DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This office action has been issued in response to communication filed on 1/14/2025. Claims 2-21 are pending in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 2 , 13 and 17:
Step 1: Statutory Category ?: Yes. claim 2 recites a method (i.e., a “process”) and Claim 13 recite a system (i.e., a “machine”) and claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (i.e., an article of manufacture) which are statutory categories.
Claim 2:
Step 2A-Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited ?: Yes. Claim 2 recites one or more limitations that can be performed in human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper:
determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content;
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page;
Step 2A-Prong 2: Integrated into a practical application? No.
Claim 2 recites additional elements:
“accessing a first web page in response to a user request”. ( data gathering)
“generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip”.(pre/post solution activities)
Both data gathering and pre/post solution activities are insignificant extra-solution activities. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“at a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor”. This limitation amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer .
Step 2B: Recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No.
Claim 2 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than judicial exception. As indicates above, the additional elements of “accessing a first web page in response to a user request” and “generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip” are data gathering and pre/post solution activity and are well-understood, routine conventional activities previously known to the industry and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). The computer with memory and is at best equivalent of adding the words “apply it” to the exception. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 2 therefore is ineligible.
Claim 3 recites additional element of “ wherein the clipping attribute represents a clipping style of a user, the method further comprising: tracking a plurality of selections of digital content clips made by the user on one or more web pages; characterizing the plurality of selections to determine the clipping style of the user; and storing the clipping style in a profile associated with the user” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. Claim 3 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 3 is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 recites additional element of “ determining that the first web page corresponds to the at least one user-defined content clip further comprising: identifying a set of one or more user-defined content clips of the first web page” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper.
The additional element of “receiving a user selection of the at least one user-defined content clip from the set of one or more user-defined content clip” which is data gathering and is insignificant extra-solution activity and well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 4 therefore ineligible.
Claim 5 recites additional element of “ wherein the clipping attribute represents a clipping style of a user associated with the user request, and the set of one or more user-defined content clips are identified in the repository based on the clipping style of the user” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. Claim 5 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 5 is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 recites additional element of “determining that a user associated with the user request does not have any preferred, preselected, and preassigned clipping style” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. Claim 6 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 6 is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 recites additional element of “determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip further comprising: determining that at least one clip pattern fits a category of the first web page; and determining that the at least one user-defined content clip fits the at least one clip pattern” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. Claim 7 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 7 is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 recites additional element of “determining that at least one clip pattern fits a category of the first web page” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper
The additional element “receiving a user input selecting a first clip pattern from the at least one clip pattern, wherein the first digital content clip of the first web page is generated based on the first clip pattern” is pre/post solution activity and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 4 therefore ineligible.
Claim 9 recites additional element of “wherein the first clipping pattern includes a first clipping template defined based on a clipping category corresponding to the category of the first web page” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. . Claim 9 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 9 is not patent eligible.
Claim 10 recites additional element of “adding the first digital content clip of the first web page to one or more clip patterns of a user associated with the user request” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. Claim 10 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 10 is not patent eligible.
Claim 11 recites additional element of “prior to determining that the first web page has the at least one user-defined content clip: determining that the first web page does not have any user-defined content clip in the repository; identifying a standard clipping option” is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper.
The additional element of “generating the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page based on the standard clipping option” is insignificant extra-solution activity and well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 11 therefore ineligible.
Claim 12 recites additional element of “wherein the standard clipping option includes one or more of: a full reproduction of the first web page, a summary snippet of the first web page, a bookmark of the first web page, a web address of the first web page, a fragment of content extracted from the first web page, content extracted from the first web page in a format for easy reading, a user selection from the first web page, or a screenshot of the first web page” which is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. Claim 12 does not include any additional element that integrates the abstract idea into practical application in step 2A-Prong 2 and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception in step 2B. Claim 12 is not patent eligible.
Claim 13:
Step 2A-Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited ?: Yes. Claim 13 recites one or more limitations that can be performed in human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper:
determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content;
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page;
Step 2A-Prong 2: Integrated into a practical application? No.
