Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 9, 15, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 22, please amend the preamble to include an article, i.e. “A” or “The” where appropriate.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “the first surface; and wherein each of which is not coated with abrasive bodies on a rear surface”. The structure of the claim, i.e. inclusion of the semicolon, creates a clarity issue given that the limitation does not explicitly state “each of the plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a rear surface”, but rather recites “each of which”. Please amend the claim to reflect that the structure being limited is each of the first plane abrasive body carrier elements for clarification purposes. Examiner also suggests that Applicant amend the claim to reflect consistent claim language, i.e. “plane abrasive body carrier elements” versus “abrasive body carrier elements” are both recited.
Regarding claim 9, please delete the erroneous extra ‘t’ in the following limitation:
.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a conveying device for conveying the object in claim 1 When looking to the specification, the conveying device is described to an endless conveyor belt; please see page 5, lines 27-33 of the Specification. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof. D.M.I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570, 1574, 225 USPQ 236, 238 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 1 limitation “an abrasive drive device for driving the grinding tool” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14, 16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 limitation reciting “an abrasive drive device for driving the grinding tool” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “in a rotational movement as a first relative movement, and wherein the control device is adapted to switch the rotational movement back and forth between a clockwise rotation and a counterclockwise rotation”. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites “a first relative movement” and “a second movement”. A first relative movement’ has antecedent basis established first in claim 1. Furthermore, If it is unclear how, and if, the rotational movement and first relative movement are correlated with the recitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “a front surface with the first abrasive bodies…a rear surface with the second abrasive bodies”. Claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, recites “a plurality of first surfaces provided with the first abrasive bodies” and “a plurality of second surfaces provided with second abrasive bodies”. It is unclear how the front and rear surfaces recited in claim 7 are differentiated from the first and second surfaces of claim 1, or if the surface recitations of claim 7 intend to limit the surface recitations of claim 1 without properly correlating the structures. Please amend the claim to reflect Applicant’s intent.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites “a front surface of an adjacent second abrasive body carrier element”. Claim 8, from which claim 9 depends, also recites “a front surface”. Please amend the claim to reflect proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, in the limitation reciting “wherein the first abrasive body carrier element and the second abrasive body carrier element are connected to one another”, please amend the claims to reflect that the limitation narrows “each” of the first and second abrasive body carrier elements for clarification purposes.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites “a plane abrasive body carrier element” and “a front surface”, which are both antecedently recited in claim 8, which claim 16 has dependency therefrom. Please either amend claim 16 to reflect a different dependency or clarify the claim language. Furthermore, claim 16 also recites “recites “a front surface with the first abrasive bodies” and “second abrasive bodies on a rear surface”. Claim 1, from which claim 16 depends, recites “a plurality of first surfaces provided with the first abrasive bodies” and “a plurality of second surfaces provided with second abrasive bodies”. It is unclear how the front and rear surfaces recited in claim 16 are differentiated from the first and second surfaces of claim 1, or if the surface recitations of claim 16 intend to limit the surface recitations of claim 1 without properly correlating the structures. Please amend the claim to reflect Applicant’s intent.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 depends from itself as written. While the claim does not specify a claim as previously set forth, claim 18 does specify a further limitation, i.e. the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, claim 18 is being interpreted so as to depend from claim 17. Examiner also points out that claim 18 recites “a front surface” which has established antecedent basis in previous claims. Please take caution when amending claim 18 to depend from a previously set forth claim.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moris (US 20250018534).
Regarding claim 15, Moris discloses a grinding tool for grinding a surface of an object (see Abstract and Figures 6-8), comprising:
an abrasive carrier (see Figure 6; see abrasive article 600 comprising center member 640); and
a plurality of abrasive elements attached to the abrasive carrier (abrasive elements 620; see also Figures 8 and 13; see description of center member in [0045-0048]; see also [0044]; see also [0071]), wherein
the plurality of abrasive elements has a first surface provided with first abrasive bodies for lying against the surface of the object in a first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, and wherein the plurality of abrasive elements has a second surface provided with second abrasive bodies for lying against the surface of the object in a second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, wherein the second direction of movement is opposite to the first direction of movement (wherein as can be seen in Figures 5A-5D and 6, the each of abrasive elements has at least two opposing surfaces, wherein the abrasive elements comprise abrasive particles disposed on the respective surfaces, see at least [0071-0072] regarding the abrasive particles, see also [0008] regarding material removal occurring when rotation takes place in one direction, and material removal taking place when rotated in a second direction opposite to the first direction; see Figure 9; see [0106], directions 682, 684,as well as Figure 6 and [0008]).
