DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case applicant has argued that the base reference of Siegal (US 2006/0070179) fails to disclose a non-soluble mesh packet and instead discloses a pierceable packet structure. However Siegal was modified in view of Hierholzer (US 9,783,325) which teaches an additive system for baths which utilizes a non-soluble mesh packet to facilitate the use of additives which are solids capable of being contained in the mesh.
It is also noted that while applicant makes a distinction between the ‘bubble’ of Siegal compared to the ‘packet’ of the application, claim 4 of the application defines the packet as a piece of material secured to the liner entrapping the additive between the ‘packet’ material and liner which is the same structural arrangement as a ‘bubble’.
Applicant has argued against the teachings of Hierholzer because it teaches a system for use in a bathtub and does not disclose the mesh packet as being affixed to a bath liner. This is not persuasive as Hierholzer was relied upon as a teaching for an alternate packet construction in the form of non-soluble mesh packets which facilitate the use of solid additives in a bath and is not relied upon as disclosing the entire invention.
In response to applicant's argument that Hierholzer does not disclose the entire claimed invention of a non-soluble mesh packet coupled to a foot bath liner, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's argument that Hierholzer is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Hierholzer teaches an additive packet for a full sized bath while the application is directed at an additive packet for a footbath. Both are packets configured to contain and retain a solid or granular additive while also exposing said additive to the water in a bath for use in a bath basin.
In response to applicant's argument that Hierholzer teaches a mesh additive packet which is added to a ‘full sized bath’ instead of a foot bath with a liner, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In this case Hierholzer is only relied upon as a teaching of a different additive containing packet which facilitates use of different types of additives (solids or granules) in a manner which exposes them to the basin water for dissolving/mixing while also maintaining containment of the undissolved solids for user convenience and comfort.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has been amended to read “being fashioned from permiable mesh material that is not water soluble the porous packet containing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0070179 (Siegal) in view of US 9,783,325 (Hierholzer).
Regarding claim 1, Siegal discloses an improved single-use disposable footbath basin liner comprising:
a single-use disposable footbath basin liner (10,105) having an inside surface and an outside surface; and
a packet (40) that encloses at least one footbath product selected from a group of additives including fragrances and disinfectants (Para. 0042),
the packet being attached at least indirectly to the inside surface of the single-use disposable footbath basin liner (Figs. 3-6; Paras. 0035, 0037-0039, 0045-0049);
a footbath basin (115);
the single-use disposable footbath basin liner being adapted to be retained around the upper edge of a footbath basin (Para. 0035; Fig. 1; Upper edge/perimeter 30 and elastic member 35 are ‘adapted’ to be retained around the upper edge of a footbath basin on their own, with a fastener or otherwise) and being installed in the footbath basin such that the outside surface of the single-use disposable footbath basin liner is in contact with the inside surface of the footbath basin and inside surface of the single-use disposable footbath basin liner is facing away from the inside surface of the footbath basin (Fig. 7; Para. 0043),
the packet also being positioned so that the at least one product contained within the packet is released into water when water is introduced into the footbath basin (Para.0043) .
Siegal, however, discloses that the packet is ruptured by a user to expose the contents instead of providing a porous mesh packet which is not soluble and as such facilitates exposing a solid additive to the bath water while still maintaining containment of any undissolved additive .
Hierholzer teaches a porous packet (100/200/300/900) for dispensing additives into a bath basin wherein the porous packet is fashioned from a mesh material that is not soluble (C5 L53-59 – nylon, cotton or silk mesh; 500/Fig. 4 – the mesh packet doesn’t dissolve and is thrown away after the contents dissolve) and containing a granular substance (120/122) in the form of bath salts provided with fragrances and herbs (C6 L8-22) to provide a number of benefits and/or comforts to a bath user. The mesh material allows the water and additives to interact while the packet remains intact (non-soluble – nylon, cotton, silk) (C5 L53-56; Figs. 4, 6, 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide alternative or additional granular additives including bath salts and to utilize a mesh to contain said additives, as taught by Hierholzer, so as to prevent the granular additive from dispersing through the basin where it could cause discomfort while still facilitating the dissolving/mixing of the additive with the basin water.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegal in view of Hierholzer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,180,115 (Conrard).
Regarding claim 2, Siegal states that the packet (40) is secured to the liner (Figs. 3-6) and that a chord (90) can be used to manipulate the packet but doesn't explicitly state that the packet is anchored by a chord.
Conrard teaches a mesh packet (20/120/220) which contains a bath additive (60) and which comprises a chord (30/130/230) for anchoring (40/50) the packet within a basin of a bathtub.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to anchor the packet with a chord, as taught by Conrard, so that the packet can be removed when finished and/or mounted in alternate locations as required/desired by a user for proper mixing/interaction/use of the packet/any material within
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegal in view of Hierholzer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,465,436 (Bleicher).
Regarding claim 3, Siegal states that the packet is formed from a piece of material (60) with a surrounding edge (periphery) (75) coupled to the inner surface of the liner to form an enclosed space (80) for an additive (45) (Para. 0037). However Siegal doesn’t explicitly state how it is secured such as through the use of an adhesive.
Bleicher teaches a liner (10) for a bathtub (12) further comprising a drain hole (32) covered by a drain seal (36) which is secured in place by an adhesive (C3 L31-34, 39-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an adhesive to secure the packet to the liner, as taught by Bleicher, so that it can be installed/placed by a manufacturer and not require any user assembly/interaction such as manipulating a coupling mechanism.
Regarding claim 4, Siegal states that the packet is formed from a piece of material (60) with a surrounding edge (periphery) (75) coupled to the inner surface of the liner to form an enclosed space (80) for an additive (45) (Para. 0037) contained between the packet material and inner surface of the liner (Fig. 4) and Hierholzer teaches forming the packet of mesh as previously discussed.
However Siegal doesn’t explicitly state how the packet is secured to the liner such as through the use of an adhesive.
Bleicher teaches a liner (10) for a bathtub (12) further comprising a drain hole (32) covered by a drain seal (36) which is secured in place by an adhesive (C3 L31-34, 39-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an adhesive to secure the packet to the liner, as taught by Bleicher, so that it can be installed/placed by a manufacturer and not require any user assembly/interaction such as manipulating a coupling mechanism.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A ROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754