DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered. The amendments to the claims, however, require a new grounds for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,320,113 to Khazin et al. in view of US 10,321,607 to Ito et al.
As to claim 1, Khazin discloses a cage receptacle assembly (100) configured to receive a cable connector, the cage receptacle assembly comprising: a cage body (101, fig. 2) defining a first end (110) and a second end (108), wherein the cage body comprises: a top cage member (104) defined by a top portion (113) and two side portions (114), wherein the top cage member defines a top opening (fig. 4, adjacent 113); a bottom cage member (106) coupled to the top cage member via the two side portions of the top cage member (fig. 4), and a heat dissipation unit (402) disposed proximate to the top opening of the top cage member (fig.4) directly contacts the cable connector when the cable connector is received in the cage receptacle assembly (col. 11, ll. 20-25, “the one or more additional heat dissipation units 402 may function to increase the thermal efficiency of the cage receptacle assembly via contact with a top surface of a cable connector 102 at least partially received by the cage receptacle assembly 100.”) .
While Khazin seems to disclose a contact portion (see annotated fig, 4 below), however
Khazin is silent as to a contact portion that protrudes relative to other bottom-facing surfaces of the heat dissipation unit.
Ito teaches a heat dissipation unit (26/46) comprising a contact portion (26M/46M) that protrudes relative to other bottom-facing surfaces of the heat dissipation unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat dissipation unit of Khazin with a contact portion as taught by Ito in order to facilitate a heat transfer surface between a heat sink and a cable connector.
As to claim 19, Khazin discloses a cage receptacle assembly (100), comprising: a cage body (101) defining a first end (110) and a second end (108), wherein a top portion (104) of the cage body comprises a top opening (fig. 4 adjacent 113) and a heat dissipation unit (402) disposed proximate to the top opening directly contacts a cable connector when the cable connector is received in the first end of the cage body (col. 11, ll. 20-25, “the one or more additional heat dissipation units 402 may function to increase the thermal efficiency of the cage receptacle assembly via contact with a top surface of a cable connector 102 at least partially received by the cage receptacle assembly 100.”)
While Khazin seems to disclose a contact portion (see annotated fig, 4 above), however
Khazin is silent as to a contact portion that protrudes relative to other bottom-facing surfaces of the heat dissipation unit.
Ito teaches a heat dissipation unit (26/46) comprising a contact portion (26M/46M) that protrudes relative to other bottom-facing surfaces of the heat dissipation unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat dissipation unit of Khazin with a contact portion as taught by Ito in order to facilitate a heat transfer surface between a heat sink and a cable connector.
As to claim 20, Khazin discloses a cage receptacle assembly (100), comprising: a cage body (101) defining a first end (110) and a second end (108), wherein a top portion (113) of the cage body comprises a top opening (fig. 4, adjacent 113) a heat dissipation unit (402) disposed proximate to the top opening such that the heat dissipation unit directly contacts a cable connector (102) when the cable connector is received in the first end of the cage body (col. 11, ll. 20-25, “the one or more additional heat dissipation units 402 may function to increase the thermal efficiency of the cage receptacle assembly via contact with a top surface of a cable connector 102 at least partially received by the cage receptacle assembly 100.”); and one or more springs (404) that retain a position of the heat dissipation unit relative to the cage body.
While Khazin seems to disclose a contact portion (see annotated fig, 4 above), however
Khazin is silent as to a contact portion that protrudes relative to other bottom-facing surfaces of the heat dissipation unit.
Ito teaches a heat dissipation unit (26/46) comprising a contact portion (26M/46M) that protrudes relative to other bottom-facing surfaces of the heat dissipation unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat dissipation unit of Khazin with a contact portion as taught by Ito in order to facilitate a heat transfer surface between a heat sink and a cable connector.
As to claim 4, Khazin discloses the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bottom cage member defines a bottom opening (208).
Khazin fails to disclose wherein the contact portion directly contacts the cable connector from a first edge of the cable connector to a second edge of the cable connector, opposite the first edge.
Ito teaches a contact portion (26M/46M) which is designed to completely contact a surface plate (143) of a cable connector (146, FIG. 4) from a first edge of the cable connector surface plate (see FIG. 13A, 46LF spanning the width of channel 222, thus contacting the cable connecter surface plate from a first edge in the width direction to a second edge in the width direction, opposite the first edge.) to a second edge of the cable connector surface plate, opposite the first edge, thus teaching a heat sink coming into full contact with a heat conducting surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat dissipation unit of Khazin with a contact portion as taught by Ito in order to facilitate a heat transfer surface between a heat sink and a cable connector, the contact portion of Ito predictably coming into direct contact with the cable connector of Khazin in the modification.
Khazin further discloses;
As to claim 5, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: one or more springs (404) to secure the heat dissipation unit to the cage body.
As to claim 6, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cable connector is pluggable into the first end (106) of the cage body.
As to claim 7, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cage body is configured to receive a quad small form factor pluggable (QSFP) connector (claim 12 of Khazin).
As to claim 8, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cage body is configured to receive an octal small form factor pluggable (OSFP) (col. 5, l. 9).
As to claim 9, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cage body comprises metal (col. 12, ll. 4-7, e.g. carbon steel).
As to claim 10, this claim appears to be a product by process claim. However, it has been held that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the cage body of the prior art, although made from a different process.
As to claim 11, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 9, wherein the cage body is formed by milling (col. 12, l. 22).
As to claim 12, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: a second heat dissipation unit (200, fig. 4) disposed on a bottom side of the PCB.
As to claim 13, Khazin discloses the limitations of claim 12. Khazin further discloses (fig. 4) one or more springs (404) to secure the heat dissipation unit to the cage body. Khazin fails to disclose one or more springs to secure the second heat dissipation unit to the cage body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the second heat dissipation unit with a set of similar springs in order to facilitate ease in attachment and detachment of the second heat dissipation unit.
As to claim 14, modified Khazin discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Khazin further discloses wherein the one or more springs comprise at least one arm to wrap around the two side portions of the top cage member (fig. 4).
As to claim 15, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation unit comprises one or more fins (406).
As to claim 16, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the top cage member and the bottom cage member are formed from a single piece of material (col. 12, ll. 10-11).
As to claim 17, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the top portion and two side portions of the cage body are formed from a single piece of material (col. 12, ll. 25-28).
As to claim 18, the cage receptacle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the top cage member is formed from two or more pieces of material (col. 12, ll. 25-28).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,320,113 to Khazin et al. in view of US 10,321,607 to Ito et al. further in view of US 11,792,958 to Yen et al. and US 8,599,559 to Morrison et al.
As to claims 2 and 3, Khazin in view of Ito discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Khazin fails to disclose wherein the heat dissipation unit is U-shaped and the contact portion protrudes from a surface of the U-shape that is proximate the top opening, and wherein the heat dissipation unit is coated with a conductive material and wherein the conductive material comprises a thermal interface material (TIM).
Morrison teaches a heat dissipation unit (36, FIG. 1) that is U-shaped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat sink of Khazin in view of Ito to be U-shaped in order to increase the surface area of the heat sink, thus enabling greater heat transfer.
Yen teaches a heat dissipation unit (3) coated with a conductive material (35) and wherein that conductive material comprises a thermal interface material (col. 9, ll. 34-35) (as regards claim 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat dissipation unit of modified Khazin with a thermal interface material as taught by Yen in order to provide abrasion resistance as taught by Yen (col. 9, l. 38).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841