DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 2 recites: “the battery is installed in the battery holder to and electrically connected”.
Claim 3 recites: “the return signa”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a telescopic pillar module”; “an adjustment pillar module for adjusting telescopic resistance”, a driving unit”, “a return detection unit”, a control unit”, “a detector”, “a positioning part”, “a transmission part: in claim 1; “a wireless communication module”, “a control module” in claim 3; “a wireless remote controller”, “a wireless communication unit”, “a main control unit” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-13 recite limitations that are interpreted under 112f as indicated above. Specifically, “a telescopic pillar module”; “an adjustment pillar module for adjusting telescopic resistance”, a driving unit”, “a return detection unit”, a control unit”, “a detector”, “a positioning part”, “a transmission part: in claim 1; “a wireless communication module”, “a control module” in claim 3; “a wireless remote controller”, “a wireless communication unit”, “a main control unit” in claim 4. MPEP2163(II)(A)(3) states “when a claim is rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph because there is no corresponding structure, materials, or acts, or an inadequate disclosure of corresponding structure, materials, or acts, for a means- (or step-) plus-function claim limitation, then the claim must also be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for lack of an adequate written description.”. In this instance, as explained below, the disclosure fails to particularly point out or distinctly claim the invention. The disclosure describes the structure for performing the claimed functions in purely functional terms. In this instance, upon review of the disclosure, applicant does not disclose corresponding specific structure (e.g. a microprocessor executing an algorithm representing software/program/instructions stored in a programmable non-transitory recordable medium), or a corresponding algorithm for performing the claimed functions.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. For example, Claim 1 recites functional only limitations including: “the stepper motor is used to be controlled to operate and drive the transmission part, so that the transmission part drives the adjustment pillar module to adjust the telescopic resistance of the telescopic pillar module, and the encoder is used to sense a rotation angle of the stepper motor and generate an angle signal” . Claim 2 recites “the shell body is used to fix the telescope pillar module”. Claims 3 recites “the wireless communication module is used to wirelessly receive…and then the control module controls the stepper motor to rotate to the last recorded rotation angle.”. Claims 4-13 depend from claims 2 or 3, recite further instances of narrative language, and are indefinite for at least the reason(s) presented above with respect to claims 2-3.
Claim limitations “a telescopic pillar module”; “an adjustment pillar module for adjusting telescopic resistance”, a driving unit”, “a return detection unit”, a control unit”, “a detector”, “a positioning part”, “a transmission part: in claim 1; “a wireless communication module”, “a control module” in claim 3; “a wireless remote controller”, “a wireless communication unit”, “a main control unit” in claim 4. invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. MPEP2181(II) states “35 U.S.C. 112(f) states that a claim limitation expressed in means- (or step-) plus-function language "shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure…described in the specification and equivalents thereof." "If one employs means plus function language in a claim, one must set forth in the specification an adequate disclosure showing what is meant by that language. If an applicant fails to set forth an adequate disclosure, the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) [or the second paragraph of pre-AIA section 112 ]." In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994)”. In this instance, upon review of the disclosure, applicant does not disclose corresponding specific structure (e.g. a microprocessor executing an algorithm representing software/program/instructions stored in a programmable non-transitory recordable medium) for performing the claimed functions. In effect the claimed invention amounts to pure functional claiming. The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin (U.S. 5971116) in view of Tranovich et al. (U.S. 2005/000580A1). Franklin discloses “An active, hydraulic suspension system for a wheeled vehicle is disclosed. The system utilizes an on-board damper controller, a damper having a pair of telescoping tubes and a motor-adjusted hydraulic channel, a position and direction sensor to achieve comprehensive control over dampening performance. The rider is allowed to change the damping performance by selecting a control map which dictates the damping force applied based on the position, direction of motion, and velocity of one tube relative to the other. The system continuously varies the amount of dampening in real time in response to the terrain conditions, as determined by a sensor. A processor in the damper controller accepts the sensor input and outputs motor control signals based on information existent in the control map. The motor adjusts the flow of a viscous liquid through the hydraulic channel of the damper in accordance with the control signals received from the damper controller to achieve the desired damping performance. An external computer may be used to load control maps to the damper controller for subsequent selection by a rider.” (Abstract) and “The present invention relates generally to wheel suspensions and more particularly to wheel suspensions with motorized damping control on vehicles such as bicycles.” (Field of Invention)
