DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 contains the phrase “having a the amino acid sequences set forth SEQ ID NO: 70” which appears to contain two typographical errors. The first is that the word “a” should be deleted. The second is that the word “as” appears to be missing before “SEQ ID NO: 70.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 is directed to a method of administering an anti-sclerostin antibody to a human patient suffering from osteogenesis imperfecta (OI). The antibody is not defined in terms of its structure. Only functional limitations are implied, i.e., the ability to bind sclerostin, and the ability to interfere with sclerostin activity to achieve a therapeutic effect on OI. Independent claim 5 is also directed to a method of administering an anti-sclerostin antibody to a human patient suffering from OI. While antibody CDR sequences are recited, the claim recites the phrase, “…comprises … a (heavy/light) chain variable region CDR(1-3) comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in…” The use of the word “an” rather than “the” allows for the recited CDRs to comprise a fragment of unspecified length from the referenced sequences. Accordingly, claim 5 also only implies meaningful functional limitations for the recited antibodies, i.e., the ability to bind sclerostin, and the ability to interfere with sclerostin activity to achieve a therapeutic effect on OI. Dependent claims 2, 3, and 9-17 do not recite further limitations regarding the administered antibody. Dependent claim 4 recites an alternative wherein the antibody is only defined in terms of function, i.e., it binds the same epitope as a structurally defined antibody. Dependent claim 6 recites a structure for the antigen that the administered antibody binds. However, while this requires a structure for the antigen, it is only a functional limitation regarding the antibody. Dependent claim 7 recites VL and CH sequences for a reference antibody and requires the administered antibody to bind the same epitope as the antibody defined by those sequences. There are two written description issues regarding this claim construction. First, it is not a structural limitation for the administered antibody. While it is a structural limitation for the reference antibody, it is only a further functional limitation for the administered antibody. Second, the specification as originally filed does not disclose what epitope is bound by the reference antibody.
The specification provides general descriptions of how to make antibodies that bind sclerostin and how to test them for the ability to bind sclerostin and have a therapeutic effect on OI. While a few prior art anti-sclerostin antibodies are described or referenced, the specification fails to describe a representative number of species corresponding to the claimed genus for the following reasons.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through establishment of a structure-function correlation (by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics) or through a sufficient description of a representative number of species. Either is considered sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
Regarding structure-function correlation, it is noted that one of skill in the art was aware that there is a lack of structure-function correlation in antibody molecules. Evidence of such in the form of publications in the art include the following.
First, the prior art recognizes that the full six CDR sequences are required to form the part of an antibody, i.e., the paratope, that specifically binds the target antigen. See Al Qaraghuli et al. (2020, Nature Scientific Reports 10:13969), who state that the six CDRs form a continuous surface to form the paratope that binds the epitope of the cognate antigen.
However, the prior art also recognizes that a single protein can be bound by a very large and structurally diverse genus of antibodies (i.e., there is no common structural relationship even for antibodies that bind to the same protein, epitope, or overlapping epitopes). For example, Edwards et al. (2003, JMB 334:103-118) teach that over 1,000 different antibodies to a single protein can be generated, all with different sequences, and representative of almost the entire extensive heavy and light chain germline repertoire (42/49 functional heavy chain germlines and 33 of 70 V-lambda and V-kappa light chain germlines), and with extensive diversity in the HCDR3 region sequences (that are generated by VDJ germline segment recombination) as well.
Lloyd et al. (2009, Protein Engineering, Eng. Design & Selection 22(3): 159-168) teach that a large majority of VH/VL germline gene segments are used in the antibody response to an antigen, even when the antibodies were selected by antigen binding. Said reference further teaches that in their studies, of the 841 unselected and 5,044 selected antibodies sequenced, all but one of the 49 functional VH gene segments was observed, and that there are on average about 120 different antibodies generated per antigen. Said reference also teaches that a wide variety of VH and VL pairings further increase diversity. (See entire reference.)
