DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/21/2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3 and 7-10 in the reply filed on 09/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention in each of these claims is directed to the abstract idea judicial exception without significantly more.
Independent claim 10, substantially representative also of independent claim 1, recites:
“[a] system formed of electronic circuitry configured to perform an estimation of need for replacement of a cutting tool and to implement the following steps:
collecting data representative of efforts undergone by the cutting tool during cutting tool usage operations, each datum associating a cutting tool usage operation number and at least one measurement of effort during said cutting tool usage operation;
comparing the collected data, or data which are derived therefrom, with a reference curve or reference discrete values representative of a nominal wear of the cutting tool during the cutting tool usage operations;
checking whether or not the collected data, or the data which are derived therefrom, cause a predefined tolerance to be overshot with respect to the reference curve or respectively to the reference discrete values; and
upon detecting a tolerance overshoot, deducing an appropriate moment to perform a replacement of the cutting tool, as a function of said overshoot.”
The claim limitations considered to fall within in the abstract idea are highlighted in bold font above and the remaining features are “additional elements.”
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis entails determining whether the claimed subject matter falls within one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claim 10 recites a system and claim 1 recites a method and each therefore falls within a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One of the analysis entails determining whether the claim recites a judicial exception such as an abstract idea. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the highlighted portions of claim 10 fall within the abstract idea judicial exception. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the highlighted subject matter falls within the mental processes category (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and the mathematical concepts category (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations). MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
The recited functions:
“perform an estimation of need for replacement of a cutting tool,” “comparing the collected data, or data which are derived therefrom, with a reference curve or reference discrete values representative of a nominal wear of the cutting tool during the cutting tool usage operations,” “checking whether or not the collected data, or the data which are derived therefrom, cause a predefined tolerance to be overshot with respect to the reference curve or respectively to the reference discrete values,” and “upon detecting a tolerance overshoot, deducing an appropriate moment to perform a replacement of the cutting tool, as a function of said overshoot,” may individually and collectively be performed as mental processes.
Perform an estimation of need for replacement of a cutting tool may be performed via mental processes (e.g., evaluation and judgment). Comparing collected data or data derived therefrom, with a reference curve or reference discrete values representative of a nominal wear of the cutting tool during the cutting tool usage operations may be performed via mental processes (e.g., comparative evaluation/judgment). Checking whether the collected data or data derived therefrom, cause a predefined tolerance to be overshot with respect to the reference curve or respectively to the reference discrete values may be performed via mental processes (e.g., evaluation and judgment). Deducing an appropriate moment to perform a replacement of the cutting tool, as a function of a detected overshoot may also be performed via mental processes (e.g., evaluation and judgment).
The recited functions “comparing the collected data, or data which are derived therefrom, with a reference curve or reference discrete values representative of a nominal wear of the cutting tool during the cutting tool usage operations,” and “checking whether or not the collected data, or the data which are derived therefrom, cause a predefined tolerance to be overshot with respect to the reference curve or respectively to the reference discrete values” are determined by the Examiner as also falling within the mathematical relationships sub-category of mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)) because comparing the cutting tool effort measurement data (e.g., torque values over time) with corresponding reference curve values and checking for a predefined tolerance to be overshot are fundamentally characterized by mathematical calculations (e.g., distance computations in coordinate system and threshold comparisons) and therefore constitute mathematical relationships.
Step 2A, Prong Two of the analysis entails determining whether the claim includes additional elements that integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. “A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception” (MPEP § 2106.04(d)).
MPEP § 2106.04(d) sets forth considerations to be applied in Step 2A, Prong Two for determining whether or not a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application. Based on the individual and collective limitations of claim 10 and applying a broadest reasonable interpretation, the most applicable of such considerations appear to include: improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)); applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)); and effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)).
Regarding improvements to the functioning of a computer or other technology, none of the “additional elements” including, for example, the functions being performed by “a system formed of electronic circuitry,” and “collecting data representative of efforts undergone by the cutting tool during cutting tool usage operations, each datum associating a cutting tool usage operation number and at least one measurement of effort during said cutting tool usage operation,” in any combination appear to integrate the abstract idea in a manner that technologically improves any aspect of a device or system that may be used to implement the highlighted step or a device for implementing the highlighted step such as a signal processing device or a generic computer. A system formed of electronic circuitry may be a computer system for implementing the steps falling within the judicial exception and therefore constitutes insignificant extra solution activity that neither integrates the abstract idea into a practical application nor results in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Collecting data representative cutting tool “efforts” (e.g., torque) during cutting tool usage operations in which the data associates a cutting tool usage operation number (e.g., a time value or an operation type value) and a measurement during cutting tool usage/operation represents high-level data collection of the data input to the data processing steps that fall within the judicial exception, such that this step also constitutes insignificant extra solution activity.
