DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zuber (US 2014/0373856).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Zuber teaches a method of making an aerosol-generating article (title, abstract), comprising: establishing a porous body (Fig 1, front plug 2, 0026, 0053, ceramic, zeolite) to absorb heat from an electric heating element (heating element 8, 0067, 0068) and emit at least some of the absorbed heat into an airflow that is drawn through the porous body (the front plug 2 made of porous ceramic zeolite absorbs heat from heating element 8 for radiant heating of drawn airflow), the porous body being non-combustible (0026, ceramic, zeolite); and configuring an aerosol-forming substrate (aerosol-forming substrate 7, 0038, 0056, liquid aerosol-forming substrate) to be exposed to the airflow from the porous body; a distal end of the electric heating element being spaced apart (Fig 1, left distal end of heating element 8 covered by collar 9, 0066) from the aerosol-forming substrate (aerosol-forming substrate 7) along a longitudinal length of the aerosol-generating article.
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 18 and 20, Zuber teaches the configuring configures such that the aerosol-forming substrate (aerosol-forming substrate 7) is at least partially retained with a liquid retention medium (0038, alternatively or in addition, the liquid aerosol-forming substrate may be absorbed into a porous carrier material. The porous carrier material may be made from any suitable absorbent plug or body, for example, a foamed metal or plastics material, polypropylene, Terylene (polyethylene terephthalate), nylon fibres or ceramic), the liquid retention medium being directly connected to the porous body (Fig 1, front plug 2 in contact with aerosol-forming substrate 7); the distal end of the electric heating element being spaced apart (Fig 1, left distal end of heating element 8 covered by collar 9, 0066) from the (0038) along the longitudinal length of the aerosol-generating article;
the establishing establishes such that the porous body is on a distal-most end of the aerosol-generating article (Fig 1, front plug 2 located at a distal-most end of smoking article 1, 0053);
further comprising: configuring the porous body (2) to be selectively connectable to an aerosol-generating device, the aerosol-generating device including the electric heating element (aerosol generating device 11, sheath 12, heating element 8, 0062-0065);
the establishing establishes such that the porous body (2) is penetrated by the electric heating element (8), once the porous body is connected to the aerosol-generating device (see figures 1-3, 0064);
the configuring configures such that the aerosol-forming substrate is in a frangible capsule contained within a liquid retention medium (0038, liquid aerosol-forming substrate may be provided in a capsule);
the establishing establishes such that the porous body defines a cavity (Figs 2A, 2B, through-hole 103, 303, 0073-0075) to receive the electric heating element (8), once the porous body is connected to the aerosol-generating device;
the establishing establishes such that the porous body is pierceable (Fig 2, slits 23, 0055) by the electric heating element (8), once the porous body is connected to the aerosol-generating device;
further comprising: configuring the porous body (2) to be selectively connectable to the electric heating (8) element (see figures 1-3, 0064);
the establishing establishes such that the porous body defines a cavity (Figs 2A, 2B, through-hole 103, 303, 0073-0075) to receive the electric heating element (8), once the porous body is connected to the electric heating element;
the establishing establishes such that the porous body is made from at least one material that has a specific heat capacity of at least 0.5 J/g.K at 25 degrees Celsius (Fig 1, front plug 2, 0026, 0053, ceramic, zeolite), the at least one material being at least one of glass fibre, glass mat, ceramic, silica, alumina, carbon, and mineral (0026, ceramic, zeolite).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zuber (US 2014/0373856) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 5, further in view of Irby (US 3,390,686).
With respect to the limitations of claims 6, 7, 18 and 19, Zuber discloses the claimed invention except for the configuring configures such that the aerosol-forming substrate is in a frangible capsule contained within a liquid retention medium; the configuring configures such that the liquid retention medium absorbs at least some of the aerosol-forming substrate, once the frangible capsule is ruptured.
