DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed application 17/934,373 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the chain of sorter light boxes". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Napoli (US 10127514).
Regarding claim 1, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches a sorting system (Col. 1 lines 40-43) comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 front openings of #114), arranged so that one of the plurality of sorter light boxes is coupled with an adjacent one of the plurality of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 see front openings of #114 coupled with adjacent front openings of #114);
a respective plurality of shipper light boxes (Fig. 1 rear openings of #114) coupled to the plurality of respective sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 rear openings of #114 coupled to front openings of #114) to define a chain of light box pairs (Fig. 1 chain of #114); and
a controller (Fig. 1 #102) to generate control signals (Col. 6 lines 48-53).
Regarding claim 4, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 1 #120) generates the control signals for the chain of light box pairs based upon at least one of commands received via an externally coupled network (Col. 6 lines 27-34) and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto (Fig. 1 #111, Col. 6 lines 40-53).
Regarding claim 5, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the handheld device (Fig. 1 #111) includes a mobile application (Col. 16 lines 1-13) to emit the commands (Col. 10 lines 16-17) based upon the sorter scans by the handheld device (Col. 9 lines 17-48).
Regarding claim 6, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 front openings of #114) includes at least one light element (Col. 7 lines 11-17);
wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes is associated with a shelf (Fig. 1 see shelf formed by each row of #114); and
wherein the at least one light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to the shelf to place an item (Col. 7 lines 11-17).
Regarding claim 8, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a screen (Fig. 1 screen of #104) in communication with the controller (Fig. 1 #104 in communication with #102);
wherein a graphical user interface (GUI) is displayed on the screen (Col. 6 lines 34-40); and
wherein the GUI is configured to be operable to edit and add parameters for the chain of sorter light boxes (Col. 6 lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 11, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches a sorting system (Col. 1 lines 40-43) comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 front openings of #114), arranged so that one of the plurality of sorter light boxes is coupled with an adjacent one of the plurality of sorter light boxes to define a chain of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 see front openings of #114 coupled with adjacent front openings of #114); and
a controller (Fig. 1 #102) to generate control signals (Col. 6 lines 48-53).
Regarding claim 14, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the controller (Fig. 1 #120) generates the control signals for the plurality of sorter light boxes based upon at least one of a command received via an externally coupled network (Col. 6 lines 27-34) and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto (Fig. 1 #111, Col. 6 lines 40-53).
Regarding claim 15, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 front openings of #114) includes at least one light element (Col. 7 lines 11-17);
wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes is associated with a shelf (Fig. 1 see shelf formed by each row of #114); and
wherein the at least one light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to the shelf to place an item (Col. 7 lines 11-17).
Regarding claim 17, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising a screen (Fig. 1 screen of #104) in communication with the controller (Fig. 1 #104 in communication with #102);
wherein a graphical user interface (GUI) is displayed on the screen (Col. 6 lines 34-40); and
wherein the GUI is configured to be operable to edit and add parameters for the chain of sorter light boxes (Col. 6 lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 18, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches a sorting system (Col. 1 lines 40-43) comprising:
a plurality of shipper light boxes (Fig. 1 rear openings of #114) each being coupled to another one of the plurality of shipper light boxes (Fig. 1 rear openings of #114 coupled to front openings of #114); and
a controller (Fig. 1 #102) to generate control signals (Col. 6 lines 48-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napoli (US 10127514) in view of Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341).
Regarding claim 2, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a hub (Fig. 1 #125) coupled to the chain of light box pairs (Fig. 1 #125 coupled to chain of #114), and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals (Col. 7 lines 6-16).
Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching a first power supply coupled to the hub; and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the chain of light box pairs.
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0008 lines 1-11) comprising a first power supply coupled to the hub (Fig. 1 #111, Paragraph 0034 lines 6-9); and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the light boxes (Paragraph 0034 lines 1-9).
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) explains that because all order picking system components share common electrical conductor rods, there is no need to connect each of the components to the central computer with dedicated wiring, therefore installation time is substantially decreased and maintenance is greatly simplified (Paragraph 0081 lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include a first power supply coupled to the hub; and wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the chain of light box pairs as taught by Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) in order to decrease installation time and simplify maintenance.
Regarding claim 3, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the system of claim 2, further comprising a second power supply and a repeater coupled within the chain of light box pairs to push power along the chain of light box pairs.
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0008 lines 1-11) comprising a second power supply (Fig. 1 #107, Paragraph 0036 lines 1-5 “converter”) and a repeater (Fig. 1 #107, Paragraph 0036 lines 1-5 “repeater”) coupled within the light boxes (Fig. 1 #107 coupled within track of #121, Paragraph 0033 lines 1-10) to push power along the light boxes (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-17).
