DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al. 2019/0093799 in view of Sugino et al. 2018/0313168.
In regard to claim 1, Sugino et al. ‘799 discloses a threaded connection between an end of a first tubular member having a central axis and an end of a second tubular member having a central axis coaxially aligned with the central axis of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded connection comprises:
a threaded box connector 20 disposed at the end of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded box connector comprises:
a box external shoulder 22;
a box internal shoulder axially spaced from the box external shoulder;
a plurality of internal threads 23 axially positioned between the box external shoulder and the box internal shoulder; and
a box seal surface 21 axially positioned between the internal threads and the box internal shoulder;
a threaded pin connector 10 disposed at the end of the second tubular member and threadably coupled to the threaded box connector, wherein the threaded pin connector comprises:
a pin external shoulder 12 that engages the box external shoulder;
a pin internal shoulder 11 axially spaced from the pin external shoulder 12;
a plurality of external threads 13 axially positioned between the pin external shoulder and the pin internal shoulder, wherein the external threads of the threaded pin connector mate with and threadably engage the internal threads of the threaded box connector; and
a pin nose 11c, 11a, 11b extending axially from the plurality of external threads to the pin internal shoulder, wherein the pin nose includes a pin seal surface 11a that sealingly engages the box seal surface 21 and a major pin nose section 11c extending axially from the external threads to the pin seal surface;
wherein the pin nose has a length Lp-nose (length of D, 11a and L in fig. 3) measured axially from the plurality of external threads to the pin internal shoulder, wherein the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 1.625 in (the length of D, 11a and L is at least 46mm, which equals 1.811 inches. The length is at least 46 mm because 113 and 112 have at a minimum a radius of curvature of 3mm, (see paragraph 97) and D equals 22mm and L equals 18mm (see table 1 in paragraph 119).
Sugino et al. ‘799 discloses a threaded connection as described above, but does not disclose the pin internal shoulder in contact with the box internal shoulder. Sugino et al. ‘168 teaches that providing a similar type of threaded connection either with a pin internal shoulder and box internal shoulder that do not touch (see fig. 1 or 5) or do touch (see fig. 7) is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection of Sugino et al. ‘799 to include a pin interior shoulder an box interior shoulder that are in contact because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 2, wherein the major pin nose section has a length Lp-major (D in fig. 3) measured axially from the external threads 13 to the pin seal surface 11a, wherein the ratio of the length Lp-major to the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 0.25 (see fig. 3 where D is greater than .25 the length of the pin nose and also see table 1 where D is larger than L).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 1.625 in. (the length of D, 11a and L is at least 46mm, which equals 1.811 inches. The length is at least 46 mm because 113 and 112 have at a minimum a radius of curvature of 3mm, (see paragraph 97) and D equals 22mm and L equals 18mm (see table 1 in paragraph 119), but it is unclear if the length of the nose is equal to or less than 3 inches or if the length Lp-Major (D) to the length of the entire pin nose is less than or equal to .75. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-major and the total pin nose length to fit this ratio because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
In regard to claim 4, wherein the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 1.750 in. (the length of D, 11a and L is at least 46mm, which equals 1.811 inches. The length is at least 46 mm because 113 and 112 have at a minimum a radius of curvature of 3mm, (see paragraph 97) and D equals 22mm and L equals 18mm (see table 1 in paragraph 119), but it is unclear if the length of the pin nose is less than or equal to 2.750 in., and wherein the ratio of the length Lp-major to the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 0.30 and less than or equal to 0.60. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-major and the total pin nose length to fit this ratio because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
In regard to claims 5 and 6, it is unclear as to the exact ratio of the length of the pin nose relative to length between the pin shoulders. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-nose be between .1 and .4 the length between the pin shoulders because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
In regard to claims 7 and 8, wherein the pin nose includes a minor pin nose section 11b extending axially from the pin seal surface 11a to the pin internal shoulder, wherein the pin seal surface 11a has a length Lp-seal measured axially from the major pin nose section 11a to the minor pin nose section 11b. It is unclear as to the exact length of the seal surface 11a, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the seal length be at least .625 and less than or equal to 2 inches because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regard to claim 9, wherein the pin nose includes a minor pin nose section 11b extending axially from the pin seal surface 11a to the pin internal shoulder;
wherein the major pin nose section 11c is defined by a first cylindrical surface, the pin seal surface 11a is defined by a frustoconical surface, and the minor pin nose section 11b is defined by a second cylindrical surface;
wherein the pin seal surface 11a slopes radially inwardly moving axially from the major pin nose section 11c to the minor pin nose section 11b (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 10, wherein the pin seal surface 11a is defined by a frustoconical surface oriented at a taper angle a relative to the central axis of the second tubular member, wherein the taper angle a ranges from 4° to 12° (see col. 2 where one angle of inclination value or the sealing surface is 5.3 degrees).
