DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the remarks filed on 09/02/2025.
The amendment filed 09/02/2025 has been entered. Claims 2, and 3-20 remain pending in the application, claim 1 has been canceled.
The 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in light of claim amendments.
The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn in light of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill") and Orderud (US 20150065877 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Brooks teaches a method of generating a 3-dimensional (3D) image of a target area that includes multiple depth zones for acquiring data using a handheld ultrasound device, the method comprising:
imaging, using an ultrasonic array of an ultrasound device (transducers in a phased array [0008]), a first zone by transmitting into the first zone (Q-block 208 shown in fig. 2; [0047]) and receiving ultrasound signals from the first zone (Referring to FIG. 1, an array of transducers 102 generates pulses and receives a reflected returning wave front shaped by the presence of an object of interest 110 [0045]) using a first imaging scheme (generating a first pulse from a group of transducers in a phased array; receiving a first returning wave front from an intersection of the first pulse with a change in acoustic impedance in a first fraction of time, [0008]; phased array in which each transducer sends an acoustic beam in a coordinated sequence, establishing a pattern of constructive interference that results in a beam at a set angle, allowing for a wider field of view [0001]; in a phased array, each transducer can be set to a particular angle, therefore allowing for coverage across multiple angles and depths, this is first imaging scheme as claimed, which is a multi-angle plane wave imaging scheme in light of claim 19), the first zone having a depth dimension that extends from a surface of an object being imaged to a first depth into the object (A phased array 202 may receive data from a depth of nth Q-block 214 where nth Q-block 214 represents the maximum useful depth which a pulse of specific frequency will penetrate…Each of a first Q-block 208 [0047])
Fig. 2 of Brooks reproduced above
imaging, using the ultrasonic array, a second zone (a second Q-block 210, [0047]) by transmitting into the second zone (Referring to FIG. 1, an array of transducers 102 generates pulses and receives a reflected returning wave front shaped by the presence of an object of interest 110 [0045]) and receiving ultrasound signals from the second zone (A phased array 202 may receive data from a depth of nth Q-block 214 where nth Q-block 214 represents the maximum useful depth which a pulse of specific frequency will penetrate. Each of a first Q-block 208, a second Q-block 210 [0047]), …, the second zone extending from the first depth to a second depth into the object (the ultrasonic array 202 is above the first zone 208, and the first zone is above second zone 210 shown in fig. 2; [0047]), the second depth being farther from the surface of the object than the first depth, the first zone being between the second zone and the ultrasonic array (A phased array 202 may receive data from a depth of nth Q-block 214 where nth Q-block 214 represents the maximum useful depth which a pulse of specific frequency will penetrate…Each of a first Q-block 208, a second Q-block 210, [0047]; the ultrasonic array 202 is above the first zone 208, and the first zone is above second zone 210);
imaging, using the ultrasonic array, a third zone (block 212 in fig 2; [0047]) by transmitting into the third zone (Referring to FIG. 1, an array of transducers 102 generates pulses and receives a reflected returning wave front shaped by the presence of an object of interest 110 [0045]) and receiving ultrasound signals from the third zone (A phased array 202 may receive data from a depth of nth Q-block 214 where nth Q-block 214 represents the maximum useful depth which a pulse of specific frequency will penetrate. Each of a first Q-block 208, a second Q-block 210, , Q-block . . . 212 [0047]) …, the third zone extending from the second depth to a third depth farther from the surface of the object than the second depth (third depth/block 212 is in a depth further than the second depth/block 210 as seen in fig. 2), the second zone being between the first zone and the third zone (Each of a first Q-block 208, a second Q-block 210, Q-block . . . 212 [0047]; second zone 210 is between first zone 208 and third zone 212).
Brooks, however, does not teach:
[imaging, using the ultrasonic array, a second zone by transmitting into the second zone and receiving ultrasound signals from the second zone] using a second imaging scheme,
[imaging, using the ultrasonic array, a third zone by transmitting into the third zone and receiving ultrasound signals from the third zone] using a third imaging scheme,
dividing each of the first, second, and third zones into a plurality of patches, each patch covering a sub-section of the width of its respective zone;
for each zone:
extending at least one first patch of such that the at least one first patch overlaps with at least one first horizontally adjacent patch in the zone to form a horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch; and
blending pixels in the horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch
blending pixels in one or more regions at the boundaries between zones to reduce artifacts and improve image quality in the one or more regions.
