Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted on May 20, 2024 is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Element 422 is shown in the instant application Figures 5, 9, and 11. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the bottom board., wherein”. Specifically, the punctuation “.,” is likely a typographical error, and was intended to read as “the bottom board, wherein”.
Claim 4 recites “the primary suction space being an airtight space”, wherein “the primary suction space being an airtight space” is already appropriately introduced in Claim 2, for which Claim 4 depends upon. This is likely a typographical error, and is intended to read as “the airtight space”.
Claim 4 also includes a period in line 14 of the claim and a second period at the end of the claim. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). For examination purposes, Examiner assumes the limitation to read, “the second cleaning device defines a second subsidiary space, and the second subsidiary space is in communication with the primary suction space, the second subsidiary space in communication with…”
Claim 5 recites “the first cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion in a first direction and causes the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion in a second direction”. Specifically, “a reciprocating motion” for the first and second cleaning device have already been appropriately introduced in Claims 1 and 4, respectively. This is likely a typographical error, and is intended to read as “the first cleaning device to undergo the reciprocating motion in a first direction and causes the second cleaning device to undergo the reciprocating motion in a second direction”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intention.
Claim 6 recites “the rotating shaft of the motor is relatively movably connected to the connection portion of the gear module”. Specifically, the recitation of “relatively” is a relative term. Additionally, the Specification does not elaborate on what the term “relatively” means with respect to the rotating shaft. However, someone having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the rotating shaft should be proximal to the connection portion as to ensure the components are connected and movable simultaneously. For this reason, the Examiner suggests, as an example edit, that this instead read as “the rotating shaft of the motor is movably connected”, wherein “relatively” has been removed from the recitation.
Claim 6 recites “the first cleaning device and the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board”. Specifically, the recitation of “a reciprocating motion” is objected to as “a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board” has already been appropriately introduced for both the first cleaning device (Claim 1), and the second cleaning device (Claim 4). This is likely a typographical error, and is intended to read as “the reciprocating motion”.
Claim 11 recites “a first suction cup defining a first subsidiary space”. Specifically, “a first subsidiary space” has already been appropriately introduced in Claim 2, for which Claim 11 depends upon. This is likely a typographical error, and is intended to read as “the first subsidiary space”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation of “a reciprocating motion” pertaining to the second cleaning device is unclear. Specifically, Claim 4 recites “the driving device is connected to the second cleaning device to cause the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion so as to wipe the pane surface back and forth”, and, “the second cleaning device is configured to undergo a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board”. The Specification on Page 25, Paragraph [0060] recites, “The gear module 162 is connected to the first cleaning device 81 and the second cleaning device 82 to cause the first cleaning device 81 and the second cleaning device 82 to undergo a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board 120 through the motor 161 and the gear module 162”. Additionally, the same paragraph also recites that “the driving device 16 comprises an motor 161 and a gear module 162”. Given that the driving device comprises a gear module, and the gear module causes the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board, and that the driving device is connected to the second cleaning device to cause a reciprocating motion to wipe a pane, these two recitations of “a reciprocating motion” are likely intended to refer to the same reciprocating motion. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the two recitations of “a reciprocating motion” to refer to the same element, and the Examiner suggests, as an example edit, that the latter recitation in Claim 4 instead recite “the second cleaning device is configured to undergo the reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intention.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “a second cleaning fabric disposed at the second suction cup and exposing the first subsidiary space” is unclear. Specifically, the second cleaning fabric should be exposing the second subsidiary space, and not the first subsidiary space. This is reflected by the Specification, wherein on Page 17, Paragraph [0045] in view of the instant FIG. 4, it is disclosed, inter alia, that “the first cleaning fabric 812 and the second cleaning fabric 822 define a first fabric opening 851 and a second fabric opening 852 respectively for exposing the first subsidiary space 551 and the second subsidiary space 552 respectively”. Based on the Specification and the instant figures, the Examiner is interpreting this to instead read as “exposing the second subsidiary space”. However, please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intentions.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao and Wu (US 20220007903 A1), herein after referred to as “Chao”, in view of Kim et al (KR20120009927A), herein after referred to as “Kim”, and in further view of Kim (KR200213055Y1), herein after referred to as “KR2002”.