Regarding claim 24, Moris discloses a method of grinding a surface of an object, comprising:
grinding the surface of the object by one or more grinding tools, each of which comprises a plurality of abrasive elements attached to at least one movably mounted abrasive carrier (see Figure 6; see abrasive article 600 comprising center member 640 and abrasive elements 620; see also Figures 8 and 13; see description of center member in [0045-0048]; see also [0044]; see also [0071]),
wherein the plurality of abrasive elements of the one or more grinding tools comprise a first surface with first abrasive elements for lying against the surface of the object in a first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier and a second surface provided with second abrasive elements for lying against the surface of the object in a second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, wherein the second direction of movement is opposite to the first direction of movement (wherein as can be seen in Figures 5A-5D and 6, the each of abrasive elements has at least two opposing surfaces, wherein the abrasive elements comprise abrasive particles disposed on the respective surfaces, see at least [0071-0072] regarding the abrasive particles, see also [0008] regarding material removal occurring when rotation takes place in one direction, and material removal taking place when rotated in a second direction opposite to the first direction; see Figure 9; see [0106], directions 682, 684,as well as Figure 6); and
moving the grinding tool in a first machining step in the first direction of movement in grinding engagement over the surface of the object, and moving the grinding tool in a subsequent second machining step in the second direction of movement in grinding engagement over the surface of the object (see Figure 9; see [0106], directions 682, 684,as well as Figure 6; see also [0008] regarding material removal occurring when rotation takes place in one direction, and material removal taking place when rotated in a second direction opposite to the first direction; see also 0007], [0110], [0115-0118], [0123-0124], [0130], [0172]; see also Figure 7 regarding the motion controller and application controller; see also [0117-0119]).
Claim(s) 15 and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wentworth (US 20060014482).
Regarding claim 15, Wentworth discloses a grinding tool for grinding a surface of an object (see Abstract), comprising:
an abrasive carrier (wherein device 10 has a backing plate 12); and
a plurality of abrasive elements attached to the abrasive carrier (wherein there is a plurality of abrasive elements 30 attached thereon, see Figures 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, as well as [0040-0041], [0035-0036]), wherein
the plurality of abrasive elements has a first surface provided with first abrasive bodies for lying against the surface of the object in a first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, and wherein the plurality of abrasive elements has a second surface provided with second abrasive bodies for lying against the surface of the object in a second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, wherein the second direction of movement is opposite to the first direction of movement (see Figure 2 regarding the opposing surfaces of each finishing media 30, wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction, that sandpaper having grit on either side may be utilized, and wherein Figure 7 shows bending of the abrasive elements 30; see also [0042-0044], [0025]).
Regarding claim 22, Wentworth discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Wentworth further discloses wherein the plurality of abrasive elements is formed as a plurality of abrasive paper sections (see sandpaper disclosed in at least [0003], [0036], [0040-0041]; wherein [0042] discloses that elements 30 are flexible), and wherein the abrasive carrier is adapted as a plate-shaped or ring-shaped carrier which has an axial end face to which the majority of the abrasive paper sections are attached (see Figures 1, 2, and 5-7, wherein backing plate 12 is plate shaped and has a passageway 16 for attachment to a driving shaft, i.e. the backing plate is a plate shaped ring carrier which as an inner face 20 to which the finishing media 30 comprising sandpaper is attached; see [0037-0040]), or is adapted as a cylindrical carrier which has a circumferential surface to which the majority of the abrasive paper sections are attached,
wherein the first direction of movement and the second direction of movement are formed by a clockwise and counterclockwise rotation of the carrier, respectively (wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction), and
wherein the abrasive paper sections are fixed to the carrier (see Figures 1-4 and 7) such that when the carrier rotates clockwise, the abrasive paper sections lie with a front side against a workpiece onto which the abrasive elements are pressed, and when the direction of rotation is reversed, the abrasive paper sections fold over so that a rear side of the abrasive paper sections lies against the workpiece instead of the front side (see at least claims 7-9, as well as [0037-0042]; see also the bending shown in Figure 7; see also [0019] and [0045]).
