DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 05/27/2025 claims 1-5 are pending. Claims 1 and 4 are independent.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “A VEHICLE-MOUNTED COMMUNICATION DEVICE AND AN OPERATION METHOD OF THE COMMUNICATION DEVICE WITH AN EXTERNAL BATTERY AND AN INTERNAL BATTERY”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwata et al. (USPGPN 20180242132; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 4, Iwata teaches a communication device and an operation method (Fig. 1; emergency notification device 1) comprising a communication unit (Fig. 1; built-in phone 4) and a control unit (Fig. 1; emergency notification unit (DCM) 2) that executes an activation process by receiving electricity supply from an external battery when an electric power source is turned on (Fig. 5; ¶[58-59]; when the IG power supply is turned on the DCM 2 executes an activation process by receiving power from the main battery 16 wherein the activation process includes registering the VIN information of the vehicle).
Iwata teaches the control unit has a first mode in which the control unit continues the activation process by the electricity supply from the internal battery, when the electricity supply from the external battery is stopped during the execution of the activation process (Fig. 5; ¶[60-62]; the process determines a mode of operation in T4 and continues the activation process by the electricity supply coming from the auxiliary battery 6 in steps T5-T6 when the electricity supply from the main battery 16 is stopped during the execution of the activation process).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 5, Iwata teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 4, respectively. Further, Iwata teaches comprising an input unit that accepts an instruction from a user (Fig. 1; ¶[33]; external tool connection terminal 30), wherein
after the control unit operates in the first mode and ends the activation process, the control unit performs switching from the first mode to a second mode in response to a predetermined instruction, the second mode being a mode in which the control unit stops the activation process when the electricity supply from the external battery is stopped during the execution of the activation process (Fig. 3; an operator inputs a trigger for a test mode in S1 (i.e., the predetermined instruction) in which activation is performed in the “factory mode” and then transitions to a “market mode” wherein the activation process is terminated and it is understood that the supply from the main battery 16 is stopped since the activation process is terminated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata, and further in view of Tatebayashi (Japanese Patent JP-2000341225-A cited in the Japanese Office Action dated 09/01/2026).
With respect to claim 3, Iwata teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Iwata fails to explicitly teach wherein after the control unit operates in the first mode and ends the activation process, the control unit charges the internal battery by the electricity supply from the external battery.
Tatebayashi teaches the control unit charges the internal battery by the electricity supply from the external battery (¶[10]; the control unit charges the auxiliary battery 30 using electricity supplied by the vehicle’s battery).
Charging a car's emergency communication system using the vehicle's main battery or electrical system ensures the internal backup battery remains fully topped up and ready for a critical failure. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Tatebayashi’s method of charging the communication system’s battery with the vehicle’s battery to Iwata’s emergency notification device system. The advantage being having the communication system’s auxiliary battery charged ensures the system can still trigger emergency calls, transmit GPS crash coordinates, and maintain voice communication with emergency services even if the rest of the car's electrical network is dead.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859