Regarding Claim 1, Franklin discloses: A shock absorber control system (Fig. 6; “FIG. 6 is a functional diagram of the damper controller.”) used in a shock absorber (Fig. 1-3, damper assembly 100), the shock absorber comprises a telescopic pillar module (“The active suspension system comprises an outer tube 120 which is secured to a bicycle steering tube (not shown) by a top bracket 110 and a bottom bracket 150. An inner tube 130 is arranged in a telescoping fashion with respect to the outer tube 120.”) and an adjustment pillar module (Fig. 2, damper assembly 210, including damper valve 218) for adjusting a telescopic resistance of the telescopic pillar module (“The rider changes the dampening performance of the device by specifying and selecting control maps which are used by the damper controller to vary the resistance of the system.”), and the shock absorber control system comprises a resistance adjustment device (Fig. 6), wherein the resistance adjustment device comprises:
a shell structure (Fig. 2, tubular bicycle frame components), installed in and fixed to the telescopic pillar module;
a driving unit (Fig. 2) , installed in the shell structure, comprising a transmission part (312), and a motor (221), wherein the transmission part is connected to the adjustment pillar module (valve 218), the motor is connected between the transmission part and the adjustment pillar module, the motor is used to be controlled to operate and drive the transmission part, so that the transmission part drives the adjustment pillar module to adjust the telescopic resistance of the telescopic pillar module (“The motor shaft 312 is operatively engaged to other components such that it controls a damper valve 218 which, in turn, controls the flow of viscous liquid between the two chambers 216, 217. The motor 221 is selectively activated by the damper controller 160 via control line 219.”),
and a control unit (Fig. 5, damper controller 160), installed in the shell structure (Fig. 1), signally connected to the driving unit wherein when the control unit is controlled to adjust the rotation angle of the motor,(“ As described further below, damper controller 160 selectively turns the motor 221 on and off such that the motor shaft 312 is driven in a predetermined direction based on the polarity of the signal from the damper controller 160. The magnitude and/or duration of this signal controls the speed of the motor and the length of travel.”)
when the control unit is triggered by a wake-up signal (“ An On/Off SPDT rocker switch 525 is provided for the rider to turn on and turn off the damper controller 160.”), the control unit controls the motor to rotate in a direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller (Fig. 8-11; controller 160 adjusts rotation angle of motor based on stored damper maps; Step 910 Fig. 9)
Franklin does not explicitly disclose the motor (221) is a “stepper” motor, or “an encoder” or “and the encoder is used to sense a rotation angle of the stepper motor and generate an angle signal” or “a return detection unit, comprising a detector and a positioning part, wherein the detector is installed in the shell structure, the positioning part is installed in the transmission part and linked by the transmission part to rotate relative to the detector, and the detector is used to generate a return signal when the positioning part is detected by the detector; or wherein when the control unit is controlled to adjust the rotation angle of the stepper motor, the rotation angle corresponding to the angle signal is recorded, when the control unit is triggered by a wake-up signal, the control unit controls the stepper motor to rotate in a direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller until the control unit receives the return signal
Tranovich discloses “a servovalve system for regulating fluid flowing within a fluid circuit. The servovalve system comprises a housing, a spool slidably disposed within the housing, a stepper motor operatively connected to the spool, and a controller and a position sensor electronically connected to the stepper motor. The controller generates driver signals representative of a desired amount of stepper motor rotation in order to cause the stepper motor to effectuate spool motion relative to the housing. “ (Abstract) and “Servovalves generally incorporate a spool which either rotates or slides axially in a housing to port the fluid flow to a desired location. Stepper motors are often utilized to move the spool relative to the housing such that the flow of fluid within the fluid circuit may be manipulated. The positioning of the spool by stepper motors is well established in the prior art. Servovalves which utilize stepper motors typically position the spool in an open-loop fashion wherein the spool must be initialized. During initialization, the spool is moved to a starting point or initialization position from where the stepper motor may initiate movement of the spool to a desired position. The initialization position may be set by a spring. The controller may command the stepper monitor to move the spool in such a manner that the controller may track a sequence of command signals from the initialization position and thus maintain a virtual spool position in its memory. As long as the stepper motor precisely tracks the sequence of command signals, the error between the desired position and the actual position of the piston may be minimized.” (¶0005).