Regarding claim 23, Wentworth discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Wentworth further discloses wherein the first abrasive bodies of the first surfaces have a first grain size and the second abrasive bodies of the second surfaces have a second grain size, and wherein the second grain size is different from the first grain size (Wentworth [0041]: each of the sheets 32 within the pack consists of an abrasive paper, such as sandpaper; the abrasive part of the sandpaper is facing in one direction in one pack 34a and in the other direction in the other pack 34b. This allows the finishing media 30 to finish a surface of a piece when the backing plate 12 is rotated in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction. It will be understood that in another embodiment, the grit of the sandpaper in the first section 34a may be different from the grit of the sandpaper in the second section 34b. This will provide varying abrasiveness depending upon the direction in which the device is rotating).
Regarding claim 24, Wentworth discloses a method of grinding a surface of an object, comprising:
grinding the surface of the object by one or more grinding tools, each of which comprises a plurality of abrasive elements (30) attached to at least one movably mounted abrasive carrier (wherein device 10 has a backing plate 12 which is mounted for rotation, and wherein there is a plurality of abrasive elements 30 attached thereon, see Figures 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, as well as [0041], [0035-0036]),
wherein the plurality of abrasive elements of the one or more grinding tools comprise a first surface with first abrasive elements for lying against the surface of the object in a first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier and a second surface provided with second abrasive elements for lying against the surface of the object in a second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, wherein the second direction of movement is opposite to the first direction of movement (see Figure 2 regarding the opposing surfaces of each finishing media 30, wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction, that sandpaper having grit on either side may be utilized, and wherein Figure 7 shows bending of the abrasive elements 30; see also [0042-0044], [0025])); and
moving the grinding tool in a first machining step in the first direction of movement in grinding engagement over the surface of the object, and moving the grinding tool in a subsequent second machining step in the second direction of movement in grinding engagement over the surface of the object (see Figure 2 regarding the opposing surfaces of each finishing media 30, wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction, that sandpaper having grit on either side may be utilized; see also [0042-0044], [0025]; see also claims 7-9 and [0045]).
Regarding claim 25, Wentworth discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Wentworth further discloses wherein the first abrasive bodies of the first surfaces have a first grain size and the second abrasive bodies of the second surfaces have a second grain size which is different from the first grain size, and wherein the grinding and moving steps are performed so as to achieve rough grinding of the surface in a first processing step, and fine grinding of the surface in a second processing step ([0041]: the grit of the sandpaper in the first section 34a may be different from the grit of the sandpaper in the second section 34b. This will provide varying abrasiveness depending upon the direction in which the device is rotating, i.e. the difference in grain sizes which correlates with the respective sides imparts two different machining steps, wherein the smaller grain size performs fine grinding and the larger grain size performs rough grinding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moris (US 20250018534) in view of Hayashi (US 9597766).
Regarding claim 1, Moris discloses a grinding machine for grinding a surface of an object (please see Abstract as well as Figures 6-8), comprising:
at least one grinding tool with a movably mounted abrasive carrier, and a plurality of abrasive elements attached to the abrasive carrier (see Figure 6; see abrasive article 600 comprising center member 640 and abrasive elements 620; see also Figures 8 and 13; see description of center member in [0045-0048]; see also [0044]; see also [0071]),
an abrasive drive device for driving the grinding tool in a first relative movement to the object (see [0007-0008], [0049], [0105]),
wherein the plurality of abrasive elements (620) comprise a plurality of first surfaces provided with first abrasive bodies for lying against a surface of the object in a first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier and a plurality of second surfaces provided with second abrasive bodies for lying against the surface of the object in a second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier (wherein as can be seen in Figures 5A-5D and 6, the each of abrasive elements has at least two opposing surfaces, wherein the abrasive elements comprise abrasive particles disposed on the respective surfaces, see at least [0071-0072] regarding the abrasive particles, see also [0008] regarding material removal occurring when rotation takes place in one direction, and material removal taking place when rotated in a second direction opposite to the first direction),
wherein the second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier is opposite to the first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier (see Figure 9; see [0106], directions 682, 684,as well as Figure 6 and [0008]), and
wherein the abrasive drive device is adaptable to be operated in the first direction of movement, in which the first surfaces of the plurality of abrasive elements are in grinding engagement with the surface of the object (see Figure 9; see [0106], directions 682, 684,as well as Figure 6; see also [0008] regarding material removal occurring when rotation takes place in one direction, and material removal taking place when rotated in a second direction opposite to the first direction), and
wherein the abrasive drive device is adaptable to be operated in the second direction of movement, in which the second surfaces of the plurality of abrasive elements are in grinding engagement with the surface of the object (see Figure 9; see [0106], directions 682, 684,as well as Figure 6; see also [0008] regarding material removal occurring when rotation takes place in one direction, and material removal taking place when rotated in a second direction opposite to the first direction), and
a control device in signalling communication with the abrasive drive device that is adapted to switch the abrasive drive device back and forth between the first direction of movement and the second direction of movement ([0007], [0110], [0115-0118], [0123-0124], [0130], [0172]; see also Figure 7 regarding the motion controller and application controller).
