Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
According to pages 7-8 of 13, Applicant's argument that
, is not persuasive.
It is noted that Pu clearly teaches generate, the sensor input, a context based on a sequence of user interface states of the near-eye display and a previous context ([0106]; FIG. 3 illustrates an example flow diagram 300 of the assistant system 140. In particular embodiments, an assistant service module 305 may access a request manager 310 upon receiving a user input. In particular embodiments, the request manager 310 may comprise a context extractor 312 and a conversational understanding object generator (CU object generator) 314. The context extractor 312 may extract contextual information associated with the user input. The context extractor 312 may also update contextual information based on the assistant application 136 executing on the client system 130…., [0181]; In particular embodiments, the activity context engine 1550 may produce contexts that describe user activities such as walking, running, driving and conversations. A set of machine-learning models may be used to generate such contexts from different combinations of sensor modalities. In particular embodiments, the contexts may reflect continuous activities (e.g., running) instead of transient actions (e.g., waving hands). In particular embodiments, the activity context engine 1550 may be responsible for two types of activities, namely movement activities and conversation activities. The movement contexts corresponding to movement activities may be characterized by a user's moving speed, from low to high. Thus, the continuous activities reads on “sequence of user interface states”, and [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2230, the AR system 500 may determine the context of the first user based on one or more of the one or more sensor signals, a user profile of the first user, or a knowledge graph, wherein the context of the first user is based on one or more of a location associated with the first user, the real-world environment associated with the first user, an activity associated with the first user, or an event associated with the first user.). Thus, Pu teaches the limitation.
According to pages 8-9 of 13, Applicant's argument that
, is not persuasive.
It is noted that Cheng discloses generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context (Cheng- Col. 14 lines 33-53; The infer module 616 comprises the ability to combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618 or from other info agents 620 to compute the information value. This could be based on conversation history between the end user and the virtual assistant platform or some user profile data. That is, if the infer module 618 can infer the information value in decision step 622, then the info agent 608 is done and can output the information value of interest at step 624. For example, Tom asks the virtual assistant, “Can I check my membership status?” If the virtual assistant had already talked to Tom just 30 minutes ago (via some identification mechanism, such as browser cookie or FACEBOOK MESSENGER User ID), and remembers the previous value being tom@gmail.com, the Email Info Agent can automatically infer the information value. Note that since inference doesn't guarantee the value, the info agent can choose to assign a confidence score (or probability score) to indicate how strongly the agent believes the information value. Thus, the limitation “combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618” meets the claiming limitation “generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context”).
According to pages 9-10 of 13, Applicant's argument that
, is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
According to pages 11-12 of 13, Applicant's argument presented in support of claim 2 is persuasive.
According to pages 12-13 of 13, Applicant's arguments presented in support of claims 7, 10 and 12 are not persuasive, because independent claim 1 remains rejected over Pu et al. (US 2022/0374130 A1) in view Cheng et al. (US 10,629,191), and Agarwal et al. (US 10,878,805 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 13-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2022/0374130 A1 hereinafter Pu) in view Cheng et al. (US 10,629,191 hereinafter Cheng), and Agarwal et al. (US 10,878,805 B2 hereinafter Agarwal).
