50DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 13-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Cain et al. (US 2025/0181154) in view of Fullam (US 2016/0080720).
Regarding claim 1, Le Cain discloses, a method (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
at a device (101, 102) including a dimming layer (Para. 0050 and see 102-c), one or more processors (Para. 0029 and 103), and non-transitory memory (Para. 0030 and 103-a):
detecting that a user is engaged in conversation with a conversation partner (Para. 0082 and 0120; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation);
determining a dimming amount (Para. 0053 and 103; note, the controller 103 is configured to use a table to determine a value of the tint or a range of the tints to use) based at least in part on detecting that the user is engaged in conversation with the conversation partner (Para. 0082 and 0120-0121; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation and adjusting the tint based on the user having a conversation); and
setting a dimming value (Para. 0053 and 103; note, the controller 103 is configured to use a table to determine a value of the tint or a range of the tints to use) of at least a portion of the dimming layer to the dimming amount (Para. 0082 and 0120-0121; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation and adjusting the tint based on the user having a conversation).
Le Cain does not explicitly disclose the device comprises an at least partially transparent display including a dimming layer.
Fullam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in in a method (Figs. 1-2) that it would have been desirable to make the device comprises an at least partially transparent display (Para. 0011-0012 and see 16L, R) including a dimming layer (Para. 0013 and see 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device comprises an at least partially transparent display including a dimming layer as taught by the method of Fullam in the method of Le Cain since Fullam teaches it is known to include these features in a method for the purpose of providing a method that effectively and efficiently provides an augmented-reality application with reduced user eye discomfort or fatigue.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses, determining the dimming amount is further based on factors based on data from one or more sensors (Para. 0105 and see 102-c; note, discloses an Ambient Light Sensor (ARS)).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses, the one or more sensors include an ambient light sensor, a location sensor, an image sensor, an eye tracker, or a motion sensor (Para. 0105 and see 102-c; note, discloses an Ambient Light Sensor (ARS)).
Regarding claim 4, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses, determining the dimming amount is further based on user preferences (Para. 0043, 0052 and 102-b; note, discloses user confirmation and preferences) regarding dimming in response to detecting that the user is engaged in conversation with the conversation partner (Para. 0120-0121).
Regarding claim 5, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses, determining the dimming amount is based on a current dimming value of the dimming layer (Para. 0105 and 0111-0119; note, discloses tint adaptation based on current lighting and environments).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses s, setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value of all of the dimming layer to the dimming amount (Para. 0120-0121).
Regarding claim 9, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses, setting the dimming value includes decreasing the dimming value from a current dimming value to the dimming amount (Para. 0105 and 0111-0119; note, discloses a “clear mode” and a mode when the lens is “not dark”).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Le Cain in view of Fullam discloses, and Le Cain further discloses, setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value to zero (Para. 0105 and 0111-0119; note, discloses a “clear mode” and a mode when the lens is “not dark”).
Regarding claim 13, Le Cain discloses, a device (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a dimming layer (Para. 0050 and see 102-c);
non-transitory memory (Para. 0030 and 103-a); and
one or more processors (Para. 0029 and 103) to:
detect that a user is engaged in conversation with a conversation partner (Para. 0082 and 0120; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation);
determine a dimming amount (Para. 0053 and 103; note, the controller 103 is configured to use a table to determine a value of the tint or a range of the tints to use) based at least in part on detecting that the user is engaged in conversation with the conversation partner (Para. 0082 and 0120-0121; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation and adjusting the tint based on the user having a conversation); and
set a dimming value (Para. 0053 and 103; note, the controller 103 is configured to use a table to determine a value of the tint or a range of the tints to use) of at least a portion of the dimming layer to the dimming amount (Para. 0082 and 0120-0121; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation and adjusting the tint based on the user having a conversation).
Le Cain does not explicitly disclose the device comprises an at least partially transparent display including a dimming layer.
Fullam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in in a device (Figs. 1-2) that it would have been desirable to make the device comprises an at least partially transparent display (Para. 0011-0012 and see 16L, R) including a dimming layer (Para. 0013 and see 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device comprises an at least partially transparent display including a dimming layer as taught by the device of Fullam in the device of Le Cain since Fullam teaches it is known to include these features in a device for the purpose of providing a device that effectively and efficiently provides an augmented-reality application with reduced user eye discomfort or fatigue.