Claim 13 recites additional elements:
“accessing a first web page in response to a user request”. ( data gathering)
“generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip”.(pre/post solution activities)
Both data gathering and pre/post solution activities are insignificant extra-solution activities. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor”. This limitation amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer .
Step 2B: Recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No.
Claim 13 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than judicial exception. As indicates above, the additional elements of “accessing a first web page in response to a user request” and “generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip” are data gathering and pre/post solution activity and are well-understood, routine conventional activities previously known to the industry and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). The computer with memory is at best equivalent of adding the words “apply it” to the exception. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 13 therefore is ineligible.
Claim 14 recites additional element of “wherein the at least one user-defined content clip is created using a custom clipping option” which is data gathering and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 14 therefore ineligible.
Claim 15 recites additional element of “wherein the custom clipping option includes one or more of: an editable page layout, or a template with an uncompleted parameter, and a user is prompted to edit the editable page layout or fill in the uncompleted parameter, respectively, before storing the first digital content clip” which is data gathering and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 15 therefore ineligible.
Claim 16 recites additional element of “storing web page content associated with the first digital content clip; storing one or more of a layout associated with the first digital content clip; and storing a category of the first digital content clip” which is data gathering and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 15 therefore ineligible.
Claim 17:
Step 2A-Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited ?: Yes. Claim 17 recites one or more limitations that can be performed in human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper:
determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content;
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page;
Step 2A-Prong 2: Integrated into a practical application? No.
Claim 17 recites additional elements:
“accessing a first web page in response to a user request”. ( data gathering)
“generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip”.(pre/post solution activities)
Both data gathering and pre/post solution activities are insignificant extra-solution activities. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured for execution by a computer”. This limitation amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component .
Step 2B: Recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No.
Claim 17 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than judicial exception. As indicates above, the additional elements of “accessing a first web page in response to a user request” and “generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip” are data gathering and pre/post solution activity and are well-understood, routine conventional activities previously known to the industry and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). The non-transitory computer readable storage medium is at best equivalent of adding the words “apply it” to the exception. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 17 therefore is ineligible.
Claim 18 recites additional element of “storing the first digital content clip and a clip template of the first digital content clip of the first web page in a first clip collection of the repository associated with the first web page” which is data gathering and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 18 therefore ineligible.
Claim 19 recites additional element of “wherein the at least one user-defined content clip was obtained from one or more users other than a user associated with the user request” which is data gathering and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 19 therefore ineligible.
Claim 20 recites additional element of “wherein the repository is a crowd-sourced repository that can be accessed by a user associated with the user request and one or more users other than the user” which is data gathering and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity and is well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 19 therefore ineligible.
Claim 21 recites additional element of “accessing a second web page by the user; determining that the second web page does not have any user-defined content clip in the repository; selecting a standard clipping option from a plurality of predefined clipping options; and receiving a user selection of the standard clipping option; and generating a second digital content clip of the second web page based on the standard clipping option”. “Determining that the second web page does not have any user-defined content clip in the repository and selecting a standard clipping option from a plurality of predefined clipping options” is a process that can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion including with the help of a pen and paper. The additional accessing, receiving and generating steps are insignificant extra-solution activity and are well-understood, routine , conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)) , subsection II). Even when consider in combination, the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept, claim 21 therefore ineligible.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2, 13 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,13 and 17 respectively of US Patent 10,444,946 B2 hereinafter “946 patent”, over claims 1,13 and 17 of US Patent 10,449,563 B2, hereinafter “563 patent” and over claims 1,11 and 16 of US Patent 11,989,244, hereinafter “244 patent” . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the elements of the instant application claims 2, 13 and 17 are to be found in the claims 1,13 and 17 respectively of the 946 patent, claims 1,13 and 17 respectively of the 563 patent, and claims 1,11 and 16 of the 244 patent .
