DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 07/17/26 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 06/26/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant, on page 9 of the remark, argues that Wang does not disclose the request frame is a coordinated TXOP sharing (C-TXS) request frame comprising a TXOP Sharing Coordination Mode field indicating a mode of operation specifying how the second AP is allowed to utilize the shared TXOP. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wang discloses at least in paragraphs from 150 to 152 that An AP or a coordinating AP or sharing AP may request one or more APs to join the MAPS by sending a MAPS setup request frame. The request to join action may also include whether the receiving AP is requested to become a coordinating or coordinated AP or a sharing AP or shared AP of a TXOP. For that reason, the Examiner contends that Wang discloses all limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 20230319886) in view of Han et al. (U.S. 20160028466).
For claim 1, Wang et al. disclose a first access point (AP) in a wireless network, the first AP comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
transmit a request frame requesting a transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing to a plurality of APs including a second AP, wherein the request frame comprises a set of parameters for the TXOP sharing (at least [0097], [0120] and [0151]-[0152]. A multi-AP set (MAPS) may comprise one or more coordinating AP and one or more coordinated AP. A coordinating AP may also be called a sharing AP, primary AP or master AP. The coordinating AP or sharing AP may be the AP that obtained a TXOP and decides to share with a number of other APs in its vicinity. An AP or a coordinating AP or sharing AP may request one or more APs to join the MAPS by sending a MAPS setup request frame. When an AP or STA receives a MAPS setup request frame, it may respond by sending a MAPS setup request frame, and include request to join action in the MAPS element to request to join the MAPS of which the AP is a coordinating or sharing AP.),
wherein the request frame is a coordinated TXOP sharing (C-TXS) request frame comprising a TXOP Sharing Coordination Mode field indicating a mode of operation specifying how the second AP is allowed to utilize the shared TXOP (at least [0150]-[0151]. An AP or a coordinating AP or sharing AP may request one or more APs to join the MAPS by sending a MAPS setup request frame. The request to join action may also include whether the receiving AP is requested to become a coordinating or coordinated AP or a sharing AP or shared AP of a TXOP); and
receive a response frame from the second AP indicating the second AP accepts the TXOP sharing request (at least [0097], [0120] and [0151]-[0152]. Once an AP receives a MAPS setup request frame or a frame including a request to join action, the AP may respond with a MAPS setup response frame or another frame including a MAPS element which may include a response action such as accept, reject, etc.) However, Wang et al. do not disclose the response frame is a C-TXS response frame comprising a response code, and wherein the response code indicates one of: (i) the second AP accepts the TXOP sharing request with the set of parameters, (ii) the second AP rejects the TXOP sharing request, (iii) the second AP rejects the TXOP sharing request and indicates that the second AP will accept the TXOP sharing request if the first AP changes one or more of the parameters, or (iv) the second AP rejects the TXOP sharing request and suggests new parameters related to the TXOP sharing coordination.
In the same field of endeavor, Han et al. disclose response frame comprising a response code, and wherein the response code indicates one of: (i) the second AP accepts the TXOP sharing request with the set of parameters, (ii) the second AP rejects the TXOP sharing request, (iii) the second AP rejects the TXOP sharing request and indicates that the second AP will accept the TXOP sharing request if the first AP changes one or more of the parameters, or (iv) the second AP rejects the TXOP sharing request and suggests new parameters related to the TXOP sharing coordination (at least 0054]-[0056]. The second station is further configured to: when the notification information indicates permitting the second station to use the transmission opportunity to communicate with the third station, use one or more bits within the radio frame subsequently sent to the first station to indicate that the second station does not accept the permission of the first station and does not use the transmission opportunity to transmit radio frames to the third station.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wang et al. as taught by Han et al. for purpose of controlling the transmission opportunity to ensure the stability and efficiency of data transmission.