However, Irby discloses the configuring configures such that the aerosol-forming substrate is in a frangible capsule (Fig 2, capsule 13 containing a slurry of carbon particles suspended in treating liquid 15, Col 4, Lines 6-11) contained within a liquid retention medium (sponge 11, Col 4); the configuring configures such that the liquid retention medium absorbs at least some of the aerosol-forming substrate, once the frangible capsule (Col 4, Lines 5-15, when the capsules are ruptured, the released liquid causes the sponge to expand and fill the void left by the ruptured capsules) is ruptured is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the method for making an aerosol-generating article of Zuber having a liquid retention medium silent to a frangible capsule with the configuring configures such that the aerosol-forming substrate is in a frangible capsule contained within a liquid retention medium; the configuring configures such that the liquid retention medium absorbs at least some of the aerosol-forming substrate, once the frangible capsule is ruptured of Irby for the purpose of providing a known capsule, liquid retention medium delivery configuration that releases treating liquid into the liquid retention medium upon rupturing of the capsule (Col 4, Lines 10-15), thereby improving the overall satisfaction of the user.
Claim 21 is also rejected because it is dependent upon rejected claims 1 and 2.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zuber (US 2014/0373856) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5, 14 and 15, further in view of Han (US 2009/0095311).
With respect to the limitations of claims 9 and 16, Zuber discloses the claimed invention except for the establishing establishes such that a first portion of the porous body is between a liquid retention medium and a distal-most end of the electric heating element once the porous body is connected to an aerosol-generating device, the liquid retention medium at least partially containing the aerosol-forming substrate. However, Han discloses the establishing establishes such that a first portion of the porous body is between a liquid retention medium and a distal-most end of the electric heating element once the porous body (Figs 1, 5-8, porous component 8 between liquid storage 9 and heating rod 82) is connected to an aerosol-generating device, the liquid retention medium at least partially containing the aerosol-forming substrate (0070) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the method for making an aerosol-generating article of Zuber having a porous body, liquid retention medium and electric heating element with the establishing establishes such that a first portion of the porous body is between a liquid retention medium and a distal-most end of the electric heating element once the porous body is connected to an aerosol-generating device, the liquid retention medium at least partially containing the aerosol-forming substrate of Han for the purpose of providing a known configuration that rearranges the porous body in a known location that allows for an aerosol to be suitable formed.
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zuber (US 2014/0373856) in view of Han (US 2009/0095311) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5 and 9, further in view of Irby (US 3,390,686).
Claims 10 and 11 are similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claims 6 and 7 above.
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zuber (US 2014/0373856) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 14, further in view of Mironov (WO 2015/176898).
With respect to the limitations of claims 13 and 17, Zuber teaches further comprising: configuring the porous body to be selectively connectable to the electric heating element (Figs 1, 2). Zuber discloses the claimed invention except for the electric heating element being a susceptor. However, Mironov discloses the electric heating element being a susceptor (Fig 1, susceptor 25, Pg 13, Par 1, 2) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the method for making an aerosol-generating article of Zuber having a porous body to be selectively connectable to the electric heating element silent to a susceptor with the electric heating element being a susceptor of Mironov for the purpose of providing a known heater configuration that is inductively heated to a sufficient temperature to form an aerosol within the aerosol-forming substrate (Pg 15, Par 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 16 have been amended.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 7/27/2026 on page 7 of the Remarks with respect to Han (US 2009/0095311) not disclosing the amended claim 1 limitations of “a distal end of the electric heating element being spaced apart from the aerosol-forming substrate along a longitudinal length of the aerosol-generating article” has been considered and is persuasive, therefore the rejection in view of Han has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Zuber (US 2014/0373856) not disclosing the amended limitations of claim 1 directed to “a distal end of the electric heating element being spaced apart from the aerosol-forming substrate along a longitudinal length of the aerosol-generating article” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Zuber fully discloses a distal end of the electric heating element being spaced apart (Fig 1, left distal end of heating element 8 covered by collar 9, 0066) from the aerosol-forming substrate (aerosol-forming substrate 7) along a longitudinal length of the aerosol-generating article.
The applicant has further argued on page 8 about claims 6, 7, 9-11, 13 and 16-19 that Irby and Han fails to disclose the deficiencies of Zuber and claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees because Zuber fully discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 9/14/2026