DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2013/0157493) in view of Brown et al. (US 2017/0097259).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses, a system (Figs. 1-3 and 5A-6) comprising:
one or more smart glass units (Para. 0023, lines 1-3 and 300, 500, 600; note, discloses electrochromic (EC) windows (also referred to as smart windows)); and
one or more controllers (Para. 0033, lines 1-2, 0039, lines 1-7 and 350; note, the Examiner interprets the one or more controllers to be the window controller 350 and the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535), wherein a respective controller of the one or more controllers comprises:
a connector (240, 330, 525, 530, 535) configured to receive a pair of wires (523, 545);
an interface (525, 527, 529, 535, 540, 550; note, the Examiner interprets the interface to be the pads/ferromagnetic elements where the connectors are mated together) to electrically connect to at least one smart glass unit of the one or more smart glass units (Para. 0035-0038); and
control circuitry (Para. 0039, lines 1-7; note, Examiner interprets the control circuitry to be the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535) configured to electrically control the at least one smart glass unit, via the interface, to change or maintain a tint of the at least one smart glass unit based on data received, via the connector, on the pair of wires (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200),
wherein the respective controller is configured to receive power, via the connector, for powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface (Para. 0031; note discloses voltage algorithms and associated wiring and connections for powering an electrochromic device) to the at least one smart glass unit on the pair of wires on which the data is received (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device).
Brown does not explicitly disclose the pair of wires is a single pair of wires, and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received.
Brown teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a system that it would have been desirable to make the pair of wires is a single pair of wires (Para. 0046; note, discloses the cable can enable power-over-Ethernet (POE), in this way, a single cable can be all that is needed to couple the multi-sensor device 1000 with a network system), and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received (Para. 0050 and see Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the pair of wires is a single pair of wires, and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received as taught by the system of Brown in the system of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include these features in a system for the purpose of providing an efficient system with reduced power consumption and costs.
Regarding claim 3, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the respective controller is a first controller (Para. 0039 and 535; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory included in connector 535); the connector is a first connector (535); the single pair of wires is a first single pair of wires (545); the interface is a first interface (535, 540, 550); the control circuitry is a first control circuitry (Para. 0039, 0054; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory); the system further comprises: a second controller (Para. 0039, 0054 and 525; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory included in connector 525) of the one or more controllers, wherein the second controller comprises: a second connector (Para. 0039 and 525; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory included in connector 525) configured to receive a second single pair of wires (523); a second interface (525, 527, 529) to electrically connect to at least one other smart glass unit of the one or more smart glass units; and a second control circuitry (Para. 0039 and 525; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory included in connector 525) configured to electrically control the at least one other smart glass unit based on the data received, via the second connector, on the second single pair of wires, wherein the second controller is configured to receive power, via the second connector, for powering the second control circuitry and for powering the second interface to the at least one other smart glass unit on the same second single pair of wires on which the data is received (Para. 0039, lines 1-7; note, Examiner interprets the control circuitry to be the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535) configured to electrically control the at least one smart glass unit, via the interface, to change or maintain a tint of the at least one smart glass unit based on data received, via the connector, on the single pair of wires (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200).
Regarding claim 4, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the second single pair of wires is electrically connected to the first single pair of wires via the first connector (Para. 0035-0036 and 523, 545).
Regarding claim 5, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the first control circuitry is configured to determine whether to allocate, based on one or more control signals from the data received (Para. 0029 and 0039-0041) via the first single pair of wires, the power from the first single pair of wires to: the at least one smart glass unit, via the first interface, to change or maintain a tint of the at least one smart glass unit (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029), or the at least one other smart glass unit, via the second interface, for powering the second control circuitry and for powering the second interface to the at least one other smart glass unit on the same second single pair of wires on which the data is received.
Regarding claim 6, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the system further comprises another controller that is configured to: determine a first amount of power for the at least one smart glass unit, via the first interface, to change or maintain a tint of the at least one smart glass unit (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200); and determine a second amount of power for the at least one other smart glass unit, via the second connector, for powering the second control circuitry and for powering the second interface to the at least one other smart glass unit (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200).
Regarding claim 7, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the first single pair of wires (545) extends from the first controller (Para. 0039 and 535; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory included in connector 535), via the first connector (530), and electrically connects the first controller to a bus (225, 230, 310, 515), and wherein the second single pair of wires (523, 545) extends from the second controller (Para. 0039, 0054 and 525; note, discloses integrated circuit devices and memory included in connector 525), via the second connector, and electrically connects the second controller to the same bus, wherein the bus comprises another single pair of wires.
Regarding claim 8, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the one or more controllers further comprise a central controller in electrical communication, via a switch, with at least the respective controller (Para. 0040) via the single pair of wires, wherein the central controller is configured to: transmit, via the single pair of wires and the switch, data to at least the respective controller to direct the respective controller to maintain or change tint of the at least one smart glass unit; and provide, via the single pair of wires and the switch, power to at least the respective controller (Para. 0029, 0039 and 0041) to maintain or change the tint of the at least one smart glass unit (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029).