Therefore Tranovich teaches a servovalve assembly comprising a “stepper” motor (Fig. 1, 34; ¶0023), “an encoder” (Fig. 1, position sensor 32; ¶0024) “and the encoder is used to sense a rotation angle of the stepper motor and generate an angle signal” (“The controller 60 and position sensor 32 cooperate to regulate the stepper motor 34 such that the spool 24 may be positioned relative to the housing 14 in order to selectively regulate the flow of fluid within a fluid circuit (not shown). The position sensor 32 is configured to sense an actual amount of stepper motor 34 rotation and provide feedback to the controller 60 through a unique set of algorithms such as an initialization routine illustrated in flow chart form in FIG. 3 and as will be described in greater detail below.”; ¶0024) “a return detection unit (Fig. 2, controller 60), comprising a detector and a positioning part, wherein the detector is installed in the shell structure, the positioning part is installed in the transmission part and linked by the transmission part to rotate relative to the detector (¶0029, “. As was also earlier mentioned, the position sensor 32 is electronically coupled to the stepper motor 34 and is configured to sense an actual amount of stepper motor 34 rotation and generate a quantity of position signals 74 representative thereof. The position sensor 32 may preferably be configured as a rotary optical encoder although it is contemplated that the position sensor 32 may be configured in a variety of alternative configurations including, but not limited to, a resolver, a rotary variable transformer, and a magnetic encoder.”; , and the detector is used to generate a return signal when the positioning part is detected by the detector (¶0037; “ the driver signals 70 are also received by a comparator-valve position error algorithm 76 of the controller 60 for comparison with position signals 74 generated by the position sensor 32. The comparator-valve position error algorithm 76 allows for confirmation of spool 24 position relative to the housing 14. As was earlier mentioned, position signals 74 are representative of actual stepper motor 34 position after rotation of the stepper motor 34 as a response to the driver signals 70.”); wherein when the control unit is controlled to adjust the rotation angle of the stepper motor, the rotation angle corresponding to the angle signal is recorded (¶0038. Control unit executing algorithm 76 tracks or records valve position with respect to motor rotation angle), when the control unit is triggered by a wake-up signal, the control unit controls the stepper motor to rotate in a direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller until the control unit receives the return signal (¶0005; “During initialization, the spool is moved to a starting point or initialization position from where the stepper motor may initiate movement of the spool to a desired position. The initialization position may be set by a spring”) in order to provide “a servovalve system that includes a simple and reliable initialization feature that does not require the addition of external components to the servovalve system. “ and “ a servovalve system that includes the capability for detecting and monitoring mechanical resistance of a spool sliding within a housing such that preventative maintenance may be performed on the servovalve system” (¶0014) and in order to provide “an improved servovalve system having a position sensor and controller that utilizes a unique set of algorithms for detecting and monitoring a level of mechanical resistance occurring within a servovalve assembly”.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the shock absorber servovalve control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Tranovich to include the motor (221) is a “stepper” motor, or “an encoder” or “and the encoder is used to sense a rotation angle of the stepper motor and generate an angle signal” or “a return detection unit, comprising a detector and a positioning part, wherein the detector is installed in the shell structure, the positioning part is installed in the transmission part and linked by the transmission part to rotate relative to the detector, and the detector is used to generate a return signal when the positioning part is detected by the detector; or wherein when the control unit is controlled to adjust the rotation angle of the stepper motor, the rotation angle corresponding to the angle signal is recorded, when the control unit is triggered by a wake-up signal, the control unit controls the stepper motor to rotate in a direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller until the control unit receives the return signal in order to provide “a servovalve system that includes a simple and reliable initialization feature that does not require the addition of external components to the servovalve system. “ and “ a servovalve system that includes the capability for detecting and monitoring mechanical resistance of a spool sliding within a housing such that preventative maintenance may be performed on the servovalve system” (¶0014) and in order to provide “an improved servovalve system having a position sensor and controller that utilizes a unique set of algorithms for detecting and monitoring a level of mechanical resistance occurring within a servovalve assembly”.
Claim(s) 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin (U.S. 5971116) in view of Tranovich et al. (U.S. 2005/000580A1) in further view of Song (U.S. 2010/0010709A1). Song discloses “A bicycle is disclosed having a control system with a user interface and an active suspension system.” (Abstract) See Fig. 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 14+)
Regarding Claim 2, Franklin further discloses wherein the shock absorber control system is utilized accompanying with a battery (Fig. 1 battery pack 165; “ the battery may be connected directly to a motor housed within the outer tube 120”))
Franklin does not explicitly disclose: the shell structure comprises a shell body, a battery holder and a battery cover , the shell body is used to fix the telescopic pillar module, the battery holder is connected to the shell body and electrically connected to the control unit, such the battery is installed in the battery holder to and electrically connected to the battery holder, the battery cover is detachably installed on the battery holder and covers the battery, and the driving unit, the return detection unit and the control unit are installed in the shell body
Song teaches: the shell structure comprises a shell body (Fig. 1, 130/135), a battery holder and a battery cover (Fig. 6-9, battery 405 coupled to battery holder/cover 400 housed in 130/135/200), the shell body is used to fix the telescopic pillar module (Fig. 1, 135 coupled to 130), the battery holder is connected to the shell body and electrically connected to the control unit (Fig. 6-7, control units 400 and 310), such the battery is installed in the battery holder to and electrically connected to the battery holder, the battery cover is detachably installed on the battery holder and covers the battery, and the driving unit, the return detection unit and the control unit are installed in the shell body (Fig. 1-2, 6-9, all elements installed within shell body 130/135) and discloses “the head tube 130 may also provide a mounting location for functional components, such as a display 140 and a housing for a main controller and battery.” (¶0041) and “many if not all of the elements of the control system 190 are disposed within the tubing of the frame 105 of the bicycle 100 for both aesthetic and functional reasons.” (¶0061).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include the shell structure comprises a shell body, a battery holder and a battery cover , the shell body is used to fix the telescopic pillar module, the battery holder is connected to the shell body and electrically connected to the control unit, such the battery is installed in the battery holder to and electrically connected to the battery holder, the battery cover is detachably installed on the battery holder and covers the battery, and the driving unit, the return detection unit and the control unit are installed in the shell body in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing and functional.
