Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, “chamber” should have a period after it. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-5 and 12-14 all contain the trademark/trade name Nafion™. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer” (see [0008] of the specification) and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner interprets “Nafion” to mean “a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer.”
Regarding claim 4, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “a Nafion Structure” in claim 3, and the claim also recites “one or more beads” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the gas exchange measurement system" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner interprets “the gas exchange measurement system" to mean “the gas exchange analysis system."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 20210293768 A1) further in view of Li et al. (Sensors, Vol. 20, No. 6117, 27 October 2020, pgs. 1-12).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a closed gas exchange analysis system (abstract and [0002]) (Gas exchange analysis methods and systems and Gas exchange measurement systems… categorized as open or closed systems), the system comprising:
a gas analyzer configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line coupled to an exit of a sample chamber and configured to measure a first concentration of an analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber ([0007]) (a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber);
the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas ([0007]) (a sample chamber configured… to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water vapor from the gas… a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber); and
a component in the first gas flow line between the gas analyzer and the sample chamber, the component including an amount of a material configured to buffer water vapor content in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in water vapor content in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude ([0007]) (includes a water vapor buffering component… including a material configured to buffer water vapor in a flow of a gas, whereby fluctuations in the water vapor content in the flow of the gas are slowed).
Johnson does not clearly teach wherein the sample chamber is configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer.
In the analogous art of gas exchange analysis systems, Li teaches a closed gas exchange analyzer with a sample chamber (abstract of Li) (The chamber system can automatically open and close the chamber, and regularly collect gas in the chamber for laboratory analysis), wherein the sample chamber is configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (the chamber is connected to an infrared gas analyzer (IRGA) through flexible inlet and outlet pipes, resulting in a closed circle structure with constant flow). Li teaches that this CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” configuration is beneficial for obtaining measurements rapidly while analyzing analyte levels over time to determine net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a plant sample (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values that can be obtained directly in the field. Through a series of linear regression calculations, NEE is obtained, and the CO2 concentration value that changes with time in the chamber can be seen).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the sample chamber and analyzer as taught by Johnson with the CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” sample chamber configuration as taught by Li to provide: the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas and configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer. Doing so would lead to the predictable outcome of rapidly obtaining analyte measurements and observing analyte measurements over time and determining net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a sample with a reasonable expectation of success (see abstract and [0002] and [0007] of Johnson; see abstract and pg. 2 second paragraph of Li).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of change in water vapor content propagated in the flow of the gas to the gas analyzer from the sample chamber ([0007] and [0017] of Johnson) (includes a water vapor buffering component… including a material configured to buffer water vapor in a flow of a gas and the material selectively absorbs or desorbs water in the presence of a water concentration gradient).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the material includes a Nafion structure ([0009] of Johnson) (the material includes a Nafion® structure. Nafion is a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer... the material includes one or a plurality of Nafion beads).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 3 as rejected above, wherein the Nafion structure is selected from the group consisting of one or more beads, a tube and a flat membrane ([0009] of Johnson) (the structure is selected from the group consisting of a bead, a tube and a flat membrane).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the material includes one or a plurality of Nafion beads arranged in series and/or in parallel ([0039] of Johnson) (arrangement including short lengths of tubing containing a number of spherical Nafion beads. The beads were installed in the flow-path between two non-dispersive infra-red (NDIR) gas analyzers).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the analyte of interest includes CO2 or CH4 or N2O or their isotopolouges (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the gas exchange measurement system includes a second gas analyzer configured to receive the flow of the gas from the first gas flow line coupled to the exit of a sample chamber and configured to measure a first concentration of a second analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber ([0007] of Johnson and pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber and the chamber is connected to an infrared gas analyzer (IRGA) through flexible inlet and outlet pipes, resulting in a closed circle structure with constant flow… IRGA offers instant CO2 values).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the sample includes a biologically active material capable of respiration, photosynthesis and/or evapotranspiration ([0019] of Johnson) (the sample may include a water saturable or aqueous sample, which may include a photosynthesis capable material, substance or organism, such as a leaf or algae, or may include a respiratory material).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the gas analyzer includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer ([0010] of Johnson) (water vapor sensor includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, or an optical absorption gas analyzer or a second laser-based gas analyzer).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson teaches a method of measuring a gas flux in a closed gas exchange measurement system, the method comprising:
providing an internal volume of a sample chamber with ambient air from an environment external to the sample chamber ([0037] of Johnson) (the gas flow provided over gas flow line 15 may be received from the ambient surroundings),
the sample chamber containing a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas ([0014] of Johnson) (airstream continuously flows through or by the water buffering component, the first water vapor sensor, the sample chamber and the second water vapor sensor);
thereafter continuously measuring, for a period of time, a concentration of an analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in a first gas flow line from the sample chamber ([0014] of Johnson) (continuously measuring the second water vapor concentration with the second water vapor sensor as the airstream continuously flows through or by the water buffering component, the first water vapor sensor, the sample chamber and the second water vapor sensor), wherein the first gas flow line includes a component including an amount of a material configured to buffer water vapor content in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in water vapor content in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude ([0007] of Johnson) (includes a water vapor buffering component… including a material configured to buffer water vapor in a flow of a gas, whereby fluctuations in the water vapor content in the flow of the gas are slowed).