In regard to claim 11, Sugino et al. discloses a threaded connection between an end of a first tubular member having a central axis and an end of a second tubular member having a central axis coaxially aligned with the central axis of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded connection comprises:
a threaded box connector 20 disposed at the end of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded box connector comprises:
a box external shoulder 22;
a box internal shoulder axially spaced from the box external shoulder;
a plurality of internal threads 23 axially positioned between the box external shoulder and the box internal shoulder; and
a box seal surface 21 axially positioned between the internal threads and the box internal shoulder;
a threaded pin connector 10 disposed at the end of the second tubular member and threadably coupled to the threaded box connector, wherein the threaded pin connector comprises:
a pin external shoulder 12 that engages the box external shoulder;
a pin internal shoulder 11 axially spaced from the pin external shoulder 12;
a plurality of external threads 13 axially positioned between the pin external shoulder and the pin internal shoulder, wherein the external threads of the threaded pin connector mate with and threadably engage the internal threads of the threaded box connector; and
a pin nose 11c, 11a, 11b extending axially from the plurality of external threads to the pin internal shoulder, wherein the pin nose includes a pin seal surface 11a that sealingly engages the box seal surface 21 and a major pin nose section 11c extending axially from the external threads to the pin seal surface, and a minor pin nose section 11b extending axially from the pin seal surface 11a to the pin internal shoulder 11;
wherein the pin nose has a length Lp-nose (length of D, 11a and L in fig. 3) measured axially from the plurality of external threads to the pin internal shoulder;
wherein the major pin nose section has a length Lp-major (D) measured axially from the external threads to the pin seal surface 11a;
wherein the ratio of the length Lp-major to the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 0.25 (see fig. 3 where D is greater than .25 the length of the pin nose and also see table 1 where D is larger than L).
Sugino et al. ‘799 discloses a threaded connection as described above, but does not disclose the pin internal shoulder in contact with the box internal shoulder. Sugino et al. ‘168 teaches that providing a similar type of threaded connection either with a pin internal shoulder and box internal shoulder that do not touch (see fig. 1 or 5) or do touch (see fig. 7) is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection of Sugino et al. ‘799 to include a pin interior shoulder an box interior shoulder that are in contact because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claims 12 and 13, wherein the threaded pin connector has a length Lpin measured axially from the pin external shoulder to the pin internal shoulder;
wherein the pin seal surface has a length Lp-seal measured axially from the major pin nose section to the minor pin nose section;
wherein the pin seal surface 11a is defined by a frustoconical surface oriented at a taper angle a relative to the central axis of the second tubular member ;
wherein the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 1.625 in. (the length of D, 11a and L is at least 46mm, which equals 1.811 inches. The length is at least 46 mm because 113 and 112 have at a minimum a radius of curvature of 3mm, (see paragraph 97) and D equals 22mm and L equals 18mm (see table 1 in paragraph 119);
wherein the taper angle a ranges from 5° to 10° (see col. 2 where one angle of inclination value or the sealing surface is 5.3 degrees).
it is unclear as to the exact ratio of the length of the pin nose relative to length between the pin shoulders. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-nose be between .1 and .4 the length between the pin shoulders because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
It is unclear as to the exact length of the seal surface 11a, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the seal length be at least .625 and less than or equal to 2 inches because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
it is unclear if the length of the nose is equal to or less than 3 inches or if the length Lp-Major (D) to the length of the entire pin nose is less than or equal to .75. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-major and the total pin nose length to fit this ratio because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
In regard to claim 14, it is unclear as to the exact ratio of the length of the pin nose relative to length between the pin shoulders. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-nose be between .1 and .3 the length between the pin shoulders because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
wherein the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 1.750 in. (the length of D, 11a and L is at least 46mm, which equals 1.811 inches. The length is at least 46 mm because 113 and 112 have at a minimum a radius of curvature of 3mm, (see paragraph 97) and D equals 22mm and L equals 18mm (see table 1 in paragraph 119), but it is unclear if the length of the pin nose is less than or equal to 2.750 in., and wherein the ratio of the length Lp-major to the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 0.30 and less than or equal to 0.60. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-major and the total pin nose length to fit this ratio because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
It is unclear as to the exact length of the seal surface 11a, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the seal length be at least .625 and less than or equal to 1.5 inches because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regard to claims 15 and 16, wherein the minor pin nose section 11b has a length Lp-minor measured axially from the pin seal surface 11a to the pin internal shoulder 11, wherein the ratio of the length Lp-minor (11b) to the length Lp-major 11c is greater than or equal to 0.10 and less than or equal to 0.50 (see table 1 where L can equal 6 and D can equal 22 and, making the ratio .27).
