DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference numerals 123a, 123b, 123c and 122d in Fig. 3A; and
Reference numerals 123a, 123b, 123c and 122a, 122b, 122c, 122d in Fig. 3B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagaoka et al. (US 20220267059 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Nagaoka teaches a liquid containing portion configured to contain liquid (paragraph [0027] and Fig. 4 element 21); an outlet portion including an outlet port configured to discharge therethrough the liquid contained in the liquid containing portion (see element 1 of labeled version of Fig. 5A below) and a protection portion configured to cover the outlet port of the outlet portion (paragraph [0029] and Fig. 5A element 22), wherein an L* value of the protection portion in CIE L*a*b* color space is 5 or more and 35 or less (paragraph [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka et al. (US 20220267059 A1) in view of Swigg (NPL source).
Regarding claim 6, Nagaoka et al. teaches a liquid containing member (Fig. 4 element 2) including a liquid containing portion configured to contain liquid (paragraph [0028] and Fig. 4 element 21), an outlet portion including an outlet port configured to discharge therethrough the liquid contained in the liquid containing portion (see element 1 of the above labeled version of Fig. 5A), and a protection portion configured to cover the outlet port of the outlet portion (Fig. 5A element 22) and a cover member configured to be attachable to and detachable from the liquid containing member and to prevent the liquid from leaking out from the outlet portion when the cover member is attached to the liquid containing member (paragraph [0029] and Fig. 5A element 23), wherein a color of a surface of the protection portion facing a back surface of a top surface of the cover member is black or gray (paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5A element 22A). But Nagaoka et al. does not teach wherein the top surface of the cover member is transparent or semi-transparent to a degree that allows the color of the surface of the protection portion to be visually recognizable from a side of the top surface of the cover member in a state where the cover member is attached to the liquid containing member. Swigg does teach wherein the top surface of the cover member is transparent or semi-transparent to a degree that allows the color of the surface of the protection portion to be visually recognizable from a side of the top surface of the cover member in a state where the cover member is attached to the liquid containing member. In view of this teaching, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nagaoka et al. with Swigg as a simple substitution of one lid for a transparent lid to allow a manufacturer or consumer to see the mechanics of the lid without opening it.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1 and 8 in particular, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a liquid container having all of the structure as recited, in combination with and particularly including, a protection portion and a cover member having the particular configuration recited. In particular, the prior art does not teach the correct dimensions of the thickness of the top surface of the cover member, maximum height roughness of the top surface of the cover member, and the shortest distance between the defined first and second surfaces in combination with the specific haze value of the cover member and L* value of the protection portion as recited. The specification of the application cites these values are specifically chosen to allow the container to be seen through the cover, as set forth in paragraph [0029] of the disclosure. Claims 2-5 are dependent on claim 1 and are also deemed allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagaoka et al. (US 20220016894 A1) and Takiguchi et al. (US 20200307228 A1) each teach a liquid container having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Leslie J Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853