DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwasaki (JP 2005-258323, cited on Applicant’s IDS, translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki discloses (Figs. 1-7) an image forming apparatus 10 (see par. [0017]) comprising:
an image bearing member 13 [0017] configured to be driven to rotate [0024];
a charging member 36 [0025] configured to face a surface of the image bearing member 13 to form a charging portion (as shown in Figs. 1-7) and charge the surface of the image bearing member 13 [0025];
a developing roller 38 [0024] configured to feed a developer charged to a regular polarity [0030] to the surface of the image bearing member 13 [0030] charged by the charging member 36 to form a developer image [0030];
a transfer roller 32 [0023] configured to form a transfer portion between the transfer roller 32 and the image bearing member 13 [0023] to transfer the developer image from the image bearing member 13 to a transferred member [0030];
a brush 50 [0042] (Fig. 7) configured to form, on the surface of the image bearing member 13 on a side downstream of the transfer portion 32 (see Fig. 7) and upstream of the charging portion 36 (as shown in Fig. 7) in a rotation direction of the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Fig. 7), a brush contact portion between the brush 50 and the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Fig. 7) wherein the brush 50 contacts with the image bearing member 13 at the brush contact portion (as shown in Fig. 7);
a voltage applying unit 44 [0026] configured to apply a voltage having the regular polarity [0026] to the brush 50 (as shown in Fig. 7); and
a pre-exposing unit 48 [0043] configured to expose the surface of the image bearing member 13 on a side downstream of the brush contact portion (i.e. can be positioned downstream: [0045]) and upstream of the charging portion 36 in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Fig. 7; [0045]),
wherein, after the transfer of the developer image to the transferred member (at roller 32: see Fig. 7), the developer remaining on the surface of the image bearing member 13 being collected by the developing roller 38 (see pars. [0002] and [0035]), wherein
the pre-exposing unit 48 is configured to expose a downstream-side end portion of the brush contact portion where the brush contacts with the image bearing member (as shown in Fig. 7; see pars. [0042]-[0043] and [0045]-[0046], light from the member 48 will reach where the brush contacts the drum 13) in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Fig. 7) such that an area of the surface of the image bearing member 13 which is exposed by the pre-exposing unit 48 includes at least a part of the brush contact portion (as shown in Fig. 7; see pars. [0042]-[0043] and [0045]-[0046], light from the member 48 will reach where the brush contacts the drum 13).
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki discloses (Figs. 1-7) in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 13, an upstream-side end portion of the area of the surface of the image bearing member 13 which is exposed by the pre-exposing unit 48 in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 13 is on a side upstream of a downstream-side end portion of the brush contact portion of the surface of the image bearing member 13 in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Fig. 7; see pars. [0042]-[0043] and [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 11, Iwasaki discloses (Figs. 1-7) the charging member 36 is in contact with the image bearing member 13 in the charging portion (as shown in Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (JP 2005-258323) in view of Meakawa (U.S. Patent 4,660,962).
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki is applied as above, but does not disclose the brush has a base fabric and a yarn portion including a plurality of yarns extending from the base fabric, and in a direction in which the yarns are raised, an arrangement of the yarns in the vicinity of yarn tips is relatively even compared to that in the vicinity of a yarn root of the yarn portion near the base fabric.
Meakawa discloses (Figs. 3-4) the brush has a base fabric and a yarn portion including a plurality of yarns extending from the base fabric (as shown in Figs. 3-4), and in a direction in which the yarns are raised (vertical in Figs. 3-4), an arrangement of the yarns in the vicinity of yarn tips is relatively even compared to that in the vicinity of a yarn root of the yarn portion near the base fabric (as shown in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iwasaki’s device so that the brush has a base fabric and a yarn portion including a plurality of yarns extending from the base fabric, and in a direction in which the yarns are raised, an arrangement of the yarns in the vicinity of yarn tips is relatively even compared to that in the vicinity of a yarn root of the yarn portion near the base fabric, as taught by Meakawa.
Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki discloses (Figs. 1-7) a part of irradiating light from the pre-exposing unit 48 irradiates the yarn portion 50 (per the combination with Maekawa, see above) of the brush 50 (i.e. the light from 48 will shine on the back part of the brush 50: see Fig. 7, [0045]), and the irradiating light not blocked by the yarn portion 50 exposes the surface of the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Figs. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaki discloses (Figs. 1-7) a part of the irradiating light from the pre-exposing unit 48 irradiates a part of the yarn portion 50 (per the combination with Maekawa, see above) near the base fabric (i.e. any illuminated pat of the brush 50 is “near” the electrode part or near the base of the fabric, relatively speaking).
