DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendments and Remarks received 11/25/2025 in which no claims are cancelled, claims 1, 5–8, 12–15, 19, and 20 are amended, and no claims are added as new claims.
Response to Arguments
Examiner agrees the double patenting rejection can be addressed upon settling the claim language. Remarks, 8.
Examiner finds the amendments to claims 7 and 14 overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Remarks, 8. However, a separate issue is raised under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in view of the amendments to the independent claims. See rejection, infra.
On pages 9–10 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the teachings of Galpin and Kirchhoffer fail to teach or suggest the features added by way of amendment to the independent claims. Examiner finds the arguments moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Particularly, in view of the claim interpretation, described under the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, the rejection of the claims now additionally rely on the teachings of Guo to teach or suggest the averred features.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,010,296 B2 in view of Galpin (US 2021/0120247 A1) and Kirchhoffer (US 10,855,999 B2). The instant claims represent substantial overlap with the reference patent’s claims. For example, both claim sets’ independent claims have at their core a machine learning model for contexts used in the entropy coding. Furthermore, claim 2 of the instant application uses a number of pixels to define a block size while claim 4 of the reference patent uses block size. The skilled artisan knows number of pixels and block size can be used interchangeably in most scenarios in this art and certainly conveys the same concept to one of ordinary skill. Other features between the claims are viewed as generic or extra-solution activity well-represented in the prior art and not a patentably distinguishing feature that would render the instant claims nonobvious over the reference patent. Further explanation regarding those generic, prior art features can be found in the rejection of those features in view of the prior art, infra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, representative claim 1 recites “a number of bits per block to express a number of pixel predictors.” Such a recited feature is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art because the skilled artisan cannot be reasonably certain what it means to “express” a number of pixel predictors. Examiner referenced Applicant’s Specification for aid in interpretation, which yielded the following findings. It appears relevant portions of Applicant’s published Specification regarding this feature include paragraphs [0030]–[0033], which discusses bits per block according to a number of pixel predictors for each color plane. Confusingly, published paragraph [0031] uses the term, express, in the context of the number of bits necessary to express (code) the residual, not the number of bits used to express (code) a number of pixel predictors, as recited in the claim. Also confusingly, Applicant’s published paragraph [0031] states the subset of pixel predictors is those resulting in the lowest amount of bits per pixel. First, isn’t that always the case? A predictor is chosen based on how close it is to the actual value. Second, it makes no sense to say the subset of pixel predictors are those that are the best. That determination has to be performed, it cannot just be known a priori. Remember, Applicant is suggesting that somehow the universe of “total possible pixel predictors” (i.e. blocks) can be reduced to a subset from which to choose the best by evaluating the total universe of possible predictors (blocks) and determining the “subset” resulting in the lowest amount of bits-per-pixel. Well, once one has done that, they have their predictor. They do not need a subset from which to choose the best predictor when the calculation to determine the subset already had to calculate the best predictor block. And that subset ostensibly changes for every single pixel for every block of pixels being coded? The two choices in this art are a so-called “exhaustive search” wherein all the blocks are available as predictors and a so-called “fast search,” which represents an abbreviated search in some pre-defined local neighborhood. The skilled artisan understands that while the exhaustive search may find the best predictor in terms of bitcost, computational cost and signaling overhead increases. Therefore, as the skilled artisan likewise understands, restricting the pool of prediction blocks to a local neighborhood can yield good enough predictions while decreasing signaling overhead and computational resources. Applicant’s disclosure seems to suggest that defining the neighborhood ad hoc by first using an exhaustive search to find the best prediction blocks to include in the subset somehow still achieves the benefits of the local neighborhood search without any description of how. The computations required still represent an exhaustive search for the best subset and the overhead signaling required to differentiate the chosen subset from the total universe of possibilities must be added to the overhead necessary to signal the particular predictor chosen from the subset. This means it is not possible to limit the overhead to just identifying which predictor out of the subset is chosen. Published paragraph [0031] concludes with stating, “Second, the number of predictors that can be associated to each block is limited (e.g. one predictor per block). This means that we are using the same pixel predictor for blocks on different planes, as shown in Fig. 3.” Examiner finds this is the most clearly stated explanation regarding the claimed features, but notes such a feature is not concretely claimed. First, it is clear from reading Applicant’s Specification that Applicant is not predicting pixels per se, but rather blocks of pixels. This is clear from Applicant’s Figs. 2 and 3, which do not show a 5x5 block of pixels, but rather a 5x5 array of pixel blocks. Therefore, Applicant’s savings in terms of overhead is simply using the prediction used for the luma component for the chroma components as well. Examiner recommends concretely claiming this feature in such clear language as that recited in the Specification.