While Moris discloses moving at least one of the abrasive article and the workpiece in [0180], Moris is silent regarding transport of the workpiece, and thus does not explicitly teach a conveying device for conveying the object through the grinding machine with a second movement relative to the grinding tool.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches of a conveying device for conveying the object through the grinding machine with a second movement relative to the grinding tool (see mechanism which may comprise a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, and a combination of a rack and pinion in Col. 14, line 53-Col. 15, line 29; see also Col. 3, lines 43-52; see Figures 8A and 8B).
Moris intimates and suggests that the workpiece is displaceable, but is silent regarding a specific structure for imparting movement to the workpiece. Hayashi resolves the silence of Moris by providing a conveyor mechanism in the context of polishing devices. It would have bee obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the conveying device of Hayashi into the invention of Moris. One would be motivated to do so not only because Moris specifically suggests workpiece movement, but also because the mechanism as taught by Hayashi provides a loading and unloading area, and thus workpieces can be sequentially processed by the tool of Moris in an expeditious manner without disrupting workflow (Hayashi: Col. 14, line 65-Col. 15, line 29).
Regarding claim 2, Moris in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Moris further teaches wherein the abrasive drive device is adapted to drive the at least one grinding tool in a rotational movement as a first relative movement, and wherein the control device is adapted to switch the rotational movement back and forth between a clockwise rotation and a counterclockwise rotation (Moris: see [0117] regarding the controller 830, see also Figures 7 and 8; see also [0106], [0116], [0172] regarding the directions of rotaiton being either clockswise or counterclockwise).
Regarding claim 3, Moris in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Moris further teaches wherein the abrasive drive device is adapted to set the at least one grinding tool in rotation about an abrasive rotation axis, wherein the abrasive rotation axis is formed on a grinding tool guide element which is pivotably or rotatably mounted about a guide axis which is not coaxially aligned with the abrasive rotation axis (Moris: please see at least the tool provided on the robotic device 820, wherein the tool is disclosed as an abrasive article, see [0118] and [0168-0172], and wherein [0106] specifically discloses element 600 is an abrasive article; wherein [0118] discloses the robotic devices is configured to move in any of dimensions, translationally or rotaitonally about an x axis, y axis, and z axis, and wherein joints 823 may permit movement in the x, y, and z directions, i.e. the ablity to pivot with respect to all three axes, as applied to the joints 823 and the base 821, permits pivoting or rotating about an axis which is not coaxial with the rotational axis of the tool).
Regarding claim 4, Moris in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Moris further teaches wherein the guide axis of the grinding tool guide element is arranged parallel to and at a distance from the abrasive rotation axis (Moris: please see at least [0118] regarding the ability to rotate about the x, y, and z axes, i.e. depending upon how an abrasive article is mounted on the robotic device such as shown in Figures 8 and 13, one of the three rotational axes is parallel to and at a distance from the rotational axis of the abrasive article).
Regarding claim 5, Moris in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Moris further teaches wherein the conveying device is adapted to convey the object through the grinding machine in a translatory movement (Hayashi: Col. 3, lines 47-49; see Figures 8A and 8B; see also Col. 14, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 6, Moris in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Moris further teaches wherein the translatory movement is linear (Hayashi: Col. 3, lines 47-49; see Figures 8A and 8B; see also Col. 14, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 7, Moris in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Moris further teaches wherein at least some or each of the abrasive elements has a plane abrasive body carrier element which is coated on a front surface with the first abrasive bodies and is coated on a rear surface with the second abrasive bodies (Moris [0092-0094]: the abrasive bristles can be made by an extrusion process which includes a molted organic polymer material, such as TPE or TPE, and wherein the abrasive particles can be applied by projection the abrasive grains towards the precursor, or applied by a fluidized bed, i.e. a carrier which is coated with abrasives, see also [0096-0097] disclosing depositing abrasive particles on the polymer).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentworth (US 20060014482) in view of Hayashi (US 9597766).
