DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koenigs (English Translated DE Patent No.: 10209994 A1), hereinafter referred to as Koenigs ‘994, in view of Mueller et al. (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2015/0362213 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mueller et al. ‘213; further in view of QUAN (English Translated Chinese Pub No.: 1699868 A), hereinafter referred to as QUAN ‘868
Regarding claim 1, KOENIGS ‘994 discloses an air turnover unit configured to heat or cool an interior space (S) {as shown in Figure}, the air turnover unit comprising: a housing (H) having an air intake (A1) configured to intake air from the interior space (S) and an air exhaust (E1) configured to exhaust the air into the interior space, the housing configured to enclose: a fan (5) configured to: pull air into the housing through an air intake (A2), through a heat exchanger (2), and out of the housing through an air exhaust (E2) {as shown in annotated Figure: Description}; a compressor (1) configured to compress a refrigerant (R); a condenser (4) configured to cool and condense the refrigerant received from the compressor {as shown in annotated Figure: Description}; and a chilled water supply (4a) configured to supply chilled water to the condenser.
However, KOENIGS ‘994 fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of an expansion valve configured to reduce a temperature and pressure of the refrigerant received from the condenser; and a heater configured to heat the air exhausting into the interior space.
Mueller et al. ‘213 teach: the well-known concept of an expansion valve configured to reduce a temperature and pressure of the refrigerant received from the condenser {see ¶ [0039]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Koenigs ‘994 in view of Mueller et al. ‘213 to include the use of an expansion valve, in order to facilitate removal pressure from the refrigerant before providing the refrigerant to the evaporator {Mueller et al. ‘213 - ¶ [0039]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Koenigs ‘994 in view of Mueller et al. ‘213 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
QUAN ‘868 teaches: the concept of a heater (360) configured to heat the air exhausting (170) into the interior space (condition space) {see Figs. 4-7: Page 12, ¶¶ 5-6; Page 13, ¶¶ 1 and 7; and Page 15, ¶ 6}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Koenigs ‘994 in view of QUAN ‘868 to include the use of a heater configured to heat the air exhausting into the interior space, in order to facilitate heating of the internal space {QUAN ‘868 - Page 15, ¶ 6}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Koenigs ‘994 in view of QUAN ‘868 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Koenigs ‘994, Mueller et al. ‘213 and QUAN ‘868 disclose and teach the air turnover unit of claim 2, Koenigs ‘994 as modified by Mueller et al. ‘213 further disclose the limitation of wherein the heater is a direct-fired heater {see ¶¶ [0001], [0003-0006], 0012], [0037], [0048], [0056] and [0069]; further, the heater can be various types of heaters, including, but not limited to, direct-fired or indirect-fired heaters}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Koenigs ‘994, Mueller et al. ‘213 and QUAN ‘868 disclose and teach the air turnover unit of claim 2, Koenigs ‘994 as modified by Mueller et al. ‘213 further disclose the limitation of wherein the heater is an indirect-fired heater {see ¶ [0003]; further, the heater can be various types of heaters, including, but not limited to, direct-fired or indirect-fired heaters}.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Koenigs ‘994, Mueller et al. ‘213 and QUAN ‘868 disclose and teach the air turnover unit of claim 1, KOENIGS ‘994 further discloses comprising a diffuser (6) configured to direct air to the air exhaust {as shown in annotated Figure: Description: wherein filter bed constitutes a diffuser}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Koenigs ‘994, Mueller et al. ‘213 and QUAN ‘868 disclose and teach the air turnover unit of claim 1, KOENIGS ‘994 further discloses wherein the heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between air moving around a coil (C) of the heat exchanger and the refrigerant moving through the coil of the heat exchanger {as shown in annotated Figure}.
Regarding claim 7, KOENIGS ‘994 discloses a method of conditioning air in an interior space (S), the method comprising: pulling air, using a fan (5), into a housing (H) from the interior space through an air intake (A1) {as shown in annotated Figure: Description}; exchanging heat between air moving around a coil (C) of a heat exchanger (2) and a refrigerant (R) moving through the coil of the heat exchanger {as shown in annotated Figure: Description}; compressing, using a compressor (1), the refrigerant received from the heat exchanger {as shown in annotated Figure: Description}; condensing, using a condenser (4) and a chilled water supply (4a) supplied the condenser, the refrigerant received from the compressor to cool and condense the refrigerant {as shown in annotated Figure: Description}; heating or cooling the air exhausting into the interior space; and exhausting, using the fan, the air moving around the coil of the heat exchanger, out from the housing into the interior space{as shown in annotated Figure: Description}.
However, KOENIGS ‘994 failed to explicitly disclose the method of reducing, using an expansion valve, a temperature and pressure of the refrigerant received from the condenser; and a heating or cooling the air exhausting into the interior space.
Mueller et al. ‘213 teach: the well-known concept of reducing, using an expansion valve configured to reduce a temperature and pressure of the refrigerant received from the condenser {see ¶ [0039]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Koenigs ‘994 in view of Mueller et al. ‘213 to include the use of an expansion valve, in order to facilitate removal pressure from the refrigerant before providing the refrigerant to the evaporator {Mueller et al. ‘213 - ¶ [0039]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Koenigs ‘994 in view of Mueller et al. ‘213 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
QUAN ‘868 teaches: the concept of heating (360) the air exhausting (170) into the interior space (condition space) {see Figs. 4-7: Page 12, ¶¶ 5-6; Page 13, ¶¶ 1 and 7; and Page 15, ¶ 6}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Koenigs ‘994 in view of QUAN ‘868 to include the use of a heater configured to heat the air exhausting into the interior space, in order to facilitate heating of the internal space {QUAN ‘868 - Page 15, ¶ 6}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Koenigs ‘994 in view of QUAN ‘868 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Conclusion
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 05/26/2026