Instant Application (18/669,316)
US Patent 10,444,946 B2
2. (New) A method for digital content clipping, comprising:
at a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor: accessing a first web page in response to a user request; determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content;
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page; and
generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip.
Claims 13 and 17
1. A method for digital content clipping, comprising: in a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor to perform: receiving an indication that a first web page is being accessed by a first user; in response to the indication, searching a repository of digital content for user-generated digital content clips associated with the first web page; determining whether the repository includes any user-generated digital content clips associated with the first web page; in accordance with a determination that the repository does not include any user-generated digital content clips associated with the first web page; while the first web page is being accessed by the first user, causing to be displayed one or more first clipping options based on predefined clip templates; receiving selection, by the first user, of one of the first clipping options; extracting a first digital content clip of the first web page in accordance with the selected one of the first clipping options; and storing the first digital content clip of the first web page in a first clip collection of the repository associated with the first web page; and in accordance with a determination that the repository of clip collections does include one or more user-generated digital content clips associated with the first web page: while the first web page is being accessed by the first user, causing to be displayed one or more second clipping options based on at least one of the one or more user-generated digital content clips associated with the first web page, wherein at least one of the one or more second clipping options is not one of the one or more first clipping options; receiving selection, by the first user, of one of the second clipping options; extracting a second digital content clip of the first web page in accordance with the selected one of the second clipping options; and storing the second digital content clip of the first web page in the first clip collection.
Claims 13 and 17
Instant Application (18/669,316)
US Patent 10,449,563 B2
2. (New) A method for digital content clipping, comprising:
at a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor: accessing a first web page in response to a user request; determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content;
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page; and
generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip.
Claims 13 and 17
1. A method for digital content clipping, comprising: in a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor to perform: receiving an indication that a first web page has been accessed by a first user; determining that the first web page belongs to a first category of web pages; and while the first web page is being accessed by the first user, providing a plurality of first clipping options based on the first category of web pages, wherein the plurality of first clipping options differs by at least one clipping option from a plurality of second clipping options that are associated with clipping a second web page belonging to a second category of web pages that is different from the first category of web pages, wherein the first clipping options and the second clipping options are options for extracting web page content.
Claims 13 and 17
Instant Application (18/669,316)
US Patent 11,989,244 B2
2. (New) A method for digital content clipping, comprising:
at a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor: accessing a first web page in response to a user request; determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content;
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page; and
generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip.
Claims 13 and 17
1. A method for digital content clipping, comprising: at a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor to perform: receiving an indication that a first web page has been accessed by a first user; and while accessing the first web page: determining whether the first web page has any user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content; and in accordance with a determination that the first web page has one or more user-defined content clips in the repository: in response to identifying of one of the one or more user-defined content clips of the first web page, extracting a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the identified one of the one or more user-defined content clips; and in response to no identifying of any of the one or more user-defined content clips of the first web page, identifying a standard clipping option, and extracting a second digital content clip of the first web page based on the identified standard clipping option.