Regarding application of the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, the additional elements are not configured or otherwise implemented a particularized manner of implementing condition monitoring of a cutting tool.
Regarding a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, claim 10 does not include any such transformation or reduction. Instead, claim 10 as a whole entails receiving input information (e.g., effort measurement data), applying standard processing techniques (electronic circuitry) to the information to determine wear information with the additional elements failing to provide a meaningful integration of the abstract idea in an application that transforms an article to a different state. Instead, the additional elements represent extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. In view of the various considerations encompassed by the Step 2A, Prong Two analysis, claim 10 does not include additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claim 10 is directed to a judicial exception and requires further analysis under Step 2B.
Regarding Step 2B, and as explained in the Step 2A Prong Two analysis, the additional elements constitute extra solution activity and therefore fail to result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception as well as failing to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Furthermore, the additional elements in claim 10 appear to be generic and well understood as evidenced by the disclosures of Chang (US 2020/0089191 A1) and Fildes (US 4,786,220), each of which teach electronic data collection and processing means.
As explained in the grounds for rejecting claim 10 under 102, Chang teaches the functions being performed by “a system formed of electronic circuitry,” and “collecting data representative of efforts undergone by the cutting tool during cutting tool usage operations, each datum associating a cutting tool usage operation number and at least one measurement of effort during said cutting tool usage operation.” Similarly, Fildes teaches electronic circuitry for implementing monitoring functions (FIG. 1 measuring device 43, col. 3 line 57 through col. 4 line 2; claim 7; FIGS. 9-11) and collection of cutting effort data associated with operation usage numbers (FIGS. 2-5).
Therefore, the additional elements are insufficient to result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 10 is therefore not patent eligible under 101.
Claim 1 includes substantially the same combinations of elements falling within the judicial exception as claim 10 and includes no further significant additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1 is therefore also not patent eligible under 101 for the same reasons.
Claims 2-3 and 7-9 depending from claim 1, provide additional features/steps which are part of an expanded algorithm that includes the abstract idea of claim 1 (Step 2A, Prong One). None of dependent claims 2-3 and 7-9 recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two), and all fail the “significantly more” test under the step 2B for substantially similar reasons as discussed with regards to the independent claims.
For example, claim 2 recites that the “effort measurement” includes a “torque measurement,” which represents ordinary and high-level data collection having no particularized functional relation to the steps falling within the judicial exception and therefore constitutes insignificant extra solution activity.
Claim 3 recites that the “effort measurement” includes “a function of measurements of torque during said cutting tool operation,” which represents ordinary and high-level data collection (e.g., collecting time series torque measurement data) having no particularized functional relation to the steps falling within the judicial exception and therefore constitutes insignificant extra solution activity.
Claim 7 recites injecting the collected data into a ROCKET type convolutional neural network having a ridge regression model connected at its output. The use of the ROCKET type convolutional neural network represents applying program instructions for implementing steps falling within the judicial exception. The use of a ridge regression model falls within the mathematical relations subcategory of the mathematical concepts exception because a ridge regression function is fundamentally characterized by mathematical calculations/relations. Claim 7 further recites comparing an output of the ridge regression model to the reference curve, which falls within the mental processes exception because it may be performed via mental processes (e.g., evaluation and judgment).
Claim 8 recites “monitoring the overshooting, or not, of the predefined tolerance with respect to the reference curve or to the reference discrete values in predictive mode using the ridge regression model so as to generate an estimation of stoppage of use of the cutting tool,” which falls within the mental processes exception because monitoring the overshoot to generate/determine an estimation of stoppage may be performed via mental processes (e.g., evaluation and judgment).
Claim 9 further characterizes the cutting tool (the object of the processing function) as being a drill bit, which does not further limit the function/structure of the recited method in a meaningful way and therefore neither integrates the judicial exception into a practical application nor results in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 2-3 and 7-9 therefore also constitute ineligible subject matter under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 2020/0089191 A1).
