DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the claims recite "selecting at least one flow equation from a plurality of flow equations based on the determined flow regime". However, neither the claim nor the specification clearly sets forth or defines the plurality of flow equations applicable to each flow regime. The expression "at least one flow equation" leaves uncertainty as to which equation or combination of equations is essential for performing the claimed invention.
Claims 2-8 and 10-15 fail to remedy the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites "flow distorting parameters", "flowmeter physical and operational parameters", and "fluid physical properties" without positively defining the mandatory parameters required for carrying out the invention. The scope of these expressions is excessively broad and indefinite, thereby rendering the meets and bounds of the claim scope unclear.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites "computing an output signal based on the selected flow equation and at least one of electromagnetic equations and/or physics-based equations". The expression "electromagnetic equations and/or physics-based equations" is vague and indefinite because an unlimited number of electromagnetic and physics-based equations may be employed. The claim fails to define the essential equations required for performing the invention, thereby rendering the scope unclear.
Additionally, claim 1 recites "physics-based equations". The term is generic and lacks precise technical boundaries. The claim does not specify whether the equations include mass conservation equations, momentum equations, energy equations, Maxwell's equations, or any other governing equations. Accordingly, the scope of this claim limitation remains unclear.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites "computing an output signal". However, the nature of the output signal is not defined in the claim. Therefore, the scope of protection sought is unclear.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “determining a corrected calibration factor” and covers any manner of methods or techniques for determining a calibration factor or a corrected calibration factor and therefore lacks clarity regarding the essential technical features of the invention. Further still, the claim attempts to encompass multiple embodiments, including different flowmeter types, different flow regimes, different fluid properties, and different modelling approaches, within a single claim. The claim, therefore, covers a broad range of alternatives without clearly defining the essential technical features necessary to perform the invention, resulting in ambiguity of the claim scope.
Claims 2-8 fail to remedy the deficiencies of claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the claim recites “calculating Reynolds number based on the current flowrate value”, however, Reynolds number conventionally depends on multiple parameters, including velocity, density, viscosity, and characteristic dimension. The claims fail to specify the additional parameters required for Reynolds number calculation, thereby rendering the claimed feature technically incomplete and unclear.
Claims 5-6 and 13 fail to remedy the deficiencies of claims 4 and 12, respectively.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the claims recite "associated equations" in relation to laminar-flow equations, transition-flow equations, and turbulent-flow equations. The term "associated equations" is indefinite because it does not identify which equations are required and, therefore, leaves the scope of the claims uncertain.
Regarding claims 1-15, the claims repeatedly use functional language such as "determine", "select", "compute", and "correct" without positively reciting the essential technical features, algorithms, computational models, or processing steps required to achieve such functions. Consequently, the claims define the invention primarily in terms of the desired result rather than the technical means for achieving that result, resulting in a lack of clarity and uncertainty of scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites determining a flow regime based on the current flowrate value; selecting at least one flow equation from a plurality of flow equations based on the determined flow regime; computing an output signal based on the selected flow equation and at least one of electromagnetic equations and/or physics-based equations, the flow distorting parameters, the flowmeter physical and operational parameters, and the fluid physical properties; determining a corrected calibration factor using the computed output signal and the current flowrate value.
In the context of the claim, the limitations of determining a flow regime, computing an output signal and determining a corrected calibration factor encompasses limitations that can be accomplished using mathematical formulas, equations and calculations. Thus, the claim recites limitations that fall within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04IIB. The claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional claim elements of receiving at least one of flow distorting parameters, flowmeter physical and operational parameters, a current flowrate value measured by the flowmeter, and fluid physical properties and transmitting the corrected calibration factor for correcting flowrate measurement of the flowmeter. The additional claim elements are recited at a high-level of generality without any level of specificity such that it amounts to no more than data gathering and outputting. As such, the limitations are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional claim elements amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, the background of the specification ([0003]-[0006]) establishes that the additional claim elements are known in the prior art and thus are well-understood, routine and conventional activities. See MPEP 2106.05(d) II. Thus, the limitations cannot add significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. The additional claim limitations recited in claims 2-8 serve to add additional steps to the abstract idea. That is, the claim limitations encompasses limitations that can be accomplished using mathematical formulas, equations and calculations. Thus, the claim recites limitations that fall within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04IIB. The claims recite an abstract idea. The claims do not recite any additional claim elements to either integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 9 recites determine a flow regime based on the current flowrate value; select at least one flow equation from a plurality of flow equations based on the determined flow regime; compute an output signal based on the selected flow equation and at least one of electromagnetic equations and/or physics-based equations, the flow distorting parameters, the flowmeter physical and operational parameters, and the fluid physical properties; determine a corrected calibration factor using the computed output signal and the current flowrate value.