For claim 2, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: prior to transmitting the request frame, transmitting an announcement frame to the plurality of APs indicating an intention to initiate a multi-AP coordination; and receive a preparedness frame from the second AP indicating capabilities to participate in the multi-AP coordination (at least [0128], [0131]-[0134] and [0148]-[0151]. An AP or a coordinating AP or sharing AP may request one or more APs to join the MAPS by sending a MAPS setup request frame. This may be after the transmitting AP discovers that receiving AP is capable of MAPS operation, for example, by receiving a frame from the AP containing a MAPS element advertising its MAPS capabilities. When an AP or STA receives a MAPS setup request frame, it may respond with a MAPS setup response frame, or any other frames that may contain a MAPS element which includes a MAPS action field that includes a MAPS response. The MAPS response action may include acceptance of the invitation to join the MAPS, or rejection of the invitation. The AP may indicate its MAPS operating mode in the MAPS, and whether the AP will become a sharing AP or coordinating AP or a coordinated AP.)
For claim 3, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose the processor is further configured to: receive a response frame from a third AP including an alternative set of parameters for the TXOP sharing; and transmit another request frame to the third AP with the alternative set of parameters so that AP3 can participate in the TXOP sharing (at least [0165]-[0172] and [0185]. The transmission schedule may indicate the one or more member APs' schedules (or the coordinating AP's schedule) or resource allocations for the activities performed by the one or more member APs (or the coordinating AP) during the shared TXOP. For example, the transmission schedule may indicate the one or more member APs' schedules (or the coordinating AP's schedule) for sounding performed by the one or more member APs (or the coordinating AP) during the shared TXOP. In an example, during the shared TXOP, AP 1 which is a coordinating AP may transmit a sounding frame according to the transmission schedule and APs 2-4 which are member APs in a MAPS may transmit sounding frames according to the transmission schedule. The transmission schedule and resource allocations for the multiple member APs (and the coordinating AP) may be the same or different depending on: (1) the geographic location of the member APs, STAs, or coordinating AP; and/or (2) the coordinated multi-AP transmission scheme such as coordinated spatial reuse, coordinated OFDMA, coordinated TDMA, coordinated beamforming/nulling, joint transmission.)
For claim 4, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a response frame from a third AP including an alternative set of parameters for the TXOP sharing; and transmit another request frame to the third AP with the alternative set of parameters so that AP3 can participate in the TXOP sharing (at least [0165]-[0172] and [0185]. The transmission schedule may indicate the one or more member APs' schedules (or the coordinating AP's schedule) or resource allocations for the activities performed by the one or more member APs (or the coordinating AP) during the shared TXOP. For example, the transmission schedule may indicate the one or more member APs' schedules (or the coordinating AP's schedule) for sounding performed by the one or more member APs (or the coordinating AP) during the shared TXOP. In an example, during the shared TXOP, AP 1 which is a coordinating AP may transmit a sounding frame according to the transmission schedule and APs 2-4 which are member APs in a MAPS may transmit sounding frames according to the transmission schedule. The transmission schedule and resource allocations for the multiple member APs (and the coordinating AP) may be the same or different depending on: (1) the geographic location of the member APs, STAs, or coordinating AP; and/or (2) the coordinated multi-AP transmission scheme such as coordinated spatial reuse, coordinated OFDMA, coordinated TDMA, coordinated beamforming/nulling, joint transmission.)
For claim 5, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose wherein the set of parameters specify rules regarding sharing the TXOP with other stations (STAs) (at least [0131], [0174]-[0178] and [0186]-[0195]. The coordinated scheme capabilities subfield 540 may indicate one or more coordinated transmission schemes that the transmitting STA is capable of, such as coordinated OFDMA, coordinated TDMA, coordinated SR, shared TXOP TDMA, shared TXOP OFDMA, joint transmission, coordinated beamforming.)
For claim 8, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose wherein the set of parameters include timing information on a portion of the TXOP that is allocated to the second AP (at least [0182]-[0184] and [0187]. Based on the transmission schedule and/or listening schedule in the CTLA, the one or more STAs associated with the one or more member APs may understand in which channel, time, time period, frequency, order and/or orthogonal sequence the one or more STA receives transmissions (e.g., sounding frames) from the one or more member AP.)
