Detailed Action
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 8/3/2026 where claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination
The Examiner has reviewed the Applicant’s arguments submitted on 8/3/2026 in their entirety (Pages 7 -14). Applicant’s arguments are moot based on new prior art rejections comprising Zhang (US 2024/0409393) and/or Kim (US 20040061619).
Kim and Zhang both address port state and/or detection of physical movement as required by then newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crossland (US 2023/0224213) in view of Zhang (US 2024/0409393 )
Regarding claim 1. Crossland discloses a processor comprising:
one or more processing circuits to (Crossland;
see e.g. [0026] “... processor 118 ...”
The Examiner notes a processor inherently comprises processing circuitry implanted in to realize functionality ):
determine a change in a port state for a network connection (Crossland; Crossland teaches whether or note policy changes should occur after a port state change which inherently requires determining that a port state change has occurred in order to subsequently perform the policy evaluation
see e.g. [0027] “ ... or whether a different, default policy should be applied to the port after a change in the port state ...” );
update one or more rules, associated with a datapath, for traffic associated with the network connection, based on the change (Crossland; Crossland teaches the modification and/or updating policies (i.e. rules) based on the change; The Examiner notes polices are equivalent to rules and impact the datapath of traffic.
see e.g. [0027] “ ... Policy and configuration data 124 may include policies or settings that may be applied to the ports 114a-114h to configure the network switch 102. A policy may generally include a port behavior and parameters. Port behavior is generally how a port handles traffic, such as whether the port is a single-endpoint port bridged onto a VLAN or a multi-endpoint trunked port. Parameters may include a VLAN parameter (e.g., which VLAN the port is bridged onto) ... or whether a different, default policy should be applied to the port after a change in the port state ...”); and
cause the traffic to be transmitted based on the updated one or more rules (Crossland; Per the policy in [0027] network traffic is transmitted based on the change of policy and/or rules
“... Policy and configuration data 124 may include policies or settings that may be applied to the ports 114a-114h to configure the network switch 102. A policy may generally include a port behavior and parameters. Port behavior is generally how a port handles traffic, such as whether the port is a single-endpoint port bridged onto a VLAN or a multi-endpoint trunked port ...”).
Crossland does not expressly disclose:
determine a change in a port state for a network connection associated with a detected physical movement of an optical port selector between a first port and a second port;
Zhang discloses:
determine a change in a port state for a network connection associated with a detected physical movement of an optical port selector between a first port and a second port (Zhang; Zhang discloses that controlling the angles of the individual MEMS mirrors establishes the optical connection mapping between the ports of the two optical fiber arrays, and that different mirror configurations establish different port mappings ([0046] – [0047]). In particular, actuating the MEMS mirrors to different angles changes the switch connection configuration, e.g., from a configuration in which port 2 is connected to port 2 to a configuration in which port 2 is connected to port N ([0047]). Thus the port state of the optical connection changes because the port participating in the connection changes from one port mapping to another.
Zhang further discloses monitoring the rotation angle of each MEMS mirror with an angle sensor and providing the resulting angle-sensor data to the mirror angle control system ([0054]), wherein the “the rotation angle of each MEMs mirror .. can be controlled to the specific value that established the desired optical connection mapping between the two optical fiber arrays” ([0054]). The physical mirror movement and rotation are determined from the sensor measurements ([0063]). Accordingly, the monitored /detected physical position of the MEMs optical port-selecting mirror identifies the optical the optical connection mapping established by that mirror position; a detected change in mirror position from the position establishing the first port mapping to the position establishing the second port mapping therefore determines a change in the port state for that optical connection)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Regarding claim 7, Crossland discloses the processor of claim1, wherein the one or more processing circuits are associated with a network resource or a network interface controller (Crossland ([0027]); teaches configuration data applied to the switch ports, which are network resources used to control traffic flow)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crossland in view of Zhang and in further view of Ran (US 9906401)
Regarding claim 2, Crossland in view of Zhang disclose the processor of claim 1, Crossland does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to:
clone the one or more rules, where the update to the one or more rules is applied to the cloned one or more rules.