Goel et al. (2004, J. Immunol. 173: 7358-7367) teach that three mAbs that bind to the same short (12-mer) peptide, exhibit diverse V gene usage, indicating their independent germline origin. Said reference further teaches that two of these mAbs recognize the same set of amino acid residues defining the epitope (alternate amino acid residues spread over the entire sequence), however, the relative contribution of each set of residues in the peptide showed significant variation. The reference notes that all of the mAbs do not show any kind of V gene restriction among themselves, implying variable paratope structure, despite the fact that two of these mAbs bind to the peptide through a common set of residues. (See entire reference).
Khan et al. (2014, J. Immunol. 192: 5398-5405) teach that two structurally diverse germline mAbs recognizing overlapping epitopes of the same short peptide do so in different topologies, the antibodies possessing entirely different CDR sequences. Said reference teaches that unrelated mAbs structurally adjust to recognize an antigen, indicating that the primary B cell response is composed of BCRs having a high degree of structural adaptability. Said reference also teaches that the common epitope(s) also adopt distinct conformations when bound to different mAbs, with the higher degree of structural plasticity inherent to the mAbs. Said reference further teaches “It has been shown that both the framework region and the CDRs have a considerable amount of inherent conformational plasticity...Therefore, it is not surprising that distinct germline Abs recognize the same epitope by rearranging the CDR conformations. This may well have implications of Ag specificity beyond the naive BCR repertoire, because Kaji et al... .have shown in a recent report that the B cell memory can contain both germline-encoded and somatically mutated BCRs.” (See entire reference).
Poosarla et al. (2017, Biotechn. Bioeng. 114(6): 1331 -1342) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Rabia, et al. (2018, Biochemical Engineering Journal 137:365-374) teach what effects mutations can have on an antibody's stability, solubility, binding affinity and binding specificity. Rabia et al. report that an increase in antibody affinity can be associated with a decrease in stability (p. 366, col. 2 last paragraph; Fig. 2). Rabia et al. thus teach that affinity and specificity are not necessarily correlated and that and increase in affinity does not indicate an increase in specificity (Fig. 3; p. 368, col. 1, section 3,1st full paragraph to col. 2, 2nd full paragraph).
Conversely, evidence also shows that some functionally diverse antibodies can share some structural similarities, including an entire CDR region. See Igawa et al. (US 9,334,331 B2), who disclose antibody Q153 that binds human Factor IXa. Q153 comprises a VH-CDR1 identical to the VH-CDR1 of antibody 11E12 disclosed by Gonzales et al. (US 10,421,807 B2). However, 11E12 specifically binds canine IL-31, a protein having no structural or functional similarity to human Factor IXa. This illustrates that even when some CDR regions share 100% structural identity, the antibodies in which they are comprised can have completely different functions (i.e., binding specificities).
The combination of evidentiary publications thus underscores the recognition in the art of a lack of structure-function correlation in antibody molecules.
Regarding a representative number of species, the instant specification fails to describe a representative number of species to provide adequate written description of the claimed genus as per MPEP § 2163. While the specification provides general descriptions of how to make antibodies that bind sclerostin proteins and how to test them for desired binding and therapeutic activities, only one species of antibody within the claimed genus is described with sufficient identifying characteristics using precise definitions such as structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties such that one skilled in the art could visualize or recognize the identity of the claimed subject matter Specifically, the specification describes a sclerostin-binding antibody that comprises CDRH1 of SEQ ID NO: 4, CDRH2 of SEQ ID NO: 15, CDRH3 of SEQ ID NO: 26, CDRL1 of SEQ ID NO: 37, CDRL2 of SEQ ID NO: 48, and CDRL3 of SEQ ID NO: 59. These six CDR sequences are comprised within each of the following heavy chain/light chain pairs of sequences: 70/81, 114/125, and 172/173. The specification also refers to prior art sclerostin antibodies Ab-A, Ab-B, Ab-C, Ab-D, and Ab-1; however, no structures are described for these antibodies in the instant specification. Accordingly, the specification describes a single species of antibody having the functions required by the claims, which is not representative of the structurally-undefined genus recited in the claims.
