Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Palese (US 20240372623 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Palese teaches An optical device for wireless data communications, the optical device comprising: a light source configured to output light (FIG. 6: 602); a light modulator configured to modulate the output light (FIG. 5: 508); a focal plane array (FIG. 7) including a plurality of optical antennas arranged on a same plane (FIG. 5: 504), and configured to emit light modulated by the light modulator through a selected optical antenna among the plurality of optical antennas ([0071]); and an optical lens configured to convert light emitted from the focal plane array into light having a predetermined beam angle (FIG. 5: 504; [0040-0041]), and to output corresponding light externally. (Id.)
Regarding Claim 2, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 1, wherein the light modulator includes any one of a Mach-Zehnder modulator (MZM), a ring modulator, and an electro-absorption modulator (EAM). ([0058])
Regarding Claim 3, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 1, wherein the focal plane array further includes: a substrate (FIG. 5: 510); the plurality of optical antennas arranged on the substrate (Id.); an optical waveguide configured to guide light modulated by the light modulator to each of the plurality of optical antennas (FIG. 5: 506); and a plurality of optical switches connecting the optical waveguide to one of the plurality of optical antennas. (FIG. 5: 512)
Regarding Claim 4, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 1, wherein the predetermined beam angle is determined according to the following equation: θ=tan-1(x/f), wherein θ is the beam angle, x is a distance between an optical axis of the optical lens and the selected optical antenna, and f is a focal length of the optical lens. ([0028-0029])
Regarding Claim 5, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 1, wherein the light source, the light modulator, and the focal plane array are manufactured based on silicon photonics. ([0069])
Regarding Claim 6, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 1, wherein the optical device for wireless communications is used for vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications. ([0024])
Regarding Claim 7, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 1, wherein the light modulator and the focal plane array are manufactured based on silicon photonics ([0059]), and the light source is connected to the light modulator through an optical waveguide. (FIG. 5: 506)
Regarding Claim 8, Palese teaches An optical device for wireless data communications, the optical device comprising: an optical lens configured to receive light (FIG. 5: 504) having a predetermined beam angle from an external source ([0040-0041]), and to output the received light (Id.); a focal plane array including a plurality of optical antennas arranged on a same plane (FIG. 7), and configured to receive light output from the optical lens through a selected optical antenna among the plurality of optical antennas ([0071]); a photodetector configured to detect an intensity of the received light ([0064]); and an amplifier configured to amplify the detected intensity of the light. ([0045])
Regarding Claim 9, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 8, wherein the predetermined beam angle is determined according to the following equation: θ=tan-1(x/f) wherein θ is the beam angle, x is a distance between an optical axis of the optical lens and the selected optical antenna, and f is a focal length of the optical lens. ([0028-0029])
Regarding Claim 10, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 8, wherein the focal plane array includes: a substrate (FIG. 5: 510); the plurality of optical antennas arranged on the substrate (Id.); an optical waveguide configured to guide light received from each of the plurality of optical antennas (FIG. 5: 506); and a plurality of optical switches connecting the optical waveguide to one of the plurality of optical antennas. (FIG. 5: 512)
Regarding Claim 11, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 8, wherein the focal plane array, the photodetector, and the amplifier are manufactured based on silicon photonics. ([0035, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, 0079-0080])
Regarding Claim 12, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 8, wherein the optical device for wireless communications is used for vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications. ([0024])
Regarding Claim 13, Palese teaches An optical device for wireless data communications, the optical device comprising: a light source configured to output light (FIG. 6: 602); a light modulator configured to modulate the light (FIG. 5: 508); a photodetector configured to detect an intensity of the light ([0064]); an amplifier configured to amplify the detected intensity of the light ([0045]); an optical lens configured to convert the light modulated by the light modulator into light having a predetermined beam angle , and to output the corresponding light externally (FIG. 5: 504; [0040-0041]), and to receive the light having a predetermined beam angle from an external source and output the corresponding light (Id.); a focal plane array including a plurality of optical antennas arranged on a same plane (FIG. 7), the focal plane array configured to emit light modulated by the light modulator to the optical lens through a selected optical antenna among the plurality of optical antennas ([0071]), and to receive light output from the optical lens through the selected optical antenna (Id.); and a circulator configured to provide light modulated by the light modulator to the focal plane array (FIG. 6: 620), and to provide light received from the focal plane array to the photodetector. ([0064])
Regarding Claim 14, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 13, wherein the light modulator includes any one of a Mach-Zehnder modulator (MZM), a ring modulator, and an electro-absorption modulator (EAM). ([0058])
Regarding Claim 15, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 13, wherein the focal plane array further includes: a substrate (FIG. 5: 510); the plurality of optical antennas arranged on the substrate (Id.); an optical waveguide configured to guide light modulated by the light modulator to each of the plurality of optical antennas (FIG. 5: 506); and a plurality of optical switches connecting the optical waveguide to one of the plurality of optical antennas. (FIG. 5: 512)
Regarding Claim 16, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 13, wherein the predetermined beam angle is determined according to the following equation: θ=tan-1(x/f) wherein θ is the beam angle, x is a distance between an optical axis of the optical lens and the selected optical antenna, and f is a focal length of the optical lens. ([0028-0029])
Regarding Claim 17, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 13, wherein the light source, the light modulator, the focal plane array, the photodetector, the amplifier, and the circulator are manufactured based on silicon photonics. ([0035, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, 0079-0080])
Regarding Claim 18, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 13, wherein the optical device for wireless communications is used for vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications. ([0024])
Regarding Claim 19, Palese teaches The optical device of claim 13, wherein the light modulator, the focal plane array, the photodetector, the amplifier, and the circulator are manufactured based on silicon photonics ([0035, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, 0079-0080]), and the light source is connected to the light modulator through an optical waveguide. (FIG. 5: 506)
Conclusion
/PAUL MORGAN BROCK/Examiner, Art Unit 2634 February 20, 2026
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634