Regarding claim 1, Wentworth discloses a grinding machine for grinding a surface of an object (see Abstract), comprising:
at least one grinding tool with a movably mounted abrasive carrier, and a plurality of abrasive elements attached to the abrasive carrier (wherein device 10 has a backing plate 12 which is mounted for rotation, and wherein there is a plurality of abrasive elements 30 attached thereon, see Figures 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, as well as [0041], [0035-0036]),
an abrasive drive device for driving the grinding tool in a first relative movement to the object ([0018]: the backing plate is coupled to a drive shaft to allow rotation of the device; see also [0037]),
wherein the plurality of abrasive elements comprise a plurality of first surfaces provided with first abrasive bodies for lying against a surface of the object in a first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier and a plurality of second surfaces provided with second abrasive bodies for lying against the surface of the object in a second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier, wherein the second direction of movement of the abrasive carrier is opposite to the first direction of movement of the abrasive carrier (see Figure 2 regarding the opposing surfaces of each finishing media 30, wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction, that sandpaper having grit on either side may be utilized, and wherein Figure 7 shows bending of the abrasive elements 30; see also [0042-0044], [0025]), and
wherein the abrasive drive device is adaptable to be operated in the first direction of movement, in which the first surfaces of the plurality of abrasive elements are in grinding engagement with the surface of the object, and wherein the abrasive drive device is adaptable to be operated in the second direction of movement, in which the second surfaces of the plurality of abrasive elements are in grinding engagement with the surface of the object (see Figure 2 regarding the opposing surfaces of each finishing media 30, wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction, that sandpaper having grit on either side may be utilized; see also [0042-0044], [0025]; see also claims 7-9), and
a control device in signalling communication with the abrasive drive device that is adapted to switch the abrasive drive device back and forth between the first direction of movement and the second direction of movement ([0045]: robotic applications where the speed and direction of the device can be readily changed through computer control).
However, while Wentworth shows a potential work station configuration in Figures 9 and 10, Wentworth does not explicitly teach a conveying device for conveying the object through the grinding machine with a second movement relative to the grinding tool.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, , Hayashi teaches of a conveying device for conveying the object through the grinding machine with a second movement relative to the grinding tool (see mechanism which may comprise a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, and a combination of a rack and pinion in Col. 14, line 53-Col. 15, line 29; see also Col. 3, lines 43-52; see Figures 8A and 8B).
Wentworth intimates a workstation for the processing operation, but is silent regarding a specific structure for imparting movement to the workpiece. Hayashi resolves the silence of Wentworth by providing a conveyor mechanism in the context of polishing devices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the conveying device of Hayashi into the invention of Wentworth. One would be motivated to do so because the mechanism as taught by Hayashi provides a loading and unloading area, and thus workpieces can be sequentially processed by the tool of Wentworth in an expeditious manner without disrupting workflow (Hayashi: Col. 14, line 65-Col. 15, line 29).
Regarding claim 2, Wentworth in view of Hayashi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the abrasive drive device is adapted to drive the at least one grinding tool in a rotational movement as a first relative movement, and wherein the control device is adapted to switch the rotational movement back and forth between a clockwise rotation and a counterclockwise rotation (Wentworth [0041]: the finishing media 30 can finish a surface of a piece when the backing plate 12 is rotated in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction; see also [0044-0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Wentworth in view of Hayashi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the conveying device is adapted to convey the object through the grinding machine in a translatory movement (Hayashi: Col. 3, lines 47-49; see Figures 8A and 8B; see also Col. 14, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 6, Wentworth in view of Hayashi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the translatory movement is linear (Hayashi: Col. 3, lines 47-49; see Figures 8A and 8B; see also Col. 14, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 7, Wentworth in view of Hayashi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein at least some or each of the abrasive elements has a plane abrasive body carrier element which is coated on a front surface with the first abrasive bodies and is coated on a rear surface with the second abrasive bodies (Wentworth [0036]: the finishing media may also be a coated abrasive sheet; [0041]: sandpaper having grit on each side thereof).