Claims 11 and 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2,4-6,11-13 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rohrs et al.(US Patent Application Publication 2007/0266011 A1, hereinafter “Rohrs”)
As to claim 2, Rohrs teaches a method for digital content clipping, comprising: at a computer with a processor and memory including one or programs executable by the processor:
accessing a first web page in response to a user request; (Rohrs Fig.3 and par [0066] teaches search result)
determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip in a repository of digital content; (Rohrs par [0066] teaches correlating between a first search result in the list of search results and a web notebook associated with a user account)
determining a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page (Rohrs par [0067] if one notebook has a heading, title or other user annotation of "travel" or "vacation," and the search term or search result include these terms or similar terms such as "Paris vacation" or "travel to Las Vegas," the relevant notebook can be automatically identified, or can be selected as a default and presented to the user for confirmation, possibly with an option for the user to select a different notebook); and
generating a first digital content clip of the first web page based on a clipping attribute of the at least one user-defined content clip. (Rohrs par [0067] teaches in an automatic correlation, the clipped content, or the webpage to which the content refers , can be compared to the content of all of an individual user’s notebooks and a notebook can be automatically selected based on the comparison)
As to claim 4, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, determining that the first web page corresponds to the at least one user-defined content clip further comprising: identifying a set of one or more user-defined content clips of the first web page; and receiving a user selection of the at least one user-defined content clip from the set of one or more user-defined content clip. (Rohrs par [0057] teaches users may readily navigate to and through web notebooks. For example, a suer an select a notebook and be presented with content from that notebook. The user may then select certain content within the notebook for placement in another notebook)
As to claim 5, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the clipping attribute represents a clipping style of a user associated with the user request, and the set of one or more user-defined content clips are identified in the repository based on the clipping style of the user. (Rohrs par [0067] teaches travel or vacation )
As to claim 6, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising determining that a user associated with the user request does not have any preferred, preselected, and preassigned clipping style. (Rohrs par [0054] teaches If the user has no notebooks, the user may be prompted to create a new notebook)
As to claim 11 , Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising, prior to determining that the first web page has the at least one user-defined content clip: determining that the first web page does not have any user-defined content clip in the repository; identifying a standard clipping option; and generating the at least one user-defined content clip of the first web page based on the standard clipping option. (Rohrs par [0054] teaches if user has no notebooks, the user may be prompted to create a new notebook. Rohrs par [0055] teaches the notebooks include content that has been clipped from search results)
As to claim 12, Rohrs teaches the computer of claim 11, wherein the standard clipping option includes one or more of: a full reproduction of the first web page, a summary snippet of the first web page, a bookmark of the first web page, a web address of the first web page, a fragment of content extracted from the first web page, content extracted from the first web page in a format for easy reading, a user selection from the first web page, or a screenshot of the first web page.(Rohrs par [0037] teaches when a user selects a search result for addition to a notebook, the added content can include a hyperlink to the site, a snippet from the site and a URL for the site)
Claim 13 and 17 merely recites a computer and a non-transitory computer readable medium for performing the method of claim 2. Accordingly, Rohrs teaches very limitation of claims 13 and 17 as indicates in the above rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 16, Rohrs teaches the computer of claim 13, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for storing the first digital content clip, the storing including one or more of: storing web page content associated with the first digital content clip; storing one or more of a layout associated with the first digital content clip; and storing a category of the first digital content clip. .(Rohrs par [0037] teaches when a user selects a search result for addition to a notebook, the added content can include a hyperlink to the site, a snippet from the site and a URL for the site)
As to claim 18, Rohrs teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for: storing the first digital content clip and a clip template of the first digital content clip of the first web page in a first clip collection of the repository associated with the first web page. (Rohrs par [0037] teaches when a user selects a search result for addition to a notebook, the added content can include a hyperlink to the site, a snippet from the site and a URL for the site)
As to claim 19, Rohrs teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the at least one user-defined content clip was obtained from one or more users other than a user associated with the user request. (Rohrs par [0039] teaches we notebooks are accessible by multiple users)
As to claim 20, Rohrs teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the repository is a crowd-sourced repository that can be accessed by a user associated with the user request and one or more users other than the user. (Rohrs par [0039] teaches causing the information provider to grant access to the notebook to other users)
As to claim 21, Rohrs teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 20, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for: accessing a second web page by the user; determining that the second web page does not have any user-defined content clip in the repository; selecting a standard clipping option from a plurality of predefined clipping options; and receiving a user selection of the standard clipping option; and generating a second digital content clip of the second web page based on the standard clipping option. (Rohrs par [0037] teaches when a user selects a search result for addition to a notebook, the added content can include a hyperlink to the site, a snippet from the site and a URL for the site)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohrs and further in view of Decker et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0164883 A1, hereinafter “Decker”)
As to claim 3, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the clipping attribute represents a clipping style of a user, the method further comprising: tracking a plurality of selections of digital content clips made by the user on one or more web pages; characterizing the plurality of selections to determine the clipping style of the user; and storing the clipping style in a profile associated with the user.
