DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 06/20/2024 07/31/2024 08/14/2024 11/20/2024 03/05/2025 06/25/2025 07/23/2025 09/17/2025 12/08/2025 01/14/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10, 14, 16, 19, 23, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 10, 18, 21, 32, 33, 38, 39, 46, 49, 63, 70, and 73 of U.S. Patent No. 10,951,043 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because following observation is made.
US PAT: 10,951,043 B2
US App# 18/669,322
1) A first device, comprising: a display; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
while the first device is in a wireless charging state in which the first device is being wirelessly charged by a wireless charging device and a visual indication of charge status for a second device is not displayed on the display of the first device, detecting that the second device has entered a wireless charging state in which the second device is being wirelessly charged by the wireless charging device;
in response to detecting that the second device has entered the wireless charging state, displaying, on the display of the first device, a first visual indication of charge status for the second device that includes a charge level of the second device;
detecting that the second device has been removed from the wireless charging device, wherein the first device is in the wireless charging state when the second device is removed from the wireless charging device; and in response to detecting that the second device has been removed from the wireless charging device, displaying, on the display of the first device, a second visual indication of charge status for the second device, wherein: the second visual indication is displayed at a location on the display of the first device that includes a charge level of the second device; and the second visual indication is initially displayed after detecting removal of the second device from the wireless charging device.
1) A first device, comprising: a display; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
while the first device is in a first device state, wherein the first device is associated with a first user account,
detecting a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: transitioning the first device to a second device state;
and concurrently displaying a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device and a second visual indicator of a battery level of a second device different from the first device, and the first visual indicator is different from the second visual indicator.
wherein: the second device is associated with the first user account;
9) wherein displaying a charge level of a device includes displaying one or more of: a textual indication of charge level, a graphical indication of charge level, an animation representative of charge level, and a color-based indication representative of charge level.
7) wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator include at least one of a graphical indicator and a textual indicator.
10) displaying, on the display, the charge status interface animatedly transitioning into an icon, after which the charge status interface ceases to be displayed; subsequent to the charge status interface ceasing to be displayed, receiving user input selection of the icon; and in response to receiving the user input selection of the icon, displaying, on the display, the charge status interface.
5) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
18) subsequent to displaying the first visual indication of charge status for the second device, and while first device and the second device are being wirelessly charged by the same wireless charging device: ceasing to display the first visual indication of charge status for the second device; while the display is inactive, receiving a user input associated with the device; and in response to receiving the user input associated with the device, displaying, on the display, a third visual indication of charge status for the second device.
5) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
21) in accordance with a determination that the user input associated with the device is detected for a threshold amount of time, ceasing to detect the user input associated with the device; and in response to ceasing to detect the user input associated with the device, ceasing displaying the charge status interface.`
5) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
As to claim 1, 5, 7, 10, 14, 16, 19, 23, and 25 the only differences between the instant application 18/669,322 and the claims 1, 9, 10, 18, 21, 32, 33, 38, 39, 46, 49, 63, 70, and 73 of patent No. 10,810,994 is the limitation of: “detecting a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: transitioning the first device to a second device state wherein: the second device is associated with the first user account;”
Cho teaches: and concurrently displaying a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device and a second visual indicator of a battery level of a second device different from the first device, (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670, and information which indicates that the second external electronic device 671 is being charged according to the placement of the second external electronic device 671. Fig. 6B element 692 corresponds to a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device, and element 693 a second visual indicator of a batter level of the second device different from the first device; )
Cho does not explicitly teach: a first device state, detecting a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: transitioning the first device to a second device state
Park teaches: detecting a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: transitioning the first device to a second device state; (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.) Examiner note: first device state is an inactive display, a second device state is an active display;
Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein the first device is associated with a first user account, wherein: the second device is associated with the first user account;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Cho with Park as both references are directed to presenting device information within a user interface. Incorporating the input-driven state transition of Park into the device of Cho in order to provide a predictable mechanism for activating a display and presenting device-related information in response to user interaction.
However, Cary teaches: wherein the first device is associated with a first user account, wherein: the second device is associated with the first user account; (Cary − [0013] . Each of the coordinating device and the other electronic device can be associated with a same account.[0211] FIG. 9 depicts a user 810 wearing a sample electronic device 700 with a second electronic device 730 in his pocket. Fig. 9 element 730 first device, element 700 second device.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Claims 5, 7, 14, 16, 23 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3, 5, 10-11, 13, 18-19 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,294 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because following observation is made
US PAT: 12,095,294 B2
US App# 18/669,322
2) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and in response to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
5) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
3) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and in response to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
5) while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device.
5) wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator include at least one of a graphical indicator and a textual indicator.
7) wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator include at least one of a graphical indicator and a textual indicator.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 5, 7, 14, 16, 23 and 25 of instant app# 18/669,322 as being anticipatory over claims 2-3, 5, 10-11, 13, 18-19 and 21of Patent No. 12,339,868 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20170133881 A1) in view of Park (US 20160170542 A1) in view of Cary (US 20150350129 A1, Pub Date: Dec. 3, 2015).
Regarding independent claim 1, Cho teaches: A first device, comprising: (Cho − [0043] Referring to FIG. 1, an electronic device 101)
a display; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (Cho − [0043] Referring to FIG. 1, an electronic device 101 within a networking environment 100 is provided. The electronic device 101 may include a bus 110, a processor 120, a memory 130, an input/output interface 150, a display 160, and a communication interface 170. [0061] The processor 210 may control multiple hardware or software elements connected to the processor 210 by running an OS or an application program, and may perform the processing of and arithmetic operations on various data. The processor 210 may load, instructions)
and concurrently displaying a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device and a second visual indicator of a battery level of a second device different from the first device, and the first visual indicator is different from the second visual indicator. (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670, and information which indicates that the second external electronic device 671 is being charged according to the placement of the second external electronic device 671. Fig. 6B element 692 corresponds to a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device, and element 693 a second visual indicator of a batter level of the second device different from the first device; )
Cho does not explicitly teach: a first device state, detecting a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: transitioning the first device to a second device state
However, Park teaches: while the first device is in a first device state, detecting a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: transitioning the first device to a second device state; (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.) Examiner note: first device state is an inactive display, a second device state is an active display;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Cho with Park as both references are directed to presenting device information within a user interface. Incorporating the input-driven state transition of Park into the device of Cho in order to provide a predictable mechanism for activating a display and presenting device-related information in response to user interaction.
Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein the first device is associated with a first user account, wherein: the second device is associated with the first user account;
However, Cary teaches: wherein the first device is associated with a first user account, wherein: the second device is associated with the first user account; (Cary − [0013] . Each of the coordinating device and the other electronic device can be associated with a same account.[0211] FIG. 9 depicts a user 810 wearing a sample electronic device 700 with a second electronic device 730 in his pocket. Fig. 9 element 730 first device, element 700 second device.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein at least one of the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator are not displayed prior to detecting the first input.
However, Park teaches: wherein at least one of the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator are not displayed prior to detecting the first input. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein the first device state is an inactive display state and wherein the second device state is an active display state.
However, Park teaches: wherein the first device state is an inactive display state and wherein the second device state is an active display state. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 1, Cho teaches: maintaining the second device in the first device state. (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670, and information which indicates that the second external electronic device 671 is being charged according to the placement of the second external electronic device 671. Fig. 6B element 692 corresponds to a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device, and element 693 a second visual indicator of a batter level of the second device different from the first device; )
Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein prior to detecting the first input, the second device is in the first device state, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the first input,
However, Park teaches: wherein prior to detecting the first input, the second device is in the first device state, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the first input, (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 1, Cho teaches: wherein concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device further includes: in accordance with a determination that the first device is in a charging state, concurrently displaying the first visual indicator with a first charging status indicator; and in accordance with a determination that the second device is in a charging state, concurrently displaying the second visual indicator with a second charging status indicator, wherein the second charging status indicator is different from the first charging status indicator. (Cho – [0146] Fib. 6B, different devices are associated with distinct visual indicators representing their respective states.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 1, Cho teaches: wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator include at least one of a graphical indicator and a textual indicator. (Cho – Fig. 6B [0146] different devices including icons and textual information of device charging status)
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 1, Cho teaches: the one or more programs further including instructions for: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device: detecting a third device in communication with the first device; and in response to detecting the third device, displaying a third visual indicator of the battery level of the third device, wherein the third visual indicator is different the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator. (Cho – [0145-0146] associating and displaying information for multiple electronic devices)
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 1, Cho teaches: the one or more programs further including instructions for: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, detecting that the second device is no longer in a charging state; and subsequent to detecting that the second device is no longer in the charging state and while the second device is not in the charging state, continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device concurrently with the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device. (Cho – [0146-0147] dynamically displaying device status information, charging-related information for multiple devices. Each device information is displayed independently.)