Accordingly, the specification describes a single species of antibody having the structure and functions required by the claims.
Applicant’s attention is directed to the recent decision in Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The court discussed whether an antibody is adequately described by describing a newly characterized antigen. Specifically, the court referred to the decision in Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In that case, the patentee claimed a genus of antibodies containing a human variable region that has particularly desirable therapeutic properties: high affinity, neutralizing activity, and A2 specificity. Despite the fact that the specification disclosed human TNF-α protein, and despite the disclosure of the structures of more than one species of antibody related to the genus, the court ruled that that the generic antibody claims at issue were invalid for lack of written description. The fact pattern is similar in the instant case. As in the court case, the instant claims recite a genus of antibodies that have affinity for a specific antigen and have a desirable special property, i.e., ability to be therapeutically effective in methods of treating tumors or inducing an immune response. Following the finding in Centocor, the instant claims are found to lack adequate written description. Similarly, in Juno Therapeutics, Inc., Sloan Kettering Institute for Cancer Research v. Kite Pharma, Inc. (Case 2020-1758, CAFC August 2021), the court found that the disclosure of two antibody products (scFv molecules) was insufficient to support written description for the claimed genera, specifying that the specification at issue failed to disclose “structural features common to the members of the genus to support that the inventors possessed the claimed invention;” i.e., the specification and evidence of record failed to provide a structure-function correlation. In the instant case, there is also no evidence of a structure-function correlation for antibodies, and thus the claims are properly rejected for lack of adequate written description.
Double Patenting
1) 7,879,322 B2:
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 30-40 of U.S. Patent No. 7,879,322 B2 in view of Sinder et al. (2014, Osteoporos. Int. 25:2097-2107).
Both claim sets are generally directed to a method of administering an anti-sclerostin antibody for therapeutic effect. The differences between the claim sets include the following.
Instant independent claim 1 recites that the anti-sclerostin antibody is administered to a human patient to treat osteogenesis imperfecta (OI). OI is also recited in patented claims 31 and 32. While the patented claims do not explicitly recite treatment of human patients, such is obvious over the patented claims since the diseases recited in the patented claims are known to affect humans, and amelioration of such diseases in humans is obviously desirable to the ordinary skilled artisan.
Instant dependent claims 2 and 3 recite types of OI and require the treated patient population to have mutations in COL1A1 and/or COL1A2 genes. The patented claims do not recite such. However, OI, including OI type IV, was known to involve mutations in COL1A1, and was responsive to treatment with an anti-sclerostin antibody. See Sinder et al. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to extend the method of treating OI as recited in the patented claims to include treating patients suffering from OI types with COL1A1 mutations as per the pending claims in view of the knowledge in the art that the various types of OI involve such mutations, as explained by Sinder et al.
Instant dependent claims 4-7 recite structural limitations for the administered antibody and/or the epitope to which the antibody binds. The same antibody structural limitations are recited in patented claims 1 and 36. An antibody having such a structure inherently binds the epitopes recited in the pending claims.
Instant dependent claims 9-16 recite dosages and treatment regimens, which are not explicitly recited in the patented claims. However, absent a showing of unexpected results correlating with such dosages and regimens, choosing an optimal dosage and regimen would have been obvious to the clinician, who would have been well-trained in choosing dosages and regimens based on the condition, age, weight, etc. of the patient being treated.
Instant dependent claim 17 recites administration of additional therapeutic agents. Such are also recited in patented claims 39 and 40.
Accordingly, the limitations of the instant claims are fairly suggested by the patented claims in view of what was known about OI in the prior art as evidenced by Sinder et al.
2) 8,246,953 B2:
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 18-21, and 23-27 of U.S. Patent No. 8,246,953 B2 in view of Sinder et al. (2014, Osteoporos. Int. 25:2097-2107).
Both claim sets are generally directed to a method of administering an anti-sclerostin antibody for therapeutic effect. The differences between the claim sets include the following.
