DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 15 January 2026.
Claims 1, 5, 19, and 20 were amended.
Claims 4 and 14-16 were cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 17-20 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The objection to the specification regarding minor informalities was addressed and is withdrawn.
Applicants’ amendments and arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-13, and 17-20 filed on 15 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 12, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 11,632,713) and further in view of He et al. (U.S. 9,736,029).
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions which when executed by one or more processors of a device cause the device (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62) to: receive (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicate (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request is associated with (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) an order for a service in the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 36-53).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request includes (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) at least one event notification that is of interest to the application (Wang, col. 1, line 48).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request informs of (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) at least one parameter to be provisioned (Wang, col. 12, lines 30-37).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 8, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the at least one parameter includes bandwidth in the network (Wang, col. 12, lines 30-37).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request is for (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) setup of an edge computing environment in the network (Wang, col. 1, lines 35-37).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request informs of (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) at least one provisioned traffic influence rule including for an immediate or planned setup of (Wang, col. 10, lines 8-17) an edge in the network (Wang, col. 1, lines 35-37).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Wang and He teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) stores information associated with the request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 94; col. 15, lines 20-36).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 19, Wang teaches a method, comprising: at a computer system (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62): receiving (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicating (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
With respect to claim 20, Wang teaches a system (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62), comprising: a non-transitory memory storing instructions (Wang, Fig. 10, element 1020; col. 21, lines 15-23); and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory that execute the instructions (Wang, Fig. 10, element 1010; col. 21, lines 9-14) to: receive (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicate (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of He and further in view of McKiou (U.S. 8,972,803).
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions which when executed by one or more processors of a device cause the device (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62) to: receive (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicate (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62); and the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the application is provided by an entity external to the communication service provider (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
The combination of Wang and He does not explicitly teach wherein the network is provided by a communication service provider.
However, McKiou teaches wherein the network is provided by a communication service provider (McKiou, Fig. 1, element 104; col. 2, lines 49-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and He in view of McKiou in order to enable wherein the network is provided by a communication service provider. One would be motivated to do so in order to facilitate providers that implement open API platforms including efficiently providing network authorizations and enforcing service level agreements (McKiou, col. 1, lines 26-30).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of He and further in view of Yang et al. (EP 3 851 973 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions which when executed by one or more processors of a device cause the device (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62) to: receive (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicate (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62); and the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the active network inventory is (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
The combination of Wang and He does not explicitly teach managed by an End-to-End Service Orchestrator.
However, Yang teaches wherein managed by an End-to-End Service Orchestrator (Yang, page 9, paragraph 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and He in view of Yang in order to enable managed by an End-to-End Service Orchestrator. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable operators to effectively provide automatic service provisioning (Yang, page 2, paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Wang, He, and Yang teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the capabilities of the network include (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58) network services (Wang, col. 6, lines 21-23), network functions (Wang, col. 6, lines 23-26), network resources (Wang, col. 6, lines 19-21 and 27-29), and a business support system (BSS) (Yang, page 9, paragraph 72).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of He and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. 12,207,218).
With respect to claim 11, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions which when executed by one or more processors of a device cause the device (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62) to: receive (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicate (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62); and the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request is for (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
The combination of Wang and He does not explicitly teach a background data transfer.
However, Li teaches a background data transfer (Li, col. 5, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and He in view of Li in order to enable a background data transfer. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable User Equipment to dynamically request network capabilities to support their applications (Li, col. 1, lines 58-61).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of He and further in view of Han et al. (U.S. 9,030,926).
With respect to claim 17, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions which when executed by one or more processors of a device cause the device (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 5, lines 50-62) to: receive (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48), from an application by a platform that interfaces a network (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), a request (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48) for one or more capabilities of the network (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102, 91, and 92; col. 4, lines 34-50 and 55-58); and communicate (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62), by the platform (Wang, Fig. 2, element 101, col. 5, lines 50-56), with an active inventory (Wang, col. 6, lines 15-29) of the network (Wang, col. 18, lines 1-4 and 20-35) for handling the request (Wang, col. 5, lines 50-62); and the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the request is associated with (Wang, Fig. 2, elements 102 and 91; col. 4, lines 34-48).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application.
However, He teaches wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network (He, col. 10, lines 40-45), and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request (He, col. 15, lines 43-46), and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available (He, col. 15, lines 47-51), reserve the network resources for use by the application (He, col. 15, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of He in order to enable wherein the active inventory maintains a real-time or near-real time state of the capabilities of the network, and wherein the platform communicating with the active inventory causes the active inventory to: verify availability of network resources required for the request, and upon verifying that the network resources required for the request are available, reserve the network resources for use by the application. One would be motivated to do so in order to manage the availability of these resources, which may vary over time, given the on-demand service made available by the computer system (He, col. 16, lines 9-11).
The combination of Wang and He does not explicitly teach a failed network resource allocation and includes to create additional resources in the network.
However, Han teaches a failed network resource allocation (Han, col. 10, lines 20-46) and includes to create additional resources in the network (Han, col. 8, lines 42-63 and col. 9, lines 50-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and He in view of Han in order to enable a failed network resource allocation and includes to create additional resources in the network. One would be motivated to do so in order to select the QoS with the most stringent requirements to ensure that QoS provisioning is sufficient for all requesting nodes (Han, col. 9, lines 33-36).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Wang, He, and Han teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the failed network resource allocation request relates to a failed background data transfer negotiation or a failed provisioning of a quality of service (Han, col. 10, lines 20-46).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 17 above.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Baturay/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441
March 10, 2026