The Examiner has interpreted cloning as duplication
However in analogous art Ran discloses:
clone the one or more rules, where the update to the one or more rules is applied to the cloned one or more rules (Ran; Ran teaches within the context of SDN a de-duplication traffic rules within a software defined network (SDN) framework. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a complementary duplication (or cloning policy) within the same SDN policy structure, since duplication and de-duplication are inverse configurations of a shared rule management mechanism, and both yield predictable control of rule redundancy and synchronization, consistent with MPEP 2144.04)
claim 13. The method of claim 8, wherein the traffic policy includes a filtering policy, a slicing policy, a masking policy, a de-duplication policy, a compression policy, or a combination thereof.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ran’s policies. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Claims 3 - 5 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crossland in view of Zhang and in further view of Veeraiyan (US 9736211)
Regarding claim 3, Crossland in view of Zhang discloses The processor of claim 1, Crossland does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to:
select the second port (The combined solution per Zhang as detailed in Independent Claim 1); and
cause the port selector to change a physical connection from the first port to the second port(The combined solution per Zhang as detailed in Independent Claim 1;
see e.g. Zhang [0045] – [0047], [0054], [0063]).
Crossland does not expressly disclose:
determine the change in the port state is associated with a first port failure
Veeraiyan discloses:
determine the change in the port state is associated with a first port failure (Veeraiyan; Veeraiyan discloses monitoring traffic and thresholds on virtual switch ports ([0022]) . When utilization ona sport falls below a threshold the load balancer module instructs the NIC to de-allocate the receive queue for that port – functionally indicting the port is no longer active or has failed. Thus Veeraiyan contemplates a change in port t state that corresponds to a failure condition);
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Veeraiyan’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 4, Crossland in view of Zhang and in further view of Veeraiyan disclose The processor of claim 3, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to: receive a confirmation the network connection associated with the second port is active (The combined solution per Veeraiyan ([0022]).teaches that the controller monitors port level traffic and issues allocation commands only after detecting active traffic flow on a port, thereby confirming that the network connection associated with the second port is active.)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 5, Crossland in view of Zhang and in further view of Veeraiyan disclose the processor of claim 4, wherein the one or more rules are updated after the confirmation is received (Crossland; Crossland([0027] shows that new polices or rules are supplied following detection of a communication event that changes port state, thus the rules are updated after the communication is received).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crossland in view of Zhang and in further view of Casado (US 2024/0259265)
Regarding claim 6, Crossland in view of Zhang disclose the processor of claim 1, Crossland strongly suggests but does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to:
update a connection table associated with the datapath after the traffic is transmitted based on the updated one or more rules.
However in analogous art Casado discloses:
update a connection table associated with the datapath after the traffic is transmitted based on the updated one or more rules (Casado ([0332]) describes updating output (connection tables) that define datapath flow entries in response to network or port changes. This directly contemplates updating a connection table associated with the Datapath after traffic forwarding conditions have changed.)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Casado’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Claims 8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Veeraiyan (US 9736211) and in view of Otani (US 20210320885) and in further view of Zhang (US US 20240409393)
Regarding claim 8. Veeraiyan discloses a network system, comprising:
a network interface controller (NIC) having two or more ports (Veeraiyan; Veeraiyan teadches PNIC 322 serves as the network interface controller as it manages multiple ports and corresponding receive queues;
see e.g. Column 5, Lines 34-51” In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, host 102 includes a PNIC 322. Within virtualization software 104 are a load balancer module 328, a virtual switch 326, and VXLAN module 106. PNIC 322 facilitates a number of receive queues 324. In general, load balancer module 328 monitors the traffic on the ports on virtual switch 326 that are coupled to VMs ... if the traffic on a port on virtual switch 326 falls below the threshold, load balancer module 328 can instruct PNIC 322 to de-allocate the corresponding receive queue. Note for packets whose MAC DA/VLAN tag combination does not match any receive queue, PNIC 322 provides a default queue to store such packets. “); and
a controller including one or more processing circuits, to: determine a first status of a first port of the two or more ports has a threshold value (Veeraiyan; Veeraiyan teaches the monitoring of traffic statistics on each port of the virtual switch and determines when the measured value cross a threshold triggering allocation or deallocation of recive queues , this show the controller determines the port’s status relative to a threshold value;
Column 5, Lines 34-51” In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, host 102 includes a PNIC 322. Within virtualization software 104 are a load balancer module 328, a virtual switch 326, and VXLAN module 106. PNIC 322 facilitates a number of receive queues 324. In general, load balancer module 328 monitors the traffic on the ports on virtual switch 326 that are coupled to VMs ... if the traffic on a port on virtual switch 326 falls below the threshold, load balancer module 328 can instruct PNIC 322 to de-allocate the corresponding receive queue. Note for packets whose MAC DA/VLAN tag combination does not match any receive queue, PNIC 322 provides a default queue to store such packets. “;
establish a connection to a network using the second port of the two or more ports (Veeraiyan; Veeraiyan teaches when the controller detects that traffic on a monitored port falls below a threshold, the load balancer reallocates or deallocates the corresponding qeues and directs subsequent traffic through another available port on the virtual switch. This operation effectively establishes a network connection using a second port of the two or more ports managed by the network interface controller;
see e.g. Column 5, Lines 34-51);
Veeraiyan does not expressly disclose:
a port selector coupled to the two or more points;
provide a signal to the port selector to switch a connection from the first port to a second port of the two or more ports;
update one or more rules for traffic associated with the NIC to transmit data using the second port.