Roundhill is considered analogous to the instant application as “Ultrasonic Diagnostic Imaging Of Harmonic Frequencies With Speckle Reduction Processing” is disclosed (title). Roundhill teaches a method wherein:
imaging, using the ultrasonic array(The array transducer 112 of the probe 110 transmits ultrasonic energy and receives echoes returned in response to this transmission, Col. 3 lines 21-23), a second zone by transmitting into the second zone (shallow depths, col. 11 lines 49-51) and receiving ultrasound signals from the second zone using a second imaging scheme (For example, the proportionate combiner 190 may create a blended image which uses only echo data from the harmonic image at shallow depths, col. 11 lines 49-51; col 1 lines 61-67 disclose that tissue is being imaged, the harmonic image scheme is the second imaging scheme in light of claim 19),
imaging, using the ultrasonic array (The array transducer 112 of the probe 110 transmits ultrasonic energy and receives echoes returned in response to this transmission, Col. 3 lines 21-23), a third zone (intermediate depths, col. 11 lines 44-53) by transmitting into the third zone (The fundamental and harmonic images are then blended together by a proportionate combiner 190, under control of a blend control 192. The blend control 192 may automatically implement a pre-programmed blending algorithm, or one directed by the user. For example, the proportionate combiner 190 may create a blended image which uses only echo data from the harmonic image at shallow depths, then combines echo data from both image at intermediate depths, col. 11 lines 44-53; As used herein the term harmonic also refers to harmonic frequencies of higher order than the second harmonic and to subharmonics, as the principles described herein are equally applicable to higher order and subharmonic frequencies; Col 12 lines 43-46; the blended image using the fundamental and harmonic image is the third imaging scheme as claimed, and in light of claim 19) and receiving ultrasound signals from the third zone using a third imaging scheme (as the harmonic image/second zone is taken from a shallow depth, and the fundamental and harmonic image/third zone is taken from an intermediate depth, the fundamental and subharmonic image/third zone is extends further from the surface than the second zone/harmonic image zone in the blended image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Brooks to modify the second and third zone to include: imaging, using the ultrasonic array, a second zone by transmitting into the second zone and receiving ultrasound signals from the second zone using a second imaging scheme, imaging, using the ultrasonic array, a third zone by transmitting into the third zone and receiving ultrasound signals from the third zone using a third imaging scheme, as taught by Brooks. Doing so would reduce clutter, image at appreciable depths, and overcome the effects of depth-dependent attenuation, as suggested by Roundhill (Col. 2 lines 23-26).
The combined invention still does not teach:
dividing each of the first, second, and third zones into a plurality of patches, each patch covering a sub-section of the width of its respective zone;
for each zone:
extending at least one first patch of such that the at least one first patch overlaps with at least one first horizontally adjacent patch in the zone to form a horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch; and
blending pixels in the horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch
blending pixels in one or more regions at the boundaries between zones to reduce artifacts and improve image quality in the one or more regions.
Orderud is considered analogous to the instant application as “Method and system for generating a composite ultrasound image” is disclosed (title).