Johnson is silent to closing the sample chamber to the environment and thereafter continuously measuring, for a period of time while the sample chamber is closed to the environment.
In the analogous art of gas exchange analysis systems, Li teaches a sample chamber that is automatically opened and closed for measuring CO2 concentration (pg. 3 second paragraph of Li) (the chamber can be opened and closed for a certain period of time… after the chamber is closed, the gas sampling devices starts to work, collecting gas regularly); see also figure 1 below from Li:
Li suggests that their automatic closing chamber saves labor time and money and that it makes taking measurements at night easier (pg. 3 first paragraph of Li) (commonly used methods have high labor intensity, and the static closed chamber method has a significant impact on the micro-environment… These problems make it difficult to measure NEE at night… the current research aimed to… design a low-cost and portable static closed chamber).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the sample chamber as taught by Johnson to automatically close as taught by Li to provide: closing the sample chamber to the environment; and thereafter continuously measuring, for a period of time while the sample chamber is closed to the environment, a concentration of an analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in a first gas flow line from the sample chamber, wherein the first gas flow line includes a component including an amount of a material configured to buffer water vapor content in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in water vapor content in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude. Doing so would lead to the predictable outcome of saving labor time and money and taking measurements at night with more ease with a reasonable expectation of success (see abstract and [0002] and [0007] of Johnson; see Figure 1 and pg. 3 first paragraph of Li).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of changes in water vapor content propagated in the flow of the gas to the gas analyzer from the sample chamber ([0007] and [0017]) (includes a water vapor buffering component… including a material configured to buffer water vapor in a flow of a gas and the material selectively absorbs or desorbs water in the presence of a water concentration gradient).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the material includes a Nafion structure ([0009] of Johnson) (the material includes a Nafion® structure. Nafion is a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer... the material includes one or a plurality of Nafion beads).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 12 as rejected above, wherein the Nafion structure is selected from the group consisting of one or more beads, a tube and a flat membrane ([0009] of Johnson) (the structure is selected from the group consisting of a bead, a tube and a flat membrane).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the material includes one or a plurality of Nafion beads arranged in series and/or in parallel ([0039] of Johnson) (arrangement including short lengths of tubing containing a number of spherical Nafion beads. The beads were installed in the flow-path between two non-dispersive infra-red (NDIR) gas analyzers).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the analyte of interest includes CO2 or CH4 or N2O or their isotopolouges (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 10 as rejected above. Modified Johnson teaches wherein the gas measured by the gas analyzer is continuously reintroduced back into the sample chamber during the continuously measuring (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li)
(the chamber is connected to an infrared gas analyzer (IRGA) through flexible inlet and outlet pipes, resulting in a closed circle structure with constant flow… IRGA offers instant CO2 values).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the gas analyzer includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer ([0010] of Johnson) (water vapor sensor includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, or an optical absorption gas analyzer or a second laser-based gas analyzer).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson teaches a closed gas exchange analysis system, the system comprising:
a gas analyzer configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line configured to measure a first concentration of a first analyte in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber ([0007] of Johnson) (a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber);
the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing a second analyte from the gas ([0007] of Johnson) (a sample chamber configured… to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water vapor from the gas); and
a component in the first gas flow line between the gas analyzer and the sample chamber, the component including an amount of a material configured to buffer the second analyte in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in concentration of the second analyte in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude ([0007] of Johnson) (includes a water vapor buffering component… including a material configured to buffer water vapor in a flow of a gas, whereby fluctuations in the water vapor content in the flow of the gas are slowed).