However in analogous art Otani discloses:
update one or more rules for traffic associated with the NIC to transmit data using the second port.(Otani; Otani teaches a threshold table which links performance thresholds with policy values (i.e. rules), showing tha when a threshold condition changes, the controller updates the applied policy or rule governing traffic transmission through the corresponding port)
[0114] In the threshold value table 77, a value “50 Gbps” is associated with an attribute “performance threshold value” (to be described below) as a policy, a value of “0.5” is associated with an attribute “first suitability threshold value” (to be described below), and a value “0.5” is associated with an attribute “second suitability threshold value” (to be described below), as illustrated in FIG. 12.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Veeraiyan in view of Otani does not expressly disclose:
a port selector coupled to the two or more points;
provide a signal to the port selector to switch a connection from the first port to a second port of the two or more ports;
Zhang discloses:
a port selector coupled to the two or more points (Zhang; Zhang teaches a ports selector realized by directing the optical connection between selected ports;
see e.g. Fig. 5
see e.g. [0045] – [0047]);
provide a signal to the port selector to switch a connection from the first port to a second port of the two or more ports (Zhang; Zhang’s mirror control system 512 provides control signals that actuate the MEM mirrors, changing the optical path and thereby switching the connection to the selectin port.
see e.g. Fig. 5
see e.g. [0045] – [0047]
see e.g. [0054]);
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Regarding claim 10. Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose the network system of claim 8, wherein the controller is associated with firmware of the NIC (.Veeraiyan shows the controller executing port management functions directly through the PNIC hardware that facilitates receive queues ;these operations occur at the hardware control layer, indicating the controller is implemented as firmware of the network interface controller)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 11, Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose the network system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to: receive confirmation that a second status of the second port of the two or more ports has a second threshold value (in Veeraiyan, the controller monitors traffic statistics for each port and allocates or reallocates receive queues when the measured values cross a threshold, thereby determining and validating the ports current state. Each port is evaluated against its own threshold condition, thus when control transitions to a second port, the controller measures and confirms that the second port’s traffic metrics satisfy a second a second independent threshold value. Otani teaches associating specific numeric thresholds with policy or performance attributes. Together these efferences show that once the second port’s monitored metrics meet a defined threshold condition, the controller receives confirmation that the port satisfies a second threshold value .
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 12. Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose the network system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to:
select the second port based on one or more connection parameters.(In Veeraiyan, the load balancer monitors connection characteristics such as traffic volume and queue utilization for each port and when thresholds are met, directs subsequent connections through another available port. This demonstrates that the processing circuits select the second port based on connection parameters)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 13, Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose The network system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to:
select a third port of the two or more ports before the second port (Veeraiyan teaches that the controller monitors multiple ports managed by the PNIC and attempts to allocate or direct traffic through an available port based on traffic and threshold conditions; this demonstrates selecting a third port of the two or more ports before the second port);
determine the connection to the network, using the third port, is unsuccessful; and select the second port (Veeraiyan taches reallocating or deallocating queues when a port’s traffic falls below a threshold or the connection fails, thereby determining that the connection using the third port is unsuccessful and selecting another available port – namely the second port – to continue transmission. Otani reinforces this behavior by linking threshold evaluations with policy based port reassignment decisions)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 14, Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose the network system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to: determine a subset of the one or more rules includes an identifier associated with the first port(In Veeraiyan, each port of the virtual switch is managed by the controller, and each queue entry is indexed to tis corresponding port. When reallocating or modifying queues, the controller references the affected rules by that port index, thereby determining a subset of the rules that include an identifier associated with the irst port).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Regarding claim 15, Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose the network system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further to:
determine a priority for a first rule of the one or more rule associated with the traffic(Veeraiyan teaches that the controller changes multiple receive queues associated with different ports and distributes packets among them based on measured traffic conditions, this operation requires the controller to determine a priority for each rule governing the traffic flow so that packets are not randomly assigned); and
responsive to the first status having the threshold value, assign a lower priority to the first rule (When the monitored status of the first port satisfies the threshold value indicating reduced utilization, the controller adjusts traffic distribution by assigning a lower priority to the first rule associated with that port, thereby directing traffic toward other ports with higher active priority).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang and in further view of Mizrahi et al. “Tme4:Time for SDN:, February 2016
Regarding claim 9, Veeraiyan in view of Otani and in further view of Zhang disclose The network system of claim 8, Veeraiyan does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more rules are updated faster than a threshold period of time corresponding to a link breakup time for the network.