Regarding Claim 1, Chao discloses a window cleaning machine, adapted to walk across a non-horizontal pane surface (Chao: Paragraph [0045], self-propelled device is a "window cleaning machine" that can "freely move on the inclined or vertical planar surface"; see also Paragraph [0048], "can be a vertically arranged window"), the window cleaning machine comprising:
a body defining a primary suction space (Chao: Paragraphs [0048-0049], body 11 includes "a suction disk 20 and a carrier board 30" that are stacked, and the body 11 arranged in combination with the air extraction module 13 "implements a negative-pressure space among the panel surface, the body 11, and the air extraction module");
a walking module disposed near the body (Chao: Paragraph [0046], "The moving module 12 is disposed on two opposite sides of the body 11");
an air extracting module disposed on the body and being in communication with the primary suction space, allowing the body to cling to the pane surface by suction (Chao: Paragraph [0046], "air extraction module 13" is "disposed on the body 11"; see also Paragraph [0048-0049], wherein the air extraction module 13 is arranged in combination with the body 11 to create a negative-pressure space, "allowing the self-propelled device to move on a non-horizontally placed board without falling off");
a first cleaning device being in contact with the pane surface while performing a cleaning operation (Chao: Paragraphs [0052] and [0068] "cleaning fabric 60 is arranged between the suction disk 20 and the panel 40", wherein the cleaning fabric 60 has "an elastic plastic plate" functioning as an "internal lining structure");
the first cleaning device is included so as to wipe the pane surface back and forth (Chao: Paragraph [0045], wherein the self-propelled device can clean a planar surface by "moving back-and-forth"), wherein the body comprises:
a bottom board comprising a bottom board wall portion enclosing a first bottom board through hole (Chao: Paragraph [0048], [0054], and [0059], the body 11 includes the carrier board 30, the carrier board 30 comprises a carrier board wall 31, and the carrier board wall 31 defines the first carrier through hole 310);
and a carrying board disposed between the first cleaning device and the bottom board (Chao: see FIG. 1, wherein the suction disk 20 is disposed between the cleaning fabric 60 and the carrier board 30), wherein the carrying board and the bottom board are connected and jointly define the primary suction space (Chao: Paragraph [0048], "the suction disk 20 and the carrier board 30 are arranged in a stack"; see also Paragraph [0060], "the first space” comprises “the first suction disk wall 21 and the carrier board wall 31, and the space has one end covered by the air extraction module 13"), and the carrying board is configured to undergo axial movement relative to the bottom board (Chao: Paragraph [0054-0055], "the body 11 can include at least one pivotal shaft (not shown) for limiting movement, in a vertical direction, of the fitted carrier board 30 and suction disk 20", and, "As such, the suction disk 20 can provide movement relative to the pivotal shaft and the carrier board 30"), wherein the first cleaning device is static relative to the carrying board (Chao: Paragraph [0052], wherein the cleaning fabric 60, with the elastic plastic plate, is attached to a second cleaning surface 20B).
Chao does not disclose a driving device connected to cause a reciprocating motion, and wherein the first cleaning device is configured to undergo a planar reciprocating motion.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses a driving device connected to a cleaning device to cause the cleaning device to undergo motion (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, lines 23-30, and Page 9, lines 21-24, wherein a direction change driving unit 80 is connected to the direction switching plates 60, and wherein the insertion groove 61 of the direction switching plates 60 is rotatably coupled to “the protruding steps 25 formed on the pair of second suction parts 40”).
