DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination dated March 4, 2026. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-1, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0193961, to Peterson, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0162922, to Camarero et al. (hereinafter Camarero), and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0270542, to Ramalingam et al. (hereinafter Ramalingam).
As per claim 1, and similarly with respect to claim 14, Peterson discloses an automotive device (e.g. see Fig. 4 and para 0013, wherein a vehicular vision system 10 for a vehicle is provided), comprising: a camera module (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0013, wherein the vehicular vision system includes a camera subsystem 12 having camera 8); a display module (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0013, wherein the vehicular vision system includes a video display subsystem 16 having display 22), wherein the display module receives a first boot signal to activate the display module, and the display module has a first panel (e.g. see para 0036, wherein in one configuration the display screen (i.e. panel) is activated (i.e. boot signal) in response to the vehicle shifting in reverse); and a first chip, configured to receive a first image signal from the camera module and output a second image signal to the first panel (e.g. see Fig. 4 and para 18, wherein a signal generated by the camera (i.e. first image signal) is transmitted to a decoder 30 (i.e. first chip) which converts the signal to a digital signal (i.e. second image signal) and subsequently transmits the converted signal to the display)…
Peterson, arguably, fails to disclose wherein the automotive device further comprises an additional camera module, an additional display module, a second chip, and a busbar, the additional display module comprises a second panel, and the second chip is configured to receive a third image signal from the additional camera module and output a fourth image signal to the second panel, wherein the first chip is disposed in the display module, the second chip is disposed in the additional display module, and the first chip and the second chip are electrically connected to each other via the busbar. However, Camarero teaches a left camera assembly 120-L and a right camera assembly 120-R (i.e. a camera module and an additional cameral module). The left camera assembly generating a first image signal received by a left controller 144-L of a left image area 122-L (i.e. a display), wherein the left controller combines the image of the first image signal with an image captured by a rear camera to form a second image signal displayed on the left image area/display. Additionally, the right camera assembly generating a third image signal received by a right controller 144-R of a right image area 122-R (i.e. an additional display), wherein the right controller combines the image of the third image signal with an image captured by a rear camera to form a fourth image signal displayed on the right image area/display (e.g. see Fig. 2, paras 0028-0041 and Claim 1). Finally, the Camarero teaches that the left controller of the left image area/display is in communication with the right controller of the right image area/display through a communication bus (e.g. see Claim 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the touch screen device of Peterson to include multiple displays displaying different perspective view for the purpose of enhancing driver awareness to improve safety.
Peterson and Camaero fail to teach wherein the display module and the additional display module are synchronized with an automotive host computer via another busbar for transmitting signals therebetween. However, Ramalingam teaches an ECU 120 of a vehicle synchronizing video display of at least two display modules (e.g. see Figs. 2 and 4A, and para 0119). The Office further notes that in order to synchronize the display modules the ECU would be connected thereto, which would be done via a busbar (e.g. see para 0032 and 0043). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the touch screen device of Peterson to include synchronizing displays for the purpose of ensuring the display of related information to the occupants of the vehicle.
As per claim 2, and similarly with respect to claim 15, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claims 1 and 14, respectively, and Peterson further discloses wherein the automotive device further comprises an automotive host computer, the automotive host computer receives a second boot signal to activate the automotive host computer, and the first boot signal is different from the second boot signal (e.g. the Office notes that the host computer may comprise the camera subsystem 12 (i.e. host computer), which is separate from the display subsystem 15 having the display; also see para 0036, wherein that when the vehicle is shifted into reverse, the camera and display camera would be activated, which would include two different boot signals; alternatively, this feature is satisfied by simply starting the vehicle (generating a second boot signal to activate an ECU of the vehicle (i.e. host computer), wherein shifting the vehicle in reverse thereby activating the display would comprise the first boot signal)).
As per claim 3, and similarly with respect to claim 16, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claims 2 and 15, respectively, and Peterson further discloses wherein the first boot signal and the second boot signal are output simultaneously through a synchronous circuit (e.g. see para 0036, wherein both the camera and display are activated (i.e. first and second boot signal) when the vehicle is shifted into reverse (i.e. simultaneously)).
As per claim 4, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 2, and Peterson further discloses wherein the display module and the automotive host computer are synchronized with each other (e.g. see Fig. 4, wherein a ‘handshaking’ occurs between the camera subsystem 12 and the display subsystem 16).
As per claim 5, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 1, and Peterson further discloses wherein the first panel comprises a touch function adapted to transmit a touch signal to the first chip (e.g. see para 0059, wherein the display includes touch sensors to control and/or adjust accessories (e.g. camera subsystem) of the vehicle).