Regarding independent claim 10, is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium. Claim 10 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1 and claim 10 limitations are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 10, Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein at least one of the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator are not displayed prior to detecting the first input.
However, Park teaches: wherein at least one of the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator are not displayed prior to detecting the first input. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 10, Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein the first device state is an inactive display state and wherein the second device state is an active display state.
However, Park teaches: wherein the first device state is an inactive display state and wherein the second device state is an active display state. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 13, depends on claim 10, Cho does not explicitly teach: maintaining the second device in the first device state
However, Park teaches: wherein prior to detecting the first input, the second device is in the first device state, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the first input, maintaining the second device in the first device state. ( (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 10, Cho teaches: wherein concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device further includes: in accordance with a determination that the first device is in a charging state, concurrently displaying the first visual indicator with a first charging status indicator; and in accordance with a determination that the second device is in a charging state, concurrently displaying the second visual indicator with a second charging status indicator, wherein the second charging status indicator is different from the first charging status indicator. (Cho – [0146] Fib. 6B, different devices are associated with distinct visual indicators representing their respective states.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 10, Cho teaches: wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator include at least one of a graphical indicator and a textual indicator. (Cho – Fig. 6B [0146] different devices including icons and textual information of device charging status)
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 10, Cho teaches: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device: detecting a third device in communication with the first device; and in response to detecting the third device, displaying a third visual indicator of the battery level of the third device, wherein the third visual indicator is different from the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator. (Cho – [0145-0146] associating and displaying information for multiple electronic devices)
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 10, Cho teaches: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, detecting that the second device is no longer in a charging state; and subsequent to detecting that the second device is no longer in the charging state and while the second device is not in the charging state, continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device concurrently with the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device. (Cho – [0146-0147] dynamically displaying device status information, charging-related information for multiple devices. Each device information is displayed independently.)
Regarding independent claim 19, is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium. Claim 19 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1 and claim 19 limitations are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 20, depends on claim 19, Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein at least one of the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator are not displayed prior to detecting the first input.
However, Park teaches: wherein at least one of the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator are not displayed prior to detecting the first input. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 21, depends on claim 19, Cho does not explicitly teach: wherein the first device state is an inactive display state and wherein the second device state is an active display state.
However, Park teaches: wherein the first device state is an inactive display state and wherein the second device state is an active display state. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 22, depends on claim 19, Cho does not explicitly teach: maintaining the second device in the first device state
However, Park teaches: wherein prior to detecting the first input, the second device is in the first device state, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the first input, maintaining the second device in the first device state. (Park − [0025-0026] an inactive state of the display unit; when a tap corresponding to a preset condition is applied in the inactive state of the display unit, the display unit may output thereon information, which is related to information output at the tap-applied position of initial screen information output on the display unit, when the display unit is switched from the inactive state into an active state.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 24, depends on claim 19, Cho teaches: wherein concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device further includes: in accordance with a determination that the first device is in a charging state, concurrently displaying the first visual indicator with a first charging status indicator; and in accordance with a determination that the second device is in a charging state, concurrently displaying the second visual indicator with a second charging status indicator, wherein the second charging status indicator is different from the first charging status indicator. (Cho – [0146] Fib. 6B, different devices are associated with distinct visual indicators representing their respective states.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho and Park by associating the multiple devices with a common user account. Cary teaches that multiple electronic devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Cary teaches that multiple devices may be associated with the same account, thereby enabling coordinated operation across devices. Applying this teaching to Cho would have yielded the predictable result of improving unified management, synchronization, and coordination across multiple devices within a single user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 25, depends on claim 19, Cho teaches: wherein the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator include at least one of a graphical indicator and a textual indicator. (Cho – Fig. 6B [0146] different devices including icons and textual information of device charging status)
Regarding dependent claim 26, depends on claim 19, Cho teaches: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device: detecting a third device in communication with the first device; and in response to detecting the third device, displaying a third visual indicator of the battery level of the third device, wherein the third visual indicator is different from the first visual indicator and the second visual indicator. (Cho – [0145-0146] associating and displaying information for multiple electronic devices)
Regarding dependent claim 27, depends on claim 19, Cho teaches: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, detecting that the second device is no longer in a charging state; and subsequent to detecting that the second device is no longer in the charging state and while the second device is not in the charging state, continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device concurrently with the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device. (Cho – [0146-0147] dynamically displaying device status information, charging-related information for multiple devices. Each device information is displayed independently.)