Referring to claim 1, Pu discloses a processor ([0054], Fig. 1; In particular embodiments, a client system 130 may be any suitable electronic device including hardware, software, or embedded logic components, or a combination of two or more such components, and may be capable of carrying out the functionalities implemented or supported by a client system 130. As an example and not by way of limitation, the client system 130 may include a computer system such as a desktop computer, notebook or laptop computer, netbook, a tablet computer, e-book reader, GPS device, camera, personal digital assistant (PDA), handheld electronic device, cellular telephone, smartphone, smart speaker, smart watch, smart glasses, augmented-reality (AR) smart glasses, virtual reality (VR) headset, other suitable electronic device, or any suitable combination thereof.) configured to:
generate a sensor input based on sensor data received from one or more sensors associated with a near-eye display ([0199], Fig. 22; At step 2220, the AR system 500 may access one or more sensor signals associated with the first user, wherein the one or more sensor signals are captured by one or more sensors of the AR system 500, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera, and wherein the one or more sensor signals comprise one or more of a motion signal, a location signal, an audio signal, or a vision signal.);
generate, the sensor input, a context based on a sequence of user interface states of the near-eye display and a previous context ([0106]; FIG. 3 illustrates an example flow diagram 300 of the assistant system 140. In particular embodiments, an assistant service module 305 may access a request manager 310 upon receiving a user input. In particular embodiments, the request manager 310 may comprise a context extractor 312 and a conversational understanding object generator (CU object generator) 314. The context extractor 312 may extract contextual information associated with the user input. The context extractor 312 may also update contextual information based on the assistant application 136 executing on the client system 130…., [0181]; In particular embodiments, the activity context engine 1550 may produce contexts that describe user activities such as walking, running, driving and conversations. A set of machine-learning models may be used to generate such contexts from different combinations of sensor modalities. In particular embodiments, the contexts may reflect continuous activities (e.g., running) instead of transient actions (e.g., waving hands). In particular embodiments, the activity context engine 1550 may be responsible for two types of activities, namely movement activities and conversation activities. The movement contexts corresponding to movement activities may be characterized by a user's moving speed, from low to high. Thus, the continuous activities reads on “sequence of user interface states”, and [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2230, the AR system 500 may determine the context of the first user based on one or more of the one or more sensor signals, a user profile of the first user, or a knowledge graph, wherein the context of the first user is based on one or more of a location associated with the first user, the real-world environment associated with the first user, an activity associated with the first user, or an event associated with the first user.); and
trigger a change in virtual content displayed by the near-eye display ([0199]; At step 2260, the AR system 500 may determine a power state associated with the AR display device, wherein the power state comprises one or more of an off state, a low-battery state, a standby state, a glance state, a locate-based discovery state, an interactive state, a vision-based discovery state, an RGB capture state, a media consumption state, a mute state, a ship mode, or an unconnected state. At step 2270, the AR system 500 may render, for the one or more displays of the AR display device, a second output image comprising the one or more AR objects, wherein one or more of the AR objects are adapted based on the detected change in the context of the first user, the detected change in the intent of the first user, and the power state, wherein adapting the one or more AR objects comprises one or more of adapting a pose of each of the AR objects, adapting a form factor of each of the AR objects, or adapting a transparency each of the AR object.).
However, Pu does not explicitly disclose generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context; and trigger a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition.
In an analogous art, Cheng discloses generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context (Cheng- Col. 14 lines 33-53; The infer module 616 comprises the ability to combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618 or from other info agents 620 to compute the information value. This could be based on conversation history between the end user and the virtual assistant platform or some user profile data. That is, if the infer module 618 can infer the information value in decision step 622, then the info agent 608 is done and can output the information value of interest at step 624. For example, Tom asks the virtual assistant, “Can I check my membership status?” If the virtual assistant had already talked to Tom just 30 minutes ago (via some identification mechanism, such as browser cookie or FACEBOOK MESSENGER User ID), and remembers the previous value being tom@gmail.com, the Email Info Agent can automatically infer the information value. Note that since inference doesn't guarantee the value, the info agent can choose to assign a confidence score (or probability score) to indicate how strongly the agent believes the information value. Thus, the limitation “combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618” meets the claiming limitation “generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Cheng to the system of Pu in order to improve the user experience for multi service conversation scenarios where users might desire to switch topics midstream.
However, Pu in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose trigger a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition.
In an analogous art, Agarwal discloses trigger a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition (Agarwal- Col. 15 lines 42-63, Fig. 10; In block 1006, the prediction system 106 generates a predicted response based on linguistic content of the system prompt, together with contextual features pertaining to a circumstance in which the system prompt was issued, the predicted response corresponding to a prediction of how the user will respond to the system prompt. In block 1008, the prediction system 106 selects one or more dialogue actions from a plurality of dialogue actions, based on a confidence value associated with the predicted response, the confidence value describing a degree of confidence of the predicted response. Block 1010 describes a first dialogue action. It involves feeding the predicted response into the digital assistant as a proxy user response to the system prompt, without outputting the predicted response or the system prompt to the user via an output device. Block 1012 describes a second dialogue action. It involves instructing the digital assistant to send the system prompt to the user via the output device. Block 1014 describes a third dialogue action. It involves sending a confirmation prompt to the user via the output device, the confirmation prompt asking the user to confirm the predicted response, e.g., by confirming the predicted response itself and/or an action that is based on the proposed response.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Agarwal to the system of Pu in view of Cheng in order to enable the wide applicability of the prediction system to different types of digital assistants.