Regarding claim 9, Brown discloses, a smart glass unit system (Figs. 1-3 and 5A-6) comprising:
a smart glass unit (Para. 0023, lines 1-3 and 300, 500, 600; note, discloses electrochromic (EC) windows (also referred to as smart windows));
a controller (Para. 0033, lines 1-2, 0039, lines 1-7 and 350; note, the Examiner interprets the one or more controllers to be the window controller 350 and the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535); and
a pair of wires (523, 545) extending from the controller, wherein the pair of wires is configured to communicate power and data between the controller and at least one other controller of at least one other smart glass unit system (Para. 0031; note discloses voltage algorithms and associated wiring and connections for powering an electrochromic device) to the at least one smart glass unit on the same pair of wires on which the data is received (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device);
the controller comprising:
a connector (240, 330, 525, 530, 535) configured to receive a pair of wires (523, 545);
an interface (525, 527, 529, 535, 540, 550; note, the Examiner interprets the interface to be the pads/ferromagnetic elements where the connectors are mated together) to electrically connect to at least one smart glass unit of the one or more smart glass unit (Para. 0035-0038); and
control circuitry (Para. 0039, lines 1-7; note, Examiner interprets the control circuitry to be the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535) configured to electrically control the smart glass unit via the interface to change or maintain a tint of the smart glass unit based on the data received, via the connector, on the pair of wires (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200),
wherein the controller is configured to receive power on the pair of wires, via the connector, for powering the control circuitry, for powering the interface to the smart glass unit (Para. 0031; note discloses voltage algorithms and associated wiring and connections for powering an electrochromic device), and for providing power to the smart glass unit (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device).
Brown does not explicitly disclose the pair of wires is a single pair of wires, and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received.
Brown teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a smart glass unit system that it would have been desirable to make the pair of wires is a single pair of wires (Para. 0046; note, discloses the cable can enable power-over-Ethernet (POE), in this way, a single cable can be all that is needed to couple the multi-sensor device 1000 with a network system), and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received (Para. 0050 and see Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the pair of wires is a single pair of wires, and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received as taught by the smart glass unit system of Brown in the smart glass unit system of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include these features in a smart glass unit system for the purpose of providing an efficient system with reduced power consumption and costs.
Regarding claim 11, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the controller is further configured to receive power on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received, via the connector for providing power to the at least one other smart glass unit system (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device).
Regarding claim 12, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the smart glass unit comprises an electrochromic (EC) device (Para. 0023, lines 1-3 and 300, 500, 600; note, discloses electrochromic (EC) windows (also referred to as smart windows)).
Regarding claim 13, Brown discloses, a method (Figs. 1-3 and 5A-6) implemented by a controller (Para. 0033, lines 1-2, 0039, lines 1-7 and 350; note, the Examiner interprets the one or more controllers to be the window controller 350 and the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535) for controlling at least one smart glass unit in a system (Para. 0023, lines 1-3 and 300, 500, 600; note, discloses electrochromic (EC) windows (also referred to as smart windows)), the method comprising:
receiving, by the controller over a pair of wires (523, 545) and from another controller, data concerning a tinting state of another smart glass unit controlled by the other controller (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200);
receiving, by the controller over the pair of wires, one or more control commands indicating that the smart glass unit controlled by the controller (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device) is to change or maintain a tinting state (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200);
determining, by the controller, an amount of power (Para. 0031; note discloses voltage algorithms and associated wiring and connections for powering an electrochromic device) available over the pair of wires for changing or maintaining the tinting state of the smart glass unit based on the data (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200); and
updating, by the controller, the tint state of the smart glass unit based on the amount of available power over the pair of wires and the one or more control commands (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200).
Brown does not explicitly disclose the pair of wires is a single pair of wires, and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received.
Brown teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method that it would have been desirable to make the pair of wires is a single pair of wires (Para. 0046; note, discloses the cable can enable power-over-Ethernet (POE), in this way, a single cable can be all that is needed to couple the multi-sensor device 1000 with a network system), and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received (Para. 0050 and see Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the pair of wires is a single pair of wires, and powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received as taught by the method of Brown in the method of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include these features in a method for the purpose of providing an efficient system with reduced power consumption and costs.
Regarding claim 16, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the smart glass unit is one of a plurality of smart glass units controlled by the controller, and wherein receiving, by the controller over the single pair of wires (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device), the one or more control commands indicating that the smart glass unit controlled by the controller is to change or maintain a tinting state (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200) comprises: receiving, by the controller over the single pair of wires, the one or more control commands indicating that the smart glass unit of the plurality of smart glass units controlled by the controller is to change or maintain a tinting state (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200).