The next paragraph, published paragraph [0032] starts with, “In this scenario…” and then proceeds to explain the amount of overhead in terms of bits per block. The explanation in published paragraph [0032] confirms that a single block predictor for a single color component is used for identifying the prediction block for all color components of the block and that such an approach yields the claimed communication overhead in terms of bits per block.
Because Applicant’s current claim language does not seem to be consistent with the disclosed subject matter, Examiner finds the skilled artisan cannot be reasonably certain of the proper interpretation of the claimed subject matter in light of the Specification. Examiner suggests an interview between Examiner and Applicant may be helpful to find common understanding regarding the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 8–10, and 15–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galpin (US 2021/0120247 A1), Kirchhoffer (US 10,855,999 B2), and Guo (US 2012/0177112 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, and Guo teaches or suggests a method comprising: dividing an input image into a set of blocks, wherein the set of blocks includes a first block including a first group of pixels and a second block including a second group of pixels (Galpin, Fig. 7: illustrates the state-of-the-art video coding technique of dividing an image into blocks; see also Galpin, ¶ 0003: providing a general overview of video compression techniques); determining a communication overhead for each block in the set of blocks, the communication overhead comprising a number of bits per block to express a number of pixel predictors in a set of pixel predictors assigned to each block; determining the number of pixel predictors in the set of pixel predictors using the communication overhead (These limitations are interpreted consistent with Applicant’s published paragraphs [0030]–[0034] wherein it is explained one block predictor is used for every pixel in the block and for each of the color components of the block; Guo, Abstract: teaches intra prediction mode is applied on a block basis; Guo, Fig. 2: teaches the predictors can be chosen from a causal neighborhood comprising the top and left blocks; Guo, ¶ 0021: teaches the intra chroma predictor can be signaled to be the same as the intra luma predictor; Examiner notes Lim, used to reject claim 7 also teaches or suggests these features; Galpin, ¶ 0051: teaches picking a best prediction based on rate distortion cost, i.e. compression performance (communication overhead); see also Galpin, ¶ 0115: teaching a NN is good for finding optimizations; While not relied upon and being viewed as unnecessary to sustain the rejection, Examiner finds Hwang’s teachings also relevant and can be considered an alternative ground of rejection; Hwang, ¶ 0122: teaches a discriminator neural network can be used to evaluate compression performance based on a different set of competing features; see also Hwang, ¶ 0175: teaching better performance can be achieved with different sets of features being used; see also Hwang, ¶¶ 0186–0188: explaining the configurability of the NNs based on features) selecting, for each block of the set of blocks, a pixel predictor from a set of pixel predictors, wherein the pixel predictor is selected base on a residual value associated with each block; determining a plurality of residual values using the selected pixel predictor corresponding to each block of the set of blocks (Examiner finds all of the aforementioned features are generic prior art video coding techniques; Kirchhoffer, Fig. 4, Element 106: teaches a predictor; Kirchhoffer, col. 1, ll. 64–67: teaches prediction generates residuals, which is the difference between the original block and the predicted block; Galpin, ¶ 0003: providing a general overview of video compression techniques; Galpin, ¶ 0052 and Fig. 1, Element 110: teaches residuals fed to a transform, quantization, and entropy coding, said residuals the result of subtracting a prediction from the original signal); generating, by a machine learning model, a set of contexts using the plurality of residual values (Galpin, ¶ 0171: teaches a neural network for entropy coding; Examiner notes Applicant’s ¶¶ 0004 and 0019 appear to define “features” as “properties” and “properties” as “statistics” for the residuals; Examiner chooses Applicant’s ¶ 0004, which explains properties are used for context modeling, to be the interpretation given to this claim; Galpin, ¶ 0076: teaches context modeling; see also Galpin, ¶ 0168; Alternatively, Examiner notes that adaptive coefficient scanning is a prior art technique that appears to read on this limitation); and entropy encoding the set of contexts (Galpin, ¶ 0173: teaches machine learning can be used to context model; Galpin, Fig. 1, Element 145: teaches an entropy coder; Galpin does not appear to explain that the residuals are clustered; Kirchhoffer, col. 28, ll. 47–53: teaches adaptive scanning, which groups residual coefficients to better cluster significant values for more efficient entropy coding; see also Kirchhoffer, col. 23, ll. 16–35: describing sub-regions for context modeling similar residual values for entropy coding).