However, Decker teaches wherein the clipping attribute represents a clipping style of a user, the method further comprising: tracking a plurality of selections of digital content clips made by the user on one or more web pages; characterizing the plurality of selections to determine the clipping style of the user; and storing the clipping style in a profile.(Decker par [0037] teaches Preferences also may provide other options, such as, for example, listing a history of content sources that have been clipped, a history of changes to current clippings (e.g., the changes that have been made over time to specific clippings thus allowing a user to select one for the current clipping) and view preferences. View preferences define characteristics (e.g., the size, shape, controls, control placement, etc. of the viewer used to display the content) for the display of the portions of content (e.g., by the presentation engine)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Rohrs and Decker to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivate to make such combination to allow user to customize the settings of the clipped content.
Claims 7-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohrs and further in view of Hattori.,(US Patent Application Publication 2015/0242372 A1, hereinafter “Hattori”)
As to claim 7, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, but fails to expressly teach determining that the first web page corresponds to at least one user-defined content clip further comprising: determining that at least one clip pattern fits a category of the first web page; and determining that the at least one user-defined content clip fits the at least one clip pattern.
However, Hattori teaches determining that at least one clip pattern fits a category of the first web page; and determining that the at least one user-defined content clip fits the at least one clip pattern. (Hattori par [0083] teaches the location of the second captured content page portion may also depend on what type of content such as text or images, is in the captured content page portion)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Rohrs and Hattori to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivate to make such combination to allow user to capture and assemble content from multiple sources.(Hattori par [006])
As to claim 8, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, but fails to teach further comprising: determining that at least one clip pattern fits a category of the first web page; and receiving a user input selecting a first clip pattern from the at least one clip pattern, wherein the first digital content clip of the first web page is generated based on the first clip pattern.
However, Hattori teaches determining that at least one clip pattern fits a category of the first web page; and receiving a user input selecting a first clip pattern from the at least one clip pattern, wherein the first digital content clip of the first web page is generated based on the first clip pattern. (Hattori par [0082] teaches a particular layout page is selected by the user)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Rohrs and Hattori to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivate to make such combination to allow user to capture and assemble content from multiple sources.(Hattori par [006])
As to claim 9, Rohrs and Hattori teach the method of claim 8, wherein the first clipping pattern includes a first clipping template defined based on a clipping category corresponding to the category of the first web page. (Hattori par [0083] teaches the location of the second captured content page portion may also depend on what type of content such as text or images, is in the captured content page portion
As to claim 10, Rohrs teaches the method of claim 2, but fails to teach further comprising: adding the first digital content clip of the first web page to one or more clip patterns of a user associated with the user request.
However , Hattori teaches adding the first digital content clip of the first web page to one or more clip patterns of a user associated with the user request. (Hattori par [0082] teaches a particular layout page is selected by the user)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Rohrs and Hattori to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivate to make such combination to allow user to capture and assemble content from multiple sources.(Hattori par [006])
As to claim 14, Rohrs teaches the computer of claim 13, but fails to teach wherein the at least one user-defined content clip is created using a custom clipping option.
However, Hattori teaches wherein the at least one user-defined content clip is created using a custom clipping option. . (Hattori par [0082] teaches a particular layout page is selected by the user)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Rohrs and Hattori to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivate to make such combination to allow user to capture and assemble content from multiple sources.(Hattori par [006])
As to claim 15, Rohrs and Hattori teach the computer of claim 14, wherein the custom clipping option includes one or more of: an editable page layout, or a template with an uncompleted parameter, and a user is prompted to edit the editable page layout or fill in the uncompleted parameter, respectively, before storing the first digital content clip. (Hattori par [0086] teaches in addition to being allowed to move the image, the user may also increase or decrease the size of the captured content page portions)
Conclusion
/HIEN L DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147