DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8 June 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "30" and "28" (in paragraph 36) have both been used to designate first orifice and "30" (in paragraph 40, 41), “32”, and "34" (in paragraph 37) have been used to designate second orifice.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “28” has been used to designate both first plate and first orifice (in paragraph 36), “30” has been used to designate both first orifice and second orifice (in paragraph 41, 42), and “34” has been used to designate both third orifice and second orifice (in paragraph 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhan (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0089474).
Regarding claim 1, Zhan discloses a four-way switch valve (FIG. 1) comprising:
a housing 1/3 comprising a plurality of communication ports 101/102/103/107 further comprising an inlet port 107 and at least two outlet ports 102/103; and
a substantially planar first plate 204 disposed within the housing wherein the first plate further comprises a plurality of orifices 2042/2043/2044/2045 wherein the first plate is configured to selectively rotate to selectively and at least partially open or close communication between at least two of the plurality of communication ports (FIG. 1, 5, 9, 12a-14c; Paragraph 32-33, 39-44).
Regarding claim 2, Zhan discloses the first plate comprises a first orifice 2042, wherein the first orifice and the inlet port are coaxially aligned (Paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 3, Zhan discloses the first plate is configured to rotate in a primary plane formed by the first plate (Paragraph 40-44).
Regarding claim 4, Zhan discloses the first plate is configured to selectively revolve clockwise or counterclockwise (FIG. 12a-14c; Paragraph 40-44).
Regarding claim 5, Zhan discloses a second plate 203 disposed within the housing and adjacent the first plate to form an interface between the first plate and the second plate wherein the second plate comprises a plurality of communication ports 2032/2031 matching with the plurality of housing communication ports, wherein the communication ports further comprise the inlet port 2032, and the plurality of at least two outlet ports 2031 (FIG. 5, 10-12a; Paragraph 32-33, 39-44).
With respect to the limitation a drum A communication port, a drum B communication port and a bypass communication port, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Zhan discloses the first plate further comprises at least one valve seat (bottom surface creates a surface seal with the top surface of 203) disposed in the at least one of the plurality of orifices and configured to isolate the at least one of the plurality of orifices from the interface (FIG. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 8, Zhan discloses a rotor 205 configured to selectively rotate the first plate (FIG. 5; Paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 9, Zhan discloses the rotor further comprises a diverter 2046 configured to place the first orifice in fluid communication with the second orifice and the third orifice (FIG. 5, 12b, 13b, 14b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan in view of Kojima (U.S. Patent 8,763,640).
Regarding claim 7, Zhan discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 5.
Zhan is silent regarding the first plate further comprises a pocket formed in the distal edge of the at least one first plate orifice wherein the pocket is configured to receive a valve seat configured to substantially seal against the second plate.
However, Kojima teaches the first plate 20 further comprises a pocket 22 formed in the distal edge of the at least one first plate orifice 21 wherein the pocket is configured to receive a valve seat 42 configured to substantially seal against the second plate 10 (FIG. 1; Col. 1 ln 65-Col. 2 ln 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhan by adding a pocket on the first plate to accommodate a valve seat positioned between the first plate and the second plate, as taught by Kojima, for the purpose of providing a more robust seal between the first and second plates, specifically surrounding the first plate orifice.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan in view of Kindersley (U.S. Patent 10,400,900).
Regarding claim 10, Zhan discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 8.
Zhan is silent regarding a steam access plane adjacent the rotor wherein the steam access plane is configured to allow steam to energize the first plate and expand the distance between the rotor and the first plate and increase the force the first plate exerts against the second plate.
However, Kindersley teaches using steam (via 26, 27) to increase the pressure applied to the back of a surface (13, 16) through a bellows (25, 17) type seal to increase the force between two other objects (13/16) and 18 (FIG. 3A; Col. 4 ln 59-Col. 5 ln 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhan by adding a steam powered pressure means atop the first plate, as taught by Kindersley, for the purpose of providing a means to increase the seal between the first and second plates while also increasing the effort required to rotate the first plate.
Regarding claim 11, Zhan, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10.
Zhan/Kindersley further teaches a valve seat (Kindersley 17/25) wherein the valve seat further comprises a selectively extendable bellows (Kindersley 17/25) in fluid communication with the steam access plane and wherein the bellows is configured to energize with steam pressure and increase a force between the valve seat (Zhan bottom surface of 204) and the second plate (Zhan 203) (Zhan FIG. 3-4; Kindersley FIG. 3A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0048123) discloses a valve similar to the one described in the present application.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753