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Galpin, with those of Kirchhoffer, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice image or video compression would be led to their relevant teachings and because Kirchhoffer merely explains a well-known prior art technique of clustering like residuals together prior to entropy coding using adaptive scan patterns. Thus the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, yielding a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Galpin and Kirchhoffer used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Galpin and Kirchhoffer, with those of Guo, because all three references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice image or video compression would be led to their relevant teachings and because Guo merely explains a well-known prior art technique of intra prediction of pixels according to blocks and using the same predictor for each of the color channels. Thus the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, yielding a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, and Guo used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, and Guo teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein a number of pixels in the first group of pixels is different from a number of pixels in the second group of pixels (Galpin, ¶ 0050: teaches the blocks can have different sizes; Kirchhoffer, col. 1, ll. 33–34: also teaches blocks can have different sizes).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, and Guo teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein each pixel in the first group of pixels is different from each pixel in the second group of pixels (Different how?; Galpin, ¶ 0050: teaches the blocks can have different sizes; Galpin, Fig. 7: teaches the blocks are non-overlapping and are in different locations within the image; Examiner notes the plain meaning of this claim is that every pixel in a block must differ from every pixel in another block; One cannot force such a constraint on random input data; If the data is manipulated, then such is obvious as anyone can make any pixel any value they want).
Claim 8 lists the same elements as claim 1, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 9 lists the same elements as claim 2, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 10 lists the same elements as claim 3, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 15 lists the same elements as claim 1, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 16 lists the same elements as claim 2, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 17 lists the same elements as claim 3, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claims 4–6, 11–13, and 18–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Chen (US 2018/0131962 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Chen teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein each pixel predictor of the set of pixel predictors determines predicted pixel values using adjacent pixels (Chen, ¶ 0013: teaches intra prediction can use immediately adjacent pixels as pixel predictors).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Galpin, Kirchhoffer, and Guo, with those of Chen, because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice image or video compression would be led to their relevant teachings and because Chen merely explains as a dictionary-type reference how the skilled artisan would interpret Galpin’s, Kirchhoffer’s, and Guo’s teaching of intra prediction modes. Thus the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, yielding a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Chen used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Chen teaches or suggests the method of claim 4, wherein each block of the set of blocks includes one or more pixels with one or more corresponding pixel values, and wherein selecting, for each block of the set of blocks, the pixel predictor from the set of pixel predictors, further comprises: determining, using a pixel predictor from the set of pixel predictors, the residual value associated with a block by comparing a predicted pixel value for a pixel associated with the block to the pixel value for the pixel associated with the block (Examiner notes this is nothing more than definitional, i.e. the definition of a residual is the difference between the prediction and the actual value of the pixel; Galpin, ¶¶ 0003 and 0050: teaches residuals are the difference between the predicted and original image content).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Chen teaches or suggests the method of claim 5, wherein selecting, for each block of the set of blocks, the pixel predictor from the set of pixel predictors, further comprises: determining, for each block of the set of blocks, an average residual value by averaging the residual value associated with each pixel of the block (Examiner finds the skilled artisan would interpret the average residual value of a block as DC intra prediction according to Cote cited under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action; Chen, ¶¶ 0013 and 0049: teaches DC intra prediction mode in which the prediction is an average of the pixels of the predictor block); and selecting the pixel predictor from the set of pixel predictors for each block of the set of blocks based on a lowest number of bits to express the average residual value of the block (Galpin, ¶ 0051: teaches picking a best prediction based on rate distortion cost, i.e. compression performance; see also Galpin, ¶ 0115: teaching a NN is good for finding optimizations While not relied upon and being viewed as unnecessary to sustain the rejection, Examiner finds Hwang’s teachings also relevant and can be considered an alternative ground of rejection; Hwang, ¶ 0122: teaches a discriminator neural network can be used to evaluate compression performance based on a different set of competing features; see also Hwang, ¶ 0175: teaching better performance can be achieved with different sets of features being used; see also Hwang, ¶¶ 0186–0188: explaining the configurability of the NNs based on features).