Orderud teaches:
dividing each of the first, second, and third zones into a plurality of patches, each patch covering a sub-section of the width of its respective zone (voxels are grouped together as disclosed in [0025]-[0026]);
for each zone:
extending at least one first patch of such that the at least one first patch overlaps with at least one first horizontally adjacent patch in the zone to form a horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent (processor 116 may implement an alpha-blended merge in order to combine pixel values from the volume-rendering and the slice in areas where the volume-rendering and the slice overlap. The processor 116 may combine pixels from the slice and the volume-rendering to generate new pixel values for the area of overlap [0039]; “patches” is being interpreted by the examiner as a group of pixels, as [0085] of the instant specification disclose that blending information of patches of pixels; as volume and slice pixels are being merged, this is inherently occurring throughout the horizontal direction as well as other directions throughout the volume of the image); and
blending pixels in the horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch (processor 116 may implement an alpha-blended merge in order to combine pixel values from the volume-rendering and the slice in areas where the volume-rendering and the slice overlap. The processor 116 may combine pixels from the slice and the volume-rendering to generate new pixel values for the area of overlap [0039])
blending pixels in one or more regions at the boundaries between zones to reduce artifacts and improve image quality in the one or more regions (FIG. 5 is a schematic representation of a thick volume 370 and a relatively thin volume 372 from which ultrasound data may be acquired in accordance with an exemplary embodiment [0034]; The slice may be either a 2D image or the representation of the slice may be a volume-rendering of the plane 352…Each pixel in the slice may be associated with a depth buffer 117 value representing the depth of the portion of the slice represented by that particular pixel [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks and Roundhill to include dividing each of the first, second, and third zones into a plurality of patches, each patch covering a sub-section of the width of its respective zone, for each zone: extending at least one first patch of such that the at least one first patch overlaps with at least one first horizontally adjacent patch in the zone to form a horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch, and blending pixels in the horizontal overlapping area between the at least one first patch and the at least one first horizontally adjacent patch blending pixels in one or more regions at the boundaries between zones to reduce artifacts and improve image quality in the one or more regions, as taught by Orderud, in order to achieve formation of a composite image, which includes a combination of a volume-rendering and a slice, where the volume-rendering and the slice are generated from different modes of ultrasound data, as taught in Orderud ([0029]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks further teaches wherein imaging the first zone further comprises accumulating signals from a plurality of angles of plane wave transmissions (generating a first pulse from a group of transducers in a phased array; receiving a first returning wave front from an intersection of the first pulse with a change in acoustic impedance in a first fraction of time, [0008]; phased array in which each transducer sends an acoustic beam in a coordinated sequence, establishing a pattern of constructive interference that results in a beam at a set angle, allowing for a wider field of view [0001]; in a phased array, each transducer can be set to a particular angle, therefore allowing for coverage across multiple angles and depths) to coherently accumulate beamformed images, and forming a composite image from the accumulated signals (While the fractions of time making up each Q-block may be any amount of time desired, each fraction may be small enough to implement locally to the front end circuitry and large enough for coherent signal analysis such that there is coherent data from all transducers in a given reflected wave front and the Q-blocks can be reassembled into a consistent image after processing [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, is silent regarding wherein each patch in the second zone and each patch in the third zone has a height of an entirety of a respective zone.
Orderud teaches:
wherein each patch in the second zone and each patch in the third zone has a height of the entirety of the respective zone (processor 116 may implement an alpha-blended merge in order to combine pixel values from the volume-rendering and the slice in areas where the volume-rendering and the slice overlap. The processor 116 may combine pixels from the slice and the volume-rendering to generate new pixel values for the area of overlap [0039]; as the merge occurs in overlapping regions, the patches of pixels cover the height of the entirety of each respective zone).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, to include each patch in the second zone and each patch in the third zone has a height of the entirety of the respective zone, as taught by Orderud, in order to achieve formation of a composite image, which includes a combination of a volume-rendering and a slice, where the volume-rendering and the slice are generated from different modes of ultrasound data, as taught in Orderud ([0029]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, further teaches wherein the first imaging scheme is multi-angle plane wave imaging (generating a first pulse from a group of transducers in a phased array; receiving a first returning wave front from an intersection of the first pulse with a change in acoustic impedance in a first fraction of time, [0008]; phased array in which each transducer sends an acoustic beam in a coordinated sequence, establishing a pattern of constructive interference that results in a beam at a set angle, allowing for a wider field of view [0001]; in a phased array, each transducer can be set to a particular angle, therefore allowing for coverage across multiple angles and depths). Brooks, however, does not teach the second imaging scheme is tissue harmonic imaging, and the third imaging scheme is fundamental subharmonic deep imaging.
Roundhill, however teaches:
the second imaging scheme is tissue harmonic imaging scheme (For example, the proportionate combiner 190 may create a blended image which uses only echo data from the harmonic image at shallow depths, col. 11 lines 49-51; col 1 lines 61-67 disclose that tissue is being imaged), and
the third imaging scheme is fundamental subharmonic deep imaging (The fundamental and harmonic images are then blended together by a proportionate combiner 190, under control of a blend control 192. The blend control 192 may automatically implement a pre-programmed blending algorithm, or one directed by the user. For example, the proportionate combiner 190 may create a blended image which uses only echo data from the harmonic image at shallow depths, then combines echo data from both image at intermediate depths, col. 11 lines 44-53; As used herein the term harmonic also refers to harmonic frequencies of higher order than the second harmonic and to subharmonics, as the principles described herein are equally applicable to higher order and subharmonic frequencies; Col 12 lines 43-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Brooks to modify the second and third zone to include the second imaging scheme is tissue harmonic imaging, and the third imaging scheme is fundamental subharmonic deep imaging, as taught by Roundhill. Doing so would reduce clutter, image at appreciable depths, and overcome the effects of depth-dependent attenuation, as suggested by Roundhill (Col. 2 lines 23-26).