In the context of the claim, the limitations of determine a flow regime, compute an output signal and determine a corrected calibration factor encompasses limitations that can be accomplished using mathematical formulas, equations and calculations. Thus, the claim recites limitations that fall within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04IIB. The claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional claim elements of a processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to: receive at least one of flow distorting parameters, flowmeter physical and operational parameters, a current flowrate value measured by the flowmeter, and fluid physical properties and transmit the corrected calibration factor for correcting flowrate measurement of the flowmeter.
The additional claim elements of a processor and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional claim elements of receive and transmit are recited at a high-level of generality without any level of specificity such that it amounts to no more than data gathering and outputting. As such, the limitations are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional claim elements amount to no more than apply the judicial exception using a generic computer and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, the background of the specification ([0003]-[0006]) establishes that the additional claim elements of receive and transmit are known in the prior art and thus are well-understood, routine and conventional activities. See MPEP 2106.05(d) II. Thus, the limitations cannot add significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 10-15 depend from claim 9 and recites the same abstract idea as claim 9. The additional claim limitations recited in claims 10-15 serve to add additional steps to the abstract idea. That is, the claim limitations encompasses limitations that can be accomplished using mathematical formulas, equations and calculations. Thus, the claim recites limitations that fall within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04IIB. The claims recite an abstract idea. The claims do not recite any additional claim elements to either integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hies et al. in U.S. Patent Publication 20150127275 (see IDS filed 20 May 2024), and further in view of Roskam et al. in U.S. Patent 5987997 (see IDS filed 20 May 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Hies et al. teaches:
A method for correcting flowrate measurements of a flow meter (see [0001], [0005]-[0008]), the method comprising:
receiving at least one of flow distorting parameters (see “velocity profile parameter”, [0005] “obstacle induced distortion” [0017]-[0020] and Figs. 2, 3), flowmeter physical and operational parameters ([0005]-[0008]), a current flowrate value measured by the flowmeter ([0011]), and fluid physical properties ([0011]);
determining a flow regime based on the current flowrate value (]0005]);
computing an output signal based on the flow regime and physics- based equations ([0005]), the flow distorting parameters ([0017]-[0020]), the flowmeter physical and operational parameters, and the fluid physical properties ([0017]-[0023]);
determining a corrected calibration factor using the computed output signal and the current flowrate value ([0011]); and
transmitting the corrected calibration factor for correcting flow rate measurement of the flowmeter ([0011]-[0017]).
Hies et al. differs from the claimed invention in that it is silent regarding selecting at least one flow equation from a plurality of flow equations based on the determined flow regime.
Roskam et al. teaches a method (cols.9-10) wherein variations of the velocity profile as a function of the flow regime is taken into consideration for the correction of flow rate measurements by an ultrasonic flow meter (Fig.1). Additionally, Roskam et al. list equations corresponding to the various flow regimes depending on the Reynolds number, which equations are used to determine the correction coefficient used for making the flow measurement of the flow meter more precise (cols. 9-10). Further, Roskam et al. teaches high precision measurement (col 2 lines 32-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 2, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Hies et al. teaches wherein the flow distorting parameters comprise a shape of a flow distorting feature at an upstream or a downstream of the flowmeter, a size of the flow distorting feature at the upstream or the downstream of the flowmeter, an orientation of the flow distorting feature with respect to the flowmeter, and a distance of the flow distorting feature from the flowmeter (see “Examples of disturbance elements are shown in FIGS. 2 and 3.”, [0125], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Hies et al. teaches wherein the flowmeter physical parameters comprise a shape and a size of flowmeter components (see “Examples of disturbance elements are shown in FIGS. 2 and 3.”, [0125], Figs. 2-3 a diameter is indicated in order to know at which distance the flow meter is expected to be from the disturbing element).