Instant independent claim 1 recites that the anti-sclerostin antibody is administered to a human patient to treat osteogenesis imperfecta (OI). OI is also recited in patented claims 19 and 21. While the patented claims do not explicitly recite treatment of human patients, such is obvious over the patented claims since the diseases recited in the patented claims are known to affect humans, and amelioration of such diseases in humans is obviously desirable to the ordinary skilled artisan. Also, patented claim 24 requires the anti-sclerostin antibody to be a human or humanized antibody. Such were well known in the art to be useful for treating humans, as such is associated with less adverse immunological side effects.
Instant dependent claims 2 and 3 recite types of OI and require the treated patient population to have mutations in COL1A1 and/or COL1A2 genes. The patented claims do not recite such. However, OI, including OI type IV, was known to involve mutations in COL1A1, and was responsive to treatment with an anti-sclerostin antibody. See Sinder et al. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to extend the method of treating OI as recited in the patented claims to include treating patients suffering from OI types with COL1A1 mutations as per the pending claims in view of the knowledge in the art that the various types of OI involve such mutations, as explained by Sinder et al.
Instant dependent claims 4-7 recite structural limitations for the administered antibody and/or the epitope to which the antibody binds. The same antibody structural limitations are recited in patented claims 1, 5, and 23. An antibody having such a structure inherently binds the epitopes recited in the pending claims.
Instant dependent claims 9-16 recite dosages and treatment regimens, which are not explicitly recited in the patented claims. However, absent a showing of unexpected results correlating with such dosages and regimens, choosing an optimal dosage and regimen would have been ob9vious to the clinician, who would have been well-trained in choosing dosages and regimens based on the condition, age, weight, etc. of the patient being treated.
Instant dependent claim 17 recites administration of additional therapeutic agents. Such are also recited in patented claims 25-27.
Accordingly, the limitations of the instant claims are fairly suggested by the patented claims in view of what was known about OI in the prior art as evidenced by Sinder et al.
3) US 10,961,305 B2:
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,961,305 B2.
Both claim sets recite a method of administering an anti-sclerostin antibody to human patients to treat OI type I, III, or IV, and human patients having one or more mutations in COL1A1 and/or COL1A2 genes. Both sets of claims refer to an anti-sclerostin antibody having the same CDR and VH/VL sequences. Both sets of claims indicate that the antibody binds the same epitopes. Both sets of claims refer to the same dosages and treatment regimens.
The differences between the claim sets are mainly one of scope. For example, instant claim 1 recites treatment of any type of OI in a human comprising administering any amount of any anti-sclerostin antibody, whereas patented claim 1 is limited to treatment of OI type I, III, or IV, human patients having particular mutations, specific anti-sclerostin antibody sequences, and a dosage regimen. Accordingly, patented claim 1 is a subgenus of the genus claimed in instant claim 1. A subgenus renders obvious its genus.
4) 17/187,168:
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26, 30, 33-35, and 39-44 of copending Application No. 17/187,168.
Both claim sets recite a method of administering an anti-sclerostin antibody to human patients to treat OI type I, III, or IV, wherein dependent claims recite that the patients have one or more mutations in COL1A1 and/or COL1A2 genes. Both sets of claims refer to an anti-sclerostin antibody having the same CDR and VH/VL sequences. Both sets of claims indicate that the antibody binds the same epitopes. Both sets of claims refer to the same dosages and treatment regimens.
The differences between the claim sets are mainly one of scope. For example, instant claim 1 recites treatment of any type of OI in a human comprising administering any amount of any anti-sclerostin antibody, whereas copending claim 26 is limited to treatment of OI type I, III, or IV, human patients having particular mutations, specific anti-sclerostin antibody sequences, and a dosage regimen. Accordingly, copending claim 26 is a subgenus of the genus claimed in instant claim 1. A subgenus renders obvious its genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) US 7,879,322 B2:
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kneissel et al. (US 7,879,322 B2; issued 01 February 2011).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
‘322 teaches a method for treating osteogenesis imperfecta (OI) in a human patient comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-sclerostin antibody, wherein the anti-sclerostin antibody comprises (a) a heavy chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4; (b) a heavy chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15; (c) a heavy chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 26; (d) a light chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37; (e) a light chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 48; and (f) a light chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 59. See claims 1, 29, and 31; col. 9-13; col. 39 li. 16-24; col. 39 li. 38-50. This is relevant to claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 4, anti-sclerostin antibodies comprising a VL polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 81 and a VH polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 70 are taught in claims 30, 31, 34-37; col. 9-13.