Referring to claim 6, Pu discloses wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors is at the near-eye display (Pu- [0054]; augmented-reality (AR) smart glasses, virtual reality (VR) headset…. and [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2220, the AR system 500 may access one or more sensor signals associated with the first user, wherein the one or more sensor signals are captured by one or more sensors of the AR system 500, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera, and wherein the one or more sensor signals comprise one or more of a motion signal, a location signal, an audio signal, or a vision signal.).
Referring to claim 8, Pu discloses wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera, a microphone, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a biometric sensor, or an eye-gaze detection system (Pu- [0158]; the one or more sensors may comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera.).
Referring to claim 9, Pu discloses wherein the context is generated independent from the sensor data used to generate the sensor input (Pu- [0194]; In particular embodiments, detecting the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment based on the cascaded inference may comprise the following steps. The AR system 500 may first calculate, based on one or more of the unimodal baseline models, a first confidence score associated with the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment. The AR system 500 may then determine whether the first confidence score is greater than a threshold score. Based on the determining of whether the first confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may operate as follows. If the first confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may confirm the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment. Else, the AR system 500 may calculate, based on one or more of the fusion models, a second confidence score associated with the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment. If the second confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may confirm the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment. Thus, the context is generated based confidence score and is independent from the sensor data.).
Referring to claim 13, Pu discloses wherein the processor does not trigger the change in the virtual content displayed by the near-eye display based on the combination of the context and the sensor input failing to satisfy the condition (Pu- [0194]; In particular embodiments, detecting the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment based on the cascaded inference may comprise the following steps. The AR system 500 may first calculate, based on one or more of the unimodal baseline models, a first confidence score associated with the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment. The AR system 500 may then determine whether the first confidence score is greater than a threshold score. Based on the determining of whether the first confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may operate as follows. If the first confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may confirm the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment…. and [0199]; At step 2240, the AR system 500 may detect a change in a context of the first user with respect to a real-world environment based on the one or more sensor signals and a cascaded inference process of the change in the context, wherein the cascaded inference process is based on the one or more sensor signals, wherein the cascaded inference process is determined based on one or more sensor constraints associated with each of the one or more sensors constraining usage of the one or more sensor signals by the cascaded inference process, one or more policies defining one or more configurations of the cascaded inference process, one or more unimodal baseline models, and one or more fusion models, wherein each of the unimodal baseline models is based on one or more motion signals, location signals, audio signals, or vision signals, and wherein each of the fusion models is based on two or more of the motion signals, the location signals, the audio signals, or the vision signals. Thus, when “At step 2240, the AR system 500 may detect a change in a context of the first user with respect to a real-world environment based on the one or more sensor signals and a cascaded inference process of the change in the context”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that at step 2240 that the AR system 500 may not detect a change in a context of the first user with respect to a real-world environment based on the one or more sensor signals and a cascaded inference conditions satisfaction in to prevent from untended user input.
Referring to claim 14, Pu discloses a near-eye display ([0054], Fig. 1; In particular embodiments, a client system 130 may be any suitable electronic device including hardware, software, or embedded logic components, or a combination of two or more such components, and may be capable of carrying out the functionalities implemented or supported by a client system 130. As an example and not by way of limitation, the client system 130 may include a computer system such as a desktop computer, notebook or laptop computer, netbook, a tablet computer, e-book reader, GPS device, camera, personal digital assistant (PDA), handheld electronic device, cellular telephone, smartphone, smart speaker, smart watch, smart glasses, augmented-reality (AR) smart glasses, virtual reality (VR) headset, other suitable electronic device, or any suitable combination thereof.) comprising:
one or more sensors configured to generate sensor data based user gestures ([0199], Fig. 22; At step 2220, the AR system 500 may access one or more sensor signals associated with the first user, wherein the one or more sensor signals are captured by one or more sensors of the AR system 500, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera, and wherein the one or more sensor signals comprise one or more of a motion signal, a location signal, an audio signal, or a vision signal.); and
a processor ([0054], Fig. 1; In particular embodiments, a client system 130 may be any suitable electronic device including hardware, software, or embedded logic components, or a combination of two or more such components, and may be capable of carrying out the functionalities implemented or supported by a client system 130.) configured to:
generate a sensor input based on the sensor data received from the one or more sensors ([0199], Fig. 22; At step 2220, the AR system 500 may access one or more sensor signals associated with the first user, wherein the one or more sensor signals are captured by one or more sensors of the AR system 500, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera, and wherein the one or more sensor signals comprise one or more of a motion signal, a location signal, an audio signal, or a vision signal.);
generate, the sensor input, a context based on a sequence of user interface states of the near-eye display and a previous context ([0106]; FIG. 3 illustrates an example flow diagram
300 of the assistant system 140. In particular embodiments, an assistant service module
305 may access a request manager 310 upon receiving a user input. In particular
embodiments, the request manager 310 may comprise a context extractor 312 and a
conversational understanding object generator (CU object generator) 314. The context
extractor 312 may extract contextual information associated with the user input. The context extractor 312 may also update contextual information based on the assistant
application 136 executing on the client system 130…., [0181]; In particular embodiments,
the activity context engine 1550 may produce contexts that describe user activities such
as walking, running, driving and conversations. A set of machine-learning models may
be used to generate such contexts from different combinations of sensor modalities. In
particular embodiments, the contexts may reflect continuous activities (e.g., running)
instead of transient actions (e.g., waving hands). In particular embodiments, the activity
context engine 1550 may be responsible for two types of activities, namely movement
activities and conversation activities. The movement contexts corresponding to movement activities may be characterized by a user's moving speed, from low to high.
