DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 11 is cancelled.
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed on 02/17/2026, the following new grounds of the rejections are necessitated:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 10 recites “the one-way bearing configured to lock and permit mated rotation of the first and second shaft in one direction of rotation, whereby the rotation of the first and second shaft is mated, synchronous rotation in one direction and only the second shaft rotates in the opposite direction”, wherein the above underlined portion is conceptually repeating what already was claimed as above bolded and it is not clear if the underlined portion refers to the same subject matter or refers to a new limitation. Clarification is required.
The following rejections are maintained for the reason of records as given in the previous office action. The bases of these rejections are the same as given in the office action, mailed on 09/26/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zani (US 4,332,539) in view of Liu (CN 111670920).
As to claim 10, Zani (US ‘539) disclose a pasta extruder attachment for a stand mixer, the stand mixer (L-shaped housing or base 1; col. 4, lin. 33-35), the pasta extruder attachment (an extruder 3, col. 4, lin. 35) comprising:
a casing defining a funnel (a mixer or hopper 2; col. 4, lin. 33-35) and a tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51), the funnel (a mixer or hopper 2; col. 4, lin. 33-35) extending from the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51);
a transmission (an output shaft 42 formed with a polygonal seat 30, col. 4, lin. 45-46) positioned at a distal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51), the transmission (an output shaft 42 formed with a polygonal seat 30, col. 4, lin. 45-46) mechanically couplable to the stand mixer (L-shaped housing or base 1; col. 4, lin. 33-35);
a first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47; col. 5, lin. 52-53) coupled to the transmission, the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47; col. 5, lin. 52-53) extending from the distal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51) to a proximal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A cutter (10))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Extruder block (11))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A second shaft with auger (9))][AltContent: textbox (A stand mixer (1))][AltContent: textbox (A transmission (42, 30))][AltContent: textbox (A first shaft (47))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An extruder (3))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A tube (3a) )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A casing defining a funnel (2))][AltContent: arrow]
a second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55) coupled to the transmission (an output shaft 42 formed with a polygonal seat 30, col. 4, lin. 45-46), the second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9) extending from the distal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51) to the proximal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51), the second shaft comprising an auger (auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55), the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47; col. 5, lin. 52-53) positioned within the second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55), the second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55) independently rotatable around the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47; col. 5, lin. 52-53; col. 4, lin. 53-55; and col. 7, lin. 58-61);
an extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57) couplable to the proximal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51), the extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57) defining a plurality of slots on a proximal surface;
a cutter (a blade 10 is secured by means of a screw 25 to the end of this die 11, col. 5, lines 58-59) coupled to the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47, col. 5, lin. 52-53) at the proximal surface of the extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57), the cutter (a blade 10) rotatable by the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47, col. 5, lin. 51-60), and
a one-way bearing (a transmission 38, col. 4, lines 40-44) coupled to the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47; col. 5, lin. 52-53), the one-way bearing (38) configured to lock and permit mated rotation of the first and second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55) in one direction of rotation (col. 4, lines 51-53), whereby the rotation of the first and second shaft is mated, synchronous rotation in one direction and only the second shaft rotates in the opposite direction. (col. 6, lines 38-44) It should be noted that the above phrase of “whereby the rotation of the first and second shaft …” does not provide further structural limitations for the claimed “pasta extruder attachment” and is more directed to intended use of the claimed structure. An intended use of a claimed apparatus usually gets no patentable weight for the purpose of examination.
However, Zani (US ‘539) is silent on disclosing the stand mixer (L-shaped housing or base 1) further comprises a controller, as to claim 10, wherein the controller is in wireless communication with an external device over a network, as to claim 18.
In the analogous art, Liu (CN ‘920) disclose a noodle machine (see the attached English translation: claim 1) comprising a machine seat (10) provided with a stirring component (20) and the extruding component (30), the stirring component comprises a stirring cup (201) and a stirrer (202). The stirring cup (201) is internally provided with a flour cup (1) wherein a first weighing module (2) capable of weighing flour weight in flour cup (1) is provided between the flour cup (1) and the stirring cup (201). (see the attached English translation: claim 1)
Further, Liu (CN ‘920) disclose the noodle weighing machine further comprises a calculation control module (see the English translation: claim 2); the calculation control module is electrically connected with the first weighing module (2) and capable of converting the weight of the flour weighed by the first weighing module (2) into the water adding weight.
Moreover, Liu (CN ‘920) teach a wireless receiving module electrically connected with the calculation control module and capable of receiving the instruction sent by an external communication device (see the English translation: claim 11).