Regarding Claim 3, Franklin further discloses “The motor 221 is selectively activated by the damper controller 160 via control line 219. As described further below, damper controller 160 selectively turns the motor 221 on and off such that the motor shaft 312 is driven in a predetermined direction based on the polarity of the signal from the damper controller 160. The magnitude and/or duration of this signal controls the speed of the motor and the length of travel.” (Col. 4 line 39+)
Therefore Franklin does not explicitly disclose: wherein the control unit further comprises a wireless communication module and a control module, the wireless communication module is used to wirelessly receive a resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal, the control module correspondingly controls the rotation angle of the stepper motor according to the resistance adjustment signal , and records the corresponding rotation angle of the angle signal, the control module is awakened and triggered by the wake-up signal, the stepper motor is firstly controlled to rotate in the direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller until the control unit receives the return signa, and then the control module controls the stepper motor to rotate to the last recorded rotation angle.
Song teaches: wherein the control unit further comprises a wireless communication module and a control module, the wireless communication module is used to wirelessly receive a resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal, the control module correspondingly controls the rotation angle of the stepper motor according to the resistance adjustment signal , and records the corresponding rotation angle of the angle signal, the control module is awakened and triggered by the wake-up signal, the stepper motor is firstly controlled to rotate in the direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller until the control unit receives the return signa, and then the control module controls the stepper motor to rotate to the last recorded rotation angle. (“Main controller 400 is operably coupled with one or more functional components of system 190 by a communications medium or communications bus 640. Communications bus 640 includes, but is not limited to, solid-core wiring, twisted pair wiring, coaxial cable, and fiber optic cable. Communications bus 640 also includes, but is not limited to, wireless (such as the IEEE 802.15.4 protocol for example), radio and infrared signal transmission systems. The communications bus 640 couples main controller 400 to microcontrollers 505, 510 and sensors 315, 320, 325, 515, 520, 525. The communications bus 640 also couples the main controller 400 to microcontrollers 406, 642, 644, 646 as will be discussed in more detail below. Main controller 400 is configured to provide operating signals to these components and to receive data from these components via communications bus 640. Main controller 400 communicates over the communications bus 640 using a well-known computer communications protocol such as Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C), Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI), System Management Bus (SMBus), Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), RS-232, CanBus, SM Bus ModBus, or any other communications protocol suitable for the purposes disclosed herein.[0066] In one embodiment, the control system 190 has a single common communications bus 640 that provides communications functionality between the functional components and the main controller 400. The use of microcontrollers 642, 644, 646, 406 allows for a single common communications bus 640. Without the microcontrollers 642, 644, 646, 406 and the single common communications bus 640, individual cables and connectors would be needed for each functional component.” ; ¶0065-0066) in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing (wireless) and functional (individual cables and connectors not needed for each functional component).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include wherein the control unit further comprises a wireless communication module and a control module, the wireless communication module is used to wirelessly receive a resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal, the control module correspondingly controls the rotation angle of the stepper motor according to the resistance adjustment signal , and records the corresponding rotation angle of the angle signal, the control module is awakened and triggered by the wake-up signal, the stepper motor is firstly controlled to rotate in the direction where the rotation angle becomes smaller until the control unit receives the return signa, and then the control module controls the stepper motor to rotate to the last recorded rotation angle in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing (wireless) and functional (individual cables and connectors not needed for each functional component).
Regarding Claim 4, Franklin further discloses a display unit, a main control unit, the main control unit comprises a power button, and when the power button is operated to power on the remote controller, the main control unit generates the wake-up signal, and the communication unit transmits the resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal to the communication module. (Fig. 5, remote controller includes display unit (lights 520) power button (525), when the power switch 525 is actuated then Fig. 8 is initiated which includes generating and transmitting an initialization/wakeup signal and resistance adjustment signals based on position of dial 510).