Regarding claim 4, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Roskam et al. teaches calculating Reynolds number based on the current flowrate value (see “determines the Reynolds' number constantly and a flow-quantity corrector (6) connected to the adder”, Abstract); and selecting a flow regime from a plurality of flow regimes based on the calculated Reynolds number (see “ determines the Reynolds' number constantly and a flow-quantity corrector (6) connected to the adder”, Abstract; see “whether the flow profile has a turbulent or a laminar character, the Reynolds' number is determined”, col. 9 lines 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 5, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Roskam et al. teaches wherein the plurality of flow regimes comprises a laminar flow regime, a transitional flow regime, and a turbulent flow regime (see “whether the flow profile has a turbulent or a laminar character, the Reynolds' number is determined”, col. 9 lines 13-30; see “ a laminar flow meter 17, a turbulent flow meter 18 and a transitional flow meter 19, wherein these flow meters 17, 18 and 19 work based on Eqations 15, 16 and 17 or 20, 21 and 22”, column 11 lines 24-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 6, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Roskam et al. teaches select the laminar flow regime when the Reynolds number is less or equal to a first value (see “determines the Reynolds' number constantly and a flow-quantity corrector (6) connected to the adder”, Abstract); select the transitional flow regime when the Reynolds number is between the first value and a second value, where the second value is greater than first value; and select the turbulent flow regime when the Reynolds number is greater than or equal to the second value (see “whether the flow profile has a turbulent or a laminar character, the Reynolds' number is determined”, col. 9 lines 13-30; see “ a laminar flow meter 17, a turbulent flow meter 18 and a transitional flow meter 19, wherein these flow meters 17, 18 and 19 work based on Eqations 15, 16 and 17 or 20, 21 and 22”, column 11 lines 24-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 8, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Hies et al. teaches “the profile factor in "fully developed flow" can vary by +/-10% depending on the fluid viscosity and wall roughness (from laminar flow regimes up to turbulent flow regimes)” ([0005]). Further, Roskam et al. teaches wherein selecting the at least one flow equation from the plurality of flow equations comprises: selecting a laminar flow momentum equation and associated equations when the flow regime is a laminar flow regime (col 9 line 4 – col 10 line 40); selecting a transition fluid flow momentum equation and associated equations when the flow regime is a transitional flow regime (col 9 line 4 – col 10 line 40); and selecting a turbulent flow equation and associated equations when the flow regime is a turbulent flow regime (col 9 line 4 – col 10 line 40).
Regarding claim 9, Hies et al. teaches:
A flowrate correction system for correcting flowrate measurements of a flowmeter (Figs. 1-10), the flowrate correction system comprising:
a processor (see “processor”, Abstract); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (see “memory unit”, Abstract), wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions (see “software program”, [0125]), which on execution, cause the processor to:
receive at least one of flow distorting parameters (see “velocity profile parameter”, [0005] “obstacle induced distortion” [0017]-[0020] and Figs. 2, 3), flowmeter physical and operational parameters ([0005]-[0008]), a current flowrate value measured by the flowmeter ([0011]), and fluid physical properties ([0011]);
determine a flow regime based on the current flowrate value (]0005]);
compute an output signal based on the flow regime and physics- based equations ([0005]), the flow distorting parameters ([0017]-[0020]), the flowmeter physical and operational parameters, and the fluid physical properties ([0017]-[0023]);
determine a corrected calibration factor using the computed output signal and the current flowrate value ([0011]); and
transmit
the corrected calibration factor for correcting flow rate measurement of the flowmeter ([0011]-[0017]).
Hies et al. differs from the claimed invention in that it is silent regarding selecting at least one flow equation from a plurality of flow equations based on the determined flow regime.
Roskam et al. teaches a method (cols.9-10) wherein variations of the velocity profile as a function of the flow regime is taken into consideration for the correction of flow rate measurements by an ultrasonic flow meter (Fig.1). Additionally, Roskam et al. list equations corresponding to the various flow regimes depending on the Reynolds number, which equations are used to determine the correction coefficient used for making the flow measurement of the flow meter more precise (cols. 9-10). Further, Roskam et al. teaches high precision measurement (col 2 lines 32-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 10, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Hies et al. teaches wherein the flow distorting parameters comprise a shape of a flow distorting feature at an upstream or a downstream of the flowmeter, a size of the flow distorting feature at the upstream or the downstream of the flowmeter, an orientation of the flow distorting feature with respect to the flowmeter, and a distance of the flow distorting feature from the flowmeter (see “Examples of disturbance elements are shown in FIGS. 2 and 3.”, [0125], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Hies et al. teaches wherein the flowmeter physical parameters comprise a shape and a size of flowmeter components (see “Examples of disturbance elements are shown in FIGS. 2 and 3.”, [0125], Figs. 2-3 a diameter is indicated in order to know at which distance the flow meter is expected to be from the disturbing element).