For claim 9, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose wherein the set of parameters include channel information indicating a set of channels that the second AP is allowed to use (at least [0182]-[0184] and [0187]. Based on the transmission schedule and/or listening schedule in the CTLA, the one or more STAs associated with the one or more member APs may understand in which channel, time, time period, frequency, order and/or orthogonal sequence the one or more STA receives transmissions (e.g., sounding frames) from the one or more member AP.)
For claim 10, the combination Wang et al. and Han et al. disclose the first AP of claim 1. Wang et al. disclose wherein the set of parameters include operating class information indicating a set of operating classes that the second AP is allowed to use (at least [0185]. some member APs may receive a part/subset of the transmission schedule based on their geographic location or transmission scheme and other member APs may receive a different part/subset of the transmission schedule based on their geographic location or transmission scheme.)
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 20230319886) in view of Han et al. (U.S. 20160028466) and further in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. 20210315010).
For claim 6, the combination of Wang et al. and Han et al. do not disclose the AP of claim 1, wherein the set of parameters including peer-to-peer (P2P) information related to the P2P stations (STAs) in a Basic Service Set (BSS) managed by the first AP.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsu et al. disclose the set of parameters including peer-to-peer (P2P) information related to the P2P stations (STAs) in a Basic Service Set (BSS) managed by the first AP (at least [0033]. The shared non-AP STA 404 shown in FIG. 4 may function as the shared AP 104 shown in FIG. 1 for receiving a message from a sharing AP and transmitting a message to non-AP STA(s). The shared non-AP STA 404 is associated to the sharing AP 402, and is within the BSS of the sharing AP 402. When the sharing AP 402 obtains TXOP and is willing to share a part of a time period of its TXOP to the shared non-AP STA 404.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wang et al. as taught by Hsu et al. for purpose of sharing a part of a time period of its transmission opportunity (TXOP) to a shared AP, and the shared AP can utilize the shared period for certain transmission scheme.
For claim 7, the combination Wang et al., Han et al. and Hsu et al. disclose the AP of claim 6. Hsu et al. disclose wherein the set of parameters including P2P information related to the P2P STAs in a BSS managed by the second AP (at least [0033]. The shared non-AP STA 404 shown in FIG. 4 may function as the shared AP 104 shown in FIG. 1 for receiving a message from a sharing AP and transmitting a message to non-AP STA(s). The shared non-AP STA 404 is associated to the sharing AP 402, and is within the BSS of the sharing AP 402. When the sharing AP 402 obtains TXOP and is willing to share a part of a time period of its TXOP to the shared non-AP STA 404 which intends to do peer-to-peer (P2P) communication with other non-AP STA(s) (e.g. 406, 408, and/or 410).)
Claims 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 20230319886) in view of Sedin et al. (U.S. 20230319866).
For claim 11, Wang et al. disclose a first access point (AP) that serves as a central controller to coordinate transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing in a wireless network, the first AP comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
receive a request frame requesting a transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing from a second AP (at least [0097], [0120] and [0151]-[0152]. An AP or a coordinating AP or sharing AP may request one or more APs to join the MAPS by sending a MAPS setup request frame. When an AP or STA receives a MAPS setup request frame, it may respond by sending a MAPS setup request frame, and include request to join action in the MAPS element to request to join the MAPS of which the AP is a coordinating or sharing AP.);
transmit a response frame to the second AP accepting the request for TXOP sharing request (at least [0097], [0120] and [0151]-[0152]. Once an AP receives a MAPS setup request frame or a frame including a request to join action, the AP may respond with a MAPS setup response frame or another frame including a MAPS element which may include a response action such as accept, reject, etc.) However, Wang et al. do not disclose to transmit a coordinated TXOP sharing (C-TXS) coordination information frame to a plurality of APs, including a third AP, with a set of parameters for the TXOP sharing , wherein the C-TXS coordination information frame is a trigger frame that triggers the plurality of APs to participate in the TXOP sharing coordinated by the first AP; and receive a C-TXS coordination acknowledgement frame from the third AP corresponding to the C-TXS coordination information frame, wherein the first AP determines that the TXOP sharing coordination with the third AP is successful based on receiving the C-TXS coordination acknowledgement frame from the third AP.