[AltContent: textbox (A stand mixer (20))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Controller)]
Therefore, as to claim 10, Liu (CN ‘920) disclose a mixer (20) comprises a controller (a calculation control module, see claim 2, including a control circuit board) connected with the first weighing module (2), wherein, as to claim 18, the controller (a calculation control module, see claim 2) is in wireless communication with an external device over a network (external communication device, see claim 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the operation of the stand mixer, as taught by Zani (US ‘539), through providing a controller to be in wireless communication with an external device over a network in order to control more effectively and conveniently the amount of the required ingredients within the mixer which results in improving the efficiency of dough kneading, as suggested by Liu (CN ‘920): see the abstract and ¶ [0040].
As to claim 12, Zani (US ‘539) teaches the second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55) of the pasta extruder attachment (an extruder 3, col. 4, lin. 35) comprises an auger (9) with a flighting configured for moving dough from the funnel (a mixer or hopper 2; col. 4, lin. 33-35) to the proximal end of the tube and through the extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57).
As to claim 13, Zani (US ‘539) discloses comprising a cap (a screw 25 wherein a blade 10 is secured by means of a screw 25 to the end of this die 11, col. 5, lines 58-59) configured to screw over the extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57), securing the extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57) to the proximal end of the tube (a cylindrical wall 3a, col. 5, lin. 51).
As to claim 14, Zani (US ‘539) teaches an outer ring (a perforated die 11 held on the end of the housing by a hand nut 8; col. 5, lines 57-58), positioned around the extruder block (a perforated die 11, col. 5, lines 56-57), the outer ring (a hand nut 8) coupled to and rotatable by the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47, col. 5, lin. 52-53).
As to claim 15, Zani (US ‘539) discloses the cutter (a blade 10 is secured to the end of this die 11 to orbit over the apertures thereof and cut off the pasta as it is extruded) is coupled to an exterior edge of the outer ring (a hand nut 8; col. 5, lines 57-58), the cutter (a blade 10 is secured to the end of this die 11) rotated with the rotation of the outer ring (a hand nut 8; col. 5, lines 57-58).
As to claim 16, Zani (US ‘539) teaches the outer ring (a hand nut 8; col. 5, lines 57-58) comprises an arm (an L-shaped flange of the hand nut 8, see Fig. 2) extending from the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47, col. 5, lin. 52-53) at the proximal end to the exterior edge of the outer ring (a hand nut 8; col. 5, lines 57-58).
As to claim 17, Zani (US ‘539) discloses the cutter is one of a blade (a blade 10 is secured by means of a screw 25 to the end of this die 11, col. 5, lines 58-59).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 02/17/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the newly added limitations to claim 10 has not been addressed by either of Zani (US ‘539) or Liu (CN ‘920), the arguments are not persuasive as the amended claim 10 incorporated the limitations of the previously rejected claim 11. As it has been mentioned above in the body of the rejection, Zani (US ‘539) discloses a one-way bearing (a transmission 38, col. 4, lines 40-44) coupled to the first shaft (a polygonal shaft 47; col. 5, lin. 52-53), the one-way bearing (38) configured to lock and permit mated rotation of the first and second shaft (the shaft portion that comprises auger 9, col. 5, lines 52-55) in one direction of rotation (col. 4, lines 51-53), whereby the rotation of the first and second shaft is mated, synchronous rotation in one direction and only the second shaft rotates in the opposite direction. (col. 6, lines 38-44) It should be noted that the above phrase of “whereby the rotation of the first and second shaft …” does not provide further structural limitations for the claimed “pasta extruder attachment” and is more directed to intended use of the claimed structure. An intended use of a claimed apparatus usually gets no patentable weight for the purpose of examination.
Finally, by review of the submitted remarks in view of the prior art rejection, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited references between the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zani (US 4,146,333) disclose a household producing appliance comprising: a housing having an end wall provided with a seat aperture; a mixing vessel in said housing centered on an axis in line with said seat; bearing means in said seat aperture centered on said axis; agitating means in said vessel for beating a mass of dough, said agitating means including a shaft in line with said axis and a set of stirring elements detachably secured to said shaft, a free end of said shaft being rotatably journaled in said bearing means; drive means in said housing positively coupled with an opposite end of said shaft, the latter being dis-engageable from said drive means and axially withdrawable from said housing through said seat aperture upon detachment of said stirring elements; and removable cover means on said housing giving access to the interior of said vessel. (see claim 1)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 04/18/2026