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1) and Wang et. al (US 20030007598 A1, hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 3, modified Brooks teaches method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein the first depth is in a range of 0.0 cm to about 10 cm, wherein the second depth is in a range of 2 cm to about 18 cm, and wherein the third depth is in a range of 6 cm to about 18 cm. Wang is analogous to the instant application as an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed ([0002]).
Wang teaches the method wherein the first depth is in the range of 0.0 cm to about 10 cm (Each thick-slice image usually represents between 0.5 cm to 1.0 cm of breast thickness [0097]; the first depth is the first slice that is in the 0.5cm-1.0cm range), wherein the second depth is in the range of 2 cm to about 18 cm (Each thick-slice image usually represents between 0.5 cm to 1.0 cm of breast thickness [0097]; six to eight thick-slice images covering the entire breast volume. [0097]; if multiple slices/depths are being imaged than 2 slices that are imaged that are each 1cm would make put the second depth in the 2cm range), and wherein the third depth is in the range of 6 cm to about 18 cm (Each thick-slice image usually represents between 0.5 cm to 1.0 cm of breast thickness [0097]; six to eight thick-slice images covering the entire breast volume. [0097]; if 6-8 thick slices are being imaged, that are each 1 cm, then the one of the slices in in this range can be the third depth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, to include the first depth is in the range of 0.0 cm to about 10 cm, wherein the second depth is in the range of 2 cm to about 18 cm, and wherein the third depth is in the range of 6 cm to about 18 cm, as taught by Wang, in order to achieve having the ability to image structures deep within the body.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1), and Vortman et al (US 20100030076 A1, hereinafter “Vortman”) and Slayton et al. (US 20160016015 A1, hereinafter “Slayton”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the first zone corresponds to an F# of 0 to about 1, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device. Vortman is considered analogous art as an ultrasound system is disclosed (abstract).
Vortman teaches wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the first zone (a first element grouping creates a beam 505 directed at a first focal point 510 [0035]) corresponds to an F# (the transducer array includes a plurality of grouped transducer elements based on the targeting criteria, and each group may produce ultrasound energy at different frequencies and/or have different focal lengths… That geometry may include … and/or f-numbers (i.e., the focal length divided by an emitting area) of the transducer elements [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks to include wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the first zone corresponds to an F#, as taught by Vortman, in order to have the ability to achieve simultaneously produce multiple foci, as suggested by Vortman ([0002])
Vortman, however, is silent on an F# of 0 to about 1, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device.
Slayton is considered analogous to the instant application as an ultrasound system is disclosed (abstract).
Slayton teaches an F# of 0 to about 1, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device (A parameter called the F-Number F will be defined as the ratio of the distance between (R,0) and the focal point (Rf, Zf) to the aperture width D…. The F-Number F will have a typical range of 1-5 [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks to include an F# of 0 to about 1, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device, as taught by Slayton, in order to have the ability to choose the parameters of the excitation pulse may based on the geometry of the organ being, imaged, as suggested by Slayton ([0068]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the second zone corresponds to an F# of about 1 to about 3, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device. Vortman is considered analogous art as an ultrasound system is disclosed (abstract).
Vortman, however teaches wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the second zone (a second element grouping creates second focused beam 515 directed at a second focal point 520 [0035]) corresponds to an F# (the transducer array includes a plurality of grouped transducer elements based on the targeting criteria, and each group may produce ultrasound energy at different frequencies and/or have different focal lengths… That geometry may include … and/or f-numbers (i.e., the focal length divided by an emitting area) of the transducer elements [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, Roundhill and Thiele to include wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the second zone corresponds to an F#, as taught by Vortman, in order to have the ability to achieve simultaneously produce multiple foci, as suggested by Vortman ([0002]).
Slayton is considered analogous to the instant application as an ultrasound system is disclosed (abstract).