Kim discloses a cleaning robot for cleaning the surface of a window, comprising a body case 10, a pair of first suction units 20, a pair of main vacuuming units 30, a pair of second suction units 40, a pair of direction change vacuuming units 70, a pair of direction change plates 60, a pair of “driving driving motor” 57, and a direction change driving unit 80 (Kim: English Translation, Abstract, Page 1, lines 33-34, Page 7, lines 5-6, Page 8, lines 27-28). In operation, the cleaning robot utilizes the rotation of the adsorption pads 21, in combination with the direction change adsorption pads 41, to propel itself forward along a window surface, wherein a suction groove 23 forms a vacuum space for facilitating the adsorption to “the surface of the glass window” (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 23-24 and 29-30, Page 11, lines 20-23, Page 14, lines 22-30). The direction change driving motor 85 aides in the suction of the apparatus to a window through the manipulation of the direction changing plates 60, wherein a vacuum extraction unit 70 rotates in response to the input of the direction change driving motor 85, and applies a vacuum pressure to each suction pad 41 the air suction port 73 passes above (Kim: English Translation, Page 14, lines 14-33)
Similarly, Chao discloses a self-propelled device for the attachment to and cleaning of a panel 40 of a window (Chao: Paragraph [0047]). Here, Chao discloses a body 11 of the self-propelled device, having a moving module 12, and an air extraction unit 133. The body 11 further comprises a suction disk 20 and a carrier board 30, which are arranged in a stack as to create a first space having a negative pressure formed therein (Chao: Paragraph [0048-0049]). Lastly, to clean, the second surface 20B of the suction disk 20 includes a cleaning fabric 60 for contacting a panel surface 40A.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Chao, including the self-propelled device for cleaning a window surface, with the two adsorption grooves 23 forming a vacuum space in a central portion of the adsorption pads 21, the direction change adsorption pads 41, and the other “transfer means” components (i.e. first suction unit 20, main vacuum extraction unit 30, second suction unit 40, direction switching plate 60, and the direction change vacuum extraction unit 70) (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 23-24, Page 10, lines 10-11 and 25-30, and Page 16, lines 18-21). The resulting combination includes the fabric 60, disclosed by Chao, and further includes two openings, each with their own suction space for contacting a pane surface, and wherein each opening has a rotating adsorption pad 21 surrounding the suction space, which further comprises the walls of the suction space, similar to that disclosed by Kim. This modified design would expand the range of travel of the cleaning robot, wherein the inclusion of the “transfer means”, as well as the associated adsorption pads 21 and direction change adsorption pads 41, allows the cleaning robot to change its direction of travel a full 360-degrees without rotation of the body case 10 (Kim: English Translation, Page 16, lines 10-15 in view of FIGS. 6a-7d). Specifically, this offers a wider range of motion available to clean surfaces. This is an improvement on the current embodiment, disclosed by Chao, wherein the self-propelled device moves “back-and-forth” to clean a window surface (Chao: Paragraph [0045]). Additionally, given that the adsorption pads 21 are “formed of a sponge member”, and that the adsorption pads 21 are also used for cleaning, in addition to “driving and direction switching”, the presence of the adsorption pads 21 create a first and second cleaning member (Kim: English Translation, Page 3, lines 13-17). One would be motivated to make this combination as to produce a more efficient design that is capable of “freely” moving across a planar surface of a window for cleaning (Chao: Paragraph [0045]).
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, KR2002 discloses a reciprocating motion (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 27-30, wherein "the rotation direction of the drive motor (3) is periodically changed to the forward and reverse directions").
KR2002 teaches an automatic mop cleaner having “a pair of rotating plates (2) and (2’), each having a mop (1) and (1') attached to the bottom surface, to rotate in opposite 10 directions by a driving motor (3)” (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 10-11). In operation, the rotation direction of the drive motor (3) “is periodically changed in the forward and reverse directions” to mimic “a cleaning effect similar to wiping with a hand mop” (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 27-32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, such that the self-propelled device, disclosed by Chao, with the additional driving unit features, disclosed by Kim, are further modified to include a periodic reciprocating motion on the adsorption pads 21, wherein one would be motivated to do this in support of an improved cleaning output (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 27-32).
Regarding Claim 2, Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 1, wherein the first cleaning device defines a first subsidiary space (Chao: Paragraph [0052] in view of FIG. 1, cleaning fabric 60 includes a first cleaning fabric opening 601; see also Kim, FIG. 4, wherein two adsorption grooves 23 are shown), and the first subsidiary space is in communication with the primary suction space (Chao: Paragraph [0071], wherein the first cleaning fabric opening 601 is in communication with the first suction disk through hole of the suction disk 20), the first subsidiary space (Chao: Paragraph [0071], first cleaning fabric opening 601; Kim: FIG. 4, adsorption groove 23) undergoes a reciprocating motion in response to the reciprocating motion (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, the periodically-changing rotation direction) of the first cleaning device (Chao: Paragraph [0052], fabric 60, including the elastic plastic plate), and the first cleaning device is in contact with the pane surface, maintaining the state of the primary suction space being an airtight space (Chao: Paragraph [0071], wherein the first cleaning fabric opening 601 is in communication with the first suction disk through hole of the suction disk 20, "allowing the negative pressure of the first space 51 to reach the first cleaning fabric opening 601, which may aid in maintaining the attraction the self-propelled device to the panel 40").
