DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. This action is a non-final office action on the mertis.
35 USC § 101- this application is deemed to not be an abstract idea but rather an improvement of technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,12,17,20, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Sete 10483980
As per claim 1, Sete discloses; comprising:
detecting sensor data comprising a noise spectrum by at least one sensor;
calculating frequency components of noise in a quantum information processing (QIP) system based on the sensor data;
Sete(col. 16 lines 20-22)
determining amplitude components and phase components of the noise, based on qubit data comprising a current state of a qubit due to the noise and an expected state of the qubit without the noise;
Sete(col. 7 lines 1-20)
configuring a noise cancelling (NC) waveform generator to generate NC waveforms in accordance with NC frequency components,
Sete(col. 7 lines 1-10)
NC amplitude components, and NC phase components that are based on the frequency components and the amplitude and phase components of the noise;
Sete(col. 7 lines 1-10)
and applying, by the NC waveform generator, the NC waveforms to a hardware based NC element to cancel out the noise.
Sete(col. 7 lines 55-60)
Here, the examiner notes that there may be some minor differences between Sete and the instant claims however, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that they are similar in the inventive concepts of filtering out and canceling quantum noises.
Claims 12, 17 and 20 are similar to claim 1.
As per claim 10 Sete discloses;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the amplitude components and the phase components of the noise from differences in amplitude components and phase components between the current state of the qubit due to noise and the expected state of the qubit without noise
Col. 3 lines 50-55
As per claim 8 Sete discloses,
The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the expected state of the qubit without noise based on images received from a remote image repository.
Col. 7 lines 50-55
As per claim 9 Sete discloses;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the expected state of the qubit without noise based on prestored values.
Col. 28, lines 15-20)
As per claim 11, Sete disclose;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the configuring comprises sending a control signal to the NC waveforms generator to control parameters comprising the NC frequency components, the NC amplitude components, and the NC phase components of the NC waveforms generated by the NC waveform generator.
Seto (col. 7, lines 55-65)
Claim(s) 2-4, 13-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Sete 10483980 in view of US Patent Publication to Heim 20230350236
As per claim 2 Sete does not explicitly disclose what Heim teaches; The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the hardware based NC element comprises one or more segments of wire located by elements of the QIP system.
Heim(0104,7, wired or wireless)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Sete and Heim for the motivation of combining known quantum technology . 0004
Claims 13, 18 are similar to claim 2
As per claim 3 Sete does not explicitly disclose what Heim teaches;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the hardware based NC element comprises one or more mechanical actuators configured to exhibit a resonance effect responsive to the NC waveforms.
Heim(0084, 0017, resonant frequency)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Sete and Heim for the motivation of combining known quantum technology . 0004
Claim 14, 19 are similar to claim 3
As per claim 4 Sete does not explicitly disclose what Heim teaches;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 3, further comprising electrically or mechanically controlling a positioning of mirrors coupled to mechanical actuators that direct vibrations from the mechanical actuators towards a source of the noise.
Heim(0074, 0098)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Sete and Heim for the motivation of combining known quantum technology . 0004
Claim 15 is similar to claim 4
Claim(s) 5,6,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Sete 10483980 in view of US Patent Publication to Heim 20230350236 (Note, only for claim 5 is Heim asserted) and US Patent Publication 2020/0382219 to Innes
As per claim 5, Sete and Heim do not explicitly disclose what Innes teaches;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the mechanical actuators have piezoelectric components. Innes(0126, image sensor, 0137)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Sete, Heim and Inness for the motivation of combining known quantum technology . (0002)
As per claim 6, Sete does not explicitly disclose what Innes teaches;
6. The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein at least some of the sensors are located by a chamber of the QIP system and at least other ones of the sensors are located further from the chamber of the QIP system. Innes(0019)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Sete, and Inness for the motivation of combining known quantum technology . (0002)
As per claim 7 Sete does not explicitly disclose what Innes teaches;
The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising determining at least one of the current state of the qubit due to noise and the expected state of the qubit without noise based at least on images captured by an imaging system of the QIP system.
Innes(0033)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Sete, and Inness for the motivation of combining known quantum technology . (0002)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Microwave Techniques for Quantum Computers: State-of-the-Art Control Systems for Quantum Processors, IEEE 2020
Microwaves in Quantum Computing, PMC 2021
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693