Slayton teaches an F# of 1 to about 3, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device (A parameter called the F-Number F will be defined as the ratio of the distance between (R,0) and the focal point (Rf, Zf) to the aperture width D…. The F-Number F will have a typical range of 1-5 [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, Roundhill, Thiele, and Vortman, to include an F# of 1 to about 3, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device, as taught by Slayton, in order to have the ability to choose the parameters of the excitation pulse may based on the geometry of the organ being, imaged, as suggested by Slayton ([0068]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the third zone corresponds to an F# of about 3 to about 6, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device. Vortman is considered analogous art as an ultrasound system is disclosed (abstract).
Vortman, however teaches wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the third zone (A third element grouping creates third focused beam 525 directed at a third focal point 530 [0035]) corresponds to an F# (the transducer array includes a plurality of grouped transducer elements based on the targeting criteria, and each group may produce ultrasound energy at different frequencies and/or have different focal lengths… That geometry may include … and/or f-numbers (i.e., the focal length divided by an emitting area) of the transducer elements [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, Roundhill and Thiele to include wherein a depth extent of the imaging of the third zone corresponds to an F#, as taught by Vortman, in order to have the ability to achieve simultaneously produce multiple foci, as suggested by Vortman ([0002])
Slayton is considered analogous to the instant application as an ultrasound system is disclosed (abstract).
Slayton teaches an F# of 3 to about 6, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device (A parameter called the F-Number F will be defined as the ratio of the distance between (R,0) and the focal point (Rf, Zf) to the aperture width D…. The F-Number F will have a typical range of 1-5 [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, Roundhill and Thiele and Vortman to include an F# of 3 to about 6, wherein the F# refers to a ratio of a focal length to a diameter of an entrance pupil of the ultrasound device, as taught by Slayton, in order to have the ability to choose the parameters of the excitation pulse may based on the geometry of the organ being, imaged, as suggested by Slayton ([0068]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1), and Nguyen et al. (US 20210338208 A1, hereinafter "Nguyen").
Regarding claim 8, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 7, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for five or more different angles. Nguyen is considered to be analogous to the instant application as “3d ultrasound imaging with broadly focused transmit beams at a high frame rate of display” is disclosed (title). Nguyen teaches:
wherein accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for five or more different angles (As FIG. 4 illustrates, the seventeen plane waves will be transmitted at seventeen different angles relative to the surface of the aperture [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, to include accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for five or more different angles, as taught by Nguyen in order in order to avoid the acquisition of clutter signals in the azimuth and elevation dimensions, as suggested by Nguyen ([0008]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 7, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for nine or more different angles. Nguyen is considered to be analogous to the instant application as “3d ultrasound imaging with broadly focused transmit beams at a high frame rate of display” is disclosed (title). Nguyen teaches:
wherein accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for nine or more different angles (As FIG. 4 illustrates, the seventeen plane waves will be transmitted at seventeen different angles relative to the surface of the aperture [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, Roundhill, and Thiele, to include accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for nine or more different angles as taught by Nguyen in order to avoid the acquisition of clutter signals in the azimuth and elevation dimensions, as suggested by Nguyen ([0008]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 7, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for 11 or more angles.
Nguyen is considered to be analogous to the instant application as “3d ultrasound imaging with broadly focused transmit beams at a high frame rate of display” is disclosed (title). Nguyen teaches:
wherein accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for 11 or more angles (As FIG. 4 illustrates, the seventeen plane waves will be transmitted at seventeen different angles relative to the surface of the aperture [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, to include accumulating signals for a plurality of angles of plane waves transmissions comprises accumulating signals for 11 or more angles in order to avoid the acquisition of clutter signals in the azimuth and elevation dimensions, as suggested by Nguyen ([0008]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1), and Mo (US 6123670).
