DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jha et al. (US Publication 2023/0206755 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 14, Jha et al. (US Publication 2023/0206755 A1) teaches, a method for performing at a mobile communication device, the method comprising: associating with an object to which a sensor is attached (see figure 9, the vehicle with sensors), to form a wireless communication connection with the object (see figure 1 air interface 112a): receiving, from the object sensing capability information for the sensor (see paragraph 261; The station type/capabilities facility may store sensor capabilities of various connected/coupled sensors and sensor data obtained from such sensors); transmitting, to a serving device, a first message including the sensing capability information (see paragraph 47; individual V-ITS-Ss 110 may communicate with one another even when the V-ITS-Ss 110 implement different V2X RATs, the RSU 130 (or edge compute node 140) may provide VRU services among the one or more services/capabilities 180 wherein the RSU 130 shares CPMs, MCMs, VAMs, DENMs, CAMs, and/or the like, with V-ITS-Ss 110 and/or VRUs for VRU safety purposes including RSS purpose); and receiving, from the serving device, a second message including configuration information for the sensor (see paragraph 353; In vehicular implementations, the actuators/DCUs 1574 may be provisioned with control system configurations (CSCs), which are collections of software modules, software components, logic blocks, parameters, calibrations, variants, and/or the like used to control and/or monitor various systems implemented by node 1550 (e.g., when node 1550 is a CA/AD vehicle 110). The CSCs define how the DCUs 1574 are to interpret sensor data of sensors 1572 and/or CSD of other DCUs 1574 using multidimensional performance maps or lookup tables, and define how actuators/components are to be adjust/modified based on the sensor data).
In regards to claims 2 and 15, Jha teaches, transmitting, to the object, the configuration information for the sensor (see paragraph 353; In vehicular implementations, the actuators/DCUs 1574 may be provisioned with control system configurations (CSCs), which are collections of software modules, software components, logic blocks, parameters, calibrations, variants, and/or the like used to control and/or monitor various systems implemented by node 1550 (e.g., when node 1550 is a CA/AD vehicle 110). The CSCs define how the DCUs 1574 are to interpret sensor data of sensors 1572 and/or CSD of other DCUs 1574 using multidimensional performance maps or lookup tables, and define how actuators/components are to be adjust/modified based on the sensor data).
In regards to claims 3 and 16, Jha teaches, receiving, from the serving device, a third message including updated configuration information for the sensor, the updated configuration information for the sensor further comprising one or more of: an identifier for the sensor (see paragraph 116; An optional list of sensorIds links to the corresponding sensorInformationContainer and may be provided to indicate which sensor provided the corresponding free space confidence indication); an indication of a sensing event type for the sensor (see paragraph 46; The RSU 130 provides various services/capabilities 180 such as, for example, very low latency communications required for high speed events, such as crash avoidance, traffic warnings, and the like); an indication of a threshold for a sensing event for the sensor; or an indication of a duration for the sensing event for the sensor.
In regards to claims 4 and 17, Jha teaches, receiving, from the object, sensing measurement data; and transmitting, to the serving device, the sensing measurement data (see paragraph 103; An objectID is assigned to each detected object. This ID is taken from a range of monotonously increasing numbers and is maintained per object, as long as an object is perceived and new sensor measurements are assigned to the object. The range of allowed objectIDs is between 0 and 255. As soon as objectID 255 has been assigned to an object, the next object is assigned the next free ID, starting from ID 0 in a round-robin fashion; see paragraph 238; Receivers (Rx ITS-Ss) are able to combine the reported detection area of the SensorInformationContainer and the reported objects to derive free space between the objects. To advertise that the Tx ITS-S is able to provide measurements about actual confirmed empty space that a receiving moving ITS-S may drive into, the optionalfreeSpaceConfidence DE of a particular SensorInformation should be used).
In regards to claims 5 and 18, Jha teaches receiving, from the serving device, instructions to switch to a connected state with a further serving device; and establishing the connected state with the further serving device (see paragraph 261; The ITS station type/capabilities facility provides information to describe a profile of an ITS-S to be used in the applications and facilities layers. This profile indicates the ITS-S type (e.g., V-ITS-S 110, R-ITS-S 130, P-ITS-S, or central ITS-S), a role of the ITS-S, and detection capabilities and status (e.g., the ITS-S's positioning capabilities, sensing capabilities, and/or the like). The station type/capabilities facility may store sensor capabilities of various connected/coupled sensors and sensor data obtained from such sensors.).
In regards to claims 6 and 19, Jha teaches, determining that a sensing event has occurred; and responsive to the determining, triggering the transmitting the sensing measurement data (see paragraph 279; Depending on the sensor type, measurements are performed cyclically, periodically, and/or based on some defined trigger condition. After each measurement, the computed state space of each detected object is provided in an object list that is specific to the timestamp of the measurement).
In regards to claims 7 and 20, Jha teaches, wherein the object is a vehicle (see vehicle in figure 9).
In regards to claim 8, Jha teaches, wherein the sensing capability information comprises at least one of a sensor type for the sensor (see paragraph 261; The station type/capabilities facility may store sensor capabilities of various connected/coupled sensors and sensor data obtained from such sensors), an indication of a sensing range for the sensor, an indication of an available measurement type for measurements that are capable of being carried out by the sensor, an indication of an available measurement frequency for measurements that are capable of being carried out by the sensor, or an identifier for the sensor (see paragraph 116; An optional list of sensorIds links to the corresponding sensorInformationContainer and may be provided to indicate which sensor provided the corresponding free space confidence indication).