Regarding Claim 3, Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 1, wherein the carrying board comprises a carrying board wall portion enclosing a carrying board through hole (Chao: Paragraph [0056], "the suction disk 20 has a first suction disk through hole 210" which is defined by "the first suction disk wall 21"), the bottom board wall portion and the carrying board wall portion are attached to each other (Chao: Paragraph [0060], "the first space defined by the body 11 according to an embodiment of the present invention substantially includes the space enclosed and defined by the board, the first suction disk wall 21 and the carrier board wall 31, and the space has one end covered by the air extraction module 13"), and the bottom board wall portion is configured to move relative to the carrying board wall portion (Chao: Paragraph [0054], "the carrier board wall 31 is operable to move relative to the first suction disk wall 21"), and the carrying board through hole and the first bottom board through hole form the primary suction space (Chao: Paragraphs [0056], [0059] and [0060], wherein the first suction disk through hole 210 and the first carrier board through hole 310, which are defined by the first suction disk wall 21 and the first carrier board wall 31, form the first space).
Regarding Claim 4, Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 2, further comprises a second cleaning device (Kim: English Translation, Page 14, line 7, “pair of adsorption pads 21”), wherein, the carrying board is disposed between the second cleaning device and the bottom board (Chao: see FIG. 1, wherein the suction disk 20 is disposed between the cleaning fabric 60 and the carrier board 30; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 14, line 7, wherein a second cleaning device is taught), the second cleaning device is in contact with the pane surface while performing a cleaning operation (Kim: English Translation, Page 14, line 7 and Page 3, line 16, the adsorption pads 21 contact the glass pane during cleaning), the driving device is connected to the second cleaning device (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30, and Page 16, lines 18-20, direction change driving motor 85 is connected to an adsorption pad 21 through the engagement between the direction change plates 60 and the other “transfer means”) to cause the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion so as to wipe the pane surface back and forth (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, periodically-changing rotation direction; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 14, line 7 and Page 3, line 16, the adsorption pads 21 contact the glass pane during cleaning), the second cleaning device is configured to undergo a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, periodically-changing rotation direction; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 16, line 13, “without the rotation of the body case 10”; see also Chao, Paragraph [0052], suction disk 20), the second cleaning device defines a second subsidiary space (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, line 23, Page 14, line 7, “pair of adsorption pads” defining a pair of suction grooves 23), and the second subsidiary space is in communication with the primary suction space (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 28-29, a pair of main vacuum extraction units 30 provide vacuum pressure to the adsorption pads 21 of the adsorption grooves 23; see also Chao, Paragraph [0062], wherein a first space is provided with a negative pressure). The second subsidiary space in communication with the primary suction space undergoes a reciprocating motion in response to the reciprocating motion of the second cleaning device (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 28-29, adsorption grooves 23 of the adsorption pads 21; Chao: Paragraph [0062], first space; KR2002, English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, periodically-changing rotation direction), and the second cleaning device is in contact with the pane surface, maintaining the state of the primary suction space being an airtight space (Kim, English Translation, Page 14, line 7 and Page 3, line 16, the adsorption pads 21 contact the glass pane during cleaning).
Regarding Claim 5, Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 4 wherein, the driving device (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, line 23) causes the first cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion in a first direction and causes the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion in a second direction opposite to the first direction (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, the periodically-changing rotation direction; see also Kim, FIGS. 6-7, wherein the adsorption pads may rotate in opposite directions).