Johnson is silent to the first gas flow line being coupled to an exit of a sample chamber; and is likewise silent to the sample chamber being configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer.
In the analogous art of gas exchange analysis systems, Li teaches a closed gas exchange analyzer with a sample chamber (abstract of Li) (The chamber system can automatically open and close the chamber, and regularly collect gas in the chamber for laboratory analysis), wherein the sample chamber is configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (the chamber is connected to an infrared gas analyzer (IRGA) through flexible inlet and outlet pipes, resulting in a closed circle structure with constant flow). Li teaches that this CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” configuration is beneficial for obtaining measurements rapidly while analyzing analyte levels over time to determine net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a plant sample (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values that can be obtained directly in the field. Through a series of linear regression calculations, NEE is obtained, and the CO2 concentration value that changes with time in the chamber can be seen).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the sample chamber and analyzer as taught by Johnson with the CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” sample chamber configuration as taught by Li to provide: a gas analyzer configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line coupled to an exit of a sample chamber and configured to measure a first concentration of a first analyte in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber; the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing a second analyte from the gas and configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer. Doing so would lead to the predictable outcome of rapidly obtaining analyte measurements and observing analyte measurements over time and determining net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a sample with a reasonable expectation of success (see abstract and [0002] and [0007] of Johnson; see abstract and pg. 2 second paragraph of Li).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches the system of claim 18 as rejected above, wherein the material absorbs the second analyte in the presence of a positive second analyte concentration gradient and desorbs the second analyte in the presence of a negative second analyte concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of change in the second analyte concentration propagated in the flow of the gas to the gas analyzer from the sample chamber ([0007] and [0017] of Johnson) (includes a water vapor buffering component… including a material configured to buffer water vapor in a flow of a gas and the material selectively absorbs or desorbs water in the presence of a water concentration gradient).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) teaches wherein the first analyte includes CO2 or CH4 or N2O or their isotopolouges (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values), and wherein the second analyte includes H2O ([0007] of Johnson) (a sample chamber configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water vapor from the gas entering the sample chamber… a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-14, 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-10, 12, 14, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11719679 B2 (herein referred to as ‘Johnson’) in view of Li et al. (Sensors, Vol. 20, No. 6117, 27 October 2020, pgs. 1-12).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson claims a gas exchange analysis system (claim 1 of Johnson) (A gas exchange analysis system), the system comprising:
a gas analyzer configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line coupled to an exit of a sample chamber and configured to measure a first concentration of an analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber (claim 1 of Johnson) (a first water vapor sensor configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line and configured to measure a first concentration of water vapor in the gas received from the first gas flow line… a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber);
the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas (claim 1 of Johnson) (a sample chamber configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas); and
a component in the first gas flow line between the gas analyzer and the sample chamber, the component including an amount of a material configured to buffer water vapor content in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in water vapor content in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude (claim 1 of Johnson) (a component in the first gas flow line before the first water vapor sensor and before the sample chamber, the component including an amount of a material, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of fluctuations in water vapor content propagated in the flow of the gas).
Johnson does not explicitly claim wherein the sample chamber is configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer.
