DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Figure 2A includes item 248 not found in the written description.
Figure 2B includes item 201 not found in the written description, however paragraph [0039] refers to “substrate 210” which is not found in the drawings. Perhaps this should read as “substrate 201”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 states “receive an input signal that represents the analog signal, wherein the input signal is associated with a first frequency response with a pole at a first frequency; and
apply a transfer function to the input signal to generate an output signal, wherein the output signal is associated with a second frequency response in which the pole is moved to a second frequency”.
Since there is no wording in the claim that describes the number of poles in each response or restricts type of frequency responses (such as “resembles a single-pole filter”), the term “moved” is not technically correct. A better wording would be “replaced” such as “wherein the output signal is associated with a second frequency response in which the pole is replaced by a pole at a second frequency”. This is replacing is essentially what is described by claim 2.
Claims 10 and 19 are objected in an analogous manner.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are objected as inheriting the problems as above.
Claim 2 states “wherein the transfer function cancels the pole associated with the first frequency response with a zero and replaces the cancelled pole with a corrected pole to move the pole to the second frequency”. As above, since there is no actual moving process, this would be better as “wherein the transfer function cancels the pole associated with the first frequency response with a zero and replaces the cancelled pole with a corrected pole at the second frequency”.
Claim 11 is objected in an analogous manner.
Claims 3 and 12 are objected as inheriting the problems as above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
means for generating an analog signal of claim 19;
means for generating an input signal of claim 19;
means for applying a transfer function of claim 19;
means for removing direct current offset of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (US 20200219477 A1) in view of Smith ("The Scientist and Engineer's Guide to Digital Signal Processing", copyright ©1997-1998 by Steven W. Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Honda discloses a system, comprising:
a transducer (microphone FF on left of figure 5) configured to receive an incident signal and to generate an analog signal (paragraph [0035] incorporates patents US 8073150 and 8073151 to show details of DSP use, figure 3a of such show analog signal of FF microphone converted to digital signal by A/D converter 310) as a function of the incident signal (microphones transduce ambient air pressure signals to electrical signals); and
an open loop correction circuit (172 of figure 5) configured to:
receive an input signal (input to 172) that represents the analog signal (the digital version), wherein the input signal is associated with a first frequency response (figure 4A and paragraph [0042], curve 154 represents an actual frequency response of a microphone) with a pole at a first frequency (25 Hz, figure 4A and paragraph [0042], poles set -3dB frequency); and
apply a transfer function to the input signal to generate an output signal (output of 172), wherein the output signal is associated with a second frequency response (paragraph [0042], curve 152 represents an ideal response) in which the pole is moved to a second frequency (35 Hz, figure 4A and paragraph [0042], poles set -3dB frequency).
Honda does not expressly disclose where the frequency responses may comprise poles.
Smith teaches where in high pass frequency response may comprise a pole (see figure 19-5 and supporting discussion, at least single pole filter response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider the poles as expressly disclosed by Smith in the system of Honda for the benefit of mathematically and precisely deriving the desired correction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Smith with Honda, for the benefits above, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Honda discloses wherein the transfer function cancels the pole associated with the first frequency response with a zero and replaces the cancelled pole with a corrected pole to move the pole to the second frequency (see compensator of paragraphs [0006] and [0042], the resultant overall frequency response looks similar to a frequency response with a pole in a different place, see figure 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses wherein the zero is a function of the first frequency (see Fc discussion starting page 324) and a sampling frequency (see note for equation 19-7, expressing as a fraction of the sampling rate, also see figure 19-5), and wherein the corrected pole is a function of the second frequency (see Fc discussion starting page 324) and the sampling frequency (see note for equation 19-7, expressing as a fraction of the sampling rate, also see figure 19-5).
Regarding claim 4, Honda discloses further comprising:
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to receive the analog signal from the transducer and to convert the analog signal to the input signal that digitally represents the analog signal (paragraph [0035] incorporates patents US 8073150 and 8073151 to show details of DSP use, figure 3a of such show analog signal of FF microphone converted to digital signal by A/D converter 310).
Regarding claim 5, although Honda does not expressly disclose removing DC components, the examiner takes official notice that removing direct current components from microphone output signals was well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further comprise wherein the open loop correction circuit is further configured to remove a direct current offset from the input signal before the transfer function is applied to the input signal in the system of Honda for the benefit of removing DC noise from the microphone signal which should comprise only AC components.
Regarding claim 6, Honda discloses wherein the first frequency is a low frequency roll off (LFRO) point associated with the transducer (paragraphs [0041] to [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Honda discloses wherein the second frequency is a programmed value (read broadly as a designed value, disclosure has no special definition of “a programmed value”, see paragraphs [0042] to [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Honda discloses wherein the first frequency is within a first range (such as 20-34 Hz), and wherein the second frequency is within a second range (such as 33-36 Hz) that is narrower than the first range and overlapping with the first range (many ranges exist that fit this criteria).
Regarding claim 9, Honda discloses wherein the transducer is a micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) acoustic transducer (see abstract and at least paragraph [0042]).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected in an analogous manner to claim 1.
Claims 11-18 are rejected in an analogous manner to claims 2-9.
Claim 20 is rejected in an analogous manner to claim 5.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS J SUTHERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695