DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 5/20/24.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-10, 12-16 and 21-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claims 2, 3, 10, 12, 21, 22, and 24, it appears that “the circuit” should be “the multi-level power converter circuit”.
In regards to claim 3, it appears that “of circuit” should be “of the multi-level power converter circuit”.
In regards to claim 25, it appears that “the switching comprising” should be “the switching period comprising”.
Claims 4-9, 13-16 and 23 are objected to, based on their dependency of an objected to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11, 17, 19, 20, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 9793804, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses (fig. 1, 2) a multi-level power converter circuit (110) comprising: a flying capacitor (Cfly); a balancing capacitor (Cx) to control a voltage across the flying capacitor (via connections 113 and 114); a plurality of converter switches (112, 113, 114, 115); a control switch (Scx) coupled between the flying capacitor and the balancing capacitor; and control circuitry (102) to open and close the control switch based on states of at least two converter switches of the plurality of converter switches (col. 5, lines 5-18; SCX is operated based on a voltage drop made available by the states of converter switches 112-115).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses (fig. 1 and 2) the circuit comprises a three- level buck converter (110; col. 2, line 63).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang discloses (fig. 1 and 2) a method for controlling a multi-level power converter circuit (110), the circuit comprising a flying capacitor (Cfly), a balancing capacitor (Cx), a plurality of converter switches (112, 113, 114, 115), and a control switch (Scx) coupled between the flying capacitor and the balancing capacitor, the method comprising: operating, using control circuitry (102), the plurality of converter switches such that an input power is received at an input voltage (Vdd) and an output power is provided at an output voltage (Vout), less than the input voltage (buck); and operating, using the control circuitry, the control switch based on states of the plurality of converter switches, such that the balancing capacitor, by controlling a voltage across the flying capacitor, regulates the output voltage (col. 5, lines 5-18; SCX is operated based on a voltage drop made available by the states of converter switches 112-115, further regulated as taught in col. 4, lines 56- col. 5, line 18).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang discloses (fig. 1 and 2) the circuit further comprises an inductor (L) and an output capacitor (Cload), the method further comprising operating the plurality of converter switches (112, 113, 114, 115) such that the output power flows from the inductor to the output capacitor.
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang discloses (fig. 1-3) operating the plurality of converter switches (112, 113, 114, 115) and the control switch (Scx) such that the voltage across the flying capacitor is maintained to be within a threshold range (0-Vdd; col. 5, lines 35-55).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang discloses (fig. 1 and 2) amethod of controlling a three-level buck converter circuit (110), the three-level buck converter circuit comprising a first converter switch (112), a second converter switch (113), a third converter switch (114), and a fourth converter switch (115) that are coupled in series in that order, a flying capacitor (Cfly) with a first side coupled between the first converter switch (112) and the second converter switch (113) and a second side coupled between the third converter switch (114) and the fourth converter switch (115), and a balancing capacitor (Cx) coupled between the second converter switch (113) and the third converter switch (114) using a control switch (Scx), the method comprising: controlling, using control circuitry (102) of the three-level buck converter circuit, the control switch such that the balancing capacitor, by controlling a voltage across the flying capacitor, regulates an output voltage (Vout) of the three-level buck converter circuit (col. 5, lines 5-18 and 35-55; SCX is operated based on a voltage drop made available by the states of converter switches 112-115).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang discloses (fig. 1 and 2) the circuit further comprises an inductor (L) and an output capacitor (Cload), the method further comprising controlling the first converter switch, the second converter switch, the third converter switch, and the fourth converter switch (112, 113, 114, 115) such that an output power comprising the output voltage flows from the inductor to the output capacitor.
Regarding Claim 26, Zhang discloses (fig. 1 and 2) controlling the control switch, the first converter switch, the second converter switch, the third converter switch, and the fourth converter switch (112, 113, 114, 115) such that the voltage across the flying capacitor is maintained to be within a threshold range (0-Vdd; col. 5, lines 35-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-9, 12-16, 21-23 and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose: “...in a first state of the circuit, the control switch is closed and the plurality of converter switches are controlled such that a first side of the flying capacitor is coupled to an input voltage and a second side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the balancing capacitor; and in a second state of the circuit, the control switch is closed and the plurality of converter switches are controlled such that the first side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the balancing capacitor and the second side of the flying capacitor is coupled to a reference voltage..” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to disclose: “...in a first state of the circuit, closing the control switch and controlling the plurality of converter switches such that a first side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the input voltage and a second side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the balancing capacitor; and in a second state of the circuit, closing the control switch and controlling the plurality of converter switches such that the first side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the balancing capacitor and the second side of the flying capacitor is coupled to a reference voltage.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose: “...operating the plurality of converter switches based at least in part on a switching period, the switching period comprising four intervals; in a first of the four intervals, closing the first converter switch and opening the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor increases and a current through the inductor increases, in a second of the four intervals, opening the first converter switch and opening the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor is substantially constant and the current through the inductor decreases, in a third of the four intervals, opening the first converter switch and closing the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor decreases and the current through the inductor increases, and in a fourth of the four intervals, opening the first converter switch and opening the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor is substantially constant and the current through the inductor increases.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose: “...in a first state of the circuit, closing the control switch and controlling the first converter switch, the second converter switch, the third converter switch, and the fourth converter switch such that a first side of the flying capacitor is coupled to an input voltage and a second side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the balancing capacitor; and in a second state of the circuit, closing the control switch and controlling the first converter switch, the second converter switch, the third converter switch, and the fourth converter switch such that the first side of the flying capacitor is coupled to the balancing capacitor and the second side of the flying capacitor is coupled to a reference voltage.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art fails to disclose: “...controlling the first converter switch, the second converter switch, the third converter switch, and the fourth converter switch based at least in part on a switching period, the switching comprising four intervals, wherein: in a first of the four intervals, closing the first converter switch and opening the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor increases and a current through the inductor increases, in a second of the four intervals, opening the first converter switch and opening the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor is substantially constant and the current through the inductor decreases, in a third of the four intervals, opening the first converter switch and closing the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor decreases and the current through the inductor increases, and in a fourth of the four intervals, opening the first converter switch and opening the second converter switch, such that the voltage across the flying capacitor is substantially constant and the current through the inductor increases.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10075080, Scoones; Kevin et al. discloses a three-level converter using an auxiliary switched capacitor circuit.
US 11258359, Baek; Jong-Beom et al. discloses a switching regulator generating continuous output delivery current and operating method thereof.
US 11588391, Liu; Cheng et al. discloses a power conversion structure, system, method, electronic device including power conversion structure, and chip unit.
US 11855531, Lim; Changjong discloses a hybrid power converter.
US 20160118886, Zhang; Chuang et al. discloses a circuits and methods providing three-level signals at a synchronous buck converter.
US 20180006559, Chen; Chih-Wei et al. discloses a reducing voltage rating of devices in a multilevel converter.
US 20180159346, LIU; Rui et al. discloses a battery charging system.
US 20190341845, WOO; Young Jin discloses a step-up converter.
US 20210067033, JING; Yue et al. discloses a differential sensing and maintenance of flying capacitor voltage in a switched-mode power supply circuit.
US 20210099088, Cannillo; Francesco discloses a hybrid multi-level power converter with inductor bypass.
US 20220231601, Jong; Owen et al. discloses a multi-phase hybrid converter.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838