In the analogous art of gas exchange analysis systems, Li teaches a closed gas exchange analyzer with a sample chamber (abstract of Li) (The chamber system can automatically open and close the chamber, and regularly collect gas in the chamber for laboratory analysis), wherein the sample chamber is configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (the chamber is connected to an infrared gas analyzer (IRGA) through flexible inlet and outlet pipes, resulting in a closed circle structure with constant flow). Li teaches that this CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” configuration is beneficial for obtaining measurements rapidly while analyzing analyte levels over time to determine net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a plant sample (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values that can be obtained directly in the field. Through a series of linear regression calculations, NEE is obtained, and the CO2 concentration value that changes with time in the chamber can be seen).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the sample chamber and analyzer as taught by Johnson with the CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” sample chamber configuration as taught by Li to provide a closed gas exchange analysis system, the system comprising: the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas and configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer. Doing so would lead to the predictable outcome of rapidly obtaining analyte measurements and observing analyte measurements over time and determining net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a sample with a reasonable expectation of success (see abstract and [0002] and [0007] of Johnson; see abstract and pg. 2 second paragraph of Li).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of change in water vapor content propagated in the flow of the gas to the gas analyzer from the sample chamber (claim 1 of Johnson) (a component in the first gas flow line before the first water vapor sensor and before the sample chamber, the component including an amount of a material, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of fluctuations in water vapor content propagated in the flow of the gas).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the material includes a Nafion structure (claim 2 of Johnson) (The system of claim 1, wherein the material includes a Nafion structure).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 3 as rejected above, wherein the Nafion structure is selected from the group consisting of one or more beads, a tube and a flat membrane (claim 3 of Johnson) (wherein the structure is selected from the group consisting of a bead, a tube and a flat membrane).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the gas exchange measurement system includes a second gas analyzer configured to receive the flow of the gas from the first gas flow line coupled to the exit of a sample chamber and configured to measure a first concentration of a second analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber (claim 1 of Johnson) (a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the sample includes a biologically active material capable of respiration, photosynthesis and/or evapotranspiration (claim 6 of Johnson) (wherein the sample includes a photosynthesis and/or transpiration capable material).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 1 as rejected above, wherein the gas analyzer includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer (claim 7 of Johnson) (wherein the first water vapor sensor includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer and wherein the second water vapor sensor includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson teaches a method of measuring a gas flux in a closed gas exchange measurement system, the method comprising:
providing an internal volume of a sample chamber with ambient air from an environment external to the sample chamber (claim 8 of Johnson) (providing an incoming airstream having a variable water vapor content),
the sample chamber containing a sample capable of adding or removing water from the gas (claim 8 of Johnson) (the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water from the airstream);
thereafter continuously measuring, for a period of time, a concentration of an analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in a first gas flow line from the sample chamber (claim 8 and 13 and 15 of Johnson) (A method of reducing fluctuations of water content and The method of claim 8, wherein the gas exchange system includes… a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration value of water vapor in the airstream exiting the sample chamber and The method of claim 13, further comprising continuously measuring… the second water vapor concentration with the second water vapor sensor as the airstream continuously flows), wherein the first gas flow line includes a component including an amount of a material configured to buffer water vapor content in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in water vapor content in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude (claim 8 of Johnson) (reducing water vapor content fluctuations in the incoming airstream using a component including a material that absorbs or desorbs water in the presence of a water concentration gradient, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of fluctuations in the variable water vapor content).
Johnson is silent to closing the sample chamber to the environment and thereafter continuously measuring, for a period of time while the sample chamber is closed to the environment.
In the analogous art of gas exchange analysis systems, Li teaches a sample chamber that is automatically opened and closed for measuring CO2 concentration (pg. 3 second paragraph of Li) (the chamber can be opened and closed for a certain period of time… after the chamber is closed, the gas sampling devices starts to work, collecting gas regularly); see also figure 1 below from Li:
Li suggests that their automatic closing chamber saves labor time and money and that it makes taking measurements at night easier (pg. 3 first paragraph of Li) (commonly used methods have high labor intensity, and the static closed chamber method has a significant impact on the micro-environment… These problems make it difficult to measure NEE at night… the current research aimed to… design a low-cost and portable static closed chamber).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the sample chamber as taught by Johnson to automatically close as taught by Li to provide: closing the sample chamber to the environment; and thereafter continuously measuring, for a period of time while the sample chamber is closed to the environment, a concentration of an analyte of interest in the flow of the gas received in a first gas flow line from the sample chamber, wherein the first gas flow line includes a component including an amount of a material configured to buffer water vapor content in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in water vapor content in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude. Doing so would lead to the predictable outcome of saving labor time and money and taking measurements at night with more ease with a reasonable expectation of success (see abstract and [0002] and [0007] of Johnson; see Figure 1 and pg. 3 first paragraph of Li).