Regarding claim 6, anti-sclerostin antibodies that bind a subsequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 174 are taught at col. 2 li. 22-37. Note that amino acids 112-126 of ‘322’s SEQ ID NO: 5 are comprised within instant SEQ ID NO: 174.
Regarding claim 7, the instant specification does not disclose what epitope is bound by an antibody comprising the VL and VH sequences of SEQ ID NO: 176 and 177. Absent evidence to the contrary, it can be assumed that the antibodies of ‘322 bind the same epitope.
Regarding claims 9-16, dosages and treatment regimens falling within the ranges recited in the claims is taught at col. 37, 1st full paragraph. Doses include 1 or 10 mg/kg (relevant to claims 9, 10; note that if an average adult weighs 70 kg, then this translates to a total dosage of 70 mg); weekly/monthly (relevant to claims 11 and 12), and first/second dosage regimens (relevant to claim 13; see col. 37, 2nd full paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, administration of additional agents including bisphosphonates is taught in claims 38-40; col. 3, li. 8-13.
2) US 8,246,953 B2:
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kneissel et al. (US 8,246,953 B2; issued 21 August 2012).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
‘953 teaches a method for treating osteogenesis imperfecta (OI) in a human patient comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-sclerostin antibody, wherein the anti-sclerostin antibody comprises (a) a heavy chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4; (b) a heavy chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15; (c) a heavy chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 26; (d) a light chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37; (e) a light chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 48; and (f) a light chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 59. See claims 5, 20, and 21; col. 9-13; col. 39 li. 27-38; col. 39 li. 49-61. This is relevant to claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 4, anti-sclerostin antibodies comprising a VL polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 81 and a VH polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 70 are taught in claims 1 and 20-23; col. 9-13.
Regarding claim 6, anti-sclerostin antibodies that bind a subsequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 174 are taught at col. 2 li. 31-46. Note that amino acids 112-126 of ‘322’s SEQ ID NO: 5 are comprised within instant SEQ ID NO: 174.
Regarding claim 7, the instant specification does not disclose what epitope is bound by an antibody comprising the VL and VH sequences of SEQ ID NO: 176 and 177. Absent evidence to the contrary, it can be assumed that the antibodies of ‘322 bind the same epitope.
Regarding claims 9-16, dosages and treatment regimens falling within the ranges recited in the claims is taught at col. 37, 2nd full paragraph. Doses include 1 or 10 mg/kg (relevant to claims 9, 10; note that if an average adult weighs 70 kg, then this translates to a total dosage of 70 mg); weekly/monthly (relevant to claims 11 and 12), and first/second dosage regimens (relevant to claim 13; see col. 37, 2nd full paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, administration of additional agents including bisphosphonates is taught in claims 25-27; col. 3, li. 18-23.
3) US 7,872,106 B2 “Paszty et al.”:
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Paszty et al. (US 7,872,106 B2; issued 18 January 2011).
It is noted that claim 5 recites a method of administering an anti- sclerostin antibody to a human patient suffering from osteogenesis imperfecta (Ol). While antibody CDR sequences are recited, the claim recites the phrase, “... comprises ... a (heavy/light) chain variable region CDR(1-3) comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in...” The use of the word “an” rather than “the” allows for the recited CDRs to comprise a fragment of unspecified length from the referenced sequences, including a single amino acid. Accordingly, claim 5 only implies meaningful functional limitations for the recited antibodies, i.e., the ability to bind sclerostin, and the ability to interfere with sclerostin activity to achieve a therapeutic effect on OI.