Regarding claim 13, Wentworth in view of Hayashi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the plurality of abrasive elements is in a form of a plurality of abrasive paper sections which are flexible (Wentworth: see sandpaper disclosed in at least [0003], [0036], [0041]; wherein [0042] discloses that elements 30 are flexible), and
the abrasive carrier (12) is adapted as a plate-shaped or ring-shaped carrier which has an axial end face to which a majority of the abrasive paper sections are attached (see Figures 1, 2, and 5-7, wherein backing plate 12 is plate shaped and has a passageway 16 for attachment to a driving shaft, i.e. the backing plate is a plate shaped ring carrier which as an inner face 20 to which the finishing media 30 comprising sandpaper is attached; see [0037-0040]), or
is adapted as a cylindrical carrier which has a circumferential surface to which the majority of the abrasive paper sections are attached,
wherein the first and second directions of movement are formed by a clockwise and counterclockwise rotation of the carrier (wherein [0041] discloses the configuration of the finishing media, as well as the backing plate being rotatable in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction), and
wherein the abrasive paper sections are fixed to the carrier (see Figures 1-4 and 7) such that
when the carrier (12) rotates clockwise, the abrasive paper sections lie with a front side against a workpiece onto which the abrasive elements are pressed, and when the direction of rotation is reversed, the abrasive paper sections fold over so that a rear side of the abrasive paper sections lies against the workpiece instead of the front side (see at least claims 7-9, as well as [0037-0042]; see also the bending shown in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 14, Wentworth in view of Hayashi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the first abrasive bodies of the first surfaces have a first grain size and the second abrasive bodies of the second surfaces have a second grain size, wherein the second grain size is different from the first grain size (Wentworth [0041]: each of the sheets 32 within the pack consists of an abrasive paper, such as sandpaper; the abrasive part of the sandpaper is facing in one direction in one pack 34a and in the other direction in the other pack 34b. This allows the finishing media 30 to finish a surface of a piece when the backing plate 12 is rotated in either the clockwise or counterclockwise direction. It will be understood that in another embodiment, the grit of the sandpaper in the first section 34a may be different from the grit of the sandpaper in the second section 34b. This will provide varying abrasiveness depending upon the direction in which the device is rotating).
Claim(s) 8-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentworth (US 20060014482) in view of Hayashi (US 9597766), and in further view of Block (US 3,188,777).
Regarding claim 8, Wentworth in view of Hayashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the plurality of abrasive elements (30) comprises:
a plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements, each of which is coated with the first abrasive bodies on a front surface forming the first surface (Wentworth: see Reference Drawing 1, annotated Figure 2, elements 1F, comprising an abrasive front surface as described in [0041]; wherein [0040] describes that the finishing media 30 can be provided in a single sheet of material or packs of material; wherein the sheet comprises the abrasive carrier element, and wherein the sheet is coated with abrasive, see [0036]); and
a plurality of second plane abrasive body carrier elements, and wherein each of which is coated with the second abrasive bodies on a rear surface forming the second surface (see Reference Drawing 1, elements 2R of packs 34b, coated as described in [0041]; see also [0036], [0040], [0042], and [0019]); and
wherein the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements are each arranged on the abrasive carrier (see Reference Drawing 2, annotated Figure 3 of Wentworth) such that
in the first direction of movement the front surfaces of the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements lie against the surface of the object (see Reference Drawing 2, wherein surfaces 1F and 2R lie against the surface of a workpiece and are flattened, see also [0019], [0036]), and wherein
in the second direction of movement the rear surfaces of the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements lie against the surface of the object (wherein as can be seen in Figure 7, the abrasive elements 30 are configured to bend in either direction, and when the direction of rotation is switched, the configuration shown in Reference Drawing 2 is switched; please also refer to the combination statement as applied below).
Reference Drawing 1
Reference Drawing 2
While Wentworth describes the configuration of abrasive elements, including that the abrasive part of the sandpaper section 34a faces one direction and the abrasive part of the sandpaper section 34b faces the other direction (see [0041]), it is not explicitly taught that the sandpaper sheets have a surface which is not coated, i.e. wherein each of the plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a rear surface and each of the second plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a front surface.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Block (US 3,188,777) teaches of a plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements (22a) and a plurality of second plane abrasive body carrier elements (22b), wherein elements 22a are coated on one side and not on the other side, and wherein elements 22b are coated on one side but not on the other side, i.e. wherein each of the plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a rear surface and each of the second plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a front surface (see Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 11; see also Col. 4, lines 15-61; see also annotated Figure 3, Reference Drawing 3; see also Col. 1, line 60-Col. 2, line 4; see also Col. 2, lines 15-20 regarding the reverse of rotation, and Col. 2 lines 21-34 regarding the abrasive particles).