However in analogous art Mizrahi discloses:
wherein the one or more rules are updated faster than a threshold period of time corresponding to a link breakup time for the network.(Mizrahi; Mizrahi teaches that for voice and video traffic, a frame loss ration limits service interruption to no more than approximately six milliseconds per minute. It further states that path reconfiguration in an SDN environment must occur within this short interval to prevent disruption. Accordingly the controller updates the network rules within a period of a few milliseconds which is faster than the threshold period of time corresponding to the link break up or service interruption time,
see e.g. Section B, Page 1, Column 2, Page 2, Column 1)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mizrahi’s network attributes. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of provisioning services.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Otani’s policy/rule elements. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Therefore it would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic
Claims 16 -18 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Madalika (US 11,671,429 B1) in view of Casado (US 2024/0259265) and in further view of Gulati (US 7,330,425)
Regarding claim 16, Madalika discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving a signal indicative of a first port status (Madalika; Madalika teaches determining the availability of connection points, including ports, for establishing network connections. In determining whether a port is available, the system obtains information indicating the port’s operational condition. That information identifies whether the port can participate in an interconnection and therefore provides an indication of the first port’s status. Accordingly, the availability information used by Madalika to determine whether the first port can support an interconnection satisfies obtaining a signal indicative of a first port status;
see e.g. Column 7, Lines 12 - 17)
causing, responsive to the signal, traffic transmitted using a first port associated with the first port status to halt (Madalika; Madalika does not expressly disclose this feature however it would have been obvious to discontinue forwarding through a port determined to be unavailable and instead direct traffic through an available port, because continuing to transmit through an unavailable connection point would defeat the purpose of selecting an available interconnection;
see e.g. Column 7, Lines 12 - 17);
selecting a target port (Madalika; Madalika teaches selecting available connection points to satisfy an interconnection request. The selected connection point is the target port because it identifies the port through which the requested network interconnection is to be established. Thus, Madalika’s selection of an available connection point performs the claimed target -port selection));
determining a network connection to a target port is established (Mandalika; Mandalika teaches determining whether connection ports (i.e. target port(s)) are active or available and selects appropriate interconnections through a switch fabric;
see e.g. Column 7,Lines 12 - 17 “...In one example, portal 3 determines that a connection point (e.g., a port) to customer network 6A and connection point (e.g., a port) to customer network 6B is not in use or reserved and is thus available to satisfy interconnection order 11...” );
The Examiner notes the technological framework presented above may be executed within an environment supported by Software Defined Networking (see e.g. Column 8, Lines 6 11)
Although Mandalika discloses the determination of connection port status and Software Defined Networking (SDN) which provides for polices and/or rules for the configuration of network element attributes (e.g. ports), Mandalika does not expressly teach the conventional steps of:
identifying, within a software defined datapath, one or more rules associated with a first port;
generating, for the software defined datapath, one or more updated rules replacing the one or more indicators referring to the first port with the one or more second indicators referring to the target port; and
causing transmission along the network connection according to the one or more updated rules in a period of time less than a link breakup time.