Paszty et al. teach a method of treating osteogenesis imperfecta (Ol) in a human patient comprising administering to the human patient in need thereof an anti-sclerostin antibody, wherein the anti-sclerostin antibody is administered intravenously at a dose of 1-50 mg/kg body weight of the patient. For treatment of osteogenesis imperfecta see paragraph bridging col. 176-177. For dosage of 10 mg/kg see col. 176 li. 16-22 and col. 196 li. 16 (Group 6). For treatment of human subjects see col. 173 li. 15-21. Please note that the CDRs of Paszty’s Ab-5 have at least one amino acid in common with each of the CDRs recited in the instant claims. Accordingly, the antibody of Paszty et al. comprising “an” amino acid sequence of each of the sequences recited in the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) US 7,879,322 B2 in view of Sinder et al.:
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kneissel et al. (US 7,879,322 B2; issued 01 February 2011) in view of Sinder et al. (2014, Osteoporos. Int. 25:2097-2107; of record).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As discussed above, ‘322 teaches a method for treating osteogenesis imperfecta (OI) in a human patient comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-sclerostin antibody, wherein the anti-sclerostin antibody comprises (a) a heavy chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4; (b) a heavy chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15; (c) a heavy chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 26; (d) a light chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37; (e) a light chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 48; and (f) a light chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 59, or an antibody comprising the VH and VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 70 and 81, respectively. See claims 1, 29-31; col. 9-13; col. 39 li. 16-24; col. 39 li. 38-50.
‘322 does not explicitly teach treatment of OI types I, III, or IV as per claim 2, or that the human patient has one or more mutations in the COL1A1and/or COL1A2 genes as per claim 3.
However, Sinder et al. teach that administration of an anti-sclerostin antibody to a mouse model of type IV OI, having a mutation in COL1A1 identical to one found in a human patient, resulted in improved trabecular and cortical bone mass in the femur as well as improved mechanical stiffness and strength. See abstract and introduction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of treating OI in a human patient comprising administering an anti-sclerostin antibody comprising (1) the CDR sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 4, 15, 26, 37, 48, and 59, or (2) the VH and VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 70 and 81 as taught by ‘322, by treating type IV OI in a human patient having a mutation in COL1A1 as suggested by Sinder et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so as well as the reasonable expectation of success could have been found in the disclosure of Sinder et al., who report structural and functional improvements in a mouse model, and who discuss the desirability of finding effective treatments for this genetic disease.
2) US 8,246,953 B2 in view of Sinder et al.:
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kneissel et al. (US 8,246,953 B2; issued 21 August 2012) in view of Sinder et al. (2014, Osteoporos. Int. 25:2097-2107; of record).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As discussed above, ‘953 teaches a method for treating osteogenesis imperfecta (OI) in a human patient comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-sclerostin antibody, wherein the anti-sclerostin antibody comprises (a) a heavy chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4; (b) a heavy chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15; (c) a heavy chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 26; (d) a light chain variable region CDR1 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37; (e) a light chain variable region CDR2 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 48; and (f) a light chain variable region CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 59, or an antibody comprising the VH and VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 70 and 81, respectively. See claims 1, 5, and 20-23; col. 9-13; col. 39 li. 27-38; col. 39 li. 49-61.
‘953 does not explicitly teach treatment of OI types I, III, or IV as per claim 2, or that the human patient has one or more mutations in the COL1A1and/or COL1A2 genes as per claim 3.
However, Sinder et al. teach that administration of an anti-sclerostin antibody to a mouse model of type IV OI, having a mutation in COL1A1 identical to one found in a human patient, resulted in improved trabecular and cortical bone mass in the femur as well as improved mechanical stiffness and strength. See abstract and introduction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of treating OI in a human patient comprising administering an anti-sclerostin antibody comprising (1) the CDR sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 4, 15, 26, 37, 48, and 59, or (2) the VH and VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 70 and 81 as taught by ‘953, by treating type IV OI in a human patient having a mutation in COL1A1 as suggested by Sinder et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so as well as the reasonable expectation of success could have been found in the disclosure of Sinder et al., who report structural and functional improvements in a mouse model, and who discuss the desirability of finding effective treatments for this genetic disease.