Regarding claim 20, Le Cain discloses, a non-transitory memory (Para. 0030 and 103-a) storing one or more programs (Para. 0030 and 103-a), which, when executed by one or more processors (Para. 0029 and 103) of a device (Figs. 1-4) including a dimming layer (Para. 0050 and see 102-c), cause the device to:
detect that a user is engaged in conversation with a conversation partner (Para. 0082 and 0120; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation);
determine a dimming amount (Para. 0053 and 103; note, the controller 103 is configured to use a table to determine a value of the tint or a range of the tints to use) based at least in part on detecting that the user is engaged in conversation with the conversation partner (Para. 0082 and 0120-0121; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation and adjusting the tint based on the user having a conversation); and
set a dimming value (Para. 0053 and 103; note, the controller 103 is configured to use a table to determine a value of the tint or a range of the tints to use) of at least a portion of the dimming layer to the dimming amount (Para. 0082 and 0120-0121; note, discloses using a microphone and the controller to determine that a user is having a conversation and adjusting the tint based on the user having a conversation).
Le Cain does not explicitly disclose the device comprises an at least partially transparent display including a dimming layer.
Fullam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in in a device (Figs. 1-2) that it would have been desirable to make the device comprises an at least partially transparent display (Para. 0011-0012 and see 16L, R) including a dimming layer (Para. 0013 and see 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device comprises an at least partially transparent display including a dimming layer as taught by the device of Fullam in the device of Le Cain since Fullam teaches it is known to include these features in a device for the purpose of providing a device that effectively and efficiently provides an augmented-reality application with reduced user eye discomfort or fatigue.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Cain et al. (US 2025/0181154) in view of Fullam (US 2016/0080720) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Newell et al. (US 2016/0330522).
Le Cain in view of Fullam remains as applied to claims 1 and 13 above.
Le Cain in view of Fullam does not disclose setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value of only a region of the dimming layer surrounding the conversation partner to the dimming amount.
Newell teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method that it would have been desirable to include setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value of only a region of the dimming layer surrounding the conversation partner to the dimming amount (Para. 0264-0265 and Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention include setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value of only a region of the dimming layer surrounding the conversation partner to the dimming amount as taught by the method of Newell in the combination of Le Cain in view of Fullam since Newell teaches it is known to include this feature in a method for the purpose of providing a method that allows a user to quickly, effectively and efficiently focus and identify the person speaking during the conversation.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Le Cain, Fullam and Newell discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Newell further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method that it would have been include setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value of the dimming layer excluding a region surrounding virtual content (Para. 0264-0265 and Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention include setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value of only a region of the dimming layer surrounding the conversation partner to the dimming amount as taught by the method of Newell in the combination of Le Cain in view of Fullam since Newell teaches it is known to include this feature in a method for the purpose of providing a method that allows a user to quickly, effectively and efficiently focus and identify the person speaking during the conversation.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Cain et al. (US 2025/0181154) in view of Fullam (US 2016/0080720) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 11,047,171).
Le Cain in view of Fullam remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Le Cain in view of Fullam does not disclose in response to setting the dimming value, displaying a dimming notification.
Miyazaki teaches, from the same field of endeavor that is a method that it would have been desirable to make in response to setting the dimming value, displaying a dimming notification (Col. 3, lines 39-45 and see 6 of Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make in response to setting the dimming value, displaying a dimming notification as taught by the method of Miyazaki in the combination of Le Cain in view of Fullam since Miyazaki teaches it is known to include this feature in a method for the purpose of providing a method that accurately and effectively notifies a user.
Regarding claim 12, Le Cain, Fullam and Miyazaki discloses and teaches as set forth above, Le Cain further discloses, setting the dimming value includes setting the dimming value to the dimming amount from a current dimming value to the dimming amount, wherein the dimming notification includes an affordance (Para. 0053-0054, 0094, 0105, 0111-0120; note, the Examiner interprets the affordance to be the disclosed situation (the environment the user’s is in, physiological parameters, if the user is having a conversation) that determines the tint value) which, when selected, sets the dimming value to the current dimming value (Para. 0053-0054, 0094, 0105, 0111-0120).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Poulos et al. (US 2017/0287219) Bell et al. (US 2018/0314066), Sharma et al. (US 2023/0168524) and Chander et al. (US 2022/0150195) discloses method comprising a device, a display, a dimming layer, one or more processors and a non-transitory memory.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 02/27/2026