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) explains that the converter/repeater converts the point to point signals into multi-point signals capable of longer transmissions and suitable for communications with multiple user interface devices having individual addresses (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include further comprising a second power supply and a repeater coupled within the chain of light box pairs to push power along the chain of light box pairs as taught by Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) in order to provide signals capable of longer transmissions and suitable for communication with multiple user interface devices having individual addresses.
Regarding claim 12, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising a hub (Fig. 1 #125) coupled to the chain of sorter light boxes (Fig. 1 #125 coupled to chain of #114); and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals (Col. 7 lines 6-16).
Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching a first power supply coupled to the hub; and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of sorter light boxes.
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0008 lines 1-11) comprising a first power supply coupled to the hub (Fig. 1 #111, Paragraph 0034 lines 6-9); and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of light boxes (Paragraph 0034 lines 1-9).
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) explains that because all order picking system components share common electrical conductor rods, there is no need to connect each of the components to the central computer with dedicated wiring, therefore installation time is substantially decreased and maintenance is greatly simplified (Paragraph 0081 lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include a first power supply coupled to the hub; and wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of sorter light boxes as taught by Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) in order to decrease installation time and simplify maintenance.
Regarding claim 13, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the system of claim 12, further comprising a second power supply and a repeater coupled within the chain of sorter light boxes to push power along the chain of sorter light boxes.
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0008 lines 1-11) comprising a second power supply (Fig. 1 #107, Paragraph 0036 lines 1-5 “converter”) and a repeater (Fig. 1 #107, Paragraph 0036 lines 1-5 “repeater”) coupled within the light boxes (Fig. 1 #107 coupled within track of #121, Paragraph 0033 lines 1-10) to push power along the light boxes (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-17).
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) explains that the converter/repeater converts the point to point signals into multi-point signals capable of longer transmissions and suitable for communications with multiple user interface devices having individual addresses (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include a second power supply and a repeater coupled within the chain of sorter light boxes to push power along the chain of sorter light boxes as taught by Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) in order to provide signals capable of longer transmissions and suitable for communication with multiple user interface devices having individual addresses.
Regarding claim 19, Napoli (US 10127514) teaches the system of claim 18, further comprising a hub (Fig. 1 #125) coupled to the plurality of shipper light boxes (Fig. 1 #125 coupled to chain of #114); and
wherein the hub (Fig. 1 #125) operates as a concentrator of control signals (Col. 7 lines 6-16).
Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching a first power supply coupled to the hub, and a repeater coupled within the chain of sorter light boxes to push power along the chain of sorter light boxes; and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of shipper light boxes.
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0008 lines 1-11) comprising a first power supply coupled to the hub (Fig. 1 #111, Paragraph 0034 lines 6-9), and a repeater (Fig. 1 #107) coupled within the light boxes to push power along the light boxes (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-17); and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of light boxes (Paragraph 0034 lines 1-9).
Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) explains that because all order picking system components share common electrical conductor rods, there is no need to connect each of the components to the central computer with dedicated wiring, therefore installation time is substantially decreased and maintenance is greatly simplified (Paragraph 0081 lines 1-13). Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) additionally explains that the repeater converts the point to point signals into multi-point signals capable of longer transmissions and suitable for communications with multiple user interface devices having individual addresses (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include a first power supply coupled to the hub, and a repeater coupled within the chain of sorter light boxes to push power along the chain of sorter light boxes; and wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of shipper light boxes as taught by Hein et al. (US 2002/0115341) in order to decrease installation time and simplify maintenance as well as provide signals capable of longer transmissions and suitable for communication with multiple user interface devices having individual addresses.
Claims 7, 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napoli (US 10127514) in view of Peck (US 2018/0286002).
Regarding claim 7, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes include a single light element; and
wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped.
Peck (US 2018/0286002) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-8), wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes (Fig. 7 slots at rear side of #90a, 90b, Paragraph 0069 lines 1-5) include a single light element (Paragraph 0070 lines 10-14); and
wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped (Paragraph 0070 lines 10-14).
Peck (US 2018/0286002) explains that light assemblies at the rear of the put wall can be actuated to designate put wall slots ready for packing, once all items for an order have been placed in a put wall slot (Paragraph 0070 lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes include a single light element; and wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped as taught by Peck (US 2018/0286002) in order to indicate that the picking of items in an order is complete and the items are ready for packing.
Regarding claim 10, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the system of claim 1, further comprising a hub web application general user interface configured to be displayed on a screen of a client device and to display monitored sorting activity of the chain of sorter light boxes.