In regard to claims 17 and 24, Sugino et al. ‘799 discloses a threaded connection between an end of a first tubular member having a central axis and an end of a second tubular member having a central axis coaxially aligned with the central axis of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded connection comprises:
a threaded box connector 20 disposed at the end of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded box connector comprises:
a box external shoulder 22;
a box internal shoulder axially spaced from the box external shoulder;
a plurality of internal threads 23 axially positioned between the box external shoulder and the box internal shoulder; and
a box seal surface 21 axially positioned between the internal threads and the box internal shoulder;
a threaded pin connector 10 disposed at the end of the second tubular member and threadably coupled to the threaded box connector, wherein the threaded pin connector comprises:
a pin external shoulder 12 that engages the box external shoulder;
a pin internal shoulder axially spaced from the pin external shoulder;
a plurality of external threads 13 axially positioned between the pin external shoulder and the pin internal shoulder, wherein the external threads of the threaded pin connector mate with and threadably engage the internal threads of the threaded box connector; and
a pin nose 11c, 11a, 11b extending axially from the plurality of external threads to the pin internal shoulder, wherein the pin nose includes a pin seal surface 11a that sealingly engages the box seal surface 21, a major pin nose section 11c extending axially from the external threads to the pin seal surface 11a, and a minor pin nose section 11b extending axially from the pin seal surface 11a to the pin internal shoulder 11;
wherein the major pin nose section has a length Lp-major (D in fig. 3) measured axially from the external threads to the pin seal surface;
wherein the minor pin nose section has a length Lp-minor (L in fig. 3) measured axially from the pin seal surface to the pin internal shoulder wherein the ratio of the length Lp-minor to the length Lp-major is greater than or equal to 0.10 and less than or equal to 0.50 (see table 1 where L can equal 6 and D can equal 22 and, making the ratio .27).
Sugino et al. ‘799 discloses a threaded connection as described above, but does not disclose the pin internal shoulder in contact with the box internal shoulder. Sugino et al. ‘168 teaches that providing a similar type of threaded connection either with a pin internal shoulder and box internal shoulder that do not touch (see fig. 1 or 5) or do touch (see fig. 7) is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection of Sugino et al. ‘799 to include a pin interior shoulder an box interior shoulder that are in contact because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 18, wherein the pin seal surface 11a is defined by a frustoconical surface oriented at a taper angle a relative to the central axis of the second tubular member, wherein the taper angle a ranges from 5° to 10° (see col. 2 where one angle of inclination value or the sealing surface is 5.3 degrees).
In regard to claim 19, wherein the box seal surface is defined by a frustoconical surface 21 oriented at a taper angle A relative to the central axis of the first tubular member, wherein the taper angle A is the same as the taper angle a (see 21 and 11a in fig. 3 with parallel surfaces).
In regard to claims 20-21, it is unclear as to the exact ratio of the length of the pin nose relative to length between the pin shoulders. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-nose be between .1 and .3 the length between the pin shoulders because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
In regard to claims 22 and 23, it is unclear as to the exact length of the seal surface 11a, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the seal length be at least .625 and less than or equal to 1.5 inches because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. 9,568,125 in view of Saigo et al. 4,984,829.