Regarding Claim 6, Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 5 wherein, the driving device comprises:
an motor disposed on the bottom board and comprising a rotating shaft (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30 in view of FIG. 3, wherein a direction change driving unit 80 comprises a direction change drive motor 85, disposed in the body case 10, and also comprises a direction change drive shaft 83; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 8-11, wherein the body case 10 comprises the main case 11, and wherein the direction change driving motor 85 is mounted on the main case 11);
and a gear module disposed on the carrying board and comprising a connection portion (Kim: English Translation, Page 11, lines 7-12, and Page 10, lines 31-34, in view of FIGS. 2-4, wherein the direction changing driving gear 87, direction change gears 81, and the direction change driving shaft 83 are visually observed to extend through the main case 11 such that the protrusions 63 of the direction changing plates 60 extend through a pair of slits 13 formed on the main case 11; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 10, line 28, the direction change driving gears 87 is coupled to the direction change driving shaft 83), the rotating shaft of the motor is relatively movably connected to the connection portion of the gear module (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, line 28, wherein the driving gears 87 coupled to the driving shaft 83 enable rotation), the gear module is connected to the first cleaning device and the second cleaning device, allowing the first cleaning device and the second cleaning device to undergo a reciprocating motion relative to the carrying board through the motor and the gear module (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30, and Page 16, lines 11-13, wherein the drive gears 87 and the direction change gears 81 are connected to the direction changing plates 60 such that the cleaning robot is capable of 360-degree turning without rotation of the main case 11; see also KR2002, English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-13 and 27-28, wherein the driving gear (4) is connected to a shaft gear (5) of the driving motor (3), and another driving gear (4’) is connected to the shaft gear (5) by an idler gear (6), wherein both of the driving gears (4) (4’) periodically rotate in opposite directions due to the driving motor (3)).
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao and Wu (US 20220007903 A1), herein after referred to as “Chao”, in view of Kim et al (KR20120009927A), herein after referred to as “Kim”, in view of Kim (KR200213055Y1), herein after referred to as “KR2002”, in view of Guo (CN 107788900 A), herein after referred to as “Guo”.
Regarding Claim 7, Chao in view of Kim, and in further view of KR2002, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 6 wherein, the connection portion comprises a meshing teeth portion (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30 in view of FIG. 4, wherein the direction change driving gear 87 has teeth to engage with the pair of direction changing gears 81), and the gear module further comprises;
a first gear connected to the meshing teeth portion of the connection portion (Kim: English Translation, Page 14, lines 14-16, in view of FIG. 4, wherein each of the pair of direction change plates 60 are provided with the direction change gears 81, which engage with the direction change driving gear 87 of the direction change driving shaft 83);
and a second gear connected to the first gear (Kim: see FIG. 4, wherein the pair of direction change plates 60, forming a first gear and a second gear due to the presence of the direction change gears 81, are connected to each other through the direction change driving unit 80), the connection portion of the motor drives the first gear rotating in a first rotation direction (Kim: English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30, wherein one of the pair of direction change plates 60, with the direction change gears 81 provided, is rotated by the direction change drive gear 87 in a first rotation direction), the first gear drives the second gear rotating in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction (KR2002: English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-13, wherein driving gear (4) is connected to the rotating plate (2), and wherein driving gear (4') is connected to the other rotating plate (2'), both of which rotate in opposite directions by a driving motor (3)).
Modified Chao does not disclose the first gear has a first eccentric shaft, and the first eccentric shaft is connected to the first cleaning device, the second gear has a second eccentric shaft, and the second eccentric shaft is connected to the second cleaning device.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Guo discloses the first gear has a first eccentric shaft, and the first eccentric shaft is connected to the first cleaning device (Guo: English Translation, Page 9, lines 22-23 and 34-35, and Page 10, lines 10-11, in view of FIG. 5, wherein a planetary gear 106 has a crankshaft 104, and the crankshaft 104 is connected to the planetary gear 106, and wherein the planetary gear 106 is connected to a cleaning unit 200), the second gear has a second eccentric shaft, and the second eccentric shaft is connected to the second cleaning device (Guo: English Translation, Page 9, lines 22-23 and 34-35, and Page 10, lines 10-11, in view of FIG. 5, wherein the other planetary gear 106 is connected to the other crankshaft 104, which is connected to the other cleaning unit 200).