However in analogous art Casado discloses:
identifying, within a software defined datapath, one or more rules associated with a first port (Casado; Canada within the context of Software Defined Networking (i..e supports software defined datapath_ teaches a rules engine reads the input tables that identify port-specific information to populate flow entries; Thus it identifies within a software defined datapath, the rules associated with each (e.g. first port);
see e.g. [0332]) “The rules engine 3115 is similar to the rules engine 1925 described above by reference to FIG. 19. The rules engine 3115 of different embodiments performs different combinations of database operations on different sets of RE input tables to populate and/or modify different sets of output tables 3120. For instance, the rules engine 3115 modifies logical datapaths specified in the output table 3140 when the input table 3135 is changed to indicate that a port of a logical switch is enabled for port security. The output table 3140 includes flow entries and/or logical datapaths that specify the actions for the logical switch to perform on the network data sent from one port to another of the logical switch. The output table 3140 may be a result of several table joins and selects performed by the rules engine 3115 on a set of input tables as well as functions and constants. In addition to the input table 3135, the rules engine 3115 may use other input tables as well as functions and constants in order to modify the output table 3140. Other input tables may include tables that store the data link layer addresses (e.g., MAC addresses, etc.) of the ports of the logical switch and tables that store the network layer addresses (e.g., IP addresses, etc.) of the ports. Other input tables may also include tables that store VIF addresses and tables that store PIF addresses of the ports”
see e.g.[0003] “In response, there is a growing movement, driven by both industry and academia, towards a new network control paradigm called Software-Defined Networking (SDN). In the SDN paradigm, a network controller, running on one or more servers in a network, controls, maintains, and implements control logic that governs the forwarding behavior of shared network switching elements on a per user basis. Making network management decisions often requires knowledge of the network state. To facilitate management decision making, the network controller creates and maintains a view of the network state and provides an application programming interface upon which management applications may access a view of the network state”)
causing transmission along the network connection according to the one or more updated rules (Casado; Casado teaches the updated flow entries define how traffic is forwarded between ports, thus the controller causes transmission of network data along the connection in accordance with the updated tables;
see e.g. [0332]
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Casado’s SDN scheme. The motivation being the combed solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
The examiner notes the scenario described above represents only one example use case within software defined networking, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that any network element attributes , including those of a prior or target ort could be modified in the same manner. Such functionality reflects the ordinary and expected flexibility of software defined networking architectures , which inherently permit dynamic modification of flow-table or port attributes by design; therefore , the claimed subject matter does not amount to anything more than the predictable use of known SDN principles to chive their expected result.
Madalika in view of Casado discloses:
generating, for the software defined datapath, one or more updated rules replacing the one or more indicators referring to the first port with the one or more second indicators referring to the target port ( The combined solution of Madalika and Casado provides for selecting and available target port using Madalika’s port-selection functionality (Col. 7, Lines 12-17) and using Casado’s rules engine to generate updated flow entries based on that selected port ([0332]). The updated entries replace the first -port identifying information used for forwarding with information identifying the selected target port, thereby changing the forwarding destination from the first port to the target port. Accordingly, Madalika supplies the selected target port, and Casado supplies the mechanism for generating the updated forwarding rules )
Madalika in view of Casado does not expressly disclose:
according to the one or more updated rules in a period of time less than a link breakup time.
Gulati discloses:
according to the one or more updated rules in a period of time less than a link breakup time (Gulati; Gulati teaches rules associated with a teardown time for connections within the context of halting and switching connections for network traffic;
see e.g. Column 5, Lines 3-9” and protection lines connected to node 200 and controls switching functions for data traffic on a failed line to a corresponding protection line. APS 232 may include a linear APS engine that operates to directly replace a failed working line with a protection line in the same span.”
See e.g. Column 6, Lines 7-27 A permanent SNC (P-SNC) defines a hybrid of a permanent and sub-network connection. A P-SNC is characterized as being permanent in that, upon failure, the SNC is not torn down immediately and the resources associated therewith are not deallocated. However, the P-SNC can be set up and torn down with signaling. A timer (e.g., timer block 251 in signaling unit 250) is associated with each P-SNC. The timer defines an amount of time that may expire prior to the tear down of a given connection after a failure. Accordingly, a P-SNC is temporary in that, after the timer expires, the connection can be torn down and resources reallocated as appropriate. A P-SNC entry in the path specification table 260 can include a field that specifies the time out associated with tear down of the given P-SNC. Signaling unit 250 can initialize, at the detection of a failure along the P-SNC connection, a timer with a value as specified in the path specification table for a given P-SNC connection. After the time out has expired, signaling unit 250 can tear down the route and de-allocate the resources dynamically without requiring the manual reconfiguration in nodes along the path defined by the route.
