Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 14-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lazarus et al. (US 2020/0058106 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lazarus. With reference to claim 1, Lazarus teaches A method for reconstructing denoised magnetic resonance images, the method comprising: (a) accessing k-space data with a computer system (Fig. 1A, 102, ¶0059); (b) reconstructing a series of images from the k-space data using the computer system (¶0063, Fig. 1A, 104, ¶0064); (c) generating transform domain data by using the computer system to apply at least one linear transform to the series of images to transform the series of images into a transform domain (Fig. 1A, 104, ¶0064); (d) generating denoised data by applying a denoising algorithm in the transform domain data using the computer system (Fig. 1A, 108, ¶0081); (e) generating a denoised image by transforming the denoised data to an image domain using the computer system to apply an inverse of the linear transform to the denoised data (Fig. 1A, 110, ¶0085).
With reference to claim 3, Lazarus further teaches step (c) includes applying the at least one linear transform along at least one spatial dimension of each image in the series of images (¶0064).
With reference to claim 4, Lazarus further teaches step (c) includes applying the at least one linear transform across the series of images along a temporal dimension (¶0064). With reference to claim 14, Lazarus further teaches the denoising algorithm is a channel-independent denoising algorithm and the series of images are coil channel images (¶0096). With reference to claim 15, Lazarus further teaches the k-space data accessed with the computer system comprise undersampled k-space data (¶0063). With reference to claim 16, Lazarus further teaches reconstructing images from the k-space data includes a coil combination step and the images of step (b) comprise coil-combined images (¶0063, ¶0096).
With reference to claim 17, Lazarus further teaches the series of images comprise at least one of a dynamic series of images or a contrast-varying series of images (¶0003). With reference to claim 18, Lazarus further teaches the linear transform is a unitary transform (¶0064). With reference to claim 19, Lazarus further teaches the unitary transform is at least one of a discrete Fourier transform, a wavelet transform, a discrete cosine transform, or a Walsh Hadamard transform (¶0064). With reference to claim 20, Lazarus further teaches the at least one linear transform is applied to at least one subset of the series of images that includes fewer than all of the images in the series of images (¶0090). With reference to claim 21, Lazarus further teaches the at least one linear transform is applied to a plurality of subsets of the series of images (¶0090). With reference to claim 22, Lazarus further teaches the linear transform is a learned transform (¶0063). With reference to claim 23, Lazarus further teaches the learned transform comprises a machine learning algorithm trained on paired training data, wherein the paired training data comprise a plurality of images paired with corresponding data in the transform domain (¶0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazarus as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moeller et al. (US 10,768,260 B2), hereinafter referred to as Moeller. With reference to claim 2, Lazarus teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to step (b) includes normalizing the series of images by g-factor maps and step (e) includes re-normalizing the denoised image using the g-factor maps.
Moeller teaches step (b) includes normalizing the series of images by g-factor maps and step (e) includes re-normalizing the denoised image using the g-factor maps (Column 5 lines 40-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Moeller with the method of Lazarus so as to achieve a uniform noise distribution.
With reference to claim 13, Lazarus teaches all that is required as explained above, however is silent with regards to step (d) includes normalizing the series of images in the transform domain by transform space g-factor maps.
Moeller teaches step (b) includes normalizing the series of images by g-factor maps and step (e) includes re-normalizing the denoised image using the g-factor maps (Column 5 lines 40-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Moeller with the method of Lazarus so as to achieve a uniform noise distribution.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trzasko et al. (US 9,709,650 B2), hereinafter referred to as Trzasko, in view of Malkiel et al. (US 10,489,943 B2), hereinafter referred to as Malkiel. With reference to claim 29, Trzasko teaches a method for reconstructing denoised magnetic resonance images, the method comprising: (a) accessing k-space data with a computer system (Fig. 1, 102); (b) generating denoised data by applying a singular value thresholding using a locally low-rank (LLR) model to the k-space data using the computer system (Fig. 1, 106); and c) generating a denoised image (Fig. 1, 108, Column 7 lines 63-65).
However is silent with regards to generating a denoised image by transforming the denoised data to an image domain using the computer system to apply a first linear transform to the denoised data.
Malkiel teaches generating an image by transforming the denoised data to an image domain using the computer system to apply a first linear transform to the denoised data (Column 6 lines 53-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a known method of Malkiel to combine the coil image of Trzasko so as to generating a combined coil image (Trzasko, Column 7 lines 63-65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 24-28 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed "denoising algorithm comprises a locally low-rank (LLR)-based denoising algorithm." in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 5-12.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “(c) generating denoised data by applying a singular value thresholding using a locally low-rank (LLR) model to the transform domain data using the computer system; (d) generating denoised images from the denoised data by using the computer system to transform the denoised data into image space" in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 24-28.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed "step (b) comprises applying a second linear transform to the k-space data prior to applying the singular value thresholding using the LLR model; and wherein the second linear transform is an inverse of the first linear transform" in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 30.
Conclusion
/GREGORY H CURRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852