DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18669352 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a compound NaxLi3-xYCl6, wherein X is greater than 0 and less than 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouspenski et al. (US20210320326).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8 and 15, Ouspenski teaches a solid electrolyte material (abstract), comprising: (Na0.5Li0.5)2LiYCl₆ [0066], wherein X is greater than 0 and less than 3 and a method of making by mixing reactants [0076]. Note given the same material would have the same property, i.e. crystalline structure.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Ouspenski teaches the use of milling [0005].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ouspenski et al. (US20210320326) in view of either Steiner et al. (Z. anorg. allg. Chem. 613 (1992) 26-30, citing to translation).
Regarding claims 3-7 and 16-20, Ouspenski does not teach the specific ratios recited in claims 3-7 and 16-20.
However, Steiner teaches (see Discussion section page 29) the possibility and theory of the use of lithium yttrium chloride in combination with Na or Ag in varying amounts as they cause very high ion conductivity.
Thus utilizing various combinations of yttrium and sodium as shown by Steiner would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention as it is known that both sodium and yttrium provide for high ion conductivity and the optimization of the amounts of sodium and lithium would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation to obtain the desired balance and operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)). Since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ouspenski et al. (US20210320326).
Regarding claims 9-12, Ouspenski et al. teaches heating at high temperature and under vacuum state [0159]. Therefore, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected result, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(see MPEP § 2144.05, II). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the appropriate temperature range to facilitate effective manufacture of the disclosed device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIVE, Scientists used AI to build a low-lithium battery from a new material that took just hours to discover, January 19, 2024.
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776