DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 27-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B (Figs. 4A to 4G) and Species C (Figs. 5A to 5E), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/25/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, drawn to Figs. 3A to 3G and claims 19-26, in the reply filed on 08/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 20, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2022013165 A1) with mapping and translation provided by Yang (US 2023/0253521 A1) in view of Choi (US 2014/0338747 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Yang disclose a method of forming a solar cell, comprising (See Figs. 1-17):
forming a plurality of openings (See Fig. 10, 34-openings [0070]) in a top layer of a multilayered stack of materials ( in layer 33 of Fig. 9, multilayer includes 20B, 30B, 33);
forming a plurality of non-contiguous surface doped regions (36) in portions of a polysilicon layer (30B [0056], note that 30B is analogous to layer 54 shown in Fig. 20 also see Fig. 3, [0091]) of the multilayered stack of materials that correspond to at least a portion of areas formed by the plurality of openings (34) in the top layer of the multilayered stack of materials;
forming a plurality of trenches (60, see Fig. 17 [0082]) around the plurality of non-contiguous surface doped regions (36 analogous to 66); and
forming a plurality of doped regions (68 [0082],see Fig. 17) in portions of a substrate (50, see Fig. 17 substrate 50 is analogous to substrate 10 shown in Fig. 9) located under the plurality of trenches.
However, Yang does not disclose that the plurality of openings formed in the top layer circumscribe doped regions (36).
Choi discloses a plurality of openings (See 200a in Figs. 3A-3G, and 3C to 3D ) in a top layer of a multilayered stack of materials ( 200,22,20,30); forming a plurality of non-contiguous surface doped regions (120) in the openings wherein the opening is larger and circumscribes the doped region (See Fig. 6, 30d analogous to 30c shown in Figs. 3A-3G) and the doped regions are circular in shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of openings of Yang so that the opening circumscribe the doped regions as disclosed by Choi because such an opening will allow for circular doped regions which Choi discloses is a shape of a doped contact region in back contact solar cell and Yang discloses a back contact solar cell doped region (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Yang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yang discloses that apertures (34 [0070]) are formed in the top layer (33) of the multilayered stack includes performing a laser ablation process (analogous to formation of 58, see Fig. 24 [0098]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Yang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yang discloses wherein the forming the plurality of non-contiguous surface doped regions in the portions of the polysilicon layer includes performing a non-ablating laser process (gas dopant ([0071]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Yang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yang discloses wherein the forming the plurality of trenches around the plurality of non-contiguous surface doped regions includes forming a plurality of non-contiguous surface doped polysilicon islands (See Fig. 16 and section 68 [0082][0108][0109]—since trench will surround circular shaped non-contiguous
surface doped polysilicon region, this is considered an island).
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2022013165 A1) with mapping and translation provided by Yang (US 2023/0253521 A1) in view of Choi (US 2014/0338747 A1) as applied to claims 19, 20, 21, and 24 above in view of Helig (US 2024/0379894 A1).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, modified Yang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yang discloses that forming an area doped area 36 is formed with a thermal process ([0073]).
Yang discloses that instead of thermal process a laser process can be used for doping (See section 68 Fig. 26, [0104]-[0112]).
Helig discloses that a doped area on the back of a solar cell can be formed through a laser irradiation process of a doped glass layer (see layers 9 and 11, forming 7, see Figs. 1 and 2 [0069]-[0072][0088]) and this can help simplify solar cell manufacturing methods ([0033][0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of forming the non-contiguous surface doped regions of modified Yang by having a doped insulating layer followed by a laser irradiation and ablation process as disclosed by Helig because it can help simplify the solar cell manufacturing method of Yang.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,234. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite a substantially similar method of forming a solar cell.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726