Thus, the continuous activities reads on “sequence of user interface states”…, and [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2230, the AR system 500 may determine the context of the first user based on one or more of the one or more sensor signals, a user profile of the first user, or a knowledge graph, wherein the context of the first user is based on one or more of a location associated with the first user, the real-world environment associated with the first user, an activity associated with the first user, or an event associated with the first user.); and
trigger a change in virtual content displayed by the near-eye display ([0199]; At step 2260, the AR system 500 may determine a power state associated with the AR display device, wherein the power state comprises one or more of an off state, a low-battery state, a standby state, a glance state, a locate-based discovery state, an interactive state, a vision-based discovery state, an RGB capture state, a media consumption state, a mute state, a ship mode, or an unconnected state. At step 2270, the AR system 500 may render, for the one or more displays of the AR display device, a second output image comprising the one or more AR objects, wherein one or more of the AR objects are adapted based on the detected change in the context of the first user, the detected change in the intent of the first user, and the power state, wherein adapting the one or more AR objects comprises one or more of adapting a pose of each of the AR objects, adapting a form factor of each of the AR objects, or adapting a transparency each of the AR object.).
However, Pu does not explicitly disclose generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context; and trigger a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition.
In an analogous art, Cheng discloses generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context (Cheng- Col. 14 lines 33-53; The infer module 616 comprises the ability to combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618 or from other info agents 620 to compute the information value. This could be based on conversation history between the end user and the virtual assistant platform or some user profile data. That is, if the infer module 618 can infer the information value in decision step 622, then the info agent 608 is done and can output the information value of interest at step 624. For example, Tom asks the virtual assistant, “Can I check my membership status?” If the virtual assistant had already talked to Tom just 30 minutes ago (via some identification mechanism, such as browser cookie or FACEBOOK MESSENGER User ID), and remembers the previous value being tom@gmail.com, the Email Info Agent can automatically infer the information value. Note that since inference doesn't guarantee the value, the info agent can choose to assign a confidence score (or probability score) to indicate how strongly the agent believes the information value. Thus, the limitation “combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618” meets the claiming limitation “generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Cheng to the system of Pu in order to improve the user experience for multi service conversation scenarios where users might desire to switch topics midstream.
However, Pu in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose trigger a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition.
In an analogous art, Agarwal discloses trigger a change based on a combination of the
context and the sensor input satisfying a condition (Agarwal- Col. 15 lines 42-63, Fig. 10; In block 1006, the prediction system 106 generates a predicted response based on linguistic content of the system prompt, together with contextual features pertaining to a circumstance in which the system prompt was issued, the predicted response corresponding to a prediction of how the user will respond to the system prompt. In block 1008, the prediction system 106 selects one or more dialogue actions from a plurality of dialogue actions, based on a confidence value associated with the predicted response, the confidence value describing a degree of confidence of the predicted response. Block 1010 describes a first dialogue action. It involves feeding the predicted response into the digital assistant as a proxy user response to the system prompt, without outputting the predicted response or the system prompt to the user via an output device. Block 1012 describes a second dialogue action. It involves instructing the digital assistant to send the system prompt to the user via the output device. Block 1014 describes a third dialogue action. It involves sending a confirmation prompt to the user via the output device, the confirmation prompt asking the user to confirm the predicted response, e.g., by confirming the predicted response itself and/or an action that is based on the proposed response.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Agarwal to the system of Pu in view of Cheng in order to enable the wide applicability of the prediction system to different types of digital assistants.