Column 6, Line 55 – Column 7, Lines 4 Referring now to FIG. 4, a method for deallocating resources in a P-SNC includes detecting a failure in the path between an ingress and egress nodes (402). The failure can be of the form of an explicit tear down instruction. In the case of P-SNCs, the resources can also be automatically deallocated, for example, in the event of a network failure that lasts beyond a certain, predefined period of time. In the event of a network failure, a timer associated with the P-SNC is initiated (404). The timer can be of the form of a count-up or countdown timer. A check is made to determine if a predetermined time-out period associated with the failed P-SNC has expired (406). If not, then a check is made to determine if the fault condition is still true (i.e., the failure has not been cured) (408). If the fault is still true, then the process continues at step 406. If the fault is not true (i.e., cured) then the process ends without a deallocation of resources)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gulati’s timer associated with teardowns. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of dynamically provisioning network traffic. Moreover one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and adjusting the timeout period constitutes a predictable design optimization to accommodate transmission over the alternative connection before teardown of the original connection, thereby maintaining traffic continuity (See KSR and MPEP 2144.05 (II), optimization of a result effective variable.
Regarding claim 17, Mandalika in view of Casado and in further view of Gulati disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the generating the one yr more updated rules is a firmware operation associated with a network interface controller(Because the controller executes these modifications at the hardware control layer that governs port behavior, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the rule generation logic is implemented in firmware instructions executed by the network controller’s processing circuitry—functionally equivalent to firmware in a network interface controller that programs forwarding rules and port mappings. Thus, generating the updated rules a firmware operation associated with the network interface controller;
See e.g. [0332]
See e.g. [0377] In this specification, the term “software” is meant to include firmware residing in read-only memory or applications stored in magnetic storage, which can be read into memory for processing by a processor. Also, in some embodiments, multiple software inventions can be implemented as sub-parts of a larger program while remaining distinct software inventions. In some embodiments, multiple software inventions can also be implemented as separate programs. Finally, any combination of separate programs that together implement a software invention described here is within the scope of the invention. In some embodiments, the software programs, when installed to operate on one or more electronic systems, define one or more specific machine implementations that execute and perform the operations of the software programs)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gulati’s timer associated with teardowns. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of dynamically provisioning network traffic. Moreover one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and adjusting the timeout period constitutes a predictable design optimization to accommodate transmission over the alternative connection before teardown of the original connection, thereby maintaining traffic continuity (See KSR and MPEP 2144.05 (II), optimization of a result effective variable.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Casado’s SDN scheme. The motivation being the combed solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Regarding claim 18, Mandalika in view of Casado and in further view of Gulati disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 16, further comprising: deactivating the one or more rules (When the input table is updated, the controller rewrites the output table flow entries – removing or invalidating the prior rules and inserting the modified ones that define the new forwarding actions, A person of ordinary skill would recognize this as deactivating the former rules and activating the updated rules within the software defined datapath
See e.g. [0332]));
and activating the one or more updated rules(When the input table is updated, the controller rewrites the output table flow entries – removing or invalidating the prior rules and inserting the modified ones that define the new forwarding actions, A person of ordinary skill would recognize this as deactivating the former rules and activating the updated rules within the software defined datapath
See e.g. [0332]));
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gulati’s timer associated with teardowns. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of dynamically provisioning network traffic. Moreover one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and adjusting the timeout period constitutes a predictable design optimization to accommodate transmission over the alternative connection before teardown of the original connection, thereby maintaining traffic continuity (See KSR and MPEP 2144.05 (II), optimization of a result effective variable.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Casado’s SDN scheme. The motivation being the combed solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Regarding claim 20, Mandalika in view of Casado and in further view of Gulati disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the target port is selected by a port selector (The combined solution per Casado within the context of SDN teaches the controller’s rules engine determines, through its flow entry logic, which output port will forward each packet, this flow entry mapping function as a port selector within the software defined datapath. Accordingly, the target port is selected by the controller’s inherent port selection mechanism defined in the flow table;
See e.g. Casado [0332]))
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gulati’s timer associated with teardowns. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of dynamically provisioning network traffic. Moreover one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and adjusting the timeout period constitutes a predictable design optimization to accommodate transmission over the alternative connection before teardown of the original connection, thereby maintaining traffic continuity (See KSR and MPEP 2144.05 (II), optimization of a result effective variable.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Casado’s SDN scheme. The motivation being the combed solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mandalika in view of Casado and in further view of Gulati and in further view of Knechtel (US 2019/0034285)_
Regarding claim 19, Mandalika in view of Casado and in further view of Gulati discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 18, Mandalika does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more updated rules are a cloned version of the one or more rules
The examiner notes the term “closed version” has been interpreted as a “sand box” or “isolate” version
However in analogous art Knechtel discloses:
cloned version of the one or more rules (Knechtel;
see e.g. [0032] “... instantiating a “sand box” rule engine ...)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Knechtel’s sand box rules engine. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased security of the SDN platform.