Regarding claim 12, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Roskam et al. teaches calculate Reynolds number based on the current flowrate value (see “determines the Reynolds' number constantly and a flow-quantity corrector (6) connected to the adder”, Abstract); and select a flow regime from a plurality of flow regimes based on the calculated Reynolds number (see “ determines the Reynolds' number constantly and a flow-quantity corrector (6) connected to the adder”, Abstract; see “whether the flow profile has a turbulent or a laminar character, the Reynolds' number is determined”, col. 9 lines 13-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 13, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Roskam et al. teaches select the laminar flow regime when the Reynolds number is less or equal to a first value (see “determines the Reynolds' number constantly and a flow-quantity corrector (6) connected to the adder”, Abstract); select the transitional flow regime when the Reynolds number is between the first value and a second value, where the second value is greater than first value; and select the turbulent flow regime when the Reynolds number is greater than or equal to the second value (see “whether the flow profile has a turbulent or a laminar character, the Reynolds' number is determined”, col. 9 lines 13-30; see “ a laminar flow meter 17, a turbulent flow meter 18 and a transitional flow meter 19, wherein these flow meters 17, 18 and 19 work based on Eqations 15, 16 and 17 or 20, 21 and 22”, column 11 lines 24-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Roskam et al. with Hies et al. to improve Hies et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 15, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Further, Hies et al. teaches “the profile factor in "fully developed flow" can vary by +/-10% depending on the fluid viscosity and wall roughness (from laminar flow regimes up to turbulent flow regimes)” ([0005]). Further, Roskam et al. teaches wherein selecting the at least one flow equation from the plurality of flow equations comprises: selecting a laminar flow momentum equation and associated equations when the flow regime is a laminar flow regime (col 9 line 4 – col 10 line 40); selecting a transition fluid flow momentum equation and associated equations when the flow regime is a transitional flow regime (col 9 line 4 – col 10 line 40); and selecting a turbulent flow equation and associated equations when the flow regime is a turbulent flow regime (col 9 line 4 – col 10 line 40).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hies et al. in U.S. Patent Publication 20150127275 (see IDS filed 20 May 2024) and Roskam et al. in U.S. Patent 5987997 (see IDS filed 20 May 2024) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Fröhlich et al. in Foreign Patent Document EP 3008427B1 (see IDS filed 20 July 2026; see also machine translation) and Mattar et al. in Foreign Patent Document CA2647242C (see IDS filed 20 July 2026).
Regarding claim 7, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Hies et al. and Roskam et al. differs from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding using the computed output signal and the current flowrate value comprises dividing the computed output signal by the current flowrate value to determine the corrected calibration factor.
Fröhlich et al. teaches a computation of a predicted output signal through multiphysics simulation (“see compensated value can subsequently be output”, p. 3). Fröhlich et al. teaches determining a compensated flow (p. 1).
Mattar et al. teaches the determination of corrected or compensated flow values from measured operating parameters (p. 11-12). Once the simulated output signal and measured flow value are available, determining a calibration factor using a ratio of these values constitutes a straightforward mathematical operation for obtaining a correction coefficient that would have been within the ordinary capability of one of ordinary skill in the art and does not involve any technical advancement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Fröhlich et al. and Mattar et al. with Hies et al. and Roskam et al. to improve Hies et al. and Roskam et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Regarding claim 14, Hies et al. and Roskam et al. teaches the limitations as indicated above. Hies et al. and Roskam et al. differs from the claimed invention in that they are silent regarding wherein to determine a corrected calibration factor, the processor is configured to divide the computed output signal by the current flowrate value to determine the corrected calibration factor.
Fröhlich et al. teaches a computation of a predicted output signal through multiphysics simulation (“see compensated value can subsequently be output”, p. 3). Fröhlich et al. teaches determining a compensated flow (p. 1).
Mattar et al. teaches the determination of corrected or compensated flow values from measured operating parameters (p. 11-12). Once the simulated output signal and measured flow value are available, determining a calibration factor using a ratio of these values constitutes a straightforward mathematical operation for obtaining a correction coefficient that would have been within the ordinary capability of one of ordinary skill in the art and does not involve any technical advancement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Fröhlich et al. and Mattar et al. with Hies et al. and Roskam et al. to improve Hies et al. and Roskam et al. with a reasonable expectation that it would result in improved calibration, thereby improving the precision measurement of the flowing media.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brown in U.S. Patent Publication 20250198816 teaches “Systems and methods provided herein relate to an ultrasonic measurement system. The system includes transducers configured to provide ultrasonic signals and metering electronics configured to receive electronic signals associated with the ultrasonic signals. The metering electronics are configured to provide a correction function which is a function of measured or estimated values that are dependent on both flow velocity and speed of sound” (Abstract).
/MI'SCHITA' HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857