Peck (US 2018/0286002) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-8), further comprising a hub web application general user interface (Paragraph 0064 lines 1-6) configured to be displayed on a screen of a client device (Figs. 6A-6B see output display, Paragraph 0066 lines 1-13) and to display monitored sorting activity of the chain of sorter light boxes (Figs. 6A-6B see output display, Paragraph 0067 lines 8-11).
Peck (US 2018/0286002) explains that the results of the picking can be communicated in real-time from the mobile unit computer to the local server that in turn can communicate this to the facility server (Paragraph 0067 lines 8-11), and the reporting system can report various measures of picking performance by set of orders, time period, picking zones, individual pickers, etc. to allow workers to quickly identify actual and potential problems and opportunities for improving efficiency of the picking operation (Paragraph 0066 lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include a hub web application general user interface configured to be displayed on a screen of a client device and to display monitored sorting activity of the chain of sorter light boxes as taught by Peck (US 2018/0286002) in order to identify actual and potential problems in the system and identify opportunities for improving efficiency of the operation.
Regarding claim 16, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the system of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes provides the light indication as a designated colored light indication; and
wherein the designated colored light indication is associated with a respective sorter.
Peck (US 2018/0286002) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-8), wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes (Fig. 7 slots at front side of #90a, 90b, Paragraph 0069 lines 1-5) provides the light indication (Paragraph 0069 lines 12-16) as a designated colored light indication (Paragraph 0044 lines 13-17); and
wherein the designated colored light indication is associated with a respective sorter (Paragraph 0048 lines 20-34).
Peck (US 2018/0286002) explains that the light indication may contain or alternate between multiple colors, allowing multiple items to be picked by multiple workers simultaneously (Paragraph 0048 lines 20-34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes provides the light indication as a designated colored light indication; and wherein the designated colored light indication is associated with a respective sorter as taught by Peck (US 2018/0286002) in order to allow multiple items to be picked by multiple workers simultaneously.
Regarding claim 20, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the sorting system of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes include a single light element; and
wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped.
Peck (US 2018/0286002) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-8), wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes (Fig. 7 slots at rear side of #90a, 90b, Paragraph 0069 lines 1-5) include a single light element (Paragraph 0070 lines 10-14); and
wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped (Paragraph 0070 lines 10-14).
Peck (US 2018/0286002) explains that light assemblies at the rear of the put wall can be actuated to designate put wall slots ready for packing, once all items for an order have been placed in a put wall slot (Paragraph 0070 lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes include a single light element; and wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped as taught by Peck (US 2018/0286002) in order to indicate that the picking of items in an order is complete and the items are ready for packing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napoli (US 10127514) in view of Field-Darragh et al. (US 2014/0279294).
Regarding claim 9, Napoli (US 10127514) lacks teaching the system of claim 8, wherein the GUI is configured to display suggestions of what sort to complete next, to filter orders, and to accept replacement items for orders.
Field-Darragh et al. (US 2014/0279294) teaches a sorting system (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-12), wherein the GUI (Paragraph 0186 lines 1-13) is configured to display suggestions of what sort to complete next (Paragraph 0185 lines 1-15), to filter orders (Paragraph 0190 lines 1-13), and to accept replacement items for orders (Paragraph 0079 lines 8-18).
Field-Darragh et al. (US 2014/0279294) explains that the system may provide a suggested picking or collection order based on consideration of one or more of the size of an item, weight of an item, fragileness of an item, location of an item, etc. to minimize the time required to collect items, distance traveled, weight carried, etc. (Paragraph 0185 lines 1-15). Field-Darragh et al. (US 2014/0279294) explains that the picker may view distressed items only or view items by expiry, as these require more immediate fulfillment (Paragraph 0190 lines 7-13, Paragraph 0192 lines 1-20) Field-Darragh et al. (US 2014/0279294) explains that an item may be rejected for a variety of reasons (unavailability, condition), and the system may check to determine if there is another location where an instance of the item is located, therefore providing an opportunity to keep the order consolidated (Paragraph 0079 lines 1-18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Napoli (US 10127514) to include wherein the GUI is configured to display suggestions of what sort to complete next, to filter orders, and to accept replacement items for orders as taught by Field-Darragh et al. (US 2014/0279294) in order to provide more efficient sorting, replace unavailable or damaged items, and prioritize items which need more immediate fulfillment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 11-12, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 13 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,988,367. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 11-12, 14-16 and 18-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 13 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,988,367
Application 18/668,925
U.S. Patent No. 11988367
1. A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes, arranged so that one of the plurality of sorter light boxes is coupled with an adjacent one of the plurality of sorter light boxes;
a respective plurality of shipper light boxes coupled to the plurality of respective sorter light boxes to define a chain of light box pairs; and
a controller to generate control signals.