In regard to claim 25, Yamaguchi et al. discloses (fig. 4) a threaded connection between an end of a first tubular member having a central axis and an end of a second tubular member having a central axis coaxially aligned with the central axis of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded connection comprises:
a threaded box connector 2 disposed at the end of the first tubular member, wherein the threaded box connector comprises:
a box external shoulder (axial end of 2);
a box internal shoulder 24 axially spaced from the box external shoulder;
a plurality of internal threads 21 axially positioned between the box external shoulder and the box internal shoulder;
a box seal surface 23 axially positioned between the internal threads and the box internal shoulder;
a first transition surface (horizontal box surface at 32 between threads 21 and surface 23) extending axially from the internal threads to the box seal surface; and
a second transition surface (horizontal box surface at 50 between 23 and 25 and surface 25) extending axially from the box seal surface 23 to the box internal shoulder 24;
wherein the box seal surface has a length Lb-seal measured axially from the first transition surface to the second transition surface;
a threaded pin connector 1 disposed at the end of the second tubular member and threadably coupled to the threaded box connector, wherein the threaded pin connector comprises:
a pin internal shoulder 14 axially spaced from the pin external shoulder, wherein the pin internal shoulder engages the box internal shoulder 24;
a plurality of external threads 11, wherein the external threads of the threaded pin connector mate with and threadably engage the internal threads of the threaded box aconnector; and
a pin nose 12 extending axially from the plurality of external threads to the pin internal shoulder, wherein the pin nose includes a pin seal surface 13 that sealingly engages the box seal surface, a major pin nose section (horizontal surface near 44) extending axially from the external threads 11 to the pin seal surface 13, and a minor pin nose section (surfaces of 16 and 15) extending axially from the pin seal surface 13 to the pin internal shoulder 14;
wherein the pin seal surface 13 has a length Lp-seal measured axially from the major pin nose section to the minor pin nose section;
wherein the length Lp-seal is greater than the length Lb-seal (see fig. 5);
wherein the pin seal surface extends axially from the box seal surface toward the pin external shoulder and the pin seal surface extends axially from the box seal surface toward the pin internal shoulder (see sloped surface 13 extending past sloped surface 23 in both directions).
Yamaguchi et al. discloses a pin and box connection as described above, but does not disclose the pin having an external shoulder in contact with the box external shoulder.
Saigo et al. teaches that providing a similar type of connection either with (fig. 1) or without (fig. 3) an external mating pin shoulder is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection of Yamaguchi et al. to include a pin exterior shoulder an box exterior shoulder that are in contact because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 26, wherein the box seal surface 23 has a first end axially adjacent the first transition surface and a second end axially adjacent the second transition surface;
wherein the pin seal surface 13 has a first end axially adjacent the major pin nose section and a second end axially adjacent the minor pin nose section;
wherein the first end of the pin seal surface is axially positioned between the pin external shoulder and the first end of the box seal surface, and wherein the second end of the pin seal surface is axially positioned between the pin internal shoulder and the second end of the box seal surface (see sloped surface 13 extending past sloped surface 23 in both directions).
In regard to claim 27, wherein the first transition surface is a cylindrical surface (horizontal box surface at 32 between threads 21 and surface 23), the second transition surface is a cylindrical surface (horizontal box surface at 50 between 23 and 25), and the box seal surface 23 is a frustoconical surface.
In regard to claim 28, wherein the major pin nose section (near 44) is defined by a cylindrical surface, the minor pin nose section 16 is defined by a cylindrical surface, and the pin seal surface 13 is defined by a frustoconical surface 13.
In regard to claims 29 and 30, wherein the threaded pin connector has a length Lpin measured axially from the pin external shoulder to the pin internal shoulder;
wherein the pin nose 12 has a length Lp-nose measured axially from the plurality of external threads 11 to the pin internal shoulder 14;
wherein the major pin nose section has a length Lp-major measured axially from the external threads to the pin seal surface;
wherein the pin seal surface 13 is defined by a frustoconical surface oriented at a taper angle a relative to the central axis of the second tubular member, and
wherein the taper angle a ranges from 5° to 10° (see col. 9, lines 25-26).
It is unclear as to the exact ratio of the length of the pin nose relative to length between the pin shoulders. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-nose be greater than .2 to less than or equal to .3 the length between the pin shoulders because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
It is unclear as to the exact length of the pin nose, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose between 1.75 inches and 2.750 inches because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
It is unclear if the ratio of the length Lp-major to the length Lp-nose is greater than or equal to 0.30 and less than or equal to 0.60. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the nose length Lp-major and the total pin nose length to fit this ratio because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961).
It is unclear as to the exact length of the seal surface 13, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the seal length be at least .75 and less than or equal to 1.5 inches because a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tung, Saigo, Beigneux, Okada, Enderle, Kawai and Inose disclose similar couplings that are common and well known in the art.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679