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the method of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of changes in water vapor content propagated in the flow of the gas to the gas analyzer from the sample chamber (claim 8 of Johnson) (wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of fluctuations in the variable water vapor content in the incoming airstream propagated to a sample chamber downstream from the component in the gas exchange measurement system).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the method of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the material includes a Nafion material (claim 9 of Johnson) (The method of claim 8, wherein the component includes a Nafion material).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the method of claim 12 as rejected above, wherein the Nafion material has a structure selected from the group consisting of one or more beads, a tube and a membrane (claim 10 of Johnson) (The method of claim 9, wherein the Nafion material has a structure selected from the group consisting of a bead, a tube and a membrane).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the method of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the material includes one or a plurality of Nafion beads (claim 12 of Johnson) (The method of claim 8, wherein the component includes one or a plurality of Nafion beads).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the method of claim 10 as rejected above, wherein the gas analyzer includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer (claim 14 of Johnson) (wherein the first water vapor sensor includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer and wherein the second water vapor sensor includes one of a capacitive sensor, a resistive sensor, a thermal-conductivity-based sensor, an optical absorption gas analyzer, or a laser-based gas analyzer).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson claims a gas exchange analysis system (claim 9 of Johnson) (A gas exchange analysis system), the system comprising:
a gas analyzer configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line configured to measure a first concentration of a first analyte in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber (claim 19 of Johnson) (a second water vapor sensor configured to measure a second concentration of water vapor in the gas exiting the sample chamber);
the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing a second analyte from the gas (claim 19 of Johnson) (a sample chamber configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing water vapor from the gas entering the sample chamber); and
a component in the first gas flow line between the gas analyzer and the sample chamber, the component including an amount of a material configured to buffer the second analyte in the flow of the gas, whereby changes in concentration of the second analyte in the flow of the gas measured by the gas analyzer are minimized or reduced in magnitude (claim 19 of Johnson) (a component including an amount of a material that absorbs or desorbs water in the presence of a water concentration gradient, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of fluctuations in the water vapor content in the flow of the gas).
Johnson is silent to the first gas flow line being coupled to an exit of a sample chamber; and is likewise silent to the sample chamber being configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer.
In the analogous art of gas exchange analysis systems, Li teaches a closed gas exchange analyzer with a sample chamber (abstract of Li) (The chamber system can automatically open and close the chamber, and regularly collect gas in the chamber for laboratory analysis), wherein the sample chamber is configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (the chamber is connected to an infrared gas analyzer (IRGA) through flexible inlet and outlet pipes, resulting in a closed circle structure with constant flow). Li teaches that this CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” configuration is beneficial for obtaining measurements rapidly while analyzing analyte levels over time to determine net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a plant sample (pg. 2 second paragraph of Li) (The use of the IRGA offers instant CO2 values that can be obtained directly in the field. Through a series of linear regression calculations, NEE is obtained, and the CO2 concentration value that changes with time in the chamber can be seen).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the sample chamber and analyzer as taught by Johnson with the CO2 analyzer and “closed circle” sample chamber configuration as taught by Li to provide: a gas analyzer configured to receive a flow of a gas from a first gas flow line coupled to an exit of a sample chamber and configured to measure a first concentration of a first analyte in the flow of the gas received in the first gas flow line from the sample chamber; the sample chamber, wherein the sample chamber is configured to hold a sample capable of adding or removing a second analyte from the gas and configured to receive the gas exiting the gas analyzer after measurement by the gas analyzer. Doing so would lead to the predictable outcome of rapidly obtaining analyte measurements and observing analyte measurements over time and determining net ecosystem exchange (NEE) associated with a sample with a reasonable expectation of success (see abstract and [0002] and [0007] of Johnson; see abstract and pg. 2 second paragraph of Li).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Johnson (Johnson in view of Li) claims the system of claim 18 as rejected above, wherein the material absorbs the second analyte in the presence of a positive second analyte concentration gradient and desorbs the second analyte in the presence of a negative second analyte concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of change in the second analyte concentration propagated in the flow of the gas to the gas analyzer from the sample chamber (claim 19 of Johnson) (a component including an amount of a material that absorbs or desorbs water in the presence of a water concentration gradient, wherein the material absorbs water in the presence of a positive water concentration gradient and desorbs water in the presence of a negative water concentration gradient to thereby control a rate of fluctuations in the water vapor content in the flow of the gas propagated to components downstream from the component in the gas exchange system).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nay-Htoon et al. (PLoS ONE, Vol. 13, No. 4, 6 April 2018, pgs. 1-22) teaches a large-scale gas exchange system and method, using soil samples, for calculating gas exchange values/parameters related to H2O, CO2, N2O, and CH4, and they refer to computerized analysis systems.
/H.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758