DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US 6450631 B1), hereinafter Hayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a liquid container comprising: a liquid containing portion configured to contain liquid (fig. 2; inkstore container 201, inner pouch 220; col. 11, lines 53-63); an outlet portion including an outlet port configured to discharge therethrough the liquid contained in the liquid containing portion (fig. 2; second valve frame 260b, valve disc 261; col. 9, line 66 to col. 10, line 21); and a protection portion configured to cover the outlet port of the outlet portion (fig. 2; joint port 230, ID member 250; col. 9, lines 37-53, col. 11, lines 41-52), wherein the protection portion has a first opening portion located above the outlet port, and wherein where a diameter of the opening portion is defined as D, and a distance between the outlet port of the outlet portion and the opening portion in a vertical direction is defined as L, inequality (1) is satisfied:
(figs. 6, 10, 25; external distance f4 = 3.2 mm, length 13 = 9.4 mm, external diameter g5 = 8.0 mm; see col. 39, lines 25-64 and col. 40, lines 6-17).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the protection portion has a second opening portion on a side of the protection portion (fig. 2; ID member 250, ID recesses 252; col. 11, lines 41-52).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the L satisfies inequality (4):
.
(figs. 6, 10, 25; external distance f4 = 3.2 mm, length 13 = 9.4 mm; col. 39, lines 25-64 and col. 40, lines 6-17).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein L is less than 10 (fig. 25; length 13; col. 39, lines 25-64).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, wherein the liquid is ink (fig. 2; inkstore container 201, inner pouch 220; col. 10, lines 10-21).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi teaches a liquid replenishment system comprising: an image recording apparatus including a liquid discharge head (fig. 1; ink-jet head 160; col. 9, lines 3-36), and a liquid tank configured to contain liquid to be supplied to the liquid discharge head, the liquid tank having an inlet portion configured to receive injection of the liquid from outside (fig. 2; negative pressure control chamber unit 100, joint pipe 180; col. 9, lines 3-53); and a liquid container configured to supply the liquid to the liquid tank through the inlet portion of the liquid tank and comprising: a liquid containing portion configured to contain liquid (fig. 2; inkstore container 201, inner pouch 220; col. 11, lines 53-63); an outlet portion including an outlet port configured to discharge therethrough the liquid contained in the liquid containing portion (fig. 2; second valve frame 260b, valve disc 261; col. 9, line 66 to col. 10, line 21); and a protection portion configured to cover the outlet port of the outlet portion (fig. 2; joint port 230, ID member 250; col. 9, lines 37-53, col. 11, lines 41-52), wherein the protection portion has a first opening portion located above the outlet port, and wherein where a diameter of the opening portion is defined as D, and a distance between the outlet port of the outlet portion and the opening portion in a vertical direction is defined as L, inequality (1) is satisfied:
(figs. 6, 10, 25; external distance f4 = 3.2 mm, length 13 = 9.4 mm, external diameter g5 = 8.0 mm; see col. 39, lines 25-64 and col. 40, lines 6-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 6450631 B1) in view of Dietl et al. (EP 0949080 A2), hereinafter Dietl.
Hayashi teaches the liquid container according to claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest L is less than 6.
However, Dietl teaches an ink cartridge comprising an outlet portion, an outlet port, a protection portion, and an opening portion wherein a distance between the outlet port of the outlet portion and the opening portion, defined as L, is less than 6 is well known in the art (fig. 3; cover 36, port 40, length l; ¶[0021]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the outlet port and the opening portion with the dimensions taught by Dietl into the liquid container of Hayashi in order to provide protection against leaking ink while also optimizing the form factor of the outlet portion so that it is more compact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amended claims 1 and 7 to correct a typographical error in the inequalities (1), however the liquid container of Hayashi meet the amended claims as detailed above in the rejections under USC § 102(a)(1). Despite the fact that Hayashi does not recite the specific inequalities of the claims, Hayashi does recite an apparatus with dimensions that fall within the inequalities. The inequalities as claimed amount to ranges for the recited quantities. From the MPEP:
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) (emphasis in original)
See MPEP § 2103.03(I). Therefore, Hayashi’s liquid container anticipates the claims by teaching a length and diameter that satisfy the inequalities in addition to teaching the other elements of the claims.
Regarding Dietl, Dietl teaches that a length meeting the range of claim 5, recited as an inequality, is well known in the art. From the MPEP:
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
See MPEP § 2144.05(I). Therefore, despite the fact that Dietl does not recite the specific inequality of the claim, it teaches a length that meets the range established by the inequality of the claim, thereby rendering the range obvious when read in combination with Hayashi.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112, detailed on pg. 9 of Remarks received March 6, 2026, are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 are hereby withdrawn.
The objections to the drawings are hereby withdrawn in light of the amendments to the Specification.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853