DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 11369897, 10202292 and 11986752 in view of Kjellander (cited in the art rejection), and Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims (except where tubular structure for membranes are recited) are anticipated by the claims of the patent; and wherein tubular structure for membranes is made obvious by Kjellander – the obviousness analysis as in rejection 2 infra.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: ozone generator and electrochemical ozone generator in claims 11 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21: ‘the latent heat chamber’ has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13-15, 17-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ehrenberg et al (US 2010/0170776).
Fig. 14 of Ehrenberg is a schematic showing membrane distillation. The membrane is an ionomer, such as Nafion® membrane, a commercially available membrane from DuPont [0016]. It is supported as taught in [0017] and elsewhere. Specific elements of the membrane properties like equivalent weight and asymmetric are, therefore, anticipated, because applicant has the same membrane. Figure 14 shows a condensing chamber 290 between membrane 110 and condenser surface 294 which is under vacuum, which implies a vacuum source or pump. The feed side is supplied with hot feed (high temperature: heat source in Fig. 13), which implies a heater in the feed side.
The various loops of condenser and heater can be seen in fig. 13, which is self-explanatory. The closed loop latent heat cycle as in claim 18 is clear from figures 16 and 17 in conjunction with fig. 13. Reservoir for the first material (feed) form the circulation loop in figures 16 and 17 with the vacuum assisted embodiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrenberg et al (US 2010/0170776) in view of Hanemaaijer et al (US 6,716,355) and Kjellander (US 4,718,985), and further in view of Hayashi et al (US 6,030,535) and MacCullen et al (US 2017/0073250).
Teaching of Ehrenberg is described in rejection 1 above. Membrane in Ehrenberg is supported, but fails to teach (1) solar heater, (2) tubular membrane arrangement of claims 2-9 and 20, (3) ozone generator, (4) pleated membrane.
Hanemaaijer teaches that solar heating for membrane distillation is known in the art. The reference cited therein, Kjellander (EP 0164326) and published also as US 4,718,985, teaches use of solar heat and membrane distillation device with concentric tubular structure (Kjellander, Fig. 2 copied herein). Hanemaaijer in a similar invention teach the use of circulating feed water through the condensing chamber to preheat the feed and thereby conserve energy. It is also noticeable that Ehrenberg uses the coolant medium to circulate between the condenser and the feed heater to recoup the latent heat from condensation. Directly passing the feed stream as coolant into the condenser would reduce a second coolant stream. Thus it would have been obvious to improve the system of Ehrenberg by using the teachings of Hanemaaijer and for energy efficiency and reducing number of circulating loops.
The concentric tubular structure for membrane distillation taught by Kjellander is seen in the fig. 2 copied herein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the teaching of Kjellander for this purpose because Ehrenberg fails to teach the membrane structure and, therefore, one would resort to the literature to find suitable structures.
The radial order for the various flows in Kjellander is described in col. 2. The order also can be reversed. See lines 25-34.
Regarding the membrane being plated, such structures are well-known and used for the primary purpose of providing increased surface area. MacCullen teaches Nafion® plated membranes for similar applications; the membrane has support layer of PTFE (abstract; [0115]).
Regarding the ozone generator, providing disinfectants to water is known for over a century, and ozone is one of such disinfectants. See Hayashi for such usage of ozone in water treatment. Electrochemical ozone generator is something commercially available, unless otherwise shown.
See KSR lnt'I. v. Teleflex lnc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1732, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1390 (2007). “it is commonsense that familiar items have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes, and a person of ordinary skill often will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle”. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results”.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777