Guo discloses a cleaning robot, including a cleaning robot body (100, 500), and a cleaning unit (200, 600), wherein the cleaning unit is driven to rotate by a drive motor 102, and wherein the cleaning unit is “equipped with a vacuum chamber, which forms a negative pressure chamber through vacuum suction”, resulting in the robot adsorbing onto the working surface through the negative pressure chamber (Guo: English Translation, Page 1, lines 6-8, Page 3, lines 26-28, and Page 9, lines 19-21). In particular, a crankshaft 104 connects the rotation axis of the cleaning unit 200 to the output end of a drive unit, and wherein the crankshaft 104 may optionally be replaced by other mechanisms such as an “eccentric wheel or a crank mechanism”. Due to the interaction between the crankshafts 104, the planetary gears 106, the internal gear rings 107, and the unique shape of a cleaning unit 200 (i.e. a “Reuleaux triangle”), the “edge trajectory of the cleaning unit 200 when it rotates is roughly a square”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the cleaning robot, as disclosed by Modified Chao, with the inclusion of an eccentric shaft and the Reuleaux triangle cleaning unit head, as disclosed by Guo, such that the adsorption pads 21 may travel across a wider surface area, and are able to clean in a rectangular area, thus enabling corners of a window surface to be cleaned (Guo: English Translation, Page 12, lines 24-29). One would be motivated to do this as to provide a more efficient design capable of reaching previously-inaccessible areas of a pane surface (i.e. in comparison to a “traditional circle or square” adsorption pad 21) (Guo: English Translation, Page 3, lines 2-7).
Regarding Claim 8, Chao in view of Kim, in view of KR2002, and in further view of Guo, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 7 wherein, the carrying board defines a first penetrating hole and a second penetrating hole (Chao: Paragraph [0057], wherein the suction disk 20 defines a first suction disk opening 210A; see also Kim, FIG. 2, wherein the auxiliary case 17 defines two openings), the first cleaning device comprises a first suction cup wall portion enclosing the first subsidiary space (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 31-34 in view of Annotated Figure 4, wherein the adsorption pad 21 is provided with a raised wall portion enclosing the adsorption groove 23), and the first suction cup wall portion is configured to be inserted into the first penetrating hole and undergo a reciprocating motion within the first penetrating hole (Kim: English Translation, Page 16, lines 18-20 in view of FIGS. 1-2, and Annotated Figure 4, wherein the transfer means, including the raised wall portions of adsorption pads 21, are inserted into a first and second opening on the auxiliary case 17; see also KR2002, English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, periodically-changing direction of the drive motor (3) controls the mop (1) and (1’) to rotate in opposite directions), the second cleaning device comprises a second suction cup wall portion enclosing the second subsidiary space (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 31-34 in view of Annotated Figure 4, wherein the adsorption pad 21 is provided with a raised wall portion enclosing the adsorption groove 23), and the second suction cup wall portion is configured to be inserted into the second penetrating hole and undergo a reciprocating motion within the second penetrating hole (Kim: English Translation, Page 16, lines 18-20 in view of FIGS. 1-2, and Annotated Figure 4, wherein the transfer means, including the raised wall portions of adsorption pads 21, are inserted into a first and second opening on the auxiliary case 17; see also KR2002, English Translation, Page 2, lines 9-11 and 27-30, periodically-changing direction of the drive motor (3) controls the mop (1) and (1’) to rotate in opposite directions).
Regarding Claim 9, Chao in view of Kim, in view of KR2002, and in further view of Guo, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 8 wherein, the body further comprises a first resilient member and a second resilient member (Guo: English Translation, Page 10, lines 29-32, Page 11, lines 1-3, in view of FIG. 5, wherein the robot body 100 further comprises two sealing rings 109), the first resilient member is disposed between the first cleaning device and the carrying board (Guo: English Translation, Page 10, line 32 in view of FIG. 5, “sealing ring 109” set between “cleaning units 200 and the base 108”), the first resilient member defines a first through hole (Guo: see FIG. 5, wherein the sealing rings 109 have a gap defined in the central portion of the ring), and the first suction cup wall portion is disposed in the first through hole (Kim: English Translation, Page 14, lines 7-8 in view of Annotated Figure 4, wherein Kim discloses the pair of adsorption pads 21, including the raised wall portion of the adsorption pads 21, which are adsorbed onto a pane surface; see also Guo, English Translation, Page 8, lines 26-28, and Page 11, lines 1-3, in view of FIG. 5, wherein Guo teaches a similar structure to Kim through the cleaning unit 200, which forms a negative pressure chamber to adsorb the cleaning robot onto a working surface, and wherein the sealing ring 109 is embedded in the cleaning unit 200 around the negative pressure chamber), the second resilient member is disposed between the second cleaning device and the carrying board (Guo: English Translation, Page 10, line 32 in view of FIG. 5, “sealing ring 109” set between “cleaning units 200 and the base 108”), the second resilient member defines a second through hole (Guo: see FIG. 5, wherein the sealing rings 109 have a gap defined in the central portion of the ring), and the second suction cup wall portion is disposed in the second through hole (Kim: English Translation, Page 14, lines 7-8 in view of Annotated Figure 4, the raised wall portion of the adsorption pads 21; see also Guo, English Translation, Page 8, lines 26-28, and Page 11, lines 1-3, in view of FIG. 5, the sealing ring 109 is embedded in the cleaning unit 200 around the negative pressure chamber).