Regarding claim 11, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein imaging the third zone comprises utilizing focused transmits of ultrasounds signals, wherein the transmitted and received ultrasound signals are at a same frequency. Mo is considered analogous to the instant application as “Ultrasound imaging with optimal image quality in region of interest” is disclosed. Mo teaches:
wherein imaging the third zone comprises utilizing focused transmits of ultrasounds signals (Under the direction of the host computer 30, the transmitter 8 drives the transducer array 2 such that the ultrasonic energy is transmitted as a directed focused beam; Col 6 lines 64-66; As seen in the sector scan image depicted in FIG. 4, in accordance with one preferred embodiment, the ROI 48 is scanned using a number of focal zones per unit depth which is greater than that used for scanning the background region 46 outside the ROI, Col. 7 lines 20-25; the focal zones are different depending on depth, as can be seen in fig. 4), wherein the transmitted and received ultrasound signals are at the same frequency (The different imaging parameters of the ROI as compared to the background region may include, e.g., different (e.g., shorter) transmit waveforms, an increased number of transmit focal zones per unit depth, different transmit and/or receive apertures, different center frequencies for the receive bandpass filter (primary and/or (sub)harmonics), Col. 2 lines 53-59; for normal imaging the demodulator 12 and filter 14 are respectively programmed with a first demodulation frequency and a first set of filter coefficients to convert a band of frequencies centered at the fundamental frequency f0 of the transmit waveform into I/Q data, while for optimal imaging they are programmed with a second demodulation frequency and a second set of filter coefficients to convert a band of frequencies centered at a harmonic frequency kf0 or at a subharmonic frequency, Col. 5 lines 13-25; as the demodulator can be programmed to receive different frequencies, the transmit and receive frequencies can be programmed such that both are the same in order to obtain fundamental or harmonic data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks to include imaging the third zone comprises utilizing focused transmits of ultrasounds signals, wherein the transmitted and received ultrasound signals are at the same frequency, as taught by Mo, in order to alleviate the need for matching the gains and texture of different focal zones associated with different transmit waveforms, as suggested by Mo (Col. 3 lines 25-30).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1), and Weber et al. (US 20050288588 A1, hereinafter “Weber”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein horizontally blending patches comprises coherently summing respective phase and amplitude information from neighboring patches for each pixel from respective receive beamforming for a pixel of its own patch and for any overlapping patches that may also contain said pixel of its own patch.
Weber is consider to be in applicant’s field of endeavor as “Real-time 3D Ultrasonic Imaging Apparatus And Method” is disclosed (title).
Weber teaches:
wherein horizontally blending patches comprises coherently summing respective phase and the amplitude information from neighboring patches for each pixel (High resolution is obtained at each image point by coherently combining the beamformed signals from the subapertures, synthesising a large aperture focussed at the point [0044]; fine beamforming the range lines to produce coherent image data, Claim 1; The term "complex coherent image" as used herein denotes an image that includes amplitude and phase information at each pixel or voxel [0084]; the term “coherent image data” as used herein denotes image data that includes amplitude and phase information, typically represented as a complex quantity for each datum [0083]) from respective receive beamforming for a pixel of its own patch and for any overlapping patches that may also contain said pixel of its own patch (as phase and amplitude is collected for all the data points across the image are summed coherently, the phase and amplitude for each pixel and neighboring patches of pixels are collected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks to include wherein horizontally blending patches comprises coherently summing respective phase and the amplitude information from neighboring patches for each pixel from respective receive beamforming for a pixel of its own patch and for any overlapping patches that may also contain said pixel of its own patch, as taught by Weber, in order to achieve higher resolution, larger volumes and/or shorter acquisition times, as suggested by Weber (abstract).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks") in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1), and Seth et al. (US 20220167947 A1, hereinafter "Seth" .
Regarding claim 14, modified Brooks teaches method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach vertically blending patches at interfaces between the first zone and the second zone, and the second zone and the third zone.
Seth, however, teaches:
vertically blending patches at interfaces between the first zone and the second zone, and the second zone and the third zone (three 3D ultrasound images may be acquired form three different imaging positions in order to generate the composite 3D ultrasound image [0126]; blending the first 3D ultrasound image and the one or more additional 3D ultrasound images based on the spatial registration, thereby generating a composite 3D ultrasound image [0015]; [0113], [0119]-[0123], [0132] discloses blending of pixels, i.e. patches, across 3D space/which inherently includes the vertical direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks to include vertically blending patches at interfaces between the first zone and the second zone, and the second zone and the third zone, as taught by Seth. Doing so would improve the accuracy of the composite 3D ultrasound image, as suggested by Seth ([0018]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1), and Soleimani et al. (US 20200315592 A1, hereinafter, "Soleimani").
Regarding claim 15, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks further teaches addressing each element of the array during imaging of the first zone, imaging the second zone, and imaging the third zone (A phased array 202 may receive data from a depth of nth Q-block 214 where nth Q-block 214 represents the maximum useful depth which a pulse of specific frequency will penetrate. Each of a first Q-block 208, a second Q-block 210, Q-block . . . 212 and nth Q-block 214 represents a particular depth [0047]; Phased array transducers comprise multiple transducer elements [0002]).