As to claims 1 and 10, Chang teaches “[a] method for estimating the need for replacement of a cutting tool (Abstract describing monitoring method for cutting tool to determine potential need to replace cutting tool), the method being implemented by a system (FIG. 1A abrasion monitoring system 1) formed of electronic circuitry ([0036] abrasion monitoring system 1 may be implemented as a computer/controller), the method comprising the following steps:
collecting data representative of efforts undergone by the cutting tool during cutting tool usage operations ([0015]-[0016] method includes collect loading data and extracting loading data corresponding to cutting; FIG. 1B step S5, [0047), each datum associating a cutting tool usage operation number and at least one effort measurement during said cutting tool usage operation ([0038] and [0088] loading data includes force/torque measurements; Table 1 depicting association of cutting tool usage operation numbers “Line number” and “Run” and measurements);
comparing the collected data, or data which are derived therefrom, with a reference curve or reference discrete values representative of a nominal wear of the cutting tool during the cutting tool usage operations (FIG. 1B steps S8 and S9, [0057] and [0074] fitted reference line compared with tolerance range (depicted in FIG. 8B as “Fitted line” and +2σ); [0079]-[0080]);
checking whether or not the collected data, or the data which are derived therefrom, cause a predefined tolerance to be overshot with respect to the reference curve or, respectively, to the reference discrete values (FIG. 1B step S9, [0057] and [0075]-[0076] determine whether points in fitted reference line exceeds the limit corresponding to the tolerance (nominal) range; FIG. 8B as “Fitted line” and +2σ); [0079]-[0080]); and
upon detecting a tolerance overshoot, deducing an appropriate moment for a replacement of the cutting tool, as a function of said overshoot (FIG. 1B steps S9 and S11 issue alert if tolerance range exceeded, [0082] alert indicates present need for replacing the cutting tool in time).
As to claim 2, Chang teaches “[t]he method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one effort measurement during said cutting tool usage operation includes a torque measurement ([0088] loading data includes force/torque measurements).”
As to claim 3, Chang teaches “[t]he method according to claim 2, wherein said at least one effort measurement during said cutting tool usage operation includes a function of measurements of torque during said cutting tool usage operation (FIGS. 8A and 8B depicting load points forming trend over time (function) of measurements that per [0088] may be torque).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Pereira (US 2019/0030673 A1).
As to claim 9, Chang teaches “[t]he method according to claim 1,” and further suggests that the cutting tool may be a drill bit ([0006] and [0008] explaining in Background that it is known in the art to monitor loading states for drilling (implies drill bit)).
Furthermore, Pereira discloses a method for monitoring wear of a cutting tool based on loads such as force/torque in which the cutting tool is a drill bit (Abstract method for assessing wear of drill bit based on a wear parameter; FIG. 1 drill bit 13; [0055] and [0062] parameter may be torque).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Pereira’s teaching of monitoring wear of a drill bit as a cutting tool based on loading parameters to the method taught by Chang, which suggests in background that a drill bit may be the monitored cutting tool, such that in combination the method is configured such that the cutting tool is a drill bit.
Such a combination would amount to selecting a known design option for a cutting tool subject to tool wear monitoring based on effort measurements (e.g., force/torque) to achieve predictable results.
Subject Matter Patentably Distinct Over the Prior Arts
Claims 7-8 are found to be patentably distinct over the prior arts for the following reasons.
Regarding claim 7, the most pertinent prior arts are represented by Chang (US 2020/0089191 A1) and Yang et al., "Time Series Prediction Based on Random Convolution Kernel," 2023 International Conference on Intelligent Media, Big Data and Knowledge Mining (IMBDKM), Changsha, China, 2023 (Published March 1, 2023; Conference March 17-19, 2023, pp. 25-30, doi: 10.1109/IMBDKM57416.2023.00012.
As set forth in the grounds for rejecting claim 3 from which claim 7 depends, Chang teaches the elements of claim 7 but does not appear to fairly teach or suggest the combined processing functionality in which the collected data, which per antecedent relation to claim 1 including each datum associating a cutting tool usage operation number and at least one effort measurement, is injected into a convolutional neural network of ROCKET type connected at the output to a ridge regression model with the output of the ridge regression model being used for the comparing with the reference curve/discrete values in combination with the other elements of claim 7 including the elements incorporated by antecedent relation in claim 1.
Yang discloses a method for using a Rocket type modeling configuration with ridge regression at the output for modeling prediction/estimation of time series data (Abstract describing use of random convolution kernels with linear regressor for predicting time series data outcomes; page 26, B. Rocket, paragraph beginning with “Rocket calculates …” including Figure 1 describing and depicting generalized/background implementation of random convolution kernels; page 27, Proposed Method, paragraph beginning with “Where w is the random convolution kernel …” and including Figure 2 depicting ).
Yang’s disclosure of using a Rocket type linear regression (ridge regression processing of features generated by random convolution kernels) does not appear to teach or suggest using a Rocket type convolutional neural network having ridge regression processing of the output such that the prior arts in combination do not fairly teach or suggest “injecting the collected data into a convolution neural network of ROCKET type connected at the output to a ridge regression model; and comparing an output of the ridge regression model to the reference curve or respectively to the reference discrete values.”
Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and is likewise found to be patentably distinct over the prior arts for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W. BACA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857