DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 27-32 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11581109 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim mapping below
Instant Application
27. A power transmission system, comprising:a plurality of support towers;a plurality of conductor assemblies suspended above a surface of the earth, each conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies disposed between and mechanically supported by a pair of support towers from the plurality of support towers, each conductor assembly including a superconductor material and configured to receive a flow of coolant to maintain the superconductor material within a temperature range below an ambient temperature; and a venting system configured to vent vapor produced by the coolant during operation of the power transmission system.
28. The power transmission system of claim 27, wherein the venting system is configured to vent the vapor to an ambient environment.
US Patent 11581109 B2
1. A power transmission system, comprising: a plurality of support towers; and a plurality of conductor assemblies suspended above a surface of earth, each conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies disposed between and mechanically supported by a pair of support towers from the plurality of support towers, each conductor assembly including an electrical conductor including a superconductor material and configured to receive a coolant flow to maintain the superconductor material within a temperature range below an ambient temperature, wherein at least one support tower from the plurality of support towers includes an intermediate cooling station configured to vent vapor produced by a coolant to an ambient environment during operation of the power transmission system
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 33, 38-43 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (JP 2008113535 A) in view of Alexander et al. (EP 3051542 A1) hereinafter Alexander.
Regarding claim 33, Hirose discloses, in Fig.1, power transmission system, comprising: a plurality of support towers (see towers); and a plurality of conductor assemblies (800) suspended above a surface of earth, each conductor assembly ( see 800 in Fig.1 or 100 in Fig.2) from the plurality of conductor assemblies disposed between and mechanically supported by a pair of support towers from the plurality of support towers (see 800 suspended above the earth between the towers in Fig.1).
Hirose is silent with respect to each conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies including: a former having a hollow interior configured to transport a coolant; a superconductor material disposed around an exterior of the former; and a thermal insulation jacket disposed around and spaced apart from the superconductor material to define a coolant flow space, the coolant flow space configured to transport at least a portion of the coolant between the superconductor material and an inner surface of the thermal insulation jacket.
Alexander discloses a conductor assembly including: a former (see 2 in Figure1) having a hollow interior configured to transport a coolant; a superconductor material (4) disposed around an exterior of the former; and a thermal insulation jacket (11) disposed around and spaced apart from the superconductor material to define a coolant flow space (see space 9 and 10), the coolant flow space configured to transport at least a portion of the coolant between the superconductor material and an inner surface of the thermal insulation jacket (see space between 9 and 10 has coolant between ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Alexander to modify the conductor assemblies of Hirose in order to provide a super conductivity to cables to perform circuit operations.
Regarding claim 38, a modified Hirose discloses wherein the coolant includes at least one of liquid nitrogen (liquid nitrogen is circuiting within cable 100 of Fig.2).
Regarding claim 39, a modified Hirose, wherein the superconducting material includes one of a plurality of superconductor-containing members (see 4 and 9 in Fig.1 of Alexander).
Regarding claim 40, Hirose discloses, in Fig.1, a power transmission system, comprising: a plurality of support towers (see towers in Fig.1); a plurality of conductor assemblies (800) suspended above a surface of earth, each conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies disposed between and mechanically supported by a pair of support towers from the plurality of support towers (see Fig.1); and a coolant supply system configured to deliver a coolant during operation of the power transmission system to at least one conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies (see “ In the superconducting cable 100, liquid nitrogen serving as a refrigerant is circulated in a heat insulating pipe using a refrigerator and a pump (not shown). Specifically, a space formed between the heat insulating inner tube and the core is used as a refrigerant flow path.”).
Hirose is silent with resepct to each conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies including: a former having a hollow interior configured to transport the coolant; a superconductor material disposed around an exterior of the former; and a thermal insulation jacket disposed around and spaced apart from the superconductor material to define a coolant flow space, the coolant flow space configured to transport at least a portion of the coolant between the superconductor material and an inner surface of the thermal insulation jacket.
Alexander discloses a conductor assembly including: a former (see 2 in Figure1) having a hollow interior configured to transport a coolant; a superconductor material (4) disposed around an exterior of the former; and a thermal insulation jacket (11) disposed around and spaced apart from the superconductor material to define a coolant flow space (see space 9 and 10), the coolant flow space configured to transport at least a portion of the coolant between the superconductor material and an inner surface of the thermal insulation jacket (see space between 9 and 10 has coolant between ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Alexander to modify the conductor assemblies of Hirose in order to provide a super conductivity to cables to perform circuit operations.
Regarding claim 41, Hirose discloses wherein the coolant supply system includes a conditioning unit configured to supply the coolant to the at least one conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies at a selected temperature and pressure (see “ In the superconducting cable 100, liquid nitrogen serving as a refrigerant is circulated in a heat insulating pipe using a refrigerator and a pump (not shown). Specifically, a space formed between the heat insulating inner tube and the core is used as a refrigerant flow path.”)
Regarding claim 42, Hirose discloses wherein the conditioning unit is configured to adjust at least one of a temperature or a pressure of the coolant before causing the coolant to flow from the coolant supply system (see “ In the superconducting cable 100, liquid nitrogen serving as a refrigerant is circulated in a heat insulating pipe using a refrigerator and a pump (not shown). Specifically, a space formed between the heat insulating inner tube and the core is used as a refrigerant flow path.”).
Regarding claim 43, a modified Hirose discloses, wherein at least a portion of the coolant delivered from the coolant supply system to the at least one conductor assembly from the plurality of conductor assemblies returns back to the coolant supply system ( the coolant system is a closed loop system).
Regarding claim 46, a modified Hirose discloses wherein the coolant includes at least one of liquid nitrogen (liquid nitrogen is circuiting within cable 100 of Fig.2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-37 and 44-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 34, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the hollow interior of the former is configured to transport the coolant at a pressure greater than a pressure of the coolant flow space.
" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 33.
Regarding claim 35, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the hollow interior of the former is configured to transport the coolant at a pressure greater than a pressure of the coolant flow space. " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 33.
Regarding claim 36-37, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a venting system configured to vent vapor produced by the coolant during operation of the power transmission system. " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 33.
Regarding claim 44, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the coolant supply system is disposed between a first portion of the conductor assembly and a second portion of the conductor assembly, the coolant supply system configured to provide a first portion of the coolant to the first portion of the conductor assembly in a first direction, and a second portion of the coolant to the second portion of the conductor assembly in a second direction opposite to the first direction" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 40.
Regarding claim 45, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a venting system configured to vent vapor produced by the coolant during operation of the power transmission system. " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 40.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instantapplication claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847