DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2024 included a typographical error for cite no. 2: “20100149337”. The publication number and publication date were corrected to 20100159337 and 2010-06-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotani et al. (US 2013/0260261).
Regarding claims 1, 10-12, and 18-20, Kotani teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte solution and lithium-ion secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode 20 containing a positive electrode active material (Fig. 1);
a negative electrode 30 containing a negative electrode active material (Fig. 1);
a separator 40 (Fig. 1);
and an electrolyte composition (abstract).
The negative electrode may include metals including silicon (para 0025). The electrolyte includes various solutes (i.e., lithium salts), which may be used in a combination of two or more (para 0039). The electrolyte composition further includes 10-15 wt.% FEC, fluorinated solvent (Examples 15-17), 1 wt.% DTD, additive (Examples 15-17), and the balance one or more non-fluorinated solvents (para 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use silicon from the list of recited known materials (para 0025).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kotani teaches the concentration of the solute in the nonaqueous electrolyte solution is 0.5-2.0 M (para 0040), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of between 1 M and 2 M, and between 1.2 M and 1.6 M.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited concentration because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kotani teaches the electrolyte includes various solutes (i.e., lithium salts), which may be used in a combination of two or more (para 0039).
Regarding claims 6-8, Kotani teaches salts may be LiPF6, LiClO4, LiBF4, LiTFSI, etc. (para 0039).
Regarding claim 9, Kotani teaches LiTFSI, not LiFSI. However, LiTFSI and LiFSI are close analogs and LiFSI is commonly known as a lithium salt used for the same.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, instant claims are proviso upon limitation FB not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Regarding claim 15, Kotani teaches EC/DEC (para 0052).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, instant claims are proviso upon limitation EMC not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force. However, Kotani does teach examples of the chain carbonate include dimethyl carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate (para 0037), wherein the chain carbonate is used in 3:7 ratio (para 0052).
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723