Franklin does not explicitly teach: a wireless remote controller, the wireless remote controller comprises a display unit, a wireless communication unit and a main control unit, the wireless communication unit is signally connected to the wireless communication module, the main control unit comprises a power button and a plurality of fine adjustment buttons, the main control unit has a built-in multi-button control mode, when the main control unit is controlled to activate the multi-button control mode, the fine adjustment buttons are used to be operated to adjust and set the rotation angle, and the display unit displays the rotation angle, when the fine adjustment buttons are operated every time, the main control unit gradually increases or decreases the rotation angle by a predetermined value, and generates the corresponding resistance adjustment signal according to the adjusted and set rotation angle, and when the power button is operated to power on the wireless remote controller, the main control unit generates the wake-up signal, and the wireless communication unit wirelessly transmits the resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal to the wireless communication module
Song teaches: a wireless (¶0064-0066) remote controller, the wireless remote controller comprises a display unit, a wireless communication unit and a main control unit, the wireless communication unit is signally connected to the wireless communication module, the main control unit comprises a power button and a plurality of fine adjustment buttons, the main control unit has a built-in multi-button control mode, when the main control unit is controlled to activate the multi-button control mode, the fine adjustment buttons are used to be operated to adjust and set the rotation angle, and the display unit displays the rotation angle, when the fine adjustment buttons are operated every time, the main control unit gradually increases or decreases the rotation angle by a predetermined value, and generates the corresponding resistance adjustment signal according to the adjusted and set rotation angle, and when the power button is operated to power on the wireless remote controller, the main control unit generates the wake-up signal, and the wireless communication unit wirelessly transmits the resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal to the wireless communication module (Fig. 8, display 140, Fig. 16a various modes ¶0080, 18 rebound/compression damping fine adjustment, fig. 20 adjustment) in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing (wireless) and functional (individual cables and connectors not needed for each functional component).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include a wireless remote controller, the wireless remote controller comprises a display unit, a wireless communication unit and a main control unit, the wireless communication unit is signally connected to the wireless communication module, the main control unit comprises a power button and a plurality of fine adjustment buttons, the main control unit has a built-in multi-button control mode, when the main control unit is controlled to activate the multi-button control mode, the fine adjustment buttons are used to be operated to adjust and set the rotation angle, and the display unit displays the rotation angle, when the fine adjustment buttons are operated every time, the main control unit gradually increases or decreases the rotation angle by a predetermined value, and generates the corresponding resistance adjustment signal according to the adjusted and set rotation angle, and when the power button is operated to power on the wireless remote controller, the main control unit generates the wake-up signal, and the wireless communication unit wirelessly transmits the resistance adjustment signal and the wake-up signal to the wireless communication module in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing (wireless) and functional (individual cables and connectors not needed for each functional component).
Regarding Claim 5, Franklin does not explicitly teach: wherein the main control unit further comprises a fully open button and a fully close button, when the main control unit is operated to activate the multi-button control mode, a maximum rotation angle is able to be directly set by operating the fully open button, and a minimum rotation angle is able to be directly set by operating the fully close button, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit
Song teaches: wherein the main control unit further comprises a fully open button and a fully close button, when the main control unit is operated to activate the multi-button control mode, a maximum rotation angle is able to be directly set by operating the fully open button, and a minimum rotation angle is able to be directly set by operating the fully close button, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit (¶0085; “in FIG. 16A, the ride mode GUI 745 has five selections, "XC" 770 (cross country), "AM" 775 (all mountain), "DH" 780 (down hill), "TM" 785 (travel management) and "L/O" 790 (lockout).; see also ¶0090) in order that “minimal suspension travel is used and the damping is effectively reduced to zero. The L/O 790 mode is desirable when the rider encounters smooth terrain, such as a paved street or hard packed dirt for example” (¶0090)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include wherein the main control unit further comprises a fully open button and a fully close button, when the main control unit is operated to activate the multi-button control mode, a maximum rotation angle is able to be directly set by operating the fully open button, and a minimum rotation angle is able to be directly set by operating the fully close button, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit in order that “minimal suspension travel is used and the damping is effectively reduced to zero. The L/O 790 mode is desirable when the rider encounters smooth terrain, such as a paved street or hard packed dirt for example”.