Referring to claim 15, Pu discloses wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises a camera, a microphone, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a biometric sensor, or an eye-gaze detection system (Pu- [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2220, the AR system 500 may access one or more sensor signals associated with the first user, wherein the one or more sensor signals are captured by one or more sensors of the AR system 500, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera, and wherein the one or more sensor signals comprise one or more of a motion signal, a location signal, an audio signal, or a vision signal.).
Referring to claim 18, Pu discloses wherein the processor does not trigger the change in the virtual content displayed by the near-eye display based on the combination of the context and the sensor input failing to satisfy the condition (Pu- [0194]; In particular embodiments, detecting the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment based on the cascaded inference may comprise the following steps. The AR system 500 may first calculate, based on one or more of the unimodal baseline models, a first confidence score associated with the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment. The AR system 500 may then determine whether the first confidence score is greater than a threshold score. Based on the determining of whether the first confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may operate as follows. If the first confidence score is greater than the threshold score, the AR system 500 may confirm the change in the context of the first user with respect to the real-world environment…. and [0199]; At step 2240, the AR system 500 may detect a change in a context of the first user with respect to a real-world environment based on the one or more sensor signals and a cascaded inference process of the change in the context, wherein the cascaded inference process is based on the one or more sensor signals, wherein the cascaded inference process is determined based on one or more sensor constraints associated with each of the one or more sensors constraining usage of the one or more sensor signals by the cascaded inference process, one or more policies defining one or more configurations of the cascaded inference process, one or more unimodal baseline models, and one or more fusion models, wherein each of the unimodal baseline models is based on one or more motion signals, location signals, audio signals, or vision signals, and wherein each of the fusion models is based on two or more of the motion signals, the location signals, the audio signals, or the vision signals. Thus, when “At step 2240, the AR system 500 may detect a change in a context of the first user with respect to a real-world environment based on the one or more sensor signals and a cascaded inference process of the change in the context”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that at step 2240 that the AR system 500 may not detect a change in a context of the first user with respect to a real-world environment based on the one or more sensor signals and a cascaded inference conditions satisfaction in to prevent from untended user input.
Referring to claim 19, Pu discloses a method comprising:
generating a sensor input based on sensor data received from one or more sensors associated with a near-eye display ([0054]; augmented-reality (AR) smart glasses, virtual reality (VR) headset…. and [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2220, the AR system 500 may access one or more sensor signals associated with the first user, wherein the one or more sensor signals are captured by one or more sensors of the AR system 500, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS sensor, a microphone, or a camera, and wherein the one or more sensor signals comprise one or more of a motion signal, a location signal, an audio signal, or a vision signal.);
generating, the sensor input, a context based on a sequence of user interface states of the near-eye display and a previous context ([0106]; FIG. 3 illustrates an example flow diagram 300 of the assistant system 140. In particular embodiments, an assistant service module 305 may access a request manager 310 upon receiving a user input. In particular
embodiments, the request manager 310 may comprise a context extractor 312 and a
conversational understanding object generator (CU object generator) 314. The context
extractor 312 may extract contextual information associated with the user input. The
context extractor 312 may also update contextual information based on the assistant
application 136 executing on the client system 130…., [0181]; In particular embodiments,
the activity context engine 1550 may produce contexts that describe user activities such
as walking, running, driving and conversations. A set of machine-learning models may
be used to generate such contexts from different combinations of sensor modalities. In
particular embodiments, the contexts may reflect continuous activities (e.g., running)
instead of transient actions (e.g., waving hands). In particular embodiments, the activity
context engine 1550 may be responsible for two types of activities, namely movement
activities and conversation activities. The movement contexts corresponding to
movement activities may be characterized by a user's moving speed, from low to high.