Claim(s) 5, 14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, Park and Cary as applied to claims 1, 10, and 19 above, and further in view of Shimada et al. (JP 2013017282 A; PUB DATE: Jan. 01, 2013 hereinafter "Shimada").
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 1, Cho teaches: the one or more programs further including instructions for: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670, and information which indicates that the second external electronic device 671 is being charged according to the placement of the second external electronic device 671. Fig. 6B element 692 corresponds to a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device, and element 693 a second visual indicator of a batter level of the second device different from the first device; )
while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device. (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670,)
Cho does not explicitly teach: ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device
However, Shimada teaches: ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device (Shimada - [0141-0147] A display example of the updated display unit 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 13. FIG. 13 is a diagram showing a display example of the display unit 12. In the display screen example 1301 of FIG. 13, the case where the digital camera 3 is removed from the state of the charging stand 2 shown in FIG. 3 is shown) when a device is no longer present the corresponding display indicator is no longer shown
Accordingly, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date to modify Cho, to cease displaying information associated with a second device when communication with the device is no longer detected, as taught by Shimada. Therefore, in order to insure that only current and relevant device information is presented to the user and to avoid displaying stale status information.
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 10, Cho teaches: the one or more programs further including instructions for: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670, and information which indicates that the second external electronic device 671 is being charged according to the placement of the second external electronic device 671. Fig. 6B element 692 corresponds to a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device, and element 693 a second visual indicator of a batter level of the second device different from the first device; )
while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device. (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670,)
Cho does not explicitly teach: ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device
However, Shimada teaches: ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device (Shimada - [0141-0147] A display example of the updated display unit 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 13. FIG. 13 is a diagram showing a display example of the display unit 12. In the display screen example 1301 of FIG. 13, the case where the digital camera 3 is removed from the state of the charging stand 2 shown in FIG. 3 is shown) when a device is no longer present the corresponding display indicator is no longer shown
Accordingly, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date to modify Cho, to cease displaying information associated with a second device when communication with the device is no longer detected, as taught by Shimada. Therefore, in order to insure that only current and relevant device information is presented to the user and to avoid displaying stale status information.
Regarding dependent claim 23, depends on claim 19, Cho teaches: the one or more programs further including instructions for: while concurrently displaying the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device and the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device different from the first device, (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670, and information which indicates that the second external electronic device 671 is being charged according to the placement of the second external electronic device 671. Fig. 6B element 692 corresponds to a first visual indicator of a battery level of the first device, and element 693 a second visual indicator of a batter level of the second device different from the first device; )
while continuing to display the first visual indicator of the battery level of the first device. (Cho [0142] FIG. 5B illustrates a screen of an electronic device displaying a result of placing a wireless power transmission/reception electronic device on the electronic device 101; [0152] The electronic device 101 may display, in a partial area 695, information which indicates that the first external electronic device 670 is being charged according to the placement of the first external electronic device 670,)
Cho does not explicitly teach: ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device
However, Shimada teaches: ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device; and subsequent to ceasing to detect communication between the first device and the second device and while the first device and the second device are not in communication, ceasing to display the second visual indicator of the battery level of the second device (Shimada - [0141-0147] A display example of the updated display unit 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 13. FIG. 13 is a diagram showing a display example of the display unit 12. In the display screen example 1301 of FIG. 13, the case where the digital camera 3 is removed from the state of the charging stand 2 shown in FIG. 3 is shown) when a device is no longer present the corresponding display indicator is no longer shown
Accordingly, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date to modify Cho, to cease displaying information associated with a second device when communication with the device is no longer detected, as taught by Shimada. Therefore, in order to insure that only current and relevant device information is presented to the user and to avoid displaying stale status information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bell, US 20160013678 A1, displaying multiple electronic device information such as battery.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178