Regarding Claim 6, Franklin further discloses wherein the main control unit further comprises a rotary knob (Fig. 5, 510)and a mode switching button (learn buttons 560), and has a built-in rotary knob control mode, when the mode switching button is operated, the main control unit is switched between the multi-button control mode and the rotary knob control mode, and when the main control unit is switched to the rotary knob control mode, the rotation angle is set by rotating the rotary knob, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit. (Fig. 5, map select dial switch 510 and learn mode buttons 560))
Regarding Claim 7, Franklin does not explicitly disclose wherein the main control unit further comprises a stepless adjustment button and a mode switching button, and has a built-in stepless adjustment control mode, when the mode switching button is operated, the main control unit is switched between the multi-button control mode and stepless adjustment control mode, and when the main control unit is switched to the stepless adjustment control mode, the rotation angle is adjusted in a gradually increasing or decreasing manner while pressing the stepless adjustment button, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit
Song teaches: wherein the main control unit further comprises a stepless adjustment button and a mode switching button, and has a built-in stepless adjustment control mode, when the mode switching button is operated, the main control unit is switched between the multi-button control mode and stepless adjustment control mode, and when the main control unit is switched to the stepless adjustment control mode, the rotation angle is adjusted in a gradually increasing or decreasing manner while pressing the stepless adjustment button, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit (Fig. 18, ¶0092-0093; “the rider uses the user interface lever 415 and actuates the right contact 434 to increase the setting or left contact 436 to decrease the setting.”) in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing (wireless) and functional (individual cables and connectors not needed for each functional component).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include wherein the main control unit further comprises a stepless adjustment button and a mode switching button, and has a built-in stepless adjustment control mode, when the mode switching button is operated, the main control unit is switched between the multi-button control mode and stepless adjustment control mode, and when the main control unit is switched to the stepless adjustment control mode, the rotation angle is adjusted in a gradually increasing or decreasing manner while pressing the stepless adjustment button, and the rotation angle is displayed on the display unit in order to provide a selectively adjustable shock absorber system which is both aesthetically pleasing (wireless) and functional (individual cables and connectors not needed for each functional component).
Regarding Claim 8, Franklin further discloses wherein the shock absorber control system is adapted to be install on a bicycle having the shock absorber (Fig. 1) and further discloses “damper controller 160 selectively turns the motor 221 on and off such that the motor shaft 312 is driven in a predetermined direction based on the polarity of the signal from the damper controller 160. The magnitude and/or duration of this signal controls the speed of the motor and the length of travel.”. The magnitude/speed/direction of the motor which results in position control of the valve assembly which adjusts resistance. The magnitude/speed/direction of the turning of the motor are result effective variables in that their control, controls telescopic resistance.
Franklin does not explicitly disclose: the rotation angle of the stepper motor is adjusted between 0 and 90 degrees, the shock absorber has a maximum telescopic resistance when the rotation angle is 0 degree, the shock absorber has a minimum telescopic resistance when the rotation angle is 90 degrees,
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include angular control of the motor such that the rotation angle of the stepper motor is adjusted between 0 and 90 degrees, the shock absorber has a maximum telescopic resistance when the rotation angle is 0 degree, the shock absorber has a minimum telescopic resistance when the rotation angle is 90 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Song teaches: the wireless remote controller is installed on the bicycle, and also comprises an acceleration sensing unit and a gyroscope, the acceleration sensing unit is used to sense an acceleration variation to generate an acceleration signal, the gyroscope is used to sense an angular momentum variation to generate an angular velocity signal, the main control unit also is built-in with a road mode and an off-road mode, the main control unit is activated and switched to one of the road mode and the off-road mode; when the main control unit is switched to the road mode: the main control unit calculates and analyzes an acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and an angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain a gravity value, and uses a predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is between 0 and 45 degrees; when the main control unit is switched to the off-road mode: the main control unit calculates and analyzes the acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and the angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain the gravity value, and uses the predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is between 35 and 90 degrees. (¶0055; The accelerometer 325 measures the impact and transmits the acceleration information to the control system 190. In the exemplary embodiment, control system 190 receives the signal from accelerometer 325 and transmits the valve command to motor controller 310 in less than 12 milliseconds and preferably less than 11 milliseconds after the impact”; ¶0062 “Additional microcontrollers such as microcontroller 510 may be connected to additional sensors such as but not limited to crank speed sensors 515, gear selection sensor 520, rear suspension sensor 525, and wheel velocity sensor 531”; Fig. 16a ¶0090 road vs off-road mode “The L/O 790 mode is desirable when the rider encounters smooth terrain, such as a paved street or hard packed dirt for example.”) in order that “minimal suspension travel is used and the damping is effectively reduced to zero. The L/O 790 mode is desirable when the rider encounters smooth terrain, such as a paved street or hard packed dirt for example”.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include the wireless remote controller is installed on the bicycle, and also comprises an acceleration sensing unit and a gyroscope, the acceleration sensing unit is used to sense an acceleration variation to generate an acceleration signal, the gyroscope is used to sense an angular momentum variation to generate an angular velocity signal, the main control unit also is built-in with a road mode and an off-road mode, the main control unit is activated and switched to one of the road mode and the off-road mode; when the main control unit is switched to the road mode: the main control unit calculates and analyzes an acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and an angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain a gravity value, and uses a predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is between 0 and 45 degrees; when the main control unit is switched to the off-road mode: the main control unit calculates and analyzes the acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and the angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain the gravity value, and uses the predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is between 35 and 90 degrees in order that “minimal suspension travel is used and the damping is effectively reduced to zero. The L/O 790 mode is desirable when the rider encounters smooth terrain, such as a paved street or hard packed dirt for example”.