Claim 18: “A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes each configured to be mounted to a respective shelf, and each configured to be coupled to another one of the sorter light boxes to define a chain of sorter light boxes;
a plurality of shipper light boxes each configured to be coupled to a respective sorter light box of the plurality of sorter light boxes and positioned at the respective shelf”
Claim 19: “The sorting system of claim 18, further comprising a controller configured to be coupled to the hub and to generate control signals based upon commands received via an externally coupled network and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto.”
2. The system of claim 1, further comprising a hub coupled to the chain of light box pairs, and a first power supply coupled to the hub; and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the chain of light box pairs.
Claim 18: “a hub configured to be coupled to a first sorter light box in the chain of sorter light boxes and relay control signals to the chain of sorter light boxes;
wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes includes an internal light source”
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the controller generates the control signals for the chain of light box pairs based upon at least one of commands received via an externally coupled network and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto.
Claim 19: “The sorting system of claim 18, further comprising a controller configured to be coupled to the hub and to generate control signals based upon commands received via an externally coupled network and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto.”
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the handheld device includes a mobile application to emit the commands based upon the sorter scans by the handheld device.
Claim 20: “The sorting system of claim 19, wherein the handheld device is configured run a mobile application to emit the commands based upon the sorter scans by the handheld device.”
7. The system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes include a single light element; and
wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped.
Claim 18: “a hub configured to be coupled to a first sorter light box in the chain of sorter light boxes and relay control signals to the chain of sorter light boxes; wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes includes an internal light source”
11. A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes, arranged so that one of the plurality of sorter light boxes is coupled with an adjacent one of the plurality of sorter light boxes to define a chain of sorter light boxes; and
a controller to generate control signals.
Claim 1: “A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes each configured to be mounted to a respective shelf, and each configured to be coupled to another one of the sorter light boxes to define a chain of sorter light boxes… and a controller configured to be coupled to the hub and generate control signals for the sorter light boxes.”
12. The system of claim 11, further comprising a hub coupled to the chain of sorter light boxes, and a first power supply coupled to the hub; and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of sorter light boxes.
Claim 1: “a hub configured to be coupled to a first sorter light box in the chain of sorter light boxes and to operate as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of sorter light boxes in the chain of sorter light boxes”
14. The system of claim 11, wherein the controller generates the control signals for the plurality of sorter light boxes based upon at least one of a command received via an externally coupled network and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto.
Claim 5: “The sorting system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to generate the control signals for the plurality of sorter light boxes based upon commands received via an externally coupled network and sorter scans from a handheld device coupled thereto.”
15. The system of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes includes at least one light element;
wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes is associated with a shelf; and
wherein the at least one light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to the shelf to place an item.
Claim 1: “A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of sorter light boxes each configured to be mounted to a respective shelf”
Claim 7: “The sorting system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes are configured to provide a light indication that indicates to a sorter which respective shelf to place the item.”
16. The system of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes provides the light indication as a designated colored light indication; and
wherein the designated colored light indication is associated with a respective sorter.
Claim 8: “The sorting system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sorter light boxes are configured to provide a designated colored light indication; and
wherein the designated colored light indication is associated with a respective sorter.”
18. A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of shipper light boxes each being coupled to another one of the plurality of shipper light boxes; and
a controller to generate control signals.
Claim 11: “A sorting system comprising:
a plurality of shipper light boxes each configured to be positioned on a respective shelf and coupled to one another… and a controller coupled to the plurality of shipper light boxes and configured to generate control signals for the shipper light boxes based upon commands received via an externally coupled network”
19. The system of claim 18, further comprising a hub coupled to the plurality of shipper light boxes, a first power supply coupled to the hub, and a repeater coupled within the chain of sorter light boxes to push power along the chain of sorter light boxes; and
wherein the hub operates as a concentrator of control signals and power for the plurality of shipper light boxes.
Claim 11: “a first power supply configured to be coupled to the plurality of shipper light boxes and to supply power to the plurality of shipper light boxes”
Claim 17: “The sorting system of claim 11, further comprising a repeater configured to be coupled within the plurality of shipper light boxes to push power along the plurality of shipper light boxes”
20. The sorting system of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes include a single light element; and
wherein the single light element is illuminated to provide a light indication relating to an order that is ready to be shipped.
Claim 11: “wherein each of the shipper light boxes of the plurality of shipper light boxes includes an internal light source”
Claim 13: “The sorting system of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of shipper light boxes are configured to provide a light indication indicating that an order is ready to be shipped.”
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653