DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 10/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/20/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “inverted” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “inverted” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, examiner assumes that the term “inverted trapezoid” refers to a trapezoid with the smaller base side of the trapezoid being oriented closer to a display panel light source and the larger base side of the trapezoid being oriented away from the display panel light source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US 2020/0168838).
Regarding Claim 1, Hong discloses a display device (Fig. 1, light emitting display device 1000, Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 1, display panel 100, Paragraph 0028);
a window above the display panel (Fig. 3B, transparent base 310 of the cover member 300, Paragraph 0028); and
a light control layer (Fig. 3B, 320, 330, and 350 of the cover member 300, Paragraph 0028) between the display panel and the window (Paragraph 0069, lines 11-14), and comprising:
light-blocking members spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3B, light blocking pattern 321 are spaced apart, Paragraph 0057);
a first refractive layer on side surfaces of the light-blocking members to expose upper surfaces of the light-blocking members (Fig. 3B, refractive index matching layers 322 expose the upper surfaces of light blocking patterns 321 (shown towards the bottom of Fig. 3B), Paragraph 0057); and
a second refractive layer on the first refractive layer (Fig. 3B, light transmission part 330, Paragraph 0057), and having a refractive index that is greater than a refractive index of the first refractive layer (Fig. 3B, light transmission part 330 has a refractive index of about 1.5 whereas the refractive index matching layers 322 have a refractive index of 1.3 to 1.45 , Paragraph 0063).
Regarding Claim 2, Hong discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the light-blocking members have a trapezoidal shape in cross section view (Fig. 3B, light blocking patterns 321 have a trapezoidal vertical section, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 5, Hong discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the first refractive layer comprises an inorganic material, and wherein the second refractive layer comprises an organic material (Paragraph 0057, lines 21-25, the index matching layer 322 can be made of LiF or MgF).
Regarding Claim 6, Hong discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the first refractive layer comprises at least one of LiF or MgF (Paragraph 0057, lines 21-25, the index matching layer 322 can be made of LiF or MgF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0168838) in view of Oh et al. (US 2024/0201559).
Regarding Claim 9, Hong discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the light-blocking members have an inverted trapezoidal shape in cross section view.
However, Oh, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the light-blocking members have an inverted trapezoidal shape in cross section view (Fig. 1, light shielding pattern 111 can be an inverted trapezoidal shape, Paragraph 0048, lines 1-6), for the purpose of optimizing the viewing angle of a display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the display device of Hong with the wherein the light-blocking members have an inverted trapezoidal shape in cross section view, of Oh, for the purpose of optimizing the viewing angle of a display.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0168838) in view of Lim et al. (US 2021/0376015).
Regarding Claim 9, Lim discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose further comprising an input-sensing layer between the display panel and the light control layer.
However, Lim, the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising an input-sensing layer between the display panel and the light control layer (Paragraph 0081, the touch sensing unit is between the display panel and the optical member, the optical member being the light control member), for the purpose providing the user a convenient device for controlling the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the display device of Hong with the further comprising an input-sensing layer between the display panel and the light control layer, of Lim, for the purpose of providing a user a convenient device for controlling the display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 3, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a display device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein an inclination angle between the first refractive layer and a plane on which the display panel is located is about 70 degrees or more and about 89 degrees or less.
Specifically, with respect to claim 7, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a display device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising a light-blocking layer between one of the light-blocking members and the first refractive layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pan (US 2024/0349578), Kim et al. (US 2026/0276871), Zeng et al. (US 2026/0314224), Kim et al. (US 2022/0037414), Huang et al. (US 2020/0049864), Bae et al, (US 2022/0013586), Zeng et al. (US 2024/0373715), and Cho et al. (US 2024/0347507) are cited to show similar display devices but do not disclose the allowable subject matter as detailed above.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872