Thus, the continuous activities reads on “sequence of user interface states”…, and [0199], Fig. 22; At step 2230, the AR system 500 may determine the context of the first user based on one or more of the one or more sensor signals, a user profile of the first user, or a knowledge graph, wherein the context of the first user is based on one or more of a location associated with the first user, the real-world environment associated with the first user, an activity associated with the first user, or an event associated with the first user.); and
triggering a change in virtual content displayed by the near-eye display ([0199]; At step 2260, the AR system 500 may determine a power state associated with the AR display device, wherein the power state comprises one or more of an off state, a low-battery state, a standby state, a glance state, a locate-based discovery state, an interactive state, a vision-based discovery state, an RGB capture state, a media consumption state, a mute state, a ship mode, or an unconnected state. At step 2270, the AR system 500 may render, for the one or more displays of the AR display device, a second output image comprising the one or more AR objects, wherein one or more of the AR objects are adapted based on the detected change in the context of the first user, the detected change in the intent of the first user, and the power state, wherein adapting the one or more AR objects comprises one or more of adapting a pose of each of the AR objects, adapting a form factor of each of the AR objects, or adapting a transparency each of the AR object.).
However, Pu does not explicitly disclose generating, in parallel with the sensor input, a context; and triggering a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition.
In an analogous art, Cheng discloses generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context (Cheng- Col. 14 lines 33-53; The infer module 616 comprises the ability to combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618 or from other info agents 620 to compute the information value. This could be based on conversation history between the end user and the virtual assistant platform or some user profile data. That is, if the infer module 618 can infer the information value in decision step 622, then the info agent 608 is done and can output the information value of interest at step 624. For example, Tom asks the virtual assistant, “Can I check my membership status?” If the virtual assistant had already talked to Tom just 30 minutes ago (via some identification mechanism, such as browser cookie or FACEBOOK MESSENGER User ID), and remembers the previous value being tom@gmail.com, the Email Info Agent can automatically infer the information value. Note that since inference doesn't guarantee the value, the info agent can choose to assign a confidence score (or probability score) to indicate how strongly the agent believes the information value. Thus, the limitation “combine the current parsed user input 606 with previously known contextual data from the contextual data store 618” meets the claiming limitation “generate, in parallel with the sensor input, a context”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Cheng to the system of Pu in order to improve the user experience for multi service conversation scenarios where users might desire to switch topics midstream.
However, Pu in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose triggering a change based on a combination of the context and the sensor input satisfying a condition.
In an analogous art, Agarwal discloses trigger a change based on a combination of the
context and the sensor input satisfying a condition (Agarwal- Col. 15 lines 42-63, Fig. 10; In block 1006, the prediction system 106 generates a predicted response based on linguistic content of the system prompt, together with contextual features pertaining to a circumstance in which the system prompt was issued, the predicted response corresponding to a prediction of how the user will respond to the system prompt. In block 1008, the prediction system 106 selects one or more dialogue actions from a plurality of dialogue actions, based on a confidence value associated with the predicted response, the confidence value describing a degree of confidence of the predicted response. Block 1010 describes a first dialogue action. It involves feeding the predicted response into the digital assistant as a proxy user response to the system prompt, without outputting the predicted response or the system prompt to the user via an output device. Block 1012 describes a second dialogue action. It involves instructing the digital assistant to send the system prompt to the user via the output device. Block 1014 describes a third dialogue action. It involves sending a confirmation prompt to the user via the output device, the confirmation prompt asking the user to confirm the predicted response, e.g., by confirming the predicted response itself and/or an action that is based on the proposed response.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Agarwal to the system of Pu in view of Cheng in order to enable the wide applicability of the prediction system to different types of digital assistants.
Referring to claim 20, Pu as modified by Agarwal discloses wherein the condition is a threshold (Agarwal- Col. 5 lines 62-67; In one implementation, the prediction system 106 chooses action (A) whenever the confidence level associated with the predicted response is above a prescribed environment-specific threshold value, indicating that there is a high level of confidence associated with the predicted response. The prediction system 106 chooses action (B) whenever the confidence level associated with the predicted response is below a prescribed environment-specific threshold value, indicating that there is a relatively low degree of confidence associated with the predicted response.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2022/0374130 A1 hereinafter Pu) in view of Cheng et al. (US 10,629,191 hereinafter Cheng), Agarwal et al. (US 10,878,805 B2 hereinafter Agarwal), and Lafreniere (US 2022/0308675 A1 hereinafter Lafreniere).
Referring to claim 7, Pu in view of Cheng, and Agarwal as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors is at a second device that is paired with the near-eye display, wherein the second device is a mobile phone or wearable device.