Regarding Claim 9, Franklin does not explicitly disclose: wherein the main control unit is also built-in with a customized mode, the main control unit is activated and switched to one of the road mode, the off-road mode and the customized mode, when the main control unit is switched to the customized mode: the main control unit is operated to set a lower limitation value and an upper limitation value, the main control unit calculates and analyzes the acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and the angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain the gravity value, and uses the predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is larger than and equal to the lower limitation value and less than and equal to the upper limitation value, and the display unit displays the rotation angle
Song teaches: wherein the main control unit is also built-in with a customized mode, the main control unit is activated and switched to one of the road mode, the off-road mode and the customized mode, when the main control unit is switched to the customized mode: the main control unit is operated to set a lower limitation value and an upper limitation value, the main control unit calculates and analyzes the acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and the angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain the gravity value, and uses the predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is larger than and equal to the lower limitation value and less than and equal to the upper limitation value, and the display unit displays the rotation angle (Fig. 15, and 16a; plurality of selectable modes, all of which are customizable see Fig. 18) in order to provide a rider selectable damping performance that is desirable for the expected terrain (¶0085).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Song to include wherein the main control unit is also built-in with a customized mode, the main control unit is activated and switched to one of the road mode, the off-road mode and the customized mode, when the main control unit is switched to the customized mode: the main control unit is operated to set a lower limitation value and an upper limitation value, the main control unit calculates and analyzes the acceleration represented by the acceleration signal and the angular velocity represented by the angular velocity signal to obtain the gravity value, and uses the predetermined function to calculate the corresponding rotation angle based on the gravity value, the main control unit generates the resistance adjustment signal based on the rotation angle while the rotation angle is larger than and equal to the lower limitation value and less than and equal to the upper limitation value, and the display unit displays the rotation angle in order to provide a rider selectable damping performance that is desirable for the expected terrain (¶0085).
Regarding Claim 10, Franklin does not explicitly disclose wherein the shock absorber also has a shock absorber outer tube that is sleeved outside the telescopic pillar module, the shell body of the resistance adjustment device has a locking part and a sleeve part, locking part is screw-locked to the shock absorber outer tube, and the sleeve part is sleeved outside and fixed to the adjustment pillar module
Song teaches: wherein the shock absorber also has a shock absorber outer tube that is sleeved outside the telescopic pillar module, the shell body of the resistance adjustment device has a locking part and a sleeve part, locking part is screw-locked to the shock absorber outer tube, and the sleeve part is sleeved outside and fixed to the adjustment pillar module (Fig. 5a; threaded portions 226 and 232) in order to provide “ bicycle suspension systems and user interface control systems that allow the suspension characteristics to be changed while the bicycle is being operated and in response to terrain conditions” (¶0006).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Tranovich to include wherein the shock absorber also has a shock absorber outer tube that is sleeved outside the telescopic pillar module, the shell body of the resistance adjustment device has a locking part and a sleeve part, locking part is screw-locked to the shock absorber outer tube, and the sleeve part is sleeved outside and fixed to the adjustment pillar module in order to provide “ bicycle suspension systems and user interface control systems that allow the suspension characteristics to be changed while the bicycle is being operated and in response to terrain conditions” (¶0006).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin (U.S. 5971116) in view of Tranovich et al. (U.S. 2005/000580A1) in further view of Song (U.S. 2010/0010709A1) in further view of “Review: Everysight Raptor Augmented Reality Cycling Glasses”; NPL Internet Article; Published August 1, 2018; hereinafter referred to as Lee. Lee discloses “The Everysight Raptor is the first pair of augmented reality glasses to integrate data directly into the display. An OLED projector projects visuals onto a half-mirrored screen on the glasses lens. This provides an infinity-focused display in the user’s field of view. Many of us dream of seeing our cyclometer data during conditions when we could not take our eyes off the road or trail, and the Everysight Raptor makes that a reality” (page 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Franklin does not explicitly disclose: further comprising an augmented reality (AR) glasses signally connected to the wireless remote controller, the main control unit generates an AR display data according to the rotation angle which is generated based on the resistance adjustment signal, and transmits the AR display data to the AR glasses through the wireless communication unit, and the AR glasses displays the AR display data