As per claim 7, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 1, and Peterson further discloses wherein the display module further comprises a converter that is electrically connected to the camera module and the first chip, wherein the converter is configured to receive the first image signal, transform the first image signal into a digital signal, and then transmit the first image signal to the first chip (e.g. see Fig. 4 and para 18, wherein a signal generated by the camera (i.e. first image signal) is transmitted to a decoder 30 (i.e. first chip) which converts the signal to a digital signal (i.e. second image signal) and subsequently transmits the converted signal to the display).
As per claim 9, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 1, and Peterson further discloses wherein the first chip comprises an on-screen display indicator and an image combiner, and the image combiner receives a first image signal from the camera module and an image signal of an on-screen display from the on-screen display indicator and combines them (e.g. see para 0048, wherein the display, which display camera captured images, includes touch sensors and user interface to allow user to adjust settings (i.e. combining image data and control indicators)).
As per claim 10, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 9, and Peterson further discloses wherein the first chip comprises a timing controller electrically connected to the image combiner (e.g. the Office notes that the display will have a refresher rate (e.g. in Hertz) which effectively is a timing controller).
As per claim 11, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 9, and Peterson further discloses wherein the first chip comprises a touch controller electrically connected to the first panel and the on-screen display indicator, wherein in response to a touch on the first panel, the first panel transmits a touch signal to the touch controller, the touch controller controls the on-screen display indicator according to the touch signal, and the on-screen display indicator changes the output on the on-screen display (e.g. see para 0048, wherein the display, which display camera captured images, includes touch sensors and user interface to allow user to adjust settings including characteristics of the imaging system (i.e. combining image data and control indicators)).
As per claim 18, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 9, and Peterson further discloses further comprising: the first panel displays the image according to the second image signal, and the first panel displays an on-screen display simultaneously (e.g. see rejection or claim 14 regarding display of the second image signal; and see para 0036, wherein both the camera and display are activated (i.e. first and second boot signal) when the vehicle is shifted into reverse (i.e. simultaneously)).
As per claim 20, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 14, and Peterson further discloses further comprising: after the display module is active, the first panel displays a system state of the display module (e.g. see para 0048, wherein the display, which display camera captured images, includes touch sensors and user interface to allow user to adjust settings including characteristics of the imaging system (i.e. a system state of the display module)).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson, in view of Camarero, in view of Ramalingam, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0401818, to Gibert Castroverge et al. (hereinafter Castroverge).
As per claim 6, and similarly with respect to claim 19, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claims 2 and 18, respectively, and further discloses wherein the first panel further displays an on-screen display (OSD), the touch function of the first panel corresponds to the on-screen display (e.g. para 0059, wherein the display includes touch sensors to control and/or adjust accessories (e.g. camera subsystem) of the vehicle). But fails to disclose the on-screen display is enabled to correct at least one of a lightness of the first panel, a contrast of the first panel, a direction of the first panel, and a direction of the camera module. However, Castroverge teaches display devices 100, 101, 102, having a touch screen configured for adjusting brightness and/or contrast (e.g. see Fig. 6 and para 0055). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the touch screen device of Peterson so that brightness can be adjusted, for night time situation, so as to reduce contrast between the screen and surrounding environment.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson, in view of Camarero, in view of Ramalingam, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0414435, to Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang).
As per claim 12, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the automotive device comprises a converter and an additional converter, the converter is electrically connected to the camera module and configured to receive the first image signal, and the additional converter is electrically connected to the display module and configured to output the second image signal. However, Yang teaches a vehicle image processing device which includes a serializer/deserializer (i.e. first and second converters (e.g. see para 0059-0065). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the touch screen device of Peterson to include a serializer/deserializer for the purpose of processing multiple image data and provide improved surrounding data information.
As per claim 13, Peterson, as modified by Camarero, Ramalingam and Yang, teaches the features of claim 12, and Yang further teaches wherein the converter is a deserializer, and the additional converter is a serializer (e.g. see para 0059-0065, wherein Yang teaches a vehicle image processing device which includes a serializer/deserializer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the touch screen device of Peterson to include a serializer/deserializer for the purpose of processing multiple image data and provide improved surrounding data information.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson, in view of Camarero, in view of Ramalingam, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0292694, to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin).
As per claim 17, Peterson, as modified by Camarero and Ramalingam, teaches the features of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein the display module is active before the automotive host computer is active. However, Lin teaches a display apparatus that receives user’s 30 instructions which are transmitted to computer host 14 for processing (i.e. activation of the host computer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the touch screen device of Peterson to include a activating a host computer after a control display panel for the purpose of conservation of resources.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. McPherson whose telephone number is (313) 446-6543. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 AM - 5PM Mon-Fri Eastern Alt Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Flynn can be reached on 571 272-9855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663B