereinafter Watahiki).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 teaches the motor according to claim 12.
Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 does not teach a power-assisted bicycle comprising the motor.
However, Watahiki teaches a power-assisted bicycle (FIG. 10, 3000) comprising a motor (FIG. 10, 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286 by integrating it into the power-assisted bicycle of Watahiki for the bicycle of Watahiki to benefit from the features of the motor of Suzuki in view of Houzumi ‘286.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834