Reference Drawing 3
Both Block and modified Wentworth are drawn towards apparatuses configured to resurface workpieces using bidirectional rotating tools with abrasive surfaces. Wentworth intimates and suggests a similar configuration as that described by Block, but is silent regarding the opposing surfaces of the sheets being non-abrasive; Block answers the silence of Wentworth. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the smooth surface configuration as taught by Block into the invention of modified Wentworth. One would be motivated to do so because the faces as described by Block eliminates wear on the smooth, non-abrasive surfaces of each respective leaf as a result of the smooth surfaces contacting one another (see Col. 1, lines 60-67; Col. 4, lines 41-50).
Regarding claim 9, Wentworth as modified by Hayashi and Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements are each fastened alternately adjacent to one another on the abrasive carrier so that the front surface of a first abrasive body carrier element faces the rear surface of an adjacent second abrasive body carrier element t on a first side and the rear surface of the first abrasive body carrier element faces a front surface of an adjacent second abrasive body carrier element on a second side (please refer to the combination statement as applied above; see also annotated Figure 3 of Block regarding the surfaces, as well as Reference Drawings 1 and 2 of Wentworth; see also Wentworth: paragraphs [0040-0041], and Block: Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 11; see also Col. 4, lines 15-61; Col. 1, lines 60-67).
Regarding claim 10, Wentworth as modified by Hayashi and Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the first abrasive body carrier element and the second abrasive body carrier element are connected to one another by the rear surface of the first abrasive body carrier element being partially or fully connected to the front surface of the adjacent second abrasive body carrier element (please see the combination statement as applied above; wherein Wentworth describes that media 30 comprising opposing elements 34a, 34b are each secured within the slots 24 by an adhesive, see [0040], and thus wherein the first and second abrasive body carrier element surfaces are connected to one another via the securement method within slots 24).
Regarding claim 11, Wentworth as modified by Hayashi and Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein one or more first groups of several first abrasive body carrier elements are arranged next to one another on the abrasive carrier and one or more second groups of several second abrasive body carrier elements are arranged next to one another on the abrasive carrier and at least one first group of the one or more first groups and at least one second group of the one or more second groups are fastened to the abrasive carrier (referring to Reference Drawing 1, wherein there are twelve pairs of media 34a, 34b, and wherein the plate 12 can be divided in half or in quadrants, i.e. wherein there are one or more first groups and one or more second groups arranged next to one another on plate 12, and wherein Wentworth describes that media 30 comprising opposing elements 34a, 34b are each secured within the slots 24 by an adhesive, see [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Wentworth as modified by Hayashi and Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the one or more first groups includes a plurality of first groups and the one or more second groups includes a plurality of second groups, and wherein several first groups of the plurality of first groups and several second groups of the plurality of second groups are fastened alternately adjacent to one another on the abrasive carrier (please refer to the alternate configuration as taught by the combination statement above, as well as Reference Drawings 1, 2, and 3; see also Wentworth: [0040-0041] regarding the configuration and the fastening arrangement).
Regarding claim 16, Wentworth as modified by Hayashi and Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein at least some or each of the plurality of abrasive elements has a plane abrasive body carrier element which is coated with the first abrasive bodies on a front surface and is coated with the second abrasive bodies on a rear surface (Wentworth [0036]: the finishing media may also be a coated abrasive sheet; [0041]: sandpaper having grit on each side thereof).
Claim(s) 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentworth (US 20060014482) in view of Block (US 3,188,777).
Regarding claim 17, Wentworth discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Wentworth further discloses wherein the plurality of abrasive elements (30) comprises:
a plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements, each of which is coated with the first abrasive bodies on a front surface forming the first surface (see Reference Drawing 1, annotated Figure 2, elements 1F, comprising an abrasive front surface as described in [0041]; wherein [0040] describes that the finishing media 30 can be provided in a single sheet of material or packs of material; wherein the sheet comprises the abrasive carrier element, and wherein the sheet is coated with abrasive, see [0036]), and
a plurality of second plane abrasive body carrier elements, and wherein each of the plurality of second plane abrasive body carrier elements is coated with the second abrasive bodies on a rear surface forming the second surface (see Reference Drawing 1, elements 2R of packs 34b, coated as described in [0041]; see also [0036], [0040], [0042], and [0019]), and
wherein the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements are arranged on the abrasive carrier (see Reference Drawing 2, annotated Figure 3 of Wentworth) such that
in the first direction of movement the front surfaces of the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements are lying against the surface of the object (see Reference Drawing 2, wherein surfaces 1F and 2R lie against the surface of a workpiece and are flattened, see also [0019], [0036]), and wherein
in the second direction of movement the rear surfaces of the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements are lying against the surface of the object (wherein as can be seen in Figure 7, the abrasive elements 30 are configured to bend in either direction, and when the direction of rotation is switched, the configuration shown in Reference Drawing 2 is switched; please also refer to the combination statement as applied below).
