DETAILED ACTION
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is also acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
III. Claim Interpretation
The limitation, upsampling unit, of claim 17 does not invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). While the limitation recites a generic placeholder (unit) and is associated with the function of generating a plurality of upsampled images, the specification limits the unit to structure. That is, on p. 8, para. [0052], the specification states that “some embodiments are described in the accompanying drawings with respect to functional blocks, units and/or modules. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that these blocks, units and/or modules are physically implemented by logic circuits, discrete components, microprocessors, hard wire circuits, memory devices, wire connections, and other electronic circuits.” (Emphasis added).
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1-4,6-9, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchita (US 2013/0222553 A1) in view of Yokokawa et al. (US 2022/0159205 A1) and further in view of Demandolx et al. (US # 9,083,935 B2)
As to claim 1, Tsuchita teaches an image acquisition apparatus (Fig. 4, image pickup apparatus “10”) comprising:
an image sensor (Fig. 4, image pickup device “1”) comprising a microlens (Fig. 1, microlens “L2”) and a plurality of pixels arranged adjacent to each other and sharing the microlens ([0046], lines 2-4); and
a processor (Fig. 4, digital signal processing unit “24”) configured to process an input image acquired by the image sensor ([0069]), wherein the processor is further configured to:
generate a plurality of parallax images by extracting and combining sub-images having a same parallax from the input image (Figs. 5A and 5B; [0085], lines 1-3); and
generate an output image by summing the plurality of parallax images (Fig. 5B, “2D IMAGE”; [0083], lines 1-5).
Claim 1 differs from Tsuchita in that it further requires (1) that the processor generates RGB demosaic images by interpolating a color value of an empty pixel for each of the plurality of parallax images by using color values of surrounding pixels, (2) that the processor generates a plurality of upsampled images by upsampling each of the RGB demosaic images to an input image size, and (3) that the summing be weighted summing of one reference upsampled image selected from the upsampled images and the other upsampled images based on a similarity therebetween.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Yokokawa et al. teaches an imaging system (Fig. 10) that performs a superresolution image creation process ([0042]) that includes the step of adding same color pixels under a single microlens to produce a plurality of low-resolution color images ([0043]). Before combining the plurality of low-resolution images to create the superresolution image, the system performs demosaicking on the input low-resolution images (1) ([0048]) then upsamples the demosaicked images (2) ([0049], lines 1-4).
Although Yokokawa et al. performs addition of the low-resolution images for a different reason than Tsuchita, the examiner nevertheless submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to demosaic each of Tsuchita’s A,B,C, and D parallax images then upsample them before synthesis to produce the 2D image. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the parallax images have a mosaic color pattern and have a reduced resolution compared to the originally-captured image, demosaicking and upsampling the parallax images before addition would produce a full-color 2D image with increased resolution.
Further in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Demandolx et al. teaches an imaging system (Fig. 2) that combines a plurality of images (Fig. 1) captured under different exposure conditions (col. 6, line 66 – col. 2, line 1). In combining the images, the system performs a weighted sum of the images based on a mismatch bias that informs a weighting coefficient and that represents a difference between a reference image and the remaining images to be combined (3) (Fig. 5, step “506”; col. 10, lines 34-38). The combining process also accounts for the gradient in image regions. That is, regions with high-frequency detail receive a weightier coefficient, while blurry or low-resolution regions receive lesser weight (col. 7, lines 32-34).
Although Demandolx et al. combines images for a different reason that Tsuchita, the examiner nevertheless submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to add Tsuchita’s A,B,C, and D parallax images in the manner of Demandolx et al., where a reference image is selected, histograms of the remaining images are aligned with the reference image, coefficients are assigned to the remaining images based on a mismatch between the remaining images and the reference image, and the coefficients also selected to account for high-frequency regions. As Demandolx et al. notes that parallax presents itself due to interframe motion (col. 10, lines 38-46), the parallax differences in Tsuchita’s images can also be suppressed by weighting corresponding regions more heavily and weighting non-corresponding regions less while also de-emphasizing noisy image regions in the synthesized image.
As to claims 2,6, and 7, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 1. Although it is not stated expressly in Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., the examiner takes official notice to color demosaicking by linear interpolation, image upsampling by bilinear interpolation, and image region similarity determination by assessing a sum of absolute differences as well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use these methods to perform the demosaicking, upsampling, and similarity determination in Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., because they are comparatively simple processes that yield robust results.
As to claim 3, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the image sensor comprises:
a quad Bayer pattern array in which pixels arranged in a 2×2 matrix comprise respective color filters having a same color (see Tsuchita, Fig. 5); or
a quad square Bayer pattern array in which pixels arranged in a 4×4 matrix comprise respective color filters having a same color.
As to claim 4, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to generate, as the plurality of parallax images, a parallax A image, a parallax B image, a parallax C image, and a parallax D image from the input image (see Tsuchita, Figs. 5A and 5B).
As to claim 8, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to detect an aliasing region of the upsampled images (see Demandolx et al., col. 7, lines 32-34, “…high gradient areas…”).
As to claim 9, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to increase a weight of the similarity in a case that the similarity between the reference upsampled image and the other upsampled images is lower than a preset value in the aliasing region (see Demandolx et al., col. 7, lines 32-34).
Claim 17 is a method claim reciting steps substantially similar to the processor functions of claim 1 and also recites an upsampling unit not recited in claim 1. However, the processor of claim 1 can be construed as an upsampling unit. Also, Yokokawa et al. expressly discloses an upsampling unit (Fig. 5, upsampling unit “362”).
Claims 18-20 are method claims reciting features or steps recited or recited as processor functions in claims 2,8, and 9, respectively. Therefore, they are rejected as detailed above.
B. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tsuchita (US 2013/0222553 A1) in view of Yokokawa et al. (US 2022/0159205 A1) and further in view of Demandolx et al. (US # 9,083,935 B2) and further in view of Gan et al. (US 2022/0108424 A1)
As to claim 5, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 4. The claim differs from Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandox et al., in that it requires that the processor comprises a plurality of logics configured to simultaneously interpolate each of the parallax A image, the parallax B image, the parallax C image, and the parallax D image, or a single logic configured to sequentially interpolate the parallax A image, the parallax B image, the parallax C image, and the parallax D image.
In the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Gan et al. teaches an imaging system that produces a plurality of parallax images from pixels under a microlens and that uses a programmable logic device to sequentially demosaic the parallax images (Figs. 1,4B, and 5; [0064] and [0073], “…demosaic network…”; {A single demosaic network would only permit sequential demosaicking.}). In light of the teaching of Gan et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a programmable logic device to sequentially perform the demosaicking of Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., as these devices can be implemented at low cost with reliable operation.
C. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchita (US 2013/0222553 A1) in view of Yokokawa et al. (US 2022/0159205 A1) in view of Demandolx et al. (US # 9,083,935 B2) and further in view of Nakano (US 2016/0132998 A1)
As to claim 10, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 8. The claim differs from Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., in that it requires that the processor is further configured output edge result values by using directional filters, output an edge absolute value by performing absolute value processing of the edge result values, and generate an edge map by using an input value determined based on the edge absolute value and a control signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakano teaches an image processing apparatus (Fig. 4) that develops an edge map based on application of a plurality of directional filters designed to detect edges along vertical, horizontal, and diagonal directions (e.g., Fig. 3; Eqs. (3)-(6) and (9)-(12)). Each filter outputs an absolute value of a gradient in a 3x3 image area, and the ultimate outputs of edge information for the 3x3 image area are the maxima of the absolute values of filter outputs ([0089] and [0090]).
In light of the teaching of Nakano, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use Nakano’s method of edge map development when determining high-gradient areas in the parallax images of Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would allow for precise edge detection, while preventing overinclusion of potentially erroneous edge regions (see Nakano, e.g., [0008] and [0009]).
As to claim 11, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al., Demandolx et al., and Nakano, teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 10, wherein the directional filters comprise a horizontal directional filter, a vertical directional filter, a 45-degree directional filter, and a 135-degree directional filter (see Nakano, Fig. 3).
As to claim 12, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al., Demandolx et al., and Nakano, teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 11, wherein the control signal comprises one of:
a first control signal to generate the edge map by using, as the input value, a maximum value among an edge absolute value of the horizontal directional filter, an edge absolute value of the vertical directional filter, an edge absolute value of the 45-degree directional filter, and an edge absolute value of the 135-degree directional filter (see Nakano, [0089] and [0090]);
a second control signal to generate the edge map by using, as the input value, an average value of the edge absolute value of the horizontal directional filter, the edge absolute value of the vertical directional filter, the edge absolute value of the 45-degree directional filter, and the edge absolute value of the 135-degree directional filter; and
a third control signal to generate the edge map by using, as the input value, a maximum value of a weighted average value of the edge absolute value of the horizontal directional filter and the edge absolute value of the vertical directional filter and a weighted average value of the edge absolute value of the 45-degree directional filter, and the edge absolute value of the 135-degree directional filter.
D. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tsuchita (US 2013/0222553 A1) in view of Yokokawa et al. (US 2022/0159205 A1) in view of Demandolx et al. (US # 9,083,935 B2) in view of Nakano (US 2016/0132998 A1) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2017/0053379 A1)
As to claim 13, Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al., Demandolx et al., and Nakano, teaches the image acquisition apparatus of claim 10. The claim differs from Tsuchita, as modified by Yokokawa et al., Demandolx et al., and Nakano, in that it requires that the processor is further configured to determine that the input value is not an edge based on the input value being less than a first threshold value, determine that the input value is an edge based on the input value being greater than a second threshold value, and perform linear interpolation based on determining that the input value is between the first threshold value and the second threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Wang et al. teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1) that performs a demosaicking process by performing an edge-based linear interpolation based on whether a horizontal or vertical gradient is greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold ([0028], lines 1-10; {The claimed first threshold can be Wang’s second threshold, where the gradient is not an edge if it is lower than Wang’s second threshold and lower than Wang’s first threshold, and the claimed second threshold can be Wang’s first threshold.}). In light of the teaching of Wang et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to demosaic the parallax images of Tsuchita, Yokokawa et al. and Demandolx et al., when gradients exhibit values disclosed by Wang et al. because this would ensure quality demosaicking when scene details exhibit complex texture and stark color differences.
V. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest performing white balance on an image before grouping pixels of the image into a plurality of parallax images. Hayasaka et al. (US 2010/0128152 A1) teaches an image capturing apparatus that groups pixels of a captured image into a plurality of parallax images. Before creating the parallax images, the apparatus performs defect detection and clamp processing. However, white balance is performed after parallax image creation (Fig. 5). Claims 15 and 16 are allowable because they depend on claim 14.
VI. Additional Pertinent Prior Art
Ichihara et al. (US 2016/0344952 A1) discloses a camera that produces a plurality of parallax images from a captured image having blocks of four pixels positioned under a single microlens and that performs a weighted synthesis of the parallax images based on a pixel gradients. Ahn (US 2024/0193801 A1) discloses an imaging system that synthesizes parallax images based on respective depths of the parallax images.
VII. Conclusion
/ANTHONY J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
2/6/2026