The combined invention, still however, does not teach the method wherein the array comprises 4 rows, each row having 128 elements. Soleimani is considered to be analogous to the instant application as ultrasound imaging is disclosed (abstract). Soleimani teaches a method wherein the array comprises 4 rows, each row having 128 elements (In the illustrated embodiment, each ultrasound element 813 comprises 16 ultrasonic transducers arranged as a two-dimensional array having four rows and four columns …., it should be appreciated that an ultrasound element may comprise any suitable number and/or groupings of ultrasonic transducer cells (e.g., one, at least two, four, at least four, 9, at least 9, at least 16, 25, at least 25, at least 36, at least 49, at least 64, at least 81, at least 100, between one and 200, or any number or range of numbers within such ranges) that may be arranged as a two dimensional array having any suitable number of rows and columns (square or rectangular) or in any other suitable way [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, to include the array comprises 4 rows, each row having 128 elements, in order to achieve a device that is capable of generating acoustic signals across several depths.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 20170343668 A1, hereinafter "Brooks" ) in view of Roundhill et al. (US 5908389 A, hereinafter "Roundhill"), Orderud (US 20150065877 A1) and Towfiq et. al (US 20090043206 A1, hereinafter "Towfiq").
Regarding claim 16, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals from ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array that are positioned in the ultrasonic array in a same elevation direction. Towfiq is considered analogous to the instant application as “System and method for three-dimensional ultrasound imaging” is disclosed (title).
Towfiq teaches a method wherein imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme (the concave transducer array comprises multiple rows of transducers. In some embodiments, the logic of the multiplexing structure includes instructions for varying at least one of a depth to which the ultrasonic pulses penetrate the object [0019]) to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals from ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array that are positioned in the ultrasonic array in a same elevation direction (having multiple rows in an array 52 allows the system to change the transmit/receive aperture by turning on multiple rows simultaneously [0070]; method of multiplexing signals from transducer elements in a concave transducer array includes: turning on rows of transducer elements in the concave transducer array based on a desired elevational beam performance [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks, to include imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals from ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array that are positioned in the ultrasonic array in a same elevation direction, as taught by Towfiq, in order to achieve the ultrasonic waves reaching a desired depth within the object/subject.
Regarding claim 17, modified Brooks teaches the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals from ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array that are positioned in different rows of the ultrasonic array. Towfiq is considered analogous to the instant application as “System and method for three-dimensional ultrasound imaging” is disclosed (title). Towfiq teaches:
wherein imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals from ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array (having multiple rows in an array 52 allows the system to change the transmit/receive aperture by turning on multiple rows simultaneously [0070]) that are positioned in different rows of the ultrasonic array (One useful feature of such a multiplexing structure 90 is that both rows and transducer columns can be independently turned on and off [0097]; as rows and columns of transducers can be independently turned on and off, this inherently allows for a multiplexing scheme in which different rows are simultaneously transmitting ultrasound signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Brooks to include imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals from ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array that are positioned in the ultrasonic array in a same elevation direction, as taught by Towfiq, in order to have better focusing and depth of penetration, as suggested by Towfiq ([0097]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Brooks teaches method of claim 2, as discussed above. Brooks, however, does not teach wherein imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to transmit ultrasonic signals from each of a plurality of groups of ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array, each group of ultrasonic elements in a separate row of the ultrasonic array and positioned in a same elevation direction in the ultrasonic array, the multiplexing scheme driving each of the ultrasonic elements in a group to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals. Towfiq is considered analogous to the instant application as “System and method for three-dimensional ultrasound imaging” is disclosed (title). Towfiq teaches:
wherein imaging the first zone includes employing a multiplexing scheme to transmit ultrasonic signals from each of a plurality of groups of ultrasonic elements of the ultrasonic array (One useful feature of such a multiplexing structure 90 is that both rows and transducer columns can be independently turned on and off [0097]), each group of ultrasonic elements in a separate row of the ultrasonic array and positioned in a same elevation direction in the ultrasonic array (method of multiplexing signals from transducer elements in a concave transducer array includes: turning on rows of transducer elements in the concave transducer array based on a desired elevational beam performance [0026]), the multiplexing scheme driving each of the ultrasonic elements in a group to simultaneously transmit ultrasonic signals (In operation, if all 5 rows are transmitting and receiving, the multiplexer 90 closes switches TDXa-c (where X stands for the column number of the firing transducer). If 3 rows are transmitting and receiving, the m