DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cummings et al (US 2022/027792, hereafter Cummings).
As per claim 1, Cummings discloses a method for searching for a neural network architecture ensemble model, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a dataset, wherein the dataset comprises a sample and an annotation in a classification task (¶ 26);
performing search by using a distributional neural network architecture search algorithm, comprising:
determining a hyperparameter of a neural network architecture distribution (¶ 23 and 30);
sampling a neural network architecture from the architecture distribution defined by the hyperparameter (¶ 30);
training and evaluating the neural network architecture, based on the sample and the annotation in the classification task, to obtain a performance indicator (¶ 50 and 66);
determining, based on the performance indicator, predicted neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter- to obtain a candidate pool of base learners, wherein a base learner is a neural network architecture that meets an architecture distribution requirement, and the neural network architecture is formed by repeatedly stacking neural network architecture cells (¶ 76); and
determining a surrogate model, wherein the surrogate model is used to predict test performance of an unevaluated neural network architecture; and predicting test performance of a base learner in the candidate pool by using the surrogate model, and determining that k base learners that meet a requirement of the classification task form an ensemble model, wherein a size of the ensemble model is k (¶ 41 - 45).
As per claim 4, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining a hyperparameter of a neural network architecture distribution comprises:
optimizing the hyperparameter of the neural network architecture distribution by using a search policy, wherein the search policy is Bayesian optimization, and the search policy is used to sample, in a next iteration, a neural network cell whose performance indicator better meets a requirement than that of a current neural network architecture cell (¶ 44 and 76).
As per claim 6, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the training and evaluating the neural network architecture
training the neural network architecture on a training dataset; and evaluating the neural network architecture on a validation dataset; to obtain the performance indicator, wherein both training set data and validation set data belong to the dataset (¶ 26 and 27).
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Czarnecki et al (US 11,113,605, hereafter Czarnecki).
As per claim 7, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the performing search by using a distributional neural network architecture search (distributional NAS) algorithm further comprises: determining a search policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the performance indicator and the hyperparameter of the predicted neural network architecture distribution.
In the same field of endeavor, Czarnecki teaches wherein the performing search by using a distributional neural network architecture search (distributional NAS) algorithm further comprises: determining a search policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the performance indicator and the hyperparameter of the predicted neural network architecture distribution (column 2 lines 12 – 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Czarnecki. The advantage is an improved neural network.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Nair et al (US 11,650,968, hereafter Nair).
As per claim 8, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the performing search by using a distributional neural network architecture search (distributional NAS) algorithm further comprises: determining a predicted performance value of a hyperparameter of another unknown distribution, comprising a mean value and a variance, based on a hyperparameter and a performance indicator of each found neural network architecture distribution; and determining a performance prediction policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the mean value and the variance, wherein the performance prediction policy is used to predict the performance indicator of the neural network architecture distribution.
In the same field of endeavor, Nair teaches wherein the performing search by using a distributional neural network architecture search (distributional NAS) algorithm further comprises: determining a predicted performance value of a hyperparameter of another unknown distribution, comprising a mean value and a variance, based on a hyperparameter and a performance indicator of each found neural network architecture distribution; and determining a performance prediction policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the mean value and the variance, wherein the performance prediction policy is used to predict the performance indicator of the neural network architecture distribution (column 12 lines 50 – 67, column 13 lines 43 - 54, Table 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Nair. The advantage is improving training a neural network.
As per claim 9, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the determining, based on the performance indicator, neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter; to obtain a candidate pool of base learners comprises: determining a search policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the performance indicator and the hyperparameter; determining a performance prediction policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the performance indicator and a neural network architecture cell; and searching, according to the search policy and the performance prediction policy, the neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter, to determine the candidate pool of the base learners.
In the same field of endeavor, Nair teaches wherein the determining, based on the performance indicator, neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter; to obtain a candidate pool of base learners comprises: determining a search policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the performance indicator and the hyperparameter; determining a performance prediction policy for the neural network architecture distribution based on the performance indicator and a neural network architecture cell; and searching, according to the search policy and the performance prediction policy, the neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter, to determine the candidate pool of the base learners (column 12 lines 50 – 67, column 13 lines 43 - 54, Table 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Nair. The advantage is improving training a neural network.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Xue et al (US 2022/0027739, hereafter Xue).