Regarding Claim 10, Chao in view of Kim, in view of KR2002, and in further view of Guo, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 9 wherein, when attached to the carrying board, the first cleaning device partially compresses the first resilient member to reduce external air passing between the first cleaning device and the carrying board and entering the primary suction space (Guo: English Translation, Page 10, lines 29-32, and Page 11, lines 1-3, in view of FIG. 5, wherein, when attached to the base 108, the cleaning units 200 will compress the sealing ring 109 (i.e. the sealing ring 109 is deformable during the adsorption of the robot body 100 to a working surface “to improve the sealing effect”) to increase the adsorption negative pressure between the cleaning units 200 and the base 108; see also Chao, Paragraph [0007] wherein a first space is disclosed; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 16-17, wherein the pair of adsorption pads 21 are disclosed), and when attached to the carrying board, the second cleaning device partially compresses the second resilient member to reduce external air passing between the second cleaning device and the carrying board and entering the primary suction space (Guo: English Translation, Page 10, lines 29-32, and Page 11, lines 1-3, in view of FIG. 5, wherein, when attached to the base 108, the cleaning units 200 will compress the sealing ring 109 (i.e. the sealing ring 109 is deformable during the adsorption of the robot body 100 to a working surface “to improve the sealing effect”) to increase the adsorption negative pressure between the cleaning units 200 and the base 108; see also Chao, Paragraph [0007] wherein a first space is disclosed; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 16-17, wherein the pair of adsorption pads 21 are disclosed).
Regarding Claim 11, Chao in view of Kim, in view of KR2002, and in further view of Guo, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 10 wherein, the first cleaning device comprises:
a first suction cup defining a first subsidiary space and connected to the driving device (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 16-17, wherein the pair of adsorption pads 21 are disclosed, which are adsorbed to a surface of a glass window, and the pair of adsorption pads 21 define a pair of adsorption grooves 23; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 21-25, and Page 9, lines 21-24, wherein the adsorption grooves 23 form a protruding step 25 on the opposite plate surface from the adsorption pad 21, and the protruding steps 25 are rotatably coupled to the insertion grooves 61 and direction switching plates 60; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30, wherein the direction switching plates 60 are connected to the direction change driving unit 80);
and a first cleaning fabric disposed at the first suction cup and exposing the first subsidiary space (Chao: Paragraph [0052], a “cleaning fabric 60” is disclosed, having an “elastic plastic plate” to “prevent air from passing therethrough” that surrounds “a first cleaning fabric opening 601”; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 21-25 and 26-27, and Page 3, lines 13-17, wherein the pair of adsorption pads 21, which define the adsorption grooves 23 (i.e. the suction cup walls surrounding the vacuum spaces), may be a synthetic rubber material “such as chloroprene”, and may also be “formed of a sponge member”, and wherein the integrated absorption pad is intended to perform “vacuum adsorption, driving, and direction switching” in support of cleaning; see also Guo, English Translation, Page 7, lines 17-19, wherein the cleaning unit 200 is “equipped with cleaning materials, such as sponges, clothes, cotton, wool, or paper” for wiping a surface), the second cleaning device comprises:
a second suction cup defining the second subsidiary space and connected to the driving device (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, lines 16-17, wherein the pair of adsorption pads 21 are disclosed, which are adsorbed to a surface of a glass window, and the pair of adsorption pads 21 define a pair of adsorption grooves 23; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 21-25, and Page 9, lines 21-24, wherein the adsorption grooves 23 form a protruding step 25 on the opposite plate surface from the adsorption pad 21, and the protruding steps 25 are rotatably coupled to the insertion grooves 61 and direction switching plates 60; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 10, lines 25-30, wherein the direction switching plates 60 are connected to the direction change driving unit 80);