Regarding claim 17, Brown in view of Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further discloses, the other controller is one of a plurality of other controllers (Para. 0033, lines 1-2, 0039, lines 1-7 and 350; note, the Examiner interprets the one or more controllers to be the window controller 350 and the disclosed integrated circuit devices and memory included in connectors 525, 535), wherein the other smart glass unit is one of a plurality of other smart glass units (Para. 0047 and 815, 817 of Fig. 8), wherein respective other controllers of the plurality of other controllers control respective other smart glass units of the plurality of other smart glass units (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200), and wherein receiving, by the controller over the single pair of wires and from the other controller (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device), the data concerning the tinting state of the other smart glass unit controlled by the other controller comprises: receiving, by the controller over the single pair of wires and from the other controller (Para. 0031, 0040-0041 and Fig. 1; note, discloses wiring for delivering power and data communication to the memory and/or integrated circuit device), the data concerning respective tinting states of the plurality of smart glass units controlled by the respective other controllers (Para. 0002-0003 and 0029, lines 22-27 and Fig. 1; note, discloses a controller that is capable of effecting a transition of electrochromic device 200, e.g., from a first optical state to a second optical state. Connectors 235 and 240 may be coupled, such that the controller may drive the optical state transition for electrochromic device 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2013/0157493) in view of Brown et al. (US 2017/0097259) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 13 above, and further in view of Curtis et al. (US 2021/0218202; already of record).
Brown in view of Brown remains as applied to claims 1, 9 and 13 above.
Brown in view of Brown does not explicitly disclose at least the respective controller of the one or more controllers is configured to utilize a single-pair ethernet (SPE) and power over data line (PoDL) for receiving the data and the power over the single pair of wires.
Curtis teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in system that it would have been desirable to make at least the respective controller of the one or more controllers is configured to utilize a single-pair ethernet (SPE) and power over data line (PoDL) for receiving the data and the power over the single pair of wires (Para. 0060, lines 6-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make at least the respective controller of the one or more controllers is configured to utilize a single-pair ethernet (SPE) and power over data line (PoDL) for receiving the data and the power over the single pair of wires as taught by the system of Curtis in the combination of Brown in view of Brown since Curtis teaches it is known to include these features in a system for the purpose of providing a more compact system with cost effective power and enhanced security and data connectivity.
Claims 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2013/0157493) in view of Brown et al. (US 2017/0097259) as applied to claims 13 and 17 above, and further in view of Brown et al. (US 2022/0365399; already of record).
Brown in view of Brown remains as applied to claims 13 and 17 above.
Brown in view of Brown does not disclose the amount of power available over the single pair of wires comprises an amount of alternating current (AC) available over the single pair of wires.
Brown teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit in a system that it would have been desirable to make the amount of power available over the single pair of wires comprises an amount of alternating current (AC) available over the single pair of wires (Para. 0236).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the amount of power available over the single pair of wires comprises an amount of alternating current (AC) available over the single pair of wires as taught by the method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit in a system of Brown in the method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit of Brown in the combination of Brown in view of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include this feature in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit in a system for the purpose of providing a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit in a system that has energy savings and is simple and easy to install.
Regarding claim 18, Brown, Brown and Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit that it would have been desirable to make the controller and the respective other controllers are electrically coupled together via respective signal pairs of wires in a daisy-chain configuration (Para. 0270 and Figs. 6A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controller and the respective other controllers are electrically coupled together via respective signal pairs of wires in a daisy-chain configuration as taught by the method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit of Brown in the combination of Brown in view of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include this feature in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit for the purpose of providing a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit that does not require hard wiring to reduce cost and complexity of installation.
Regarding claim 19, Brown, Brown and Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit that it would have been desirable to make the controller and the respective other controllers are electrically coupled together via respective signal pairs of wires and a bus in a dropline configuration (Para. 0107 and 1028 of Fig. 10F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controller and the respective other controllers are electrically coupled together via respective signal pairs of wires and a bus in a dropline configuration as taught by the method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit of Brown in the combination of Brown in view of Brown method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include this feature in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit for the purpose of providing a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit that does not require hard wiring to reduce cost and complexity of installation.
Regarding claim 20, Brown, Brown and Brown discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Brown further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit that it would have been desirable to make the bus comprises a single pair of wires (Para. 0119, 0122 and 1002, 1003 of Fig. 10A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make t the bus comprises a single pair of wires as taught by the method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit of Brown in the combination of Brown in view of Brown since Brown teaches it is known to include this feature in a method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit for the purpose of providing an energy-saving method implemented by a controller for controlling at least one smart glass unit with reduced cost and complexity of installation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shrivastava et al. (US 2019/0271895) discloses a system comprising one or more smart glass units, one or more controllers, an interface, control circuitry and a single pair of wires for powering the control circuitry and for powering the interface to the at least one smart glass unit on the same single pair of wires on which the data is received.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 08/30/2026