Lee teaches: further comprising an augmented reality (AR) glasses signally connected to the wireless remote controller, the main control unit generates an AR display data according to the rotation angle which is generated based on the resistance adjustment signal, and transmits the AR display data to the AR glasses through the wireless communication unit, and the AR glasses displays the AR display data (See NPL; pages 3 and 6-7, augmented reality glasses connected wirelessly to control unit via Bluetooth , wifi, etc. configured to display realtime data to riders without them having to take their eyes or focus off of the trail/road.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the bicycle shock absorber control system of Franklin to incorporate the teachings of Lee to include further comprising an augmented reality (AR) glasses signally connected to the wireless remote controller, the main control unit generates an AR display data according to the rotation angle which is generated based on the resistance adjustment signal, and transmits the AR display data to the AR glasses through the wireless communication unit, and the AR glasses displays the AR display data in order to provide riders with real-time data displayed without them having to take their eyes or focus off of the trail/road,
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin (U.S. 5971116) in view of Tranovich et al. (U.S. 2005/000580A1) in further view of Song (U.S. 2010/0010709A1) in further view of Chuang (U.S. 2020/0092128A1). Chuang discloses “A controlling system for an electric bicycle is connected to a CAN bus of the electric bicycle and a controlling end, and configured to control a plurality of electric elements which are signally connected to the CAN bus. A dongle module includes a first connecting port, a dongle and a second connecting port. The controlling end is configured to transmit a USB signal to the first connecting port. One end of the dongle is coupled to the first connecting port, and the dongle is configured to convert the USB signal into a CAN signal. The second connecting port is coupled to another end of the dongle. A console includes a console port. The console port is detachably connected to the second connecting port and coupled to the CAN bus. The CAN signal is transmitted to the CAN bus via the second connecting port and the console port.” (Abstract)
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Franklin discloses “ An Infra-red (IR) link 607 facilitates data transfer between the damper controller 160 and the external computer. In the preferred embodiment, the IR link 607 uses an RS-232 interface with a Hewlett Packard InfraRed Data Association chip set (Part Numbers HSDL-1000 and HSDL-7000). As explained above, cabling and other wireless systems may be used in place of the IR data link.” (Col. 9 line 47-53) and “the damper controller 160 may, upon request by the PC-based system, upload information that it has stored. Downloading and uploading are preferably performed by an infrared data link, although cabling, wireless data links, modems and other data exchange means may also be used.” (Col. 7 line 58-64). In other words, Franklin discloses various data link interface solutions in order to provide communication between a controller and the damper system. However, Franklin does not explicitly teach: wherein the resistance adjustment device further comprises a USB Type-C port signally connected to the control unit or wherein the wireless remote controller further comprises a USB Type-C port signally connected to the main control unit.
Chuang teaches: wherein the resistance adjustment device further comprises a USB Type-C port signally connected to the control unit or wherein the wireless remote controller further comprises a USB Type-C port signally (¶0021; “FIG. 3 shows a schematic block view of a controlling system 100a for an electric bicycle according to a second embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 4 shows a schematic view of a second connecting port 230 being a USB Type-A port of FIG. 3. FIG. 5 shows a schematic view of a second connecting port 230 being a USB Type-C port of FIG. 3. Referring to FIGS. 3, 4 and 5, the controlling system 100a for the electric bicycle is connected to a CAN bus 110 of the electric bicycle and a controlling end 120. The controlling system 100a for the electric bicycle includes a dongle module 200a and a console 300a.”).
“The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that “‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’” KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Here, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to include wherein the resistance adjustment device further comprises a USB Type-C port signally connected to the control unit or wherein the wireless remote controller further comprises a USB Type-C port signally by simple substitution as taught by Chuang into the teachings of Franklin because it does no more than yield predictable results of facilitating reliable data link type communication between two devices since it has been held that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Santurbane et al. (U.S. 2021/0179226A1) discloses “Example bicycle suspension components and control devices are described herein. An example shock absorber includes a damper body defining a first chamber and a reservoir defining a second chamber. A flow path is defined between the first chamber and the second chamber. The example shock absorber also includes a flow control member disposed in the flow path and a motor to operate the flow control member to affect fluid flow between the first chamber and the second chamber.” (Abstract; Fig. 4 reproduced below)
/BRIAN R KIRBY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747