Claim 11 lists the same elements as claim 4, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 12 lists the same elements as claim 5, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 13 lists the same elements as claim 6, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 18 lists the same elements as claim 4, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 19 lists the same elements as claim 5, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 20 lists the same elements as claim 6, but in CRM form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Lim (US 2019/0306536 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Lim teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the set of pixel predictors is a first set of pixel predictors, further comprising: selecting a subset of blocks from the set of blocks for a pixel predictor reassignment, wherein the pixel predictor reassignment (Examiner interprets Applicant’s feature drawn to reassignment consistent with published paragraph [0034], which explains the predictor for one color component can be used for another color component or may not be, in which case the predictor can be any predictor; Lim, ¶ 0557–0558: teaches that intra prediction can be applied differently among color planes or the same across color planes; It is noted Guo largely teaches these same features as applied to the independent claim); and selecting, for each block of the subset of blocks, a pixel predictor from a second set of pixel predictors, wherein the second set of pixel predictors are different from the first set of pixel predictors (Examiner interprets Applicant’s feature drawn to reassignment consistent with published paragraph [0034], which explains the predictor for one color component can be used for another color component or may not be, in which case the predictor can be any predictor; Lim, ¶ 0557–0558: teaches that intra prediction can be applied differently among color planes or the same across color planes; It is noted Guo largely teaches these same features as applied to the independent claim).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Galpin, Kirchhoffer, and Guo, with those of Lim, because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice image or video compression would be led to their relevant teachings and because Lim merely explains the state of the art regarding the benefits and tradeoffs of either using the same prediction across color planes for simplicity versus having more accurate predictions for each color plane at the expense of complexity. Thus the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, yielding a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Galpin, Kirchhoffer, Guo, and Lim used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Claim 14 lists the same elements as claim 7, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 7 applies to the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2021/0127116 A1) teaches “a pixel predictor of the coding block” is the result of motion compensation.
Abdoli et al., “Intra Block-DPCM With Layer Separation of Screen Content in VVC,” 2019.
Kim et al., “Improvement of Implicit Residual DPCM for HEVC,” 2014 Tenth International Conference on Signal-Image Technology & Internet-Based Systems, 2014.
Winken (US 2020/0366906 A1) teaches predicting color components using different resolutions (e.g. claim 1).
Cote (US 2017/0214912 A1) teaches that DC intra prediction mode produces a prediction sample by taking the average of adjacent reference samples (¶ 0034).
De Lagrange (US 2023/0045182 A1) teaches that in the art, “neighboring” blocks may be contiguous or noncontiguous (¶ 0065).
Hwang (US 2021/0112261 A1) Hwang, Fig. 3: illustrates a lower resolution image input into a neural network wherein features of the input image are input into neural network learning model; Hwang, ¶ 0021: teaches the neural network utilizing the lower resolution input image can be used for compression wherein the context includes the input image being a lower resolution monochrome image having no color components and the modeled output is a high resolution monochrome image having color added back thereto; Hwang, ¶ 0102: teaches the extracted features of an input image are fed to the output layer of the machine learning model; Hwang, ¶ 0136: teaches the features include a loss or cost or optimization function, which those skilled in the art recognize as the compression evaluation of rate-distortion optimization.
Xu (US 2019/0149827 A1) teaches a lossless pixel prediction method wherein each color channel is inter-related to the other color channels according to an inter-color-channel prediction residue (Abstract and ¶¶ 0025–0027).
Liu (US 2017/0374372 A1) teaches that, conventionally, a palette predictor table included palette predictors using only one table wherein the predictors applied to all color components, rather than separately (¶ 0109).
Liu (US 2017/0353730 A1) teaches that, for intra prediction, each pixel in a block uses the same predictor value (¶ 0009).
Singh (US 2022/0254070 A1) teaches a limited number of pixel predictors used to losslessly code a pixel into a bitstream (¶ 0052).
Henry (US 2022/0046287 A1) teaches a limited set of local predictors for a pixel in a block (¶ 0147).
Yang (US 2014/0098862 A1) teaches that when the luma and chroma intra prediction modes are the same, a replacement mode can be chosen for the chroma component (¶ 0043).
Sasai (US 2013/0016782 A1) teaches intra prediction in which the predictors are from the neighboring top and left blocks and the same predictor is used for both luma and chroma color channels (¶ 0418).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481