As per claim 10, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the determining, based on the performance indicator, neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter; to obtain a candidate pool of base learners comprises: outputting, based on a plurality of neural network architectures in a historical search and corresponding performance indicators, a plurality of neural network architectures that share the hyperparameter; determining, based on the plurality of neural network architectures that share the hyperparameter, a neural network architecture distribution that meets a requirement; and generating a plurality of neural network architecture cells based on the neural network architecture distribution that meets the requirement, to obtain a generation distribution/the candidate pool of the base learners.
In the same field of endeavor, Xue teaches wherein the determining, based on the performance indicator, neural network architecture distributions that share the hyperparameter; to obtain a candidate pool of base learners comprises: outputting, based on a plurality of neural network architectures in a historical search and corresponding performance indicators, a plurality of neural network architectures that share the hyperparameter; determining, based on the plurality of neural network architectures that share the hyperparameter, a neural network architecture distribution that meets a requirement; and generating a plurality of neural network architecture cells based on the neural network architecture distribution that meets the requirement, to obtain a generation distribution/the candidate pool of the base learners (¶ 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Xue. The advantage is optimizing selecting a hyperparameter.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Shahrzad et al (US 11,75,841, hereafter Shahrzad).
As per claim 11, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the determining a surrogate model comprises: obtaining the surrogate model through training on the dataset based on the neural network architecture cells and the performance indicator.
In the same field of endeavor, Shahrzad teaches wherein the determining a surrogate model comprises: obtaining the surrogate model through training on the dataset based on the neural network architecture cells and the performance indicator (column 5 lines 3 – 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the claim at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Shahrzad. The advantage is achieving better outcomes and trustworthiness.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Rawat et al (US 2022/01998222, hereafter Rawat).
As per claim 12, Cummings discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the predicting test performance of the base learner in the candidate pool by using the surrogate model, and determining that k base learners that meet a task scenario requirement form an ensemble model comprises: predicting test performance of a plurality of base learners in the candidate pool by using the surrogate model; performing local search based on a prediction result, and determining q estimated vertex architectures, wherein an estimated vertex architecture is a neural network architecture whose performance indicator predicted by the surrogate model on a validation set is higher than that of an adjacent architecture; and combining k architectures whose performance indicators meet the requirement in the q estimated vertex architectures- to obtain the ensemble model.
In the same field of endeavor, Rawat teaches wherein the predicting test performance of the base learner in the candidate pool by using the surrogate model, and determining that k base learners that meet a task scenario requirement form an ensemble model comprises: predicting test performance of a plurality of base learners in the candidate pool by using the surrogate model; performing local search based on a prediction result, and determining q estimated vertex architectures, wherein an estimated vertex architecture is a neural network architecture whose performance indicator predicted by the surrogate model on a validation set is higher than that of an adjacent architecture; and combining k architectures whose performance indicators meet the requirement in the q estimated vertex architectures- to obtain the ensemble model (¶ 3, 25, and 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the claim at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Rawat. The advantage is selecting an improved ensemble model.
As per claim 13, Cummings discloses the method of claim 12.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the combining k architectures whose performance indicators meet the requirement in the q estimated vertex architectures comprises: sorting performance indicators of the q estimated vertex architectures in descending order, and combining k architectures whose performance indicators rank top.
In the same field of endeavor, Rawat teaches teach wherein the combining k architectures whose performance indicators meet the requirement in the q estimated vertex architectures comprises: sorting performance indicators of the q estimated vertex architectures in descending order, and combining k architectures whose performance indicators rank top (¶ 3, 25, and 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the claim at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Rawat. The advantage is selecting an improved ensemble model.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Rawat (hereafter Cummings) in further view of MacWilliams et al (US 2024/0169272, hereafter MacWilliams).
As per claim 14, Cummings discloses the method of claim 12.
However, Cummings does not explicitly teach wherein the combining k architectures whose performance indicators meet the requirement in the q estimated vertex architectures comprises: traversing the q estimated vertex architectures by using a greedy algorithm, and adding the k architectures one by one to form the ensemble model.
In the same field of endeavor, MacWilliams teaches wherein the combining k architectures whose performance indicators meet the requirement in the q estimated vertex architectures comprises: traversing the q estimated vertex architectures by using a greedy algorithm, and adding the k architectures one by one to form the ensemble model (¶ 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the claim at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cummings in view of Rawat in further view of MacWilliams. The advantage is selecting an improved ensemble model.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487