DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 3 and 20 remain withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1A, respectively, in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 and 20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 17, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the limitation following “such as” is not part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rose (US 4945928).
Regarding claim 1, Rose teaches an aerosolisable product comprising an aerosol forming material (claim 13), wherein the aerosol forming material is infused with smoke from tobacco; wherein the smoke is treated (col. 4, lines 41- col. 5, lines 25).
Regarding claim 2, regarding the limitation “wherein the smoke is treated between its formation and the infusion” this is a process step. The claims are directed to an aerosolizable product, thus this limitation does not have patentable weight.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, wherein the aerosol forming material is selected from polyhydric alcohols, wherein the polyhydric alcohols are selected from glycerol or propylene glycol (col. 8, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the aerosolisable product further comprises nicotine (col. 9, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the aerosolizable product further comprises water (col. 8, line 50).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, wherein the smoke is treated to remove undesirable components and selectively remove toxicants (col. 4, lines 41- col. 5, lines 25).
Regarding claim 14, the pH of the aerosol formed from the aerosolisable product is a property of the composition of claim 1, which is taught (see rejection of claim 1, above). It is therefore inherent that the pH of the composition falls within the claimed range since such a property is evidently dependent upon the nature of the composition used. Case law holds that a material and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 16, Rose teaches a contained aerosolisable product comprising (a) a container; and (b) an aerosolisable product as defined in claim 1 (col. 6, lines 65-col. 7, line 3 and rejection of claim 1, above).
Regarding claim 17, Rose teaches that the container (62) is configured for engagement with an electronic aerosol provision system (Fig. 3, col. 9, lines 59-68).
Regarding claim 18, Rose teaches that the container (62) is part of a cartomizer, wherein the cartomizer is a detachable cartomizer or wherein the cartomizer is part of a single-piece device (col. 10, lines 29-35).
Regarding claim 19, Rose teaches that the cartomizer comprises a wick material (64) and a device for vaporizing the aerosolizable product (col. 9, lines 59- col. 10, line 2).
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180289054 (Gerardi hereinafter).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 11 and 12 Gerardi teaches an aerosolizable product comprising an aerosol forming material ("condensed smoke component-containing liquid" in paragraph [0040]), wherein the aerosol forming material is infused with smoke from tobacco ([0040]), where the smoke is treated to selectively remove therefrom benzene, one or more polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons that contain 4 or more benzene rings or benzo(a)pyrene ([0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180289054 (Gerardi hereinafter) as applied to claim 9, as evidenced by US 20160366928 (Liu hereinafter).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Gerardi teaches that the aerosol forming material is infused with smoke treated to selectively remove therefrom benzo(a)pyrene ([0045]).
Gerardi does not expressly teach that the aerosol forming material is infused with smoke treated to selectively remove toluene; however, toluene is a known adverse component of smoke from tobacco, as evidenced by Liu ([0003]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the smoke treated to remove toluene, a toxic substance, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results, namely to make the smoke safer for users.
Conclusion
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755