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki discloses (Figs. 1-2) the base fabric 50 (per the combination with Maekawa, see above) is inclined (i.e. the brush is cylindrical and therefore the angle of the bristles changes constantly around the roller: see Fig. 7) in a direction reverse to the rotation direction of the image bearing member 1 with respect to a virtual contact plane (as shown in Fig. 7) that is in contact with the surface of the image bearing member at a middle portion of the brush contact portion 50 in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 13 (as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Iwasaki is applied as above, but does not disclose the brush is a pile fabric; and a density of the yarn portion is equal to or more than 150 kF/inch2.
Maekawa discloses (Figs. 3-4) the brush is a pile fabric (as shown in Figs. 3-4); and a density of the yarn portion is equal to or more than 150 kF/inch2 (col. 2, lines 66-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iwasaki’s device so that the brush is a pile fabric; and a density of the yarn portion is equal to or more than 150 kF/inch2, as taught by Kubo.
Such a modification would prevent fur/bristles from breaking off and scattering throughout the machine (by using yarn: Maekawa, col. 1, lines 26-31).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (JP 2005-258323) in view of Meakawa (U.S. Patent 4,660,962), and further in view of Hoshi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2003/0049049).
Regarding claim 6, Iwasaki is applied as above, but does not disclose the base fabric is parallel to a virtual contact plane that is in contact with the surface of the image bearing member at a middle portion of the brush contact portion in the rotation direction of the image bearing member.
Hoshi discloses (Fig. 7) the base fabric (attached at 3gb: see Fig. 7) is parallel to a virtual contact plane that is in contact with the surface of the image bearing member 2 at a middle portion of the brush contact portion in the rotation direction of the image bearing member 2 (i.e. the base portion of the brush is parallel to a plane that is defined by the tangent of a contact point at the middle of brush 3g: see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iwasaki’s device so that the base fabric is parallel to a virtual contact plane that is in contact with the surface of the image bearing member at a middle portion of the brush contact portion in the rotation direction of the image bearing member, as taught by Hoshi.
Such a modification would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Iwasaki is applied as above, but does not disclose the lengths of the individual yarns in the yarn portion are even, and penetration levels of the individual yarns of the yarn portion into the surface of the image bearing member are even throughout an entire area of the brush contact portion.
Hoshi discloses (Fig. 7) the lengths of the individual yarns in the yarn portion are even (as shown in Fig. 7), and penetration levels “X1” [0114] of the individual yarns of the yarn portion 3g into the surface of the image bearing member are even throughout an entire area of the brush contact portion (as shown in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iwasaki’s device so that the lengths of the individual yarns in the yarn portion are even, and penetration levels of the individual yarns of the yarn portion into the surface of the image bearing member are even throughout an entire area of the brush contact portion, as taught by Hoshi.
Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D); and would ensure proper charging of the residual toner (see Hoshi: pars. [0114]-[0116]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (JP 2005-258323) in view of Meakawa (U.S. Patent 4,660,962), and further in view of Furuya et al. (WO 2018/124414).
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki is applied as above, but does not disclose the lengths of the individual yarns of the yarn portion are even, and penetration levels of the individual yarns of the yarn portion into the surface of the image bearing member are smaller at shorter distances from a downstream end of the brush contact portion in the rotation direction of the image bearing member.
Furuya discloses (Fig. 37) the lengths of the individual yarns of the yarn portion are even (as shown in Fig. 37), and penetration levels of the individual yarns of the yarn portion into the surface of the roller 33 are smaller at shorter distances from a downstream end of the brush contact portion in the rotation direction of the roller (i.e. when the brush support member 202 is in the orientation shown in Fig. 37, the penetration level of the downstream brush fibers is smaller than that of the upstream fibers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iwasaki’s device so that the lengths of the individual yarns of the yarn portion are even, and penetration levels of the individual yarns of the yarn portion into the surface of the image bearing member are smaller at shorter distances from a downstream end of the brush contact portion in the rotation direction of the image bearing member, as taught by Furuya.
Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852