In regards to claim 9, Jha teaches, wherein the indication of an available measurement type indicates that a radial velocity of an object is capable of being sensed by the sensor or that a quantity of objects is capable of being sensed by the given sensor (see paragraph 142; The proxemics layer may use the same or different sensor data or sensor types as the perceived obstacles layer. The proxemics layer uses the location/position and velocity of detected objects (e.g., extracted from the sensor data representative of individual VRUs)).
In regards to claim 10, Jha teaches, wherein the configuration information comprise at least one of an identifier for the sensor (see paragraph 116; An optional list of sensorIds links to the corresponding sensorInformationContainer and may be provided to indicate which sensor provided the corresponding free space confidence indication), an indication of a type of measurement to be carried out by the sensor, an indication of a periodicity of measurements to be carried out by the sensor, an indication of a frequency of reporting measurements that have been carried out by the sensor (see paragraph 275; determination of the CPM generation frequency), an indication that a sidelink reference signal is to be measured, an indication of an identity of the sidelink reference signal, an indication of a reference signal received power threshold for the sidelink reference signal, or an indication of a scrambling identifier for the sidelink reference signal.
In regards to claim 11, Jha teaches, a method for performing at a serving device, the method comprising: receiving, from a mobile communication device (see figure 9, the vehicle with sensors; see figure 1 air interface 112a), a first message including sensing capability information for a sensor attached to an object (see paragraph 261; The station type/capabilities facility may store sensor capabilities of various connected/coupled sensors and sensor data obtained from such sensors), the object being associated with the mobile communication device using a wireless communication connection (see figure 9, the vehicle with sensors; see figure 1 air interface 112a); responsive to the receiving, transmitting, to the mobile communication device, a second message including configuration information for the sensor (see paragraph 353; In vehicular implementations, the actuators/DCUs 1574 may be provisioned with control system configurations (CSCs), which are collections of software modules, software components, logic blocks, parameters, calibrations, variants, and/or the like used to control and/or monitor various systems implemented by node 1550 (e.g., when node 1550 is a CA/AD vehicle 110). The CSCs define how the DCUs 1574 are to interpret sensor data of sensors 1572 and/or CSD of other DCUs 1574 using multidimensional performance maps or lookup tables, and define how actuators/components are to be adjust/modified based on the sensor data); receiving, from the mobile communication device, sensing measurement data obtained at the sensor (see paragraph 103; An objectID is assigned to each detected object. This ID is taken from a range of monotonously increasing numbers and is maintained per object, as long as an object is perceived and new sensor measurements are assigned to the object. The range of allowed objectIDs is between 0 and 255. As soon as objectID 255 has been assigned to an object, the next object is assigned the next free ID, starting from ID 0 in a round-robin fashion; see paragraph 238; Receivers (Rx ITS-Ss) are able to combine the reported detection area of the SensorInformationContainer and the reported objects to derive free space between the objects. To advertise that the Tx ITS-S is able to provide measurements about actual confirmed empty space that a receiving moving ITS-S may drive into, the optionalfreeSpaceConfidence DE of a particular SensorInformation should be used); determining, from the sensing measurement data, that the mobile communication device is to be switched to a further serving device (see paragraph 30; In addition to the functionality discussed herein, the ITS-S 901 (or the underlying V2X RAT circuitry on which the ITS-S 901 operates) is capable of measuring various signals or determining/identifying various signal/channel characteristics. Signal measurement may be performed for cell selection, handover, network attachment, testing, and/or other purposes); and transmitting, to the mobile communication device, instructions to switch to the further serving device (see paragraph 30; performing the handover based on the measurements reads on the transmitting of instructions as claimed).
In regards to claim 12, Jha teaches, wherein the determining relates to an amount of vehicular traffic on a road on which the mobile communication device is operating (see paragraph 46; RSU 130 is a computing device coupled with radio frequency circuitry located on a roadside that provides connectivity support to passing V-ITS-Ss 110. The RSU 130 may also include internal data storage circuitry to store intersection map geometry, traffic statistics, media, as well as applications/software to sense and control ongoing vehicular and pedestrian traffic. The RSU 130 provides various services/capabilities 180 such as, for example, very low latency communications required for high speed events, such as crash avoidance, traffic warnings, and the like), a temperature of an environment in which the mobile communication device is operating, or working conditions for people in an environment in which the mobile communication device is operating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha as stated above further in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2018/0146467 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Jha teaches all the limitations of the parent claim as stated above.
Jha teaches the use of MAC layer (see paragraph 270).
Jha however fails to teach, wherein the transmitting the instructions to switch comprises transmitting radio resource control signaling or a media access control - control element
Kim however teaches, wherein the transmitting the instructions to switch comprises transmitting radio resource control signaling or a media access control – control element (see paragraph 234; the MAC CE and indicating an inter-cell handover related instruction of the terminal).
Jha and Kim both relate to cellular/wireless communications.
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to use of MAC-CE to instruct handover as taught by Kim into the teachings of Jha. The motivation to do so would be use fast, in-band control signaling directly within the MAC layer.
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Baltar et al.(US Publication 2022/0343241 A1) teaches, enabling of vehicle information collection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Shreshtha reference filed on 8/4/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466