3) Paszty et al. in view of Sinder et al.:
Claims 1-7, 9-17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paszty et al. (US 7,872,106 B2; issued 18 January 2011) in view of Sinder et al. (2014, Osteoporos. Int. 25:2097-2107; of record).
It is again noted that claim 5 recites a method of administering an anti- sclerostin antibody to a human patient suffering from osteogenesis imperfecta (Ol). While antibody CDR sequences are recited, the claim recites the phrase, “... comprises ... a (heavy/light) chain variable region CDR(1-3) comprising an amino acid sequence set forth in...” The use of the word “an” rather than “the” allows for the recited CDRs to comprise a fragment of unspecified length from the referenced sequences, including a single amino acid. Accordingly, claim 5 only implies meaningful functional limitations for the recited antibodies, i.e., the ability to bind sclerostin, and the ability to interfere with sclerostin activity to achieve a therapeutic effect on OL.
As discussed above, Paszty et al. teach a method of treating osteogenesis imperfecta (Ol) in a human patient comprising administering to the human patient in need thereof an anti-sclerostin antibody, wherein the anti-sclerostin antibody is administered intravenously at a dose of 1-50 mg/kg body weight of the patient. For treatment of osteogenesis imperfecta see paragraph bridging col. 176-177. For dosage of 10 mg/kg see col. 176 li. 16-22 and col. 196 li. 16 (Group 6). Please note that the CDRs of Paszty’s Ab-5 have at least one amino acid in common with each of the CDRs recited in the instant claims. Accordingly, the antibody of Paszty et al. comprising “an” amino acid sequence of each of the sequences recited in the instant claims.
Paszty et al. do not explicitly teach treatment of Ol types I, III, or IV as per claim 2, or that the human patient has one or more mutations in the COL1A1land/or COL1A2 genes as per claim 23.
However, Sinder et al. teach that administration of an anti-sclerostin antibody to a mouse model of type IV Ol, having a mutation in COL1A1 identical to one found in a human patient, resulted in improved trabecular and cortical bone mass in the femur as well as improved mechanical stiffness and strength. See abstract and introduction.
Furthermore, Paszty et al. do not explicitly teach the dosing regimens recited in instant claims 10-16. However, Paszty et al. explicitly teach that optimization of dosage regimes to achieve maximal therapeutic efficacy and minimal toxicity depends on many factors (age, sex, weight, condition of patient, etc.). See col. 176 li. 16-22. Such is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the medical arts.
Finally, Paszty et al. do not explicitly teach administration of other active therapeutic agents as per claim 17. However, such was well known in the prior art. Sinder et al. discuss such agents, including bisphosphonates, in the Introduction section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of treating Ol in a human patient comprising administering an anti-sclerostin antibody as taught by Paszty et al. by treating type IV Ol in a human patient having a mutation in COL1A1 as suggested by Sinder et al. as well as optimizing dosage regimes and co-administering active agents such as a bisphosphonate to arrive at the claimed limitations, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so as well as the reasonable expectation of success could have been found in the disclosure of Sinder et al., who (a) report structural and functional improvements in a mouse model, (b) review common treatments for Ol such as bisphosphonates, and (c) discuss the desirability of finding effective treatments for this genetic disease.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
References cited herein have been cited in Applicant’s IDS, filed 05/09/2025.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0226928 A1 (Dani; issued 09 September 2010):
Dani discloses that instant antibody BPS804 (comprising (1) CDR sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 4, 15, 26, 37, 48, and 59, or (2) the VH and VL sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 70 and 81) is also known as antibody MOR05813. See [0004]. MOR05813 is a preferred antibody used in US 8,246,963 B2 and US 7,879,322 B2. See legend to Figure 1 in both patents.
This is a Continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 18/297,280. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARON X WEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641