and a second cleaning fabric disposed at the second suction cup and exposing the first subsidiary space (Chao: Paragraph [0052], a “cleaning fabric 60” is disclosed, having an “elastic plastic plate” to “prevent air from passing therethrough” that surrounds “a first cleaning fabric opening 601”; see also Kim, English Translation, Page 7, lines 21-25 and 26-27, and Page 3, lines 13-17, wherein the pair of adsorption pads 21, which define the adsorption grooves 23 (i.e. the suction cup walls surrounding the vacuum spaces), may be a synthetic rubber material “such as chloroprene”, and may also be “formed of a sponge member”, and wherein the integrated absorption pad is intended to perform “vacuum adsorption, driving, and direction switching” in support of cleaning; see also Guo, English Translation, Page 7, lines 17-19, wherein the cleaning unit 200 is “equipped with cleaning materials, such as sponges, clothes, cotton, wool, or paper” for wiping a surface; see also “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112” regarding Claim 11, wherein the recitation of “the first subsidiary space” is regarded as unclear, and for the purposes of examination is likely intended to read as “the second subsidiary space”, and wherein the Specification, Page 17, Paragraph [0045] in view of the instant FIG. 4 discloses, inter alia, “the first cleaning fabric 812 and the second cleaning fabric 822 define a first fabric opening 851 and a second fabric opening 852 respectively for exposing the first subsidiary space 551 and the second subsidiary space 552 respectively”).
Regarding Claim 12, Chao in view of Kim, in view of KR2002, and in further view of Guo, disclose the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Chao further discloses the window cleaning machine of claim 11 wherein, the first cleaning fabric and the second cleaning fabric expose the first subsidiary space and the second subsidiary space respectively (Guo: English Translation, Page 7, lines 17-19 in view of FIG. 5, and Page 11, lines 9-11 in view of FIG. 8, wherein the cleaning unit 200 may comprise cleaning materials such as cotton or wool that surrounds “multiple ventilation holes” on the cleaning unit 200), or the first cleaning fabric and the second cleaning fabric cover the first subsidiary space and the second subsidiary space respectively, and both the first cleaning fabric and the second cleaning fabric are made of a gas-permeable material (Kim: English Translation, Page 7, line 26, adsorption pad 21 may be a sponge member; see also Guo, English Translation, Page 7, lines 17-18, “cleaning materials, such as sponges, cloths, cotton, wool, or paper”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Shi et al (CN 104905728 A) discloses a window cleaning robot, having a vacuum pump and walking mechanism for affixing the robot to a window surface (Shi et al, English Translation, Abstract). Notably, Shi et al discloses “two window cleaning turntables” comprising “replaceable cleaning clothes”, wherein the window cleaning turntables 1 are mounted on vacuum suction cups 4 (Shi et al, English Translation, Page 7, lines 20-21, and Page 8, lines 17 and 21).
Gao and Luo (CN 114869164 A) disclose a “window cleaning robot” which utilizes a suction module 1 to create a negative pressure to adhere to a surface to be cleaned, and a drive module 2 for locomotion across a glass surface (Gao and Luo, English Translation, Page 11, lines 11-29). Notably, Gao and Luo disclose a “sealing element 6” provided between “the movable seat 5 and the housing 3” which forms an “airflow isolation barrier in the inner cavity of housing 3” (i.e. a resilient member) (Gao and Luo, English Translation, Page 12, lines 3-5).
Kim et al (KR 20130064862 A), herein after referred to as “Kim 2013”, discloses a robot vacuum cleaner for cleaning a window, wherein the robot is attached to a window through vacuum suction pressure (Kim 2013: English Translation, Abstract). Notably, the robot vacuum cleaner comprises an attachment part (100), wherein a sealing member (130) is located at a lower part of the attachment part (100), an attachment drive motor (310) for rotating the attachment part (100), and other elements in an attachment drive device (300), including first and second rotation shafts (320), a power transmission member (330), and driving gears (340) (Kim 2013: English Translation, Abstract, Page 7, lines 7-8 and 21-22, Page 11, lines 23-25, and Page 12, lines 23-24).
/JON M HEGEMIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723