Mandalika in view of Casado and in further view of Gulati and in further view of Knechtel disclose
wherein the one or more updated rules are a cloned version of the one or more rules (The combined solution provides for implementing the updated rules as detailed in the independent claim with Knechtel’s sand box scheme).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gulati’s timer associated with teardowns. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of dynamically provisioning network traffic. Moreover one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and adjusting the timeout period constitutes a predictable design optimization to accommodate transmission over the alternative connection before teardown of the original connection, thereby maintaining traffic continuity (See KSR and MPEP 2144.05 (II), optimization of a result effective variable.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Casado’s SDN scheme. The motivation being the combed solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Crossland (US 20230224213) in view of Kim (US 20040061619)
Regarding claim 1. Crossland discloses a processor comprising:
one or more processing circuits to (Crossland;
see e.g. [0026] “... processor 118 ...”
The Examiner notes a processor inherently comprises processing circuitry implanted in to realize functionality ):
determine a change in a port state for a network connection (Crossland; Crossland teaches whether or note policy changes should occur after a port state change which inherently requires determining that a port state change has occurred in order to subsequently perform the policy evaluation
see e.g. [0027] “ ... or whether a different, default policy should be applied to the port after a change in the port state ...” );
update one or more rules, associated with a datapath, for traffic associated with the network connection, based on the change (Crossland; Crossland teaches the modification and/or updating policies (i.e. rules) based on the change; The Examiner notes polices are equivalent to rules and impact the datapath of traffic.
see e.g. [0027] “ ... Policy and configuration data 124 may include policies or settings that may be applied to the ports 114a-114h to configure the network switch 102. A policy may generally include a port behavior and parameters. Port behavior is generally how a port handles traffic, such as whether the port is a single-endpoint port bridged onto a VLAN or a multi-endpoint trunked port. Parameters may include a VLAN parameter (e.g., which VLAN the port is bridged onto) ... or whether a different, default policy should be applied to the port after a change in the port state ...”); and
cause the traffic to be transmitted based on the updated one or more rules (Crossland; Per the policy in [0027] network traffic is transmitted based on the change of policy and/or rules
“... Policy and configuration data 124 may include policies or settings that may be applied to the ports 114a-114h to configure the network switch 102. A policy may generally include a port behavior and parameters. Port behavior is generally how a port handles traffic, such as whether the port is a single-endpoint port bridged onto a VLAN or a multi-endpoint trunked port ...”).
Crossland does not expressly disclose:
determine a change in a port state for a network connection associated with a detected physical movement of an optical port selector between a first port and a second port;
Kim discloses:
determine a change in a port state for a network connection associated with a detected physical movement of an optical port selector between a first port and a second port (KIm; Kim teaches an optical cross-connect comprising movable mirror 104 that redirects an optical signal from an input optical fiber to a selected output fiber through physical rotation of the mirror ([0004], [0013], [0015]).
Kim further teaches detecting physical movement of mirror 104 by measuring changes in electrical resistivity resulting from deformation of spring 200 and determining the angular position of the mirror based on the mirror measurements ([0006], [0021], [0034]).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a change in prot state encompassed determining a changed in the selected optical connection. Because the angular position of mirror 104 determines the optical path between the input and selected output fibers, Kim’s detection and determination of mirror position teaches determining a change in port state associated with detected physical movement of the optical port selector ([0004, [0015], [0021])
The Examiner notes that Kim’s input optical fiber is the claimed first port and Kim’s output optical fiber is the claimed second port under the broadest reasonable interpretation, as each provides a physical optical interface for the network connection ([0004]). Kim’s movable mirror 104 is the claimed optical port selector because physical movement of the mirror selectively establishes the optical path between the input and output fiber ports ([0004, [0015])
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KIm’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing network traffic.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449