In the same field of endeavor, Sedin et al. disclose to transmit a coordinated TXOP sharing (C-TXS) coordination information frame to a plurality of APs, including a third AP, with a set of parameters for the TXOP sharing , wherein the C-TXS coordination information frame is a trigger frame that triggers the plurality of APs to participate in the TXOP sharing coordinated by the first AP; and receive a C-TXS coordination acknowledgement frame from the third AP corresponding to the C-TXS coordination information frame, wherein the first AP determines that the TXOP sharing coordination with the third AP is successful based on receiving the C-TXS coordination acknowledgement frame from the third AP (at least Fig. 1B and [0008] and [0066]. FIG. 1B illustrates further details of the first phase, assuming a scenario with four APs, denoted as AP1, AP2, AP3, and AP4. In the example of FIG. 1B, the TXOP owner, i.e., AP1 first sends a CTI (CAP TXOP Indication) message, and the APs willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP, i.e., AP2, AP3, and AP4, respond with a CTR (CAP TXOP Request) message. By means of the CTI message, AP1 notifies the other APs that it has obtained the TXOP and is willing to share it. By means of the CTR, AP2, AP3, and AP4 notify AP1 that they are willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wang et al. as taught by Sedin et al. for purpose of helping to some degree in reducing the delay by means of allowing a set of APs to access the channel at the same time or in succession within a TXOP.
For claim 12, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Wang et al. disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: prior to receiving the request frame, transmitting an announcement frame to the plurality of APs indicating an intention to initiate a multi-AP coordination; and receive a preparedness frame from the third AP indicating capabilities to participate in the multi-AP coordination (at least [0128], [0131]-[0134] and [0148]-[0151]. An AP or a coordinating AP or sharing AP may request one or more APs to join the MAPS by sending a MAPS setup request frame. This may be after the transmitting AP discovers that receiving AP is capable of MAPS operation, for example, by receiving a frame from the AP containing a MAPS element advertising its MAPS capabilities. When an AP or STA receives a MAPS setup request frame, it may respond with a MAPS setup response frame, or any other frames that may contain a MAPS element which includes a MAPS action field that includes a MAPS response. The MAPS response action may include acceptance of the invitation to join the MAPS, or rejection of the invitation. The AP may indicate its MAPS operating mode in the MAPS, and whether the AP will become a sharing AP or coordinating AP or a coordinated AP.)
For claim 13, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Wang et al. disclose the processor is further configured to: receive a response frame from a fourth AP indicating that the fourth AP rejects the TXOP sharing request (at least [0155] and [0271]. Once a MAPS setup request frame or any other frames are received including a MAPS element indicating that an AP requests to leave a MAPS, an AP may respond with a MAPS setup response frame including a MAPS action such as accept or reject.)
For claim 14, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Wang et al. disclose first AP of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a response frame from a fourth AP including an alternative set of parameters for the TXOP sharing; and transmit another request frame to the fourth AP with the alternative set of parameters so that AP3 can participate in the TXOP sharing (at least [0165]-[0172] and [0185]. The transmission schedule may indicate the one or more member APs' schedules (or the coordinating AP's schedule) or resource allocations for the activities performed by the one or more member APs (or the coordinating AP) during the shared TXOP. For example, the transmission schedule may indicate the one or more member APs' schedules (or the coordinating AP's schedule) for sounding performed by the one or more member APs (or the coordinating AP) during the shared TXOP. In an example, during the shared TXOP, AP 1 which is a coordinating AP may transmit a sounding frame according to the transmission schedule and APs 2-4 which are member APs in a MAPS may transmit sounding frames according to the transmission schedule. The transmission schedule and resource allocations for the multiple member APs (and the coordinating AP) may be the same or different depending on: (1) the geographic location of the member APs, STAs, or coordinating AP; and/or (2) the coordinated multi-AP transmission scheme such as coordinated spatial reuse, coordinated OFDMA, coordinated TDMA, coordinated beamforming/nulling, joint transmission.)
For claim 15, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Wang et al. disclose first AP of claim 11, wherein the set of parameters specify rules regarding sharing the TXOP with other stations (STAs) (at least [0131], [0174]-[0178] and [0186]-[0195]. The coordinated scheme capabilities subfield 540 may indicate one or more coordinated transmission schemes that the transmitting STA is capable of, such as coordinated OFDMA, coordinated TDMA, coordinated SR, shared TXOP TDMA, shared TXOP OFDMA, joint transmission, coordinated beamforming.)
For claim 18, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11, wherein the set of parameters include timing information on a portion of the TXOP that is allocated to the third AP (at least [0009]. The TXOP owner, i.e., AP1, informs the participating APs, i.e., AP2, AP3, AP3, about their allocated resources and the TX start time. This is accomplished by sending a CTAS (CAP TXOP AP Schedule) message and the participating APs inform their associated STAs about their respectively allocated resources according to local scheduling within the BSS of the participating AP. This is accomplished by sending a CTLS (CAP TXOP Local Schedule) message.)
For claim 19, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11, wherein the set of parameters include channel information indicating a set of channels that the third AP is allowed to use (at least [0009] and [0045]. The TXOP owner, i.e., AP1, informs the participating APs, i.e., AP2, AP3, AP3, about their allocated resources and the TX start time. This is accomplished by sending a CTAS (CAP TXOP AP Schedule) message and the participating APs inform their associated STAs about their respectively allocated resources according to local scheduling within the BSS of the participating AP. This is accomplished by sending a CTLS (CAP TXOP Local Schedule) message. The set of resources may be defined in the time domain, e.g., in terms of one or more time slots, and/or in the frequency domain, e.g., in terms of one or more parts of the available bandwidth of the medium such as one or more sub-bands or sub-channels. In addition or as an alternative, the set of resources may be defined in terms of spatial resources, e.g., by designating a spatial region where re-use of the resources is possible.)
For claim 20, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11. Sedin et al. disclose the first AP of claim 11, wherein the parameters include operating class information indicating a set of operating classes that the third AP is allowed to use (at least [0009] and [0045]-[0058]. The configured set of resources can be used for enabling low-latency transmission of critical data within a reserved TXOP.)
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 20230319886) in view of Sedin et al. (U.S. 20230319866) and further in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. 20210315010).
For claim 6, the combination of Wang et al. and Sedin et al. do not disclose the AP of claim 1, wherein the set of parameters including peer-to-peer (P2P) information related to the P2P stations (STAs) in a Basic Service Set (BSS) managed by the first AP.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsu et al. disclose the set of parameters including peer-to-peer (P2P) information related to the P2P stations (STAs) in a Basic Service Set (BSS) managed by the first AP (at least [0033]. The shared non-AP STA 404 shown in FIG. 4 may function as the shared AP 104 shown in FIG. 1 for receiving a message from a sharing AP and transmitting a message to non-AP STA(s). The shared non-AP STA 404 is associated to the sharing AP 402, and is within the BSS of the sharing AP 402. When the sharing AP 402 obtains TXOP and is willing to share a part of a time period of its TXOP to the shared non-AP STA 404.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wang et al. as taught by Hsu et al. for purpose of sharing a part of a time period of its transmission opportunity (TXOP) to a shared AP, and the shared AP can utilize the shared period for certain transmission scheme.
For claim 7, the combination of Wang et al., Sedin et al. and Hsu et al. disclose the AP of claim 6. Hsu et al. disclose wherein the set of parameters including P2P information related to the P2P STAs in a BSS managed by the second AP (at least [0033]. The shared non-AP STA 404 shown in FIG. 4 may function as the shared AP 104 shown in FIG. 1 for receiving a message from a sharing AP and transmitting a message to non-AP STA(s). The shared non-AP STA 404 is associated to the sharing AP 402, and is within the BSS of the sharing AP 402. When the sharing AP 402 obtains TXOP and is willing to share a part of a time period of its TXOP to the shared non-AP STA 404 which intends to do peer-to-peer (P2P) communication with other non-AP STA(s) (e.g. 406, 408, and/or 410).)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644