While Wentworth describes the configuration of abrasive elements, including that the abrasive part of the sandpaper section 34a faces one direction and the abrasive part of the sandpaper section 34b faces the other direction (see [0041]), it is not explicitly taught that the sandpaper sheets have a surface which is not coated, i.e. wherein each of the plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a rear surface and each of the second plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a front surface.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Block (US 3,188,777) teaches of a plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements (22a) and a plurality of second plane abrasive body carrier elements (22b), wherein elements 22a are coated on one side and not on the other side, and wherein elements 22b are coated on one side but not on the other side, i.e. wherein each of the plurality of first plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a rear surface and each of the second plane abrasive body carrier elements is not coated with abrasive bodies on a front surface (see Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 11; see also Col. 4, lines 15-61; see also annotated Figure 3, Reference Drawing 3; see also Col. 1, line 60-Col. 2, line 4; see also Col. 2, lines 15-20 regarding the reverse of rotation, and Col. 2 lines 21-34 regarding the abrasive particles).
Both Block and Wentworth are drawn towards apparatuses configured to resurface workpieces using bidirectional rotating tools with abrasive surfaces. Wentworth intimates and suggests a similar configuration as that described by Block, but is silent regarding the opposing surfaces of the sheets being non-abrasive; Block answers the silence of Wentworth. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the smooth surface configuration as taught by Block into the invention of Wentworth. One would be motivated to do so because the faces as described by Block eliminates wear on the smooth, non-abrasive surfaces of each respective leaf as a result of the smooth surfaces contacting one another (see Col. 1, lines 60-67; Col. 4, lines 41-50).
Regarding claim 18, Wentworth as modified by Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the first abrasive body carrier elements and the second abrasive body carrier elements are each fastened alternately adjacent to one another on the abrasive carrier so that the front surface of a first abrasive body carrier element of the first abrasive body carrier elements faces the rear surface of and adjacent second abrasive body carrier element of the second body carrier elements on a first side and the rear surface of the first abrasive body carrier element of the first abrasive body carrier elements faces a front surface of an adjacent second abrasive body carrier element of the second abrasive body carrier elements on a second side (please refer to the combination statement as applied above; see also annotated Figure 3 of Block regarding the surfaces, as well as Reference Drawings 1 and 2 of Wentworth; see also Wentworth: paragraphs [0040-0041], and Block: Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 11; see also Col. 4, lines 15-61; Col. 1, lines 60-67).
Regarding claim 19, Wentworth as modified by Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein the first abrasive body carrier element and the second abrasive body carrier element are connected to one another by the rear surface of the first abrasive body carrier element being partially or fully connected to the front surface of the second abrasive body carrier element (please see the combination statement as applied above; wherein Wentworth describes that media 30 comprising opposing elements 34a, 34b are each secured within the slots 24 by an adhesive, see [0040], and thus wherein the first and second abrasive body carrier element surfaces are connected to one another via the securement method within slots 24).
Regarding claim 20, Wentworth as modified by Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches wherein one or more first groups of several first abrasive body carrier elements are arranged next to one another on the abrasive carrier and one or more second groups of several second abrasive body carrier elements are arranged next to one another on the abrasive carrier, and wherein at least one first group and at least one second group are fastened to the abrasive carrier (referring to Reference Drawing 1, wherein there are twelve pairs of media 34a, 34b, and wherein the plate 12 can be divided in half or in quadrants, i.e. wherein there are one or more first groups and one or more second groups arranged next to one another on plate 12, and wherein Wentworth describes that media 30 comprising opposing elements 34a, 34b are each secured within the slots 24 by an adhesive, see [0040]).
Regarding claim 21, Wentworth as modified by Block teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Wentworth further teaches w wherein the one or more first groups includes a plurality of first groups and the one or more second groups includes a plurality of second groups, and wherein several first groups of the plurality of first groups and several second groups of the plurality of second groups are fastened alternately adjacent to one another on the abrasive carrier (please refer to the alternate configuration as taught by the combination statement above, as well as Reference Drawings 1, 2, and 3; see also Wentworth: [0040-0041] regarding the configuration and the fastening arrangement).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Palushaj (US 2009/0221212), see Figures 1 and 2.
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723