In an analogous art, Lafreniere discloses wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors is at a second device that is paired with the near-eye display ([Lafreniere- 0147]; Turning to FIG. 11, augmented-reality system 1100 may include an eyewear device 1102 with a frame 1110 configured to hold a left display device 1115(A) and a right display device 1115(B) in front of a user's eyes... and [0148]; In some embodiments, augmented-reality system 1100 may include one or more sensors, such as sensor 1140. Sensor 1140 may generate measurement signals in response to motion of augmented-reality system 1100 and may be located on substantially any portion of frame 1110.), wherein the second device is a mobile phone or wearable device (Lafreniere- [0154]; augmented-reality system 1100 may include or be connected to an external device (e.g., a paired device), such as neckband 1105. Neckband 1105 generally represents any type or form of paired device. Thus, the following discussion of neckband 1105 may also apply to various other paired devices, such as charging cases, smart watches, smart phones, wrist bands, other wearable devices, hand-held controllers, tablet computers, laptop computers, other external compute devices, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Lafreniere to the system of Pu in view of Cheng, and Agarwal in order to adjust the threshold for determining whether to trigger the response to the gesture in a manner that causes the computing system to perform an action that is based on the detected gesture in an efficient manner.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2022/0374130 A1 hereinafter Pu) in view of Cheng et al. (US 10,629,191 hereinafter Cheng), Agarwal et al. (US 10,878,805 B2 hereinafter Agarwal), and Morin et al. (US 2023/0168746 A1 hereinafter Morin).
Referring to claim 10, Pu in view of Cheng, and Agarwal as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the processor applies a corresponding weighted coefficient to at least one of the sensor input or the context, wherein the corresponding weighted coefficient is at least in part based on previous user interactions.
In an analogous art, Morin discloses wherein the processor applies a corresponding weighted coefficient (Morin-[0093]; one or more of the individual scores can be weighted in the calculation of the overall score) to at least one of the sensor input or the context, wherein the corresponding weighted coefficient is at least in part based on previous user interactions (Morin- [0093]; In an embodiment, one or more of the individual scores can be weighted in the calculation of the overall score. In the example, it is assumed that the overall score indicates that the sensor data is unreliable, for example if the overall score is below a given value, which can depend on context such as lighting conditions, gesture speed, etc. Thus, reads on limitation “weighted coefficient to at least one of the sensor input or the context”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Morin to the system of Pu in view of Cheng, and Agarwal in order to effectively estimate the user gesture in the graphical user interface (GUI) of the computing device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2022/0374130 A1 hereinafter Pu) in view of Cheng et al. (US 10,629,191 hereinafter Cheng), Agarwal et al. (US 10,878,805 B2 hereinafter Agarwal), and Sato et al. (US 20180129741 hereinafter Sato).
Referring to claim 12, Pu in view of Cheng, and Agarwal as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the combination of the context and the sensor input comprises computing a first value by adding a value associated with the sensor input and a value associated with the context.
In an analogous art, Sato discloses wherein the combination of the context and the sensor input comprises computing a first value by adding a value associated with the sensor input and a value associated with the context (Sato- [0124]; The relay section 330 performs relay of data between the sections of the home server 300. The relay section 330 adds user information stored in the storage section 310 to local context data received by the sensor communication section 320, so as to generate communication data for the central server 400. The relay section 330 transmits the generated communication data to the central server 400 via the communication control section 340. The relay section 330 adds user information to video data received by the sensor communication section 320, and transmits the resultant to the central server 400 via the communication control section 340.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Sato to the system of Pu in view of Cheng, and Agarwal in order to ensure the security of collected pieces of data.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 11, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 2, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the processor implements a transformer encoder-decoder to generate the context as an output based on inputs comprising: the sequence of user interface states of the near-eye display; and the previous context generated by the transformer encoder-decoder”.
Referring to claims 3-5 are objected upon dependent claim 2.
Referring to claim 11, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the combination of the context and the sensor input comprises computing a first value by multiplying a value associated with the sensor input by a value associated with the context”.
Referring to claim 16, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the processor implements a transformer encoder-decoder to generate the context as an output based on inputs comprising:
the sequence of user interface states of the near-eye display; and
the previous context value generated by the transformer encoder-decoder,
wherein the transformer encoder-decoder comprises an encoder to receive the sequence of user interface states and to generate an encoder output, and a decoder to receive the encoder output and the previous context generated by the transformer encoder-decoder and to generate the context